Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is the latest maximum performance summer tyre in the famous Asymmetric range. The new Asym 6 builds on the exceptional performance of the Asymmetric 5 by improving the dry performance, wet braking, wet handling, and a new lowers rolling resistance meaning this tyre is also EV ready.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 88%
Wear 74%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 93 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 263,213 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is ranked 7th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews Performance Tyre Test - 3rd of 6 tyres

  • Positive - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 showcased its versatility by blending the safe understeer balance of the Michelin and Continental with sporty handling. Its predictable and fast performance made it a strong all-round choice, particularly for the Golf GTI. It was also the best tyre at worn state during the wet braking test, had great comfort and low wear.
  • Negative - The Asymmetric 6 is a hard tyre to find a negative about, but on track it doesn't seem to have the heat resistance the Asymmetric 5 had.
  • Overall - Another very impressive result for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6, proving to be the most consistent tyre across all categories.

View Full Test >>

2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 2nd of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Shortest braking distances, best balance, very safe and wide limit in the wet. Strong braking, quick steering and high driving safety in the dry.
  • Negative - Cornering grip not at top level in wet conditions.
  • Overall - The EF1A6 is particularly strong on a dry track, top braking.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

2022-08-14 - Has anyone compared these to the supersports? Currently running f1 supersports all round on a vauxhall astra mk5 vxr, 280bhp front wheel drive, tempted to give these a try as the car is only a daily with occasional spirited back road driving, one thing that made me go for the supersports was the firm sidewall as I previously ran rainsport 3s and the handling was terrible due to the soft sidewalls so not wanting to loose the sidewall feeling of the supersports

We've not directly compared the Asym 6 to the F1 SuperSport but he educated guess is that while the asymmetric 6 will feel miles better than the RainSport 3 - a tyre notoriously soft on the sidewall, the F1 SuperSport should still have the edge in dry handling. These will be better in the wet, more comfortable etc.


2022-05-30 - Does this tyre work on an M135 xdrive (2013) with serial wheels (summer)?

If you can find the size needed then the Asymmetric 6 will be a good match for your M135.


2022-10-31 - Does the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric 6 tyre have a rim protector?

Rim protection can vary on tyre size, but the sizes of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 we've worked with have had a small rim protector.


2023-01-07 - Has anyone else noticed a worsening of fuel economy with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6. I had 4 fitted (Audi Q3) and its coincided with a significant fuel economy reduction (approx. 15%)?

What tyre did you replace? A worn tyre has around 15% better rolling resistance due to lower tread depth, so if you replaced something similar, that might explain the drop.


2023-04-05 - Any idea on how thesel hold up with light track work? Heading to the Nurburgring in June and wanted to fit a set of F1 Supersports, however they have been out of stock in 245/35/18 since October, so looking for an alternative for my 2013 M135i

The Asym 6 does not take heat as well as the SuperSport, but it's still reasonable good for its category. If your driving style is VERY aggressive on track they might not be the correct tyre for you, however the 'Ring has quite a low grip surface and long straights there's a good chance they'll be ok.


2023-08-08 - What would be best for a Audi a4 225 50 17 for comfort and noise the Asym 6 or the efficientgrip performance 2?

The EfficientGrip Performance 2 is more oriented towards comfort and noise.


2023-09-26 - Im due to change my RFT`s on my 2009 330i M Sport Coupe Auto. Is this a good idea? My choice would be to change to Goodyear Asym 5 or 6. Or PS4s. Which do you consider would suit the car better. Im running on 19" rims with 225/35`s front and 255/30`s rear. I had Asym 5`s on my 330i Ci which were brilliant. Dont do any spirited driving any more. Too old for that now (70). Safety and comfort is more desirable, specially when I have "miss Daisy" with me !!!

The largest percentage of people I see moving away from runflat tyres on BMWs move to the Asymmetric range and really enjoy the switch, so it seems this would be a good choice for you!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £105.42 - £118.56 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £95.50 - £101.84 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £132.48 - £133.42 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £119.72 - £128.04 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £129.34 - £138.52 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £145.81 - £152.95 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £157.92 - £165.02 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 Clubsport 40 Edition (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I am a massive Goodyear fan. I had the Assym 3's on a previous car and never looked back.

I have now had the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5's, Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports, Michelin PS4 and even some Avon's (for a brief period) on my current car - a Golf GTI Clubsport 40.

I mix up my driving a lot - lots of motorway driving but also lots of hard street driving and B road blasts, I find it massively important to have the best tyres possible to allow me to push my car as hard as I can in a safe manner.

I was massively impressed with the Asymmetric 5's, the sheer grip and feedback were fantastic, along with being very safe in the wet. When my front tyres reached the end of their serviceable life after 11,000 miles, I was more than ready to get the newer Asymmetric 6's fitted on the front of my car.

I'm simply over the moon with them already. Having covered about 1,000 miles on them in very mixed driving conditions, they have blown me away. They offer *everything* I could ever want from a tyre. They are extremely grippy in the dry and wet, the feedback is great, the ride is very comfortable and the price is very reasonable for a top tier tyre. I drove home in heavy rain last night and I drove the car hard to see how the tyres would handle hard driving in the wet and they did not miss a beat. I was amazed how they put the power down on wet roads and the grip offered in corners. It actually felt like I was driving on a dry road. Incredible.

I had the Michelin PS4's a few years ago and I did not like them at all, they were too soft and struggled to keep up with my hard driving. I trialled the Eagle F1 Supersports when they first came out - they sound like the obvious choice for a sports hatchback - I found them excellent when warmed up on dry roads but they were nowhere near as confidence-inspiring in the rain and actually quite scary on wet roads. That's why I got the Assym 5's fitted after them and was very happy with my choice. And now I have the 6's I am even happier. These tyres are simply fantastic - stupid amounts of grip. I recommend them to everyone. The UK has such mixed weather that I think these just offer the best all round driving experience. They really, really suit the characteristics of the Mk7 Golf GTI. I got them when on offer - £183 for 2 fitted. An absolute steal. Get these tyres, you will not be disappointed. I will certainly be getting them again next time round.
Helpful 544 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2023
Given 95% while driving a BMW 330e (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Amazing tyre, I replaced a Pirelli P7 run flats with these and although it is an unfair to compare them as they are totally different from one another, the difference is night and day. The comfort is now at a different level, the noise levels are significantly lower, the dry and wet grip are amazing too. It was between them and and the Michelin ps5 , but I’ve had the previous model asymmetric 5 and I really liked them, not to mention the price difference. Initial feel is good and I like them a lot , happy with the purchase . More to follow.
Helpful 172 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2022
Given 57% while driving a Volvo V70 D5 AWD (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
I would NOT recommend the Asymmetric 6 if you're looking for a tire that will last for more than 1 year!

I bought 4 brand new A6 tires early this year replacing my old Michelin Primacy 3. Before buying them, I read up on multiple tests and reviews, and the A6 finished on top in most of them. Sure, the A6 has excellent handling, wet- and dry grip, so nothing to complain about there.
My issue is that the tires have terrible longevity.
I don't know what tread depth the tires have from the factory but I would assume they have at least 6 mm. Now, I drive very gently. No excessive accelerations, no heavy braking and I don't haul any heavy loads. I simply use the car to go to work every day back and forth. So when evaluating the wear after 8 months and about 8000 kilometers, the tread is down to 3 mm. This kind of wear was nothing that I expected from a renowned manufacturer such as Goodyear. Sure, some would argue that the A6 are categorized as sport tires with a softer rubber blend. But they are not pure sport tires. They are marketed as performance tires for premium cars, even compatible with EV's. (If you own a Tesla, you would probably need 4 new sets a year with the A6).

So if you're looking for tires that will last, together with equal or maybe even better performance metrics, then buy something else! I surly will go back to Michelin.
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2023
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Excellent tyres with good grip in the wet and dry. Comfort and noise is good. Wear rate on front 1mm per 5000 miles. On rear 1mm per 10000 miles.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2d 190hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 13 spirited miles
Second set of tyres in my car. Replaced factory set Good Year A5. Driven for 13.000 miles, mostly in motorways, but also in town and b roads. Better in every way than the old tyres, especialy in dry grip and handling. Not sure about wear. A5 lasted for 30.000 miles.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 76% while driving a BMW M140i F20 (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
The way this tyre performs is exceptional. The limits of grip and adhesion are very high in all conditions. The tyre is also quiet ands comfortable. However all of this seem to have come because they are made from a soft compound and they wear pretty fast. I don't drive particularly hard but at 8000 miles on the rear they are nearly on the wear bars. I will be looking to replace with something with more longevity, even if that means sacrificing some ultimate grip. The previous generation Assymetric 5 would fit the bill if I am able to source some.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2023
Given 94% while driving a Ford falcon xr6 turbo ute (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,600 spirited miles
was really happy with the asymmetric 5 in every catagory, now the asymmetric 6 is better in all bar one catagory with a bit of aqauplaning probably due to the lesser tread depth,otherwise its a really excellent tyre would buy again.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2023
Given 89% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
As i have driven about 10 000 kilometers for 2 seasons with these tyres + 2 casual track days, i am really impressed for its performance. Tyres just gave me more boost of confidence for both braking and handling. Driving on wet was nearly same as driving on dry if we don't count aquaplaning on flooded road. 1 bad thing about the tyres is that it is very sensitive to uneven wear. My tyres were often overinflated as upsizing tyres requires lowering tyre pressure, making middle of the tyre worn more than sides and it made car vibrate too much on higher speeds. Even so, only comfort dropped but not the grip as tyre depth difference between sides and middle was only about 1mm.

Highly recommended premium tyre that can be a steal below 100€ if you have 225/45R17 as standard! I only took 235/45R17 for extra grip.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2023
Given 100% while driving a BMW 420d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Driving on Bridgestone Potenzas runflats 001 was a Bad experience, so I changed to the Goodyear Eagle F1Asymmetric 6 front and rear. The difference was noticeable straight away, comfortable, rolling resistance was noticeable, less Road noise than the Potenzas. The Grip in wet and dry was fantastic. Do not hesitate in buying Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric ,Driving my BMW 420d is far better Experience than before.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (245/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,500 average miles
Good tyre but wears fast. Have had Goodyear Asymmetric 6 for 20000km and rears are done. Uniroyal Rainsport 5 lasted for 33000km. So, compared to those Goodyears wear very badly and Uniroyals are considered high wearing tyre.

That said wear is about only negative. Tyres are quiet, have really good grip and fast and communicative turn in.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2023
Given 88% while driving a Volkswagen Mk8 GTI (235/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
Purchased the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Oct 23 after plenty of research via this websites excellent You Tube channel {many thanks} as well as the Volkswizard Goodyear tyre tests {also on You Tube}. OEM fit to my Mk8 VW GTI were Eagle F1 Super Sports 225/40 R18 which were all I expected them to be i.e. good in most aspects given their year round use on my Golf. Changed wheel size to 19" so hence the research. No contest really. Chose the F1 Asymmetric 6 for potentially better winter/wet weather performance as these will be a year round fit. So far after a "test" drive over a very wet Saturday and a dry/sunny Sunday, very impressed!
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Audi A3 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Superb tire for the summer. Compared to the 3rd generation, it already has full grip at +15°C outside.

Unfortunately I'm a bit disappointed in wet conditions, it doesn't come near all weather or all season tires. Tires easily spin (150hp/250nm, not even much) and the car slips easier.

For spring and summer, they're amazing. Good price, low road noise, good comfort.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I'm going to compare these tires to the ones i have on my other car, Sava Intensa UHP 2 on an E class coupe. The previous tires on the Audi were the Goodyear Eagle f1 Super Sport. I don't drive aggressively so i can't really speak about the grip, but i haven't broken traction yet (its the quattro though). They are virtually identical to the SS in terms on grip but in handling, the sidewall is softer on the 6 which makes it more comfortable, but more prone to understeer. The car is comfortable on its own but with these tires it makes really smooth. But, the wear, especially on the front left side - is terrible. It has already shown signs of degradation. On the other three tires, it is decent.

But, the Sava Intensa UHP 2 on the e class is probably the same tire in terms of performance and its 60% less expensive. Also, the Goodyear is made in Slovenia and the Sava is made in Germany, weird. The attributes I value the most is comfort (which the Sava also has) and handling but you can't have both with tires. I really can't recommend this tire since there are ones that do nearly the same for much less. Also, if it is some testament for the quality of Slovenian and German manufacturing, the sidewall of the Sava is much more resilient of dust and the rubber is in a much better condition whereas the Goodyear's sidewall is very dry and when there is no dressing it is brown in color.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2023
Given 90% while driving a BMW 325i (225/45 R17) on track for 500 spirited miles
Excellent wet grip. Because of these tyres i won two timeattack events this season in wet. Also good in dry but overheats quickly.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen CC (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I've driven my GY ASYM6 for more than 7k km now and I can say fullhearted that it saved me more than once due to its superior handling and breaking power. No squeaking, no ABS taking control, no heart in your guts, just tons of grip both in wet and dry conditions. However, this shouldn't come as a surprise considering the premium badge. On the down side, the noise is somewhat obvious, especially considering my frameless doors.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2023