Barum Bravuris 3

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 68%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 73%
Wear 72%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 70%

Barum Bravuris 3 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
When new, the tyres made some minor whizzing noise but thereafter they have been very durable.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2020   
Given 75% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5 average miles
Compared to falken premium tire , it is deffinatly noisy on gravel road ,it is not a comfort tire , so how Mitch river is in a bravaris tire , PS my car is the ford focus 2 .
0 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus ST225 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Great tyre where fitted to my focus st mk2 when I bought the car they only had 4000klm on them so I didn’t want to change straight away but intended to change , now after 5000klm I am very happy with them and will buy again fantastic value for the money
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Audi A8 D2 4.2 quattro (240/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I have used Baruns for the last 60,000 miles on an Audi A8 4.2 quattro ,which replaced Dunlops at half the price and have no regrets. Also on a VW golf R32 mk 4 also 4 wheel drive and a Polo 1.6 estate.. None of these cars is driven at the limit and wear, handling and stopping have all been good enough not to warrant comment.. I have had 2 tyres replaced on the Audi for wall collapse admittedly after some severe pot holes but I do wonder if the walls are a weak spot. Will continue to fit Barums where possible.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2019   
Given 33% while driving a Skoda Octavia 4x4 Hatchback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Probably the worst tyre ever. And I am driving more than 30 years with 60000 km per year. Too many stories to tell you for these tyres. Stay away.
15 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I'm spectacularly fussy about my tyres - being an ex racer and track-day instructor, I shamelessly obsess over rubber, even on my road cars!

I've been running Michelin PS3's on my Porsche 911, which have been great, and so going with what I know, have been using the same tyres on my daily drive Skoda Octavia VRS for a few years now. However, if I am honest, I have not really been that impressed with them on this car....they perform fairly well, but longevity is not a strong point at all.

Coupled with the fact that the old Skoda is ageing and worth buttons these days, to spend close to another £500 on a set of Michelins again last month seemed to be a wee bit unnecessary.

So I started looking for an alternative. After a good deal of searching, reading and inviting comment on the internet and one or two specialist car forums I frequent, the Barum Bravarius 3 was mentioned more than a few times.

Digging deeper - I found that they're a 'mid-range' tyre (and NOT budget!) and come very highly recommended by people who seem to know what they're talking about, and aren't 'brand snobs' - they just appreciate performance and value, whatever the name.

I also found that Barum is a Czech company, owned by Continental. Well, my Skoda is also a Czech product, representing the thinking man's car of choice - so it seemed a good match. This was re-inforced after I looked on the Barum website and found an endorsement explaining that this tyre is recommended by them for Skoda Octavia.

So with this in mind, coupled with a price of just over 200 quid for a set of four fitted onto the Skoda's 17 inch wheels, I took the plunge.

And well....first impressions were extremely favorable. A pleasing combination of low noise, good feedback, grip and traction all round. Great so far.

But now after the first 1,000 miles - the tyres have scrubbed in and settled to the car's geometry, and I actually can't believe how good they are. I honestly don't think that they could be beaten, especially for the price, and I feel like I have 'discovered' one of those well-kept secrets that only those in the know use and appreciate...

My advice - give these a go, before the whole world catches on and the price goes up. I am sure that you won't regret it!

19 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2016   
Given 77% while driving a Mitsubishi Grandis Equippe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
Had 2 Bravuris 2 tyres fitted 3 years ago and switched them to rear 2 years ago. Still have 4mm tread on them! I tow a caravan 4000 miles a year. Put Bravuris 3 tyres on front April 2014 that now need replacing after 22000 miles and 8000 miles towing. I'll replace with Bravuris 3's.

3 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a Volvo V70 T5 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Fitted a pair of these tyres at the front replacing Bravuris 2. Not felt any real differance to the car. Have used High Brand and Mid Brand and can find little real differance - except price. Can't comment on wear - only 1000 miles in but got 15000mile from B2, will be happy with that from these V70's are heavy on tyres. Will happily but again.
That said would not put them on my AWD R it runs Eagle F1 or Conti.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2014