Michelin Pilot Sport 5

The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 builds on the impressive range of ability of the PS4, improving the tread life, having sharper more precise steering, and offering higher levels of grip in the dry and wet.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.

Tyre review data from 55 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 274,682 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 5 is ranked 15th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent controllability thanks to very high grip level on wet and dry tracks, shortest dry braking distances. Rolling resistance and pass-by noise are low.
  • Negative - Moderate aquaplaning protection in curves, partially somewhat bouncy ride.
  • Overall - Balanced and very safe to drive on both wet and dry roads.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Reviews Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 6 tyres

  • Positive - The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 stood out for its durability, with the longest tread life among all tyres tested. It also maintained consistent performance across various conditions, offering good steering and a progressive understeer balance, and was the tyre with the lowest eco impact.
  • Negative - The Pilot Sport 5 was the most expensive tyre to buy, and would benefit from a little more grip in wet conditions.
  • Overall - As you would expect from the Michelin brand, the Pilot Sport 5 stood out for it's impressive longevity, boasting the longest tread life among all the tyres tested. It offered a great driving experience with good steering and a progressive understeer balance. The Michelin was also the kindest to the environment, producing the least amount of rubber particulate matter. This isn't a tyre we'd rush to take on track, but on the road it is an excellent all round tyre.

View Full Test >>

2023 AutoBild Sports Car Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 13 tyres

  • Positive - the PS5 is a top-class sports tires with dynamic handling qualities on wet and dry roads, agile handling with good balance, precise steering, very good safety reserves in the event of aquaplaning, short braking distances in the wet, good comfort, quiet rolling noise.
  • Negative - High price level.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 5

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 5

2022-01-26 - When do you expect to review the new Pilot Sport 5 tyres?

I'm working hard to be the first on the new PS5, but realistically it's not possible to test before spring so I'm expecting March time.


2022-04-10 - Why PS5, compared to Asym 6, can be both average in wet grip/handling and excellent at aquaplaning resistance? Intuitively, a tire that better resists aquaplaning performs better in wet conditions, right?

Wet handling uses around 1 mm of water which doesn't really challenge a new tyres aquaplaning properties so is more about the mechanical grip of the compound, where aquaplaning tests are usually conducted in 8 mm of water which is all about tread design.


2022-06-14 - I have kia stinger with pilot sport 4 tyres and had a punctured front left tyre. I cannot find the ps4 to buy anymore just the pilot sport 5. Will it be ok to switch both front tyres to ps5 and keep the rear tyres in ps4? They are new ps4 less than a 1000km.

Yes, mixing the Pilot Sport 5 and Pilot Sport 4 is totally ok as long as you match the left and right on the axle.


2022-09-28 - How come the pilot sport 5 is only available as a 97y not a 93y as well for the 245/40 r18 tyre. The pilot sport 4 was available in both and I had the 93y. Is the 97y still suitable?

You can always go up in load rating so the 97Y will be fine. They might release a 93Y in the future if the market demands it however there's a chance it would be the same tyre with a different sidewall so don't worry about fitting the 97Y.


2022-09-30 - Can you please have a chat with Michelin to find out about when the new tyre size will arrive ? With only 44 launched I think there are a lot more to come as the PS4 were 130+ size. I am especialy interested in 215/50R17 for my Honda Civic

Unfortunately I don't have any new data yet, you could try contacting Michelin directly through their website and they might be able to give you a hint!


2022-11-05 - What is the new tyre tread depth of the ps5? My brand new ones fitted prior to an MOT measured 6.5mm during the mot and were described as 23% worn

The new tread depth of the PS5 varies by size. Our test size of 225/45 R17 had 7.6mm at new, but larger wider tyres often start with less.


2022-12-21 - I have a Mercedes-Benz SLK55 AMG, fitted with four new Michelin Pilot Sport 4 in late 2021. Unfortunately, the offside rear wheel was damaged and had to be replaced over the summer, and was fitted with a Pilot Sport 5 as the PS4 was no longer available. As the nearside PS4 had very little wear and the PS5 has much the same tread pattern, I was advised it wasn’t necessary to ‘match’ it with a replacement. Is this accurate?

I'm sure you could get lots of different opinions on this, and while I'd rather have the axle matched in this case I'm sure it won't be a huge issue. one thing to note, the PS5 will wear much more slowly than the PS4 so keep an eye on things.


2023-05-11 - Is it ok to fit an SUV with (275/45/R20) Michelin PS5 or better stick with PS4 SUV? The PS5 is given as an option in the Michelin web site for both Porsche Cayenne and Audi Q7 but not for Mercedes GLE (probably because the 265/45/R20 is not available?)

If you can get the correct load rating it shouldn't be an issue, but finding a PS5 in an SUV load rating could be tricky.


2023-09-04 - Does the 5 have a rim protector? The protruding rubber that reduces risk of curbing? My Ps4s have them but no info online about it on the 5.

Rim protection varies by tyre size, but in my testing I've found the PS5 to have a small rim protector. If rim protection is important to you, I suggest looking at the Potenza Sport.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £120.89 - £136.19 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £109.36 - £114.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £160.10 - £176.33 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £135.53 - £154.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £157.18 - £176.33 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £145.99 - £171.18 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £180.98 - £190.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 46 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 5 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a BMW 420d (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 37,000 spirited miles
So after 20 years of getting GY's (loved most of them), Continental (loved all of them), Pirelli (hated most of them) and Bridgestone (hated all of them), I got first time ever Michelin PS5 2 years ago on my 4 series coupe Bmw, they're 225/45/18 size. After that I was so amazed by Michelin generally that I changed to them on all of my cars including 911 997 and as long as they make them this good I'll keep buying them. The wear is amazing and like they told me in the tire shop (that they will stay the same all their legal life) they did. So after 60k km, yes 60k km they were down to legal limit and just today I put a set of new ones. The GY and Continental always performed well at the beginning but after half of the life it would go significantly down. This performed 50% better in wear than ever before. Max I got before on any tyre was 40k km. Yes compared to Pirelli Cinturato P7 run flats the car was equipped from new there is a bit of less steering precision but my God have well they keep corners at Dolomiti mountain roads both in wet and dry and all the way at 50k km, I could actually say that only at around 55k km the back end was much happier going out. I was so blown away by them that I also got for the same car winter Alpin 5 tires and they are amazing as well. I can just say (in my case other people can have different opinions) there is Michelin and then there are other tires.
Helpful 102 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2024
Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
That's some incredible mileage from the Pilot Sport 5! Michelin work hard on their total life performance, which isn't something that's often tested, so it's great to see real world experiences at end of life.
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I've bought the new Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for my Golf R as I previously had the Pilot Sport 4 tyres. What a fantastic difference these new tyre are. Theres far less noise, the grip in the wet is better and the dry grip is almost the same if not better as well. I would definitely be buying these again.
Helpful 391 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW 140i xdrive (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
245/40/18 Fronts 265/35/18 Rears Got these on my stage 2+ 470bhp/710nm M140i. I had Goodyear Super Sports on and I didn’t really gel well with them. The road feedback was definitely better (had PS4 before the super sports) but for grip Wet & Dry the PS4 was much better. This new PS5 is the same story. Fantastic grip dry and wet, little less noisy than the PS4. However the same issue with the vague steering feel is there same as the PS4. You know you have the best of the best tyre but it can be a little unpredictable if you do find the limits of the tyre to know what the tyres doing. It’s definitely noticeable after coming from the Goodyears to the Michelin’s but take nothing away the Michelin, it’s is in a different league IMO when it comes to my car and the way it’s set up anyway. I had quite a lot of traction issues with the Goodyears, didn’t seem to get the power down as smooth as I liked, and since going back to Michelin I can comfortably get the power down without my traction light thinking it’s Christmas flashing on and off. I’ll compensate the vague steering feel for the sheer grip you get back. My new choice of tyre from now!
Helpful 124 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2022
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 5 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 5 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 5 GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Got a set of pilot sport 5 for my tuned Mk 5 golf Gti after I watched the tyre review youtube video. Best tyre I've ever had on the car , came with Dunlop Sport max which where terrible in the wet .Got a set of Yokohama not sure the model of Tyre sorry but they where even worse .The pilot sport are fantastic in the dry car goes round corners like its on tracks only down side is , there is a bit of road noise not bad but a small price to pay i suppose . I've only done roughly 3000 miles so cant say what overall ware is like . But if you are looking for a Tyre that grips has good feedback and not much sidewall roll pilot sport 5 is definition worth consideration.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2024
Given 79% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
Fitted my first full set 10/22 on a Focus ST3 running 280bhp on a stage 1 map).
Great type but they lasted 7500miles (my commute is 5miles each way) plus general driving. Great tyre but god they wear fast, even the backs only lasted 12months, not usual 24months.
Fitted second full set 10/23 to same car... I've now done 4500miles and they have 4.4mm left all round. Needless.to.say they won't last till 10/24...
The Old PS4S lasted much better wear wise.
I'm struggling to find a reason to try a third full set...
May have to revert back to Eagle F1s.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a Audi S4 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
All our three cars in our house hold we all use Michelin tyres. The Michelin sport pilot 5 is Michelins latest range. We have been using them a while now. It does everything a pilot 4 does. One can really trust and have a lot of confidence in the tyres to perform and do the job they were made to do. I have an S4 Audi and by God the pilot 5s are tremendous. Grips the road like glue. The car with the tyres handle superbaly. Obviously if you foot down all the time the tyres will grip but mileage will not be high but if you drive normally the mileage will be quite high. I got my pilot 5s on offer from Michelins promotion just in March so be quick to get £40 of two tyre. I recommend all high performance car owners to get the pilot 5 tyres. They are very reliable. This review is unbiased I have paid fully for my Michelin tyres.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2024
Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I've had PS5s on the front on my 2016 S212 E-Class for around a year (7-10k ish) and they've been excellent so far, performance of all kinds is great. I've noticed in the last month or so the tyres are starting to step on the inner tread blocks or go out of shape so they now sound like a pair of faulty wheel bearings. I am a technician at a Mercedes dealer & use our aligner to regularly check my geometry which is always fine, shocks and bushings, etc are all ok so I'm forced to conclude its the tyres themselves. I'll be hanging on to them as long as I can tolerate the noise but I suspect i'll have had enough before theyre worn out (they currently have around 4-5mm remaining). Oddly my 120,000 mile Seat Exeo with the same tyres doesn't have this problem!
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2024
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Supra (275/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
As a long time Michelin Pilot Sport user ( PSS / PS2 /PS4S ) the new PS5 is a leap forward , I mo longer do track work so stepped down to the PS5 from PS4S.

The Grip in both the Wet and Dry is excellent but the real plus is that there lasted 25k miles. and were at >3mm when i changed them.

The only downer is that they go out-of-round near the end of their life especially on the inside edge of the tyre ( and yes the geometry was fine) this is also happening on the front tyres as well. so much so it sounded like a wheel bearing was failing. When i rolled the wheel (off the car) on a smooth surface the wheel visibly swayed side-to-side. The higher sports on the tyre appeared to be where the tyre wear indicators are (3 spots on tyre surface).

But this does not distract from 20k+ of fantastic grip.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2024
Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
We have not heard many complaints about the PS5 going out of round, however BMW suspension geometry is famous for doing funny things to tyres.
Given 65% while driving a BMW (255/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Bought these for my 330d bmw , bought all 4 and was straight away thinking wow these aren’t as good as the pilot sport 4 !!!
In cold dry weather don’t grip as well .
The pilot 4 gave me confidence where these I’m unsure, hope there better in hotter weather but when these wear out I’m back on the 4
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Dry and wet grip was good and predictable. Comfort was a lot better then the previous tyre from factory (pilot super sport). The previous pilot super sport felt more direct in compressing with the pilot sport 5. I drove 18.000 km with the pilot sport 5. At 10.000 km I changed the front to the back. Now 4 tires are gone… so for me the wear is not that great. But it depends how you drive your car of course.
I am gonna try te continental premium contact 7 next.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Polo GTI (215/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced these Pilot Sport 5 tyres from the Continental premium contact 6’s that came as standard on car from factory and all I can say is WOW, much less of a dead 12 o’clock feel very progressive when pushing on. Excellent in wet. If I stomped on the go pedal at a roundabout to squeeze out a gap or get me out of bother, the Conti’s just spun up and I had to let of the gas a bit and reapply gently. These Pilot Sport 5’s have NEVER lost traction once yet. The Conti’s were not badly worn either, the rears had about 4ml of tread and the fronts had just under 3. I changed them as I just couldn’t get on with them, they felt hard very crash over bumps. I would buy these PS5’s again in a heartbeat. My car tyre size is quite niche and there isn’t a lot of premium choices but I’m so glad I got these!
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
great in both wet & dry quiet, comfortable, affordable would definitly buy again.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 2012 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I was on edge between PS5 and GoodYear Assmyetric 6... GY was cheaper, but I couldn't resist not having PS5 sidewall on my car.... Around 4k miles in, I cannot describe how much I love this tyre... Previous owner of car fitted Primacy 4, which were great, but PS5 is in class of its own...

I personally was not able to find limit of this tyre to this point in both dry or wet, and I drive rather hard... Once I go to right this set, I will get them again without any hesitation
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2023
Given 65% while driving a BMW M240i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Bought the Pilot Sport 5 to replace half-worn Pilot Super Sports which, despite being awesome in the dry, were downright lethal in the cold and damp! These came off after about 25000 miles and still had around 5mm tread left!
PS5 First impressions were positive but I came to quickly realise that was down to the old-for-new tyre swap! While I've found the PS5 to be good in the cold and wet, it understeers way too much for my liking. The rears in 245/35/18 are now approaching 2mm (after 14 months/less than 20000miles) so any day now I'll be replacing them.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2023
Given 64% while driving a MINI Countryman JCW (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
I loved driving on these tires. They gripped surprisingly well early in the season, when, for the first two weeks, the early morning temperatures were -7C.

I never ran out of grip. They hung on in dry and wet.

Here in Canada they cost $2k. But the real shock was that after 20k km they were worn down and have only 3 mm tread left. I usually get 4-5 years out of my tires. I’m on winter tires from October through March to May, depending on the year.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2023