Bridgestone Potenza Sport

The Bridgestone Potenza Sport is the latest ultra high performance summer tyre by Bridgestone. It has been developed to offer the best cornering and straight line stability, best dry braking, and outstanding grip in the wet of any Bridgestone UHP tyre. The Potenza Sport will be available in 96 sizes from 17" to 22" to cover a wide range of passenger cars and on-road SUVs in the market.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza S001.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 64%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 77%

Tyre review data from 55 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 177,721 miles driven.

The Potenza Sport is ranked 19th of 69 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the dry with quick handling and sharp steering, very good in the wet.
  • Negative - Low aquaplaning resistance, high levels of noise, lowest comfort on test, highest rolling resistance on test.
  • Overall - The Bridgestone Potenza Sport continues to be an exciting tyre to drive, with sporty handling and excellent dynamic properties in the dry and wet. This does compromise the aquaplaning ability, comfort levels and rolling resistance of the tyre, and as the only tyre with the starting tread depth below 7mm, this is a tyre for the enthusiast that prioritises driving enjoyment.
View Full Test >>

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Outstanding and safe cornering dynamics on wet and dry routes, combined with surprisingly good aquaplaning prevention. High steering agility and precision.
  • Negative - For every day relevant driving, only moderate braking and grip in the wet and dry.
  • Overall - Precise and uncompromisingly sporty – only safe to drive when the tyres are warm.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing sports tyres with good security reserves, dynamic handling, direct steering.
  • Negative - SLightly longer wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

2021-08-26 - Hi, just put the Bridgestone Potenza sport 225/40-18 and 255/35-18 on my Meredes slk 55 amg, 2006. On saturday (28/8-21) i go for a trackday in Sweden and wondering what tyre pressure this tyre need on track? OEM car recommend is 2,2 and 2,4 bar...

Aim for those pressures when hot, so drop down to 2bar, warm up and then reduce the pressure to match recommendation.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £98.39 - £128.99 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £91.59 - £113.06 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.99 - £105.06 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.99 - £100.31 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R20 £176.59 - £203.15 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £106.29 - £136.99 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £131.29 - £165.29 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 97 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 98% while driving a Kia Motors XCEED, 1.4 T GDI, MT, 2020 (235/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I always had my cars on UUHP tires from Michelin, GY, Conti, and Bridgestone over the past 20+ years. This year I opted for Potenza Sport and I really love them. I can see that I made the right choice - the grip is simply relentless and fantastic feedback from the tires. Aquaplaning is also fantastic, considering how much faster I was able to push the car with confidence on autobahn during the pouring rain. Straight tracking is precise and the car is completely responsive to every input. Overall they feel like PZERO PZ4, but on a higher level in each discipline. Awesome tires and I recommend them 100%
Helpful 106 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Jaguar XFR (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have had these on the rear of my XFR for a few months now, it has the optional "R-S" size of 295/30/20. They get a hard life on a heavy >500bhp RWD car with quite relaxed electronics, and these are by far the best tyres I have used on the rear of an XFR - various models of which have been my daily driver for 6.5 years now (about 90k miles covered in that time). Traction is superb in wet and dry conditions, and resistance to aquaplaning has been good as well. It is slightly concerning they come with
Helpful 105 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2021
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Awesome in the dry, loads of grip and good handling, pretty good in the wet too though don't like cold english mornings. DO NOT RUN THEM ON TRACK. They melt. I ruined the right front in about 15 laps. Ergo I won't be buying again. Normally tyres last me a few trackdays.
Helpful 77 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2021
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza Sport >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Porsche 986 Boxster (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1 average miles
I have these tires for around 2km and they do feel amazing. Great grip on dry and impressive grip on the wet. However, before pushing you first need to get them warm as they're actually really dangerous when cold. The feedback you get from these tires is incredible and they've made my car even more direct than it already was. Sad thing is that I've already noticed some wear on the rear tires which might have been done from a 800km trip I did when I first got them fitted.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Jaguar XF (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
A Real Performance Tire Potenza Sport. These tires are really fantastic for Performance Purposes. Car Power 300 Hp 625 nw/m Car weight 4300 Lbs Tires 245/45R18 100Y. Recommended pressure from car manufacturer, Lower 32 Psi Higher 38 PSI. Potenza Sport after 10.000 km (400 km in three track days). Last three Tires before Pzero, asymmetric 5 and asymmetric 3.
Front my point of view:
-Extremely good: Drive on wet. Dry and wet braking distance. Performance drive both wet and dry . Cornering both wet and dry. Wet driving Racing 99,5% in wet handling (exception aquaplaning)
-Very good: Dry handling better than other tires I've had, Dry racing drive.
-Good: Only one exception on wet , Aquaplaning with lots of water similar or lighter better than other tires I've had
-Right: Confort, Noise, fuel consumption, tire wear on road and tire wear on track if it is raining.
- Fuel consumption when tire pressure is the maximum recommended by Jaguar (38 Psi +0.2/0.3 l/100km) Not good enough: Fuel consumption if tire pressure is at the minimum recommended by car manufacturer. (32 PSI +0.7/0.8 l/100km).
Tire wear on Track if it’s Dry - In my opinion nothing is bad o very bad.
I drove three times on circuit, dry and wet for 400 km. It is not a Track tire, but it behaves well, very well for a road tire, especially in the wet ( I recommend it on a raining track day). On the circuit it wears out relatively quickly and holds up better if it's not hot.
In conclusion, a fantastic road tire choice for performance or wet purposes, not so good if you are looking for a very comfortable tire with real long life and low consumption.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Mazda CX7 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Fitted them on a CX-7 AWD on 19" oem wheels and oem size. The tyres before were Pirelli PZero Rosso. Bridgestones are by far better on every aspect except noise. These are ever so slightly louder and harsher on potholes. Would definitely buy them again, if the wear rate is decent. Also, flange protection is adequate.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2022
Given 93% while driving a BMW 335d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
very good rim protection, very precise steering feel, good comfort and low noise. compared to the hankook ventus evo 3, where the direction of the car was much more vague.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 64% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Great tyre in the wet and dry, but the wear killed me. I will never buy these again. My wife drives the car now since I work from home, we sure as hell don't do track days and these wore out on the rear in 8000 miles or so and in 6 months. This is on an Audi A4 Quattro 190 PS that is used for commuting. Hardly rigourous driving. I opened a ticket with Bridgestone and predictably, they said the wear was within "design tolerances". GFY. Typical get out clause BS. Avoid these like the plague unless you have money to burn. Yes I know 60% of torque on Quattros goes to the rear, but still..
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk4 V6 4Motion (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Best tyres i have ever had by far phenomenal dry grip great wet grip comfortable have done 3000 miles on them some motorway and a roads and lots of spirited driving on the tight and twistys .
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Being fitted to a weekend/track day car as a set of tyres for road use, I will skip reviewing comfort and wear. Performance wise, there is no alternative at this size. It is on a next level compering to P Zero Nero or CSC5. Road feedback and dry grip is amazing for an road tyre, plus there is a good rim protection. Sure something like MPSC2 would offer even better driving experiance once all conditions are met, but for 99% of a time this can get same, if not even better drive. Due to comments on here, I have not test these on track.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2022
Given 87% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
With b12 set-up you are looking for nothing else on the road, or you have to switch to semi slick. Grips a lot on dry roads. The only problem that you will not get the miles of a michelin, but if you want to have fun it is the right tire. Before i had yokohama advan a052 those were the top but unfortunately i didn't do them more than 4000km, so for now it's good power. I look forward to advan a09 coming out
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Tesla Model 3 Performance (235/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I had already reviewed this tyres in my early mileage and now im going to do my second review about them. After almost 15.000km i can say that they are really noisy compared to my previews Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. Although they are better at weat roads and you will feel the difference. I´m doing this second review because i have an important point that i need to mention: If you have an electric car you will notice a huge increase at your consumptions. My normal consumption(with the PS4S) was 202wh/km and now i´m having 230wh/km with the same drive behavior. Thats more 3kwh per 100km. (its like having a heater working all the time). The tyres are amazing but choose ones with less rolling resistance if you have an electric vehicle. Regards
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Audi A3 1.8T sport (225/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Have the 225/35/19 for about 15000 km. Nice tyre on dry very sharp steering and very good feedback of the road. Doesn't take much time to heat up the tyres but as an owner of a front wheel car with almost 400 hp and 520 Nm of torque I have to say that the wear is very high... At 8000 km i had the front tires at the half of its tread. Now with the back tires at the front almost the same wear, for a tire that handles wonderful. Probably a bit better than my previous Michelin PS4S. If the wear wasn't an issue I would probably give it a 8-9 overall.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
Given 64% while driving a Renault clio 197 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Ηaving driven in a "highly spirited" manner over the last couple of days, the facts and outcomes are as follows: This tire has been the best tested on my Clio RS to date. Steering response and road feel are highly elevated compared to my previous tires. Indicatively I mention that even after 1.5h of continuous driving, the tire held off all the required properties without any apparent sign of functional fatigue. Initial pressures F/R were set at 2.5 and 2.1 bar respectively taking under consideration the increased heat load from a very warm Greek b-road with ambient reaching and exceeding 35 C. The only downside to this continuous performance is the fast tire wear. In less than 2000 kms the front tire tread depth decreased to just 3mm. That's the reason that I will not buy them again.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Given 93% while driving a BMW 323i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
This time I thought I'd opt for the bridgestone potenza sports to get first hand experience of what they are actually like (all four tyres changed). I drive a 1996 E36 which has no driver aids (no TC and ABS removed) so can look to give some feedback on how this tyre responds. First impressions of it is that the steering response has definetly increased and the feedback is really confidence inspiring in dry and especially wet weather conditions. Brakes respond very well too very consistent pedal feel. I have yet to come across another tyre that performs as well as this does in the wet, where I have exceeded over triple digit figures over flooded surfaces and has maintained grip and composure at ease. The only con and this is literally nit picking would be the brakes are not the sharpest under heavy rain however this is not to take away its ability to brake in the wet. Overall so far so good I think its an excellent choice for anybody to consider especially in the UK.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2021