Michelin Pilot Sport 5

The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 builds on the impressive range of ability of the PS4, improving the tread life, having sharper more precise steering, and offering higher levels of grip in the dry and wet.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.

Tyre Reviews

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 37,950 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 5 is ranked 4th of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the dry and wet, short braking distances in all conditions, the highest aquaplaning resistance of the test, good rolling resistance, good levels of comfort, extremely attractive sidewall design.
  • Negative - Average external noise, non-dynamic handling qualities with high levels of understeer.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 picks up where the Pilot Sport 4 left off, by being a tyre that does almost everything well! It's only slight weakness across all the tests was an average passby noise, but it offered excellent grip during braking and handling and had the highest aquaplaning resistance of the group. Unfortunately, like the Pilot Sport 4, the PS5 sporty dynamics were midpack, with less direct steering and high levels of understeer than the best on test.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022 Tyre Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 5

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 5

    2022-01-27 - When do you expect to review the new Pilot Sport 5 tyres?

    I'm working hard to be the first on the new PS5, but realistically it's not possible to test before spring so I'm expecting March time.


    2022-04-10 - Why PS5, compared to Asym 6, can be both average in wet grip/handling and excellent at aquaplaning resistance? Intuitively, a tire that better resists aquaplaning performs better in wet conditions, right?

    Wet handling uses around 1 mm of water which doesn't really challenge a new tyres aquaplaning properties so is more about the mechanical grip of the compound, where aquaplaning tests are usually conducted in 8 mm of water which is all about tread design.


    2022-06-14 - I have kia stinger with pilot sport 4 tyres and had a punctured front left tyre. I cannot find the ps4 to buy anymore just the pilot sport 5. Will it be ok to switch both front tyres to ps5 and keep the rear tyres in ps4? They are new ps4 less than a 1000km.

    Yes, mixing the Pilot Sport 5 and Pilot Sport 4 is totally ok as long as you match the left and right on the axle.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £101.10 - £136.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £96.90 - £125.80 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R19 £168.40 - £231.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £160.90 - £551.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/35 R18 £197.00 - £208.70 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 5 Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    I've bought the new Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for my Golf R as I previously had the Pilot Sport 4 tyres. What a fantastic difference these new tyre are. Theres far less noise, the grip in the wet is better and the dry grip is almost the same if not better as well. I would definitely be buying these again.
    Helpful 198 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a BMW 140i xdrive (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    245/40/18 Fronts 265/35/18 Rears Got these on my stage 2+ 470bhp/710nm M140i. I had Goodyear Super Sports on and I didn’t really gel well with them. The road feedback was definitely better (had PS4 before the super sports) but for grip Wet & Dry the PS4 was much better. This new PS5 is the same story. Fantastic grip dry and wet, little less noisy than the PS4. However the same issue with the vague steering feel is there same as the PS4. You know you have the best of the best tyre but it can be a little unpredictable if you do find the limits of the tyre to know what the tyres doing. It’s definitely noticeable after coming from the Goodyears to the Michelin’s but take nothing away the Michelin, it’s is in a different league IMO when it comes to my car and the way it’s set up anyway. I had quite a lot of traction issues with the Goodyears, didn’t seem to get the power down as smooth as I liked, and since going back to Michelin I can comfortably get the power down without my traction light thinking it’s Christmas flashing on and off. I’ll compensate the vague steering feel for the sheer grip you get back. My new choice of tyre from now!
    Helpful 78 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    The Pilot Sport 5 is an evolution of the Pilot Sport 4, rather than a revolution. Grip is improved slightly in both wet and dry conditions, but don't expect the revolutionary difference from the Pilot Super Sport or Pilot Sport 3 to the 4. In terms of pace, the difference is perhaps more obvious on the stopwatch than in the seat with Michelin themselves claiming only a 1.7% improvement on pace in the wet. That's not to say that it's a bad thing though - the PS4 was already at or around the top of the tables in most regards, and they are what I would consider the gold standard for a road tyre (assuming you cannot get the Pilot Sport 4 S in your fitment), so an improvement is likely to push the standard even further. As with the Pilot Sport 4, grip is fantastic in the dry, comparable to that of an AD08R semi slick, and in the wet the PS5 handles better than some road tyres do in the dry. Noise levels are broadly similar, but the sound is duller and less intrusive than the 4. Again, that's already a fairly high benchmark, as the PS4 is a quiet, refined tyre in the first place. Sidewall strength has always been a weak point for the PS4, with Michelin choosing to err on the side of comfort, and the Pilot Sport 5 is still not exemplary in this regard, but there is a modest improvement in sidewall stiffness over the 4. It's still early days for terms of wear rate so I have not rated this. Michelin claims a 15% improvement on tyre life, one of the main claims they make over the PS4, so if anything this will be the main reason to choose the PS5 over the PS4, although realistically if you are looking at the PS4 then you will care about the slight improvements in performance too. Ultimately the Pilot Sport 5 moves the goalposts a little further, but not a lot. Whilst it currently is the best tyre on the market (at least in the 17 inch fitment I run), rivals are catching up, and the next versions of their tyres could well be able to close that gap in the next few years. However, it's worth buying over the PS4 given the very similar price.
    Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2022
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 5 >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 5 Reviews

    Given 95% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Great tyres, they feel very refined and sophisticated with no harshness and are perfectly round. Gives a great feeling of safety with endless grip in both wet and dry conditions. Quiet too, only some "singing" around 120 km/h, but none at 110 km/h or 130 km/h
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    I do a lot of miles in my Golf GTI and these are wearing very well, 25,000 miles already and still seems like a good amount of tread left. I did rotate front to rear at 15k. Very comfortable too.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2022
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 530e M Sport LCI 2021 (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,250 spirited miles
    It was a comfort sporty tyre with low to moderate noisy. In dry grip, PS5 was excellent, I drive with confident with a really good handling (after running in for 500 km), not high level of understeer as the review mentioned, but there was low level of road feedback. In wet grip, I also feel confident to drive with high speed. There was no aquaplaning when I drive through a puddle on the road.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz C300 Coupe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    I didn't know what to make of it when I left the tire shop. It was a strange numb feeling in the steering after coming from Bridgestone Potenza S001 MO. Everything changed once I got the first 100 km on it. The tire made the car feel like it was glued to the road and the steering felt planted, heavy. The tire has insane levels of grip. I can go way faster into corners than my previous tires. Downside is that it's not as fun or sporty but by all means not bad. I tested them on the rain with 5 degrees C outside driving 170 kmph on the highway with no issues at all and also 25 degrees C on the dry. They do feel better once warmed up but still no grip issues on cold mornings. Comfort levels are supreme! The tires have a certain finesse when hitting road imperfections or bumps and of course the sidewall looks amazing. I struggled to choose between AS 6 and PS5 but went for comfort and aquaplaning since I do not drive aggressively all the time. Overall I'm happy with my purchase but I will try AS 6 next time. Hope an OE version comes out or even PS5 in R18 sizes if it comes to Europe @Michelin !!!!!!!!
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2022
    Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tires absolutely famous on the wet road, excellent on dry. Even if the vehicle's drivetrain is based on the Haldex 5 principle, either dry or wet, the vehicle is exemplary neutral, even when the trunk is fully loaded. On the winding mountain highway, SUVs and much more powerful vehicles are literally declassifying. At the mountain passes, you can enjoy exemplary precision in keeping track and excellent grip.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2022
    Given 75% while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
    Mounted a set of PS5’s on my Bmw F20 after having good experiences with Michelin tires in the past. The general feeling of grip was great, but they introduced quite a bit of understeer, which is very unlike how a F20 on a square setup behaves. I also felt the tire lacked steering feel. Thus not a very engaging tire for those of us who like a sporty setup. I have now fitted a set of Asymmetric 6 to the car and am much happier.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2022
    Given 85% while driving a Subaru 2.0 Crosstrek (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    I just got these PS5 changing from Conti MC6. The first thing I recognize was that the tyre is not as responsive and accurate as the MC6. Sure, comfort are gained. The grip is very good though. But it just don't let you feel things that are happening as much as the conti. For example, I just couldn't get myself to throw my car in to corners as fast as I could on the Conti because if just feel a bit numb and harder to predict. Anyway, if you get used to it, you will be able to corner very fast but depending on memory not from instant feeling you get. About handling alone, it has lots of grip, BUT softer sidewalls make it hard and slow to change the car direction. (Like slalom or moose test) Comfort are great as well as noise. I would love to take the PS5 on a trip instantly. If I were to give advise, I would say that the PS5 are for people who drive a lot, like to throw their car fast into corners from time to time, like driving comfortably and safely. If you are a kind of people who like to zigzag through the street, like driving fast up and down mountains or those country roads with lots of turns, THEY ARE NOT FOR YOU. Go find something more responsive and make your car feel fun to drive.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2022
    Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Coming from F1 Supersports on the front, they needed changed just after 8 months..But, I do have a heavy right foot so that explains that I suppose. One thing I noticed about the Supersports is that when the tread depth went below 3.5mm the grip reduced, quite noticeable loss of grip too! My car, a Mercedes A220d is a fwd car with a torque converter gearbox and has immense torque from fairly low revs. As a result, the F1 Supersport would struggle for traction for a good 3-4 seconds on the wet when flooring it. Dry was OK, but no more than that. However, it's a whole different case with the PS5. Minimal loss of traction on wet greasy roads and then it's just grip and go. I'm actually amazed at the difference as I didn't think there would be much in it between the F1 Supersports and and the PS5. At high speed, both the F1 SS and the PS5 inspire confidence in the bends, however once again the PS5 feels more direct and as a result has the edge. The PS5 is also more comfortable, and a lot less noisy. And, it has a beautiful sidewall and just seems to fill the wheel arch gaps so much better. There's a reason why Michelin is chosen by Bugatti. Conclusion...until the PS5s is released some time next year, the PS5 is simply the best option for 18' tyres at the moment as a summer tyre. If you want the best tyres for size 18' and under, look no further. PS5 is king.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2022
    Given 71% while driving a Audi A3 quattro (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
    I had Michelin Pilot Sport 4 before, and these Sport 5 seem like a step backwards, and I didn't like the Ps4 very much. The Ps5 are comfortable, they grip well, both dry and wet, but they seem to me more for sedans focused on doing miles on the highway and good roads. It is not a tire that gives the feeling at the wheel at the reaction level of being a sports tire, neither are the Ps4, but on winding roads it gives me other sensations. I have always carried GOODYEAR in my car, always. I mounted Ps4 because a friend convinced me. I live in a place where it rains a lot and Goodyear has never given me a scare and the Ps4 has. I put the Ps5 thinking they would improve, but no. You will wonder why I did not mount Asymmetric 6. It will seem stupid, but since I had not seen them live, there was no review and in the press photos the sidewall looked very ugly. After seeing reviews I will try the Asymmetric 6 next.
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2022
    Given 96% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (225/45 R17) on track for 100 spirited miles
    I had Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tires mounted on my Abarth 180HP. This car is a toy, used for sharp driving at 140-200 km/h only on dry roads. Never on wet or icy roads. So this review is not from a conventional point of view. I swapped my PS3 for a Pirelli Zero Nero and nearly crashed a few times. The Pirelli's were constantly squealing, making the car very unstable with a tendency to oversteer. The Pirelli does have less loss, so the car is faster, but it has poor grip. Immediately changed to Pilot Sport 5, all driving habits returned as they should be. Now corners can be taken safely at 40kmh faster without any squealing or loss of stability. Also, the emergency braking follows the track, not making snake-like movements. I can't say the PS5 is much better than the PS3, I can barely tell the difference on dry grip. The PS is a very good tyre, it's harder compared to the Pirelli, but when it warms up it behaves very well even at temperatures just above 0°C. Even if the car is a bit understeering now, it feels very confident.
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2022