Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is the latest maximum performance summer tyre in the famous Asymmetric range. The new Asym 6 builds on the exceptional performance of the Asymmetric 5 by improving the dry performance, wet braking, wet handling, and a new lowers rolling resistance meaning this tyre is also EV ready.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 79%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 89%

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 84,750 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is ranked 4th of 72 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty dynamic handling and excellent grip in the dry with the shortest dry braking, short wet braking with a very fast wet handling lap, lowest noise on test, lowest rolling resistance on test (of the UHP tyres.)
  • Negative - Low aquaplaning resistance, average comfort.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is another impressive tyre from Goodyear, building on what we already loved from the Asym 5 while improving the dry braking and considerably lowering the rolling resistance and noise levels. Unfortunately this has come at the expense of worse aquaplaning resistance, but as it's one of the few tyres that can combine good levels of grip in the dry and wet with low rolling resistance, while still retaining sporty feeling handling, the Asymmetric 6 is still leading the way in the ultra high performance segment.
View Full Test >>

2022 AMS Performance Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Very short braking distances, outstanding grip, high cornering stability, sporty but easy to control handling.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - Goodyear's new tyre impresses with a lot of safety and the best dynamics.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The Asymmetric 6 was only slightly behind the Potenza Sport in the dry and wet, but had a better rolling resistance and the best aquaplaning resistance on test.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

2022-08-14 - Has anyone compared these to the supersports? Currently running f1 supersports all round on a vauxhall astra mk5 vxr, 280bhp front wheel drive, tempted to give these a try as the car is only a daily with occasional spirited back road driving, one thing that made me go for the supersports was the firm sidewall as I previously ran rainsport 3s and the handling was terrible due to the soft sidewalls so not wanting to loose the sidewall feeling of the supersports

We've not directly compared the Asym 6 to the F1 SuperSport but he educated guess is that while the asymmetric 6 will feel miles better than the RainSport 3 - a tyre notoriously soft on the sidewall, the F1 SuperSport should still have the edge in dry handling. These will be better in the wet, more comfortable etc.


2022-05-30 - Does this tyre work on an M135 xdrive (2013) with serial wheels (summer)?

If you can find the size needed then the Asymmetric 6 will be a good match for your M135.


2022-10-31 - Does the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric 6 tyre have a rim protector?

Rim protection can vary on tyre size, but the sizes of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 we've worked with have had a small rim protector.


2023-01-07 - Has anyone else noticed a worsening of fuel economy with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6. I had 4 fitted (Audi Q3) and its coincided with a significant fuel economy reduction (approx. 15%)?

What tyre did you replace? A worn tyre has around 15% better rolling resistance due to lower tread depth, so if you replaced something similar, that might explain the drop.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £101.69 - £127.50 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.89 - £105.68 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £80.99 - £105.49 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £125.59 - £164.04 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £112.49 - £141.50 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £95.49 - £131.53 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £113.09 - £143.58 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 95% while driving a BMW 330e (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Amazing tyre, I replaced a Pirelli P7 run flats with these and although it is an unfair to compare them as they are totally different from one another, the difference is night and day. The comfort is now at a different level, the noise levels are significantly lower, the dry and wet grip are amazing too. It was between them and and the Michelin ps5 , but I’ve had the previous model asymmetric 5 and I really liked them, not to mention the price difference. Initial feel is good and I like them a lot , happy with the purchase . More to follow.
Helpful 113 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2022
Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I moved from the Asymmetric 5 to the new Asymmetric 6 a few weeks back, and while I don't know about wear, everything else seems better. The handling is improved and noise in the car lower.
Helpful 81 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Amazing tyre
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2022
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
My previous runflats (have had Pirelli and Bridgestone) were getting to the end of their life so I thought this would be an ideal opportunity to switch to normal tyres. After reading endless reviews I selected the Goodyears and boy did I make the correct decision. The tyres have transformed the car in virtually ever department. They grip like crazy in both dry and wet conditions and the reduction in road noise is massive. They are also much more comfortable and make the 5 series an awesome long distance tourer. Can't give an accurate opinion on wear yet but couldn't be any worse than other comparable models such as the Continentals or Michelins I was also considering. I think so highly of them I will in all likelihood buy the same again for my wifes 4 series when they need changing and also my SLK when I do a wheel upgrade. Strongly recommended.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Leon FR184 (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Total night and day in the wet compared to asymmetrical 5s, couldn't believe how good the grip is. Will buy again, haven't had a tyre handle as good. Only downside is they wear a bit quicker than asymmetrical 5s.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2023
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I had Continetal SportContact 5 (50.000km for the rear ones) and Michelin PS4 (30.000km for the front), which are really good tires. The Michelin has Runflat and give the sensation to be heavy. It's perfect for highway, but it's less agile in turns. The Goodyear F1 Asym 6 is the best. Good on the dry, braking, securising on the wet, and really more agile with the A3 Sportback. It's much more sporty than the Michelins and Contis. The Asym 6 is the cheapest. So for now, my quest for the perfect tire is done. I can't tell yet about the durability, but it's a really solid tire. 9/10
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
have had asymmetric 2-3-5 on this vehicle they just keep getting better premium tyre at a reasonable price
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
The best tyre you can fit for a daily driver or for having fun at the weekends (or both!). Switched to these tyres after buying the car with Hankooks and the difference is huge. The car sticks to the road like glue in all conditions. Braking and cornering stability has noticeably improved. Comfort is pretty good, but you can feel that this tyre is sport orientated (slightly firmer sidewalls) but i never experienced this tyre as uncomfortable. Very low noise levels aswell which i find very important. This tyre is also very good in wet conditions. Aquaplaning restistance is superb and so is the grip when cornering/braking when the road is wet. Another thing worth mentioning is that the previous Hankook tyres suffered from extreme tramlining (the car was constantly weaving left to right at highway speeds, needing constant steering corrections). This is not at all the case with these Goodyears, the tyre is very stable at higher speeds and doesn't suffer from a 'floating' feeling. Can't really comment on rolling resistance, i didn't notice any difference in fuel consumption or when coasting. Wear rate is avarage but that depends on driving style ofcourse. I have sold the car but i did about 10.000kms on these tyres (mostly motorway, but with hard driving in corners and on- and off-ramps.) They only had 6.7mm new and were at 5.4mm when i sold the car last week. So wear is not to bad if you do mostly motorway driving. The slightly higher wear is compensated by the very decent price on these tyres considering how good they are! These tyres were also 22£ per tyre cheaper than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and with the performance that these Goodyears deliver, i can't find any reason why you would buy the more expensive Michelin. Well done Goodyear for making a tyre that actually works perfect in all driving conditions and that puts a smile on your face! Will happily buy again for any of my future cars. (have now bought a minivan and this tyre doesn't exist in my tyre size.)
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2022
Given 89% while driving a MG ZS 180 (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Pretty much the best tires you can get for this car
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Audi A4 3.0 TDi quattro remapped (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Changed from budget landsails to these, fantastic tyre balance and feel of the car is great, very easy to control the car at the limit. Tyre loads up nicely, in the wetter / colder weather with greasy roads it's made the car more liable to oversteer (only when pushing it) Really quiet tyre
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2022
Given 61% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa vxr (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I love the feel of these tyres and I'd recommend them to anyone who wants ultimate grip in all conditions assuming they don't mind how quick they chew through them. I have had my fronts on now for 2500 miles and are at just over 2mm. I'll be lucky if I can get over 3k milage out of the set which I find disgusting for the price I paid for them
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,500 average miles
Very impressed with the performance of the tyre, especially in the wet conditions, absolutely unbeatable, cornering and breaking on point. Tires are also quite quiet, at least in this tyre size. The biggest issue with this tyre is the wear, very very bad, did like 6-7k km this season and they are already at 5.5 mm tread depth, the fact that the new ones have only 7.1 mm is really not helping either. Pretty much you are sacrificing the tyre life for the performance, some people might prefer it, but not me. They might hold up for another season, but that would be it, quite disappointed to be honest. Probably wouldn't buy them again and would rather go for the previous generation since the performance is not that much worse, but tyre life is better. In terms of price, at least in my country (Croatia) they are quite cheap compared to other premium brands like Michelin and Conti.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Audi A4 b9 2.0 tdi (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Tire performed excellent from new fitted in the spring, but now when the roads are wet and full of leaves its time to change to winter set. I was shocked when i took them off. Front tires are barely above the legal limit. I have never had a tire that wears that quick - one season cca. 10000km average driving style (150bhp isnt that much). The grip was excellent in all weather conditions and it gave me confidece going a bit over the speedlimit on the highway in pouring rain. Comfort wise as much as you can expect from this dimension. But I cant forgive goodyear the wear. They are not so cheap to replace every season. Will try something else next year.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 280 (255/35 R18) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Good in the wet
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.4 ZC33S (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Brief review with intention to update later. So I am using these tires on a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.4 ZC33S. Standard tires are CSC5 with size 195/45r17 on the OEM 6.5J width wheel. I upgraded to new wheels with 7.5J width. Suits the car really well by the way. On to the tires. Only used for 300 KM, of which the last 200 KM were spirited and in ideal conditions (dry and 20 Celsius). Grip levels have improved in every sense compared to the CSC5 which was at 4-5mm. Traction coming out of corners is hugely improved. The car is absolutely on rails. The suspension setup probably is the bottleneck now. The only difference I can notice is that under heavy braking, the car feels different than before. It feels less sharp even though the braking is every bit as good. It is as if you can feel the tire is more pliable and supple. But it could also be because the tire is so new. Top marks for dry performance so far. I was very happy with the price too.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2022