Bridgestone Potenza Sport

The Bridgestone Potenza Sport is the latest ultra high performance summer tyre by Bridgestone. It has been developed to offer the best cornering and straight line stability, best dry braking, and outstanding grip in the wet of any Bridgestone UHP tyre. The Potenza Sport will be available in 96 sizes from 17" to 22" to cover a wide range of passenger cars and on-road SUVs in the market.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza S001.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 75%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 81%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 86,550 miles driven.

The Potenza Sport is ranked 11th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - New sports pattern with direct steering and balanced handling, excellent dry handling, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Slightly higher noise.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very high level of grip in the wet and in particular the dry. Direct steering response and high steering precision during dry handling.
  • Negative - Somewhat sensitive to load changes in the wet, increased aquaplaning risks in curves, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The new Potenza Sport excels in the dry, with a slight aquaplaning weakness.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - The Potenza Sport is a new top class sports tyre with excellent handling in the dry and wet, precise steering response, good balance, shortest wet and dry braking distances and good aquaplaning properties.
  • Overall - Test Winner.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £90.09 - £103.80 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £79.29 - £93.89 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.39 - £87.42 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £119.49 - £148.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £117.19 - £139.69 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £105.29 - £123.84 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £176.69 - £194.78 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 95 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 98% while driving a Kia Motors XCEED, 1.4 T GDI, MT, 2020 (235/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I always had my cars on UUHP tires from Michelin, GY, Conti, and Bridgestone over the past 20+ years. This year I opted for Potenza Sport and I really love them. I can see that I made the right choice - the grip is simply relentless and fantastic feedback from the tires. Aquaplaning is also fantastic, considering how much faster I was able to push the car with confidence on autobahn during the pouring rain. Straight tracking is precise and the car is completely responsive to every input. Overall they feel like PZERO PZ4, but on a higher level in each discipline. Awesome tires and I recommend them 100%
82 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2021   
Given 70% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good rim protection Good in dry poor in wet
52 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2021   
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Awesome in the dry, loads of grip and good handling, pretty good in the wet too though don't like cold english mornings. DO NOT RUN THEM ON TRACK. They melt. I ruined the right front in about 15 laps. Ergo I won't be buying again. Normally tyres last me a few trackdays.
52 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2021   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza Sport >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 84% while driving a BMW M140i (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Fun to drive tyre. Less understeer compared to Michelin Pilot Supersport. But they wear really fast.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a BMW E39 M5 (275/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I run original E39 M5 wheels with oe size 245/40 R18 front and 275/35 R18 rear. Bridgestone Potenza Sport on both axles. I can't praise these tires enough. The grip is insane! I can floor it in 1st, and there is no wheelspin at all! Even on wet roads! With other tires, the car has been kind of a burnout machine, but the Potenza Sports tames it. They run pretty wide for a 275, so the outside of the rear tires touch the fender ever so slightly on full suspension compression. I haven't dared testing the cornering limit of the tires on public roads, but I have tried cornering on the limit of my own bravery, and the tires just grip. Wet roads is no problem either. The tires offer confident handling and gives good feedback. Very stable at all speeds, but on very worn (thanks to people with studded winter tires) asphalt there can be a hint of tramlining. Not as much as expected, considering the sharp shoulders of the tires, and doesn't feel scary. Comfort is ok. Not great, not bad. A lot of external noise, but the car is pretty quiet inside, except on old rough asphalt. Sadly they have already started ozone cracking slightly. That's disappointing for a tire in this price range. It's not because of washing chemicals or sun, as the ozone cracks is even apparent on the inside. The tires also get pretty brown, and the only thing I've found that makes them black again is Carpro Perl (water based tire shine, mixed 1:1 with water). The ozone cracks started appearing before I used any tire shine. Either way, I'm blown away with the performance of these tires. Wear is also very acceptable, with the rears down to 4,8mm on the inside, and 5,5mm on the outside (measured 6,3mm on the inner groove when they were new). The fronts are at around 5,5mm. Pretty good for a heavy and relatively powerful car on grippy sport tires over 3000 enthusiastic miles. I'm pretty sure I will buy another set of the same tires when they wear out.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic FK2 Type R (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,700 spirited miles
Have had these on my FK2 Civic Type R for 7500km now, with 6500 of those km-s coming from a European road trip to the Nürburgring, on German autobahns and through rainy Italian mountain passes. The tire is great, it really is. I measured the tread depth at the beginning of the trip and came up with 7mm (essentially brand new). At the end of the trip, the front tires were at 5mm and rear tires at 6mm. At the Nürburgring, it took 6 (120km) hard driven dry laps to reduce the tread depth about 0.8-0.9mm (front tires). For those who read reviews saying that these tires don't last or that they wear fast on track, don't be discouraged. I have no idea how those people drive their cars, but less than 1mm of tread lost in 6 fast laps of the Nürburgring, on a car that EATS front tires is just amazing. Now on to the dry and wet performance. Everyday driving is great, the sound is not too bad (every single tire is going to be loud in an FK2 Type R) and handling is great when the tire is cold. On the track (the Nürburgring) the tire is AMAZING. For a road tire, once it gets warm, the grip is just monstrous. My friend ran Cup 2 tires, came on as a passenger, and was impressed by the amount of grip a road focused tire offers. The tire is predictable, feels great and sharp on tight turns and is very stable at high speeds. The sidewall is rather stiff, so the tire did not roll on itself too bad on high loads/low pressures (compared to for example Michelins, which have a very soft sidewall). The tire is also very good in the wet. for about 600km-s I got to try it out in rainy Italian mountain passes and I never lost confidence in the tire. I don't think I had a single ''oh crap'' moment, even when pushing. In conclusion, the Bridgestone Potenza Sport was about 50 euros per tire cheaper than the Michelin PS4S, and with the tire offering performance AT LEAST as good as the PS4S, I have no idea why I (or anyone else) should use any other tire for everyday (plus a little track) use.
11 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T S line Cabrio (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I like pure performance. Intrigued by the reviews of other users I must confirm that the expectations have been met. I don't run on the track, but on the road these Bridgestones are unrivaled at the moment, they seem to be unbeatable. They are truly the new benchmark in sports tires.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2021   
Given 38% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 (225/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
Very disappointed when using high performance, no grip at dry when accelerating, they seek road grooves very much and because of that they are very scary to accelerating. They bounce when accelerating. I had before Hankook Evo2 k120 tyres which didnt do these all shit things, they was much better tyres for high performance. If i knew how bad these Bridgestone Potenza Sport tyres are, i wouldnt buy them.
15 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2021   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 435d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Just tried the new Potenza Sport, a great leap forward compared to the past. stable tire safe and very sensitive to change of direction. kept at the impressive limit, a little noisy but average. very robust and communicative side, less flexible than ps4s, this is an advantage in sporty driving. Compared to the S001 wider footprint, better road holding. for now I am very satisfied.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have ran these for about 500 miles now and initially seem a very good UHP tyre. Have just tried them on track for an evening and they held up even better than expected. Wear rate seems good and the grip levels very predictable, didn't get any crazy wear on the trackday like mention in other reviews. Small amount of wet driving seemed positive as well. Will follow up with another review after 10000 miles or so but so far really impressed with these tyres and its nice to have a tyre of this caliber in 17"! Would recommend if you're in the market for a UHP tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a BMW M140i (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
Big dissappointment - I fitted the new Bridgestone Potenza Sport tyres mid April and with very low mileage on the road and around 70 miles on track the tyres are done and worn out.. - fabrics showing on the side wall…?! I did many track days previously with the S001 RFTs with no issues, so it is not due to car and/or driving style - Potenza Sport is simply not a tyre for track use - even for a lap or two…
14 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 325d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Monstrous grip on dry or wet roads. Very direct and very precise steering. Very fun, track and road tires. A little noisier and less comfortable, but super sporty. Absolutely to try. We hope they have an acceptable duration.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Volvo V60 D6 AWD (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
I really impressed about grips and initial feedback what I get my Volvo compact wagon. Last tyres in my Volvo was Bridgestone Potenza S001 and Potenza Sport is really another animal. Maybe noise is something that can be improved and after that this is 'the one' sport tyre.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2021   
Given 85% while driving a Ford Sierra Cosworth 2wd (215/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Comparing these to previous tyres: Michelin Pilot Sport 205/40-18, Ford Fiesta ST Michelin Pilot Sport 4 205/55-16, Ford Mondeo 2.2 TDCi Nokian Hakka Blue 205/55-16, Ford Mondeo 2.2 TDCi Federal 595 RS-R 205/50-15, Ford Sierra Cosworth 4x4 Toyo Proxes T1R 225/35-16, Ford Sierra XR4x4, Ford Cougar As you might have guessed, only the PS4 in the Fiesta is really comparable on most conditions, but I could mention that the levels of grip seem to be far out of reach of Federal & Toyo on the dry, and incomparable in the wet. In noise & comfort the Potenza Sport in this size loses to the PS4 in 16" but ties with it in 18". When the tyre is cold, it doesn't grip. Good news is that it only takes a few kilometres to warm up, as long as the outside temperature is above 10 °C. At normal driving temperatures, grip is equal or superior to that of PS4 even in the wet. When the traction is lost, it feels a bit sharper than with the Michelin. PS4 might be a friendlier tyre all around, but PS feels like it has an advantage in traction. Will update this after a trackday.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the S001. I have done 1k on them, and they are very grippy tyres. Very precise on steering input. Dry braking is amazing. Wet grip is also very good. Not had any issues with aquaplaning. They give so much confidence in the corners. Only get better once the tyre has some heat in it, but perfectly fine when the tyre is cold. Can be a little noisy at motorway speeds, other than that fine. Massive rim protector compared to S001. Tyre Wear: I have done 1k and it gone from 6.8mm (New) to 6.4mm in 1k, so I am going to get about 10-12K out of them, which is not bad for a UUHP that comes with 6.8mm brand new. I only got 14k out of set of PS4 before which come with 7.5mm new. The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the Bridgestone S001.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2021