Michelin Pilot Road 3

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 85%
Wear 90%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 92%
 
Size Price Range  
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Road 3 Reviews (newest first) - Page 2

Given 91% while driving a Honda CBR1100XX (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Unbelievable tyre. Confidence inspiring, comfortable, longevity, wet grip around corners and heavy braking. I have not been able to shake these loose whether solo or 2 up. As safe in the wrt as in the dry compared to other top brands. I ride in all weathers, from motorway speeds to twisty Welsh mountain roads. Highly recommended, especially for the heavier sport/tourer. You'll never fit better rubber to your bike. Btw, I'm a bike cop with 20+ years experience and insist on these tyres for my Blackbird and Police bike.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Triumph Street Triple R (180/75 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Great but do not heat up and give little feedback... BUT you do not need to know what it's doing as it just grips and grips... This is NOT a sport tyre, but far more wear and still the same lean angles just about and mega stopping power both wet and dry... Good control feels extremely hard compared to bt016 but nothing bad to say about them at all... Except your bike will feel faster and lighter but on a street triple it feels a little less sporty
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2012   
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki Bandit 1200 S (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Just fitted to my Bandit 1200S. Definitely best tyre I've ever used. Super confident in all weathers and much better on steering too. Bike turns quicker and more easily than on the previous Pilot Road 2's. Don't know about wear rate yet and would expect to wear quicker than the 2's but reading reviews leads me to hope for longer life. I do about 10000 miles a year as a bike trainer so good life is also important. Buy them - you won't regret the decision.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2012   
Given 94% while driving a Yamaha FZS 600 (160/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Have has these on for 8 months and 18,000 miles doing a mixture of riding, about 45% motorway, 30% town and 25% lanes. I am only now needing to replace the rear tyre, the front is probably good to do the same again. The only thing I found negative with these tyres is the amount of road noise and of course they are quite firm. But I guess this is the trade off for high milage.

Definately going to stick with these and have just bought a new rear tyre of the same type. If you do alot of commuting miles these are brilliant.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a BMW K1300R (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,213 spirited miles
Best compromised between grip/feedback/wear
0 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2012   
Given 89% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (180/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 6 average miles
Took them into the mountains of Spain and Portugal within weeks of buying them for my Tiger 1050. Tentative at first as it took some running in to get feedback going, but they soon wear in. They kept grip even when going through sudden transitions from hot roads on to meltwater streams running across the road on blind bends. They also handle the load better than previous Pilot2. I commute on them and still have the confidence in wet conditions that I never had with the old pilot 2 tyres. They are still good at 6,000 miles but I was an early adopter and paid a premium price, so I'm hoping they will get cheaper.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2012   
Given 83% while driving a Honda (160/60 R17) on track for 200 average miles
Interesting tyre. Decided to try some on my trackday bike for winter. Thinking that they would do as well as a sports tyre for cold days and also save me having to change tyres if it was wet. The first time I used them it was wet and they were sliding a lot - fresh tyre syndrome. After a couple of sessions they settled down. I couldn't keep them warm (30F/28R) but they seemed to work cool. Next time I may try lower pressure to try and generate some heat to see how they react. Grip was much better than a sports tyre, naturally nowhere near a full racing wet. When the track dried out they gripped ok too. The down side is that I was afraid to push it because I was getting no feedback so couldn't say in wet or dry how good the grip was. Even in the dry they would not get hot only slightly warm. It was cool but a sports tyre would've been hot and marbled. These tyres showed virtually no sign of wear at all. Was also a bit hesitant to lean a long way in the dry because without the sign of wear I couldn't tell if I was going to lean off the edge or not. Not being a sports tyre I'm not sure if they have the geometry to support a big lean angle so when the knee started touching down I backed off - I'm not very flexible so that's a reasonable way over.

Would I buy them again? Yes for the road and occasional trackday. For regular trackdays I'll have to see if I can get them hotter and if that gives feedback before I'd buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2011   
Given 87% while driving a BMW K1200GT (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Fitted to a BMW K1200GT. These tyres are very good in the dry, as you would expect from any modern duel compound tyre, but the difference is when it rains. The grip I get from these tyres in the wet is amazing. The confidence you have in poor conditions allows you to ride as if it was dry..
0 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2011   
Given 100% while driving a Yamaha FZS 1000 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Tried on Yamaha FZS 1000

best tyres I've ever tried in my 12 years experience!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2011