Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews - Page 2

Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
Good Stable & Predictable handling, Good dry braking & dry handling, Good wet braking & handling, Great fuel economy, Neutral feedback, high road noise. Good tyre for fuel efficiency and sensible, non-spirited driving
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
Have had many sets of tyres, I have to get the XL load rating or they wear out fast. good handling and no issues, just poor wear value Disappointed with these new Eco5 as the back tyres have done 13000 miles and are shot.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Dacia Lodgy (195/55 R16 H) on track for 0 spirited miles
I drove on Continental ContiEcoContact 5 tyres on a very twisty racing circuit in my stock car (a stock Dacia with 115hp), ya there weren't much horsepower but I can tell you, on dry tarmac these tyres had very good grip ! Not to mention they were 8 years old when I did it !
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
The continental tyres came with my new 2019 Golf 7.5 110TSI Wagon and appeared to be OK until I drove on typical course bitumen that we often find on Australian roads, even on freeways. On some surfaces there was so much loud, intense, low frequency sound that it was almost unbearable and my passenger blocked her ears! On different, smoother sections of the freeway, there was negligible road noise and otherwise the Golf is very quiet. On the same, familiar road our 2003 Mercedes ML350 with Michelin tyres is consistently quiet, and even my 16 year old Magna with 300,000km on the clock with Michelin tyres, was much quieter on the course bitumen.
These tyres are completely unsuitable be the Australian market. I'll be approaching my VW dealer and VW Australia to find some resolution as I can not live with the severity of the noise on roads that I am typically driving on.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019
Given 67% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (185/55 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
But - and there's a big but -

They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2019
Given 69% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Lasted quite well after 3 years and 25k miles. good fuel consumption ( as much as I can compare with similar cars, no way to say precisely until after I change the tyres). ok in dry, wheel spin on occasion, especially uphill (light car?). more wheel spin in the wet when accelerating in 2nd, not great on breaking in the wet. Just had them understeer fairly dangerously in a roundabout. the back is coming out in bends on dry and wet, not too hard to control usually but it can surprise you. terrible in snow, got stuck in a parking lot, seems to be able to reverse out but unable to drive forwards in snow! About to replace them, hope for something with better grip.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 33,554 easy going miles
Those are the original tyres on my car. I have driven them for 54000 km, so in my opinion they are very durable . Their grip is good on dry and wet surface (my driving style is moderate). I haven't experienced any problems so far. I feel confident on any road. Maybe the only problem is that they are a little bit noisy.
I want to replace them because the tread depth is reaching its limit and I want to do so before the winter . If it wasn't for their high price I would have purchased them again. I definitely recommend these kind of tyres.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2019
Given 47% while driving a Renault Clio IV TCe 90 (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2019
Given 79% while driving a Hyundai I10 (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 17,250 average miles
Grip is significantly decreased on wet, especially after a light rain.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019
Nissan Juke (225/45 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
I have bought Nisaan Juke in June 2018. Brand new car and brand new tyres. 14 000 miles later both front tyres are bold with metal bits sticking out. I am driving on A3 most of the time and locally near Guilford. Will avoid these tyres as much as possible. Will not recommend to anyone.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 14,500 average miles
Good tyres, long lasting, and have great fuel savings. The only problem with them is that the sidewalls are mad thin to reduce weight, and with all the potholes in the UK it can lead to gouges forming on the sidewall.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2019
Given 65% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Having come fitted on our new Clio 4 we were not disappointed. We live in Crete, Greece so 95% of our driving is on dry roads. Having said that the roads here are VERY winding and great fun to push the car around. The tyres make you feel confident and have great grip on tight country road corners. I have never felt at risk from these tyres at all. Our national road ( motorway) is also very winding but the tyres feel well able to handle fast driving on good tarmac. As for the wet, I cannot comment as you always drive carefully after a dry spell when it first rains. I love these tyres for our type of driving but cannot comment on wet conditions.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2019