Bridgestone Potenza Sport

The Bridgestone Potenza Sport is the latest ultra high performance summer tyre by Bridgestone. It has been developed to offer the best cornering and straight line stability, best dry braking, and outstanding grip in the wet of any Bridgestone UHP tyre. The Potenza Sport will be available in 96 sizes from 17" to 22" to cover a wide range of passenger cars and on-road SUVs in the market.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza S001.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 64%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 62 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 228,433 miles driven.

The Potenza Sport is ranked 19th of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the dry with quick handling and sharp steering, very good in the wet.
  • Negative - Low aquaplaning resistance, high levels of noise, lowest comfort on test, highest rolling resistance on test.
  • Overall - The Bridgestone Potenza Sport continues to be an exciting tyre to drive, with sporty handling and excellent dynamic properties in the dry and wet. This does compromise the aquaplaning ability, comfort levels and rolling resistance of the tyre, and as the only tyre with the starting tread depth below 7mm, this is a tyre for the enthusiast that prioritises driving enjoyment.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Impressive grip with sporty handling in the wet, direct steering response and stable handling in the dry, short wet and dry braking, good comfort.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance, high noise.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The Potenza Sport lead in the dry and wet with the sharpest handling and shortest braking distances.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

2021-08-26 - Hi, just put the Bridgestone Potenza sport 225/40-18 and 255/35-18 on my Meredes slk 55 amg, 2006. On saturday (28/8-21) i go for a trackday in Sweden and wondering what tyre pressure this tyre need on track? OEM car recommend is 2,2 and 2,4 bar...

Aim for those pressures when hot, so drop down to 2bar, warm up and then reduce the pressure to match recommendation.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £98.39 - £133.60 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £91.59 - £126.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.99 - £103.90 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.99 - £109.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £120.19 - £170.10 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R20 £176.59 - £338.70 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £106.29 - £151.80 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 98 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Jaguar XFR (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have had these on the rear of my XFR for a few months now, it has the optional "R-S" size of 295/30/20. They get a hard life on a heavy >500bhp RWD car with quite relaxed electronics, and these are by far the best tyres I have used on the rear of an XFR - various models of which have been my daily driver for 6.5 years now (about 90k miles covered in that time). Traction is superb in wet and dry conditions, and resistance to aquaplaning has been good as well. It is slightly concerning they come with
Helpful 211 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2021
Given 98% while driving a Kia Motors XCEED, 1.4 T GDI, MT, 2020 (235/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I always had my cars on UUHP tires from Michelin, GY, Conti, and Bridgestone over the past 20+ years. This year I opted for Potenza Sport and I really love them. I can see that I made the right choice - the grip is simply relentless and fantastic feedback from the tires. Aquaplaning is also fantastic, considering how much faster I was able to push the car with confidence on autobahn during the pouring rain. Straight tracking is precise and the car is completely responsive to every input. Overall they feel like PZERO PZ4, but on a higher level in each discipline. Awesome tires and I recommend them 100%
Helpful 110 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2021
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Awesome in the dry, loads of grip and good handling, pretty good in the wet too though don't like cold english mornings. DO NOT RUN THEM ON TRACK. They melt. I ruined the right front in about 15 laps. Ergo I won't be buying again. Normally tyres last me a few trackdays.
Helpful 85 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2021
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza Sport >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Most grippy tire you can buy for this tire size. I had the Hankook S1 Evo3 before, they were already very good, but this takes it to another level, almost semi slick performance. The only downside is that they wear pretty fast, I think they will do about 25000km.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I had it as front tyres for about 4 months on a modified Renault laguna making around 220hp and that's how much they lived. The dry grip was excellent and even the wet was ok. If the wear wasn't so bad, would recommend it.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2022
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 90% while driving a Porsche Cayman (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,200 spirited miles
By far this is the best tyre I've ever owned, so far. I drove my Cayman only on mountain twisty roads, as that was my "sunday car" and fitting those tyres completely changed my car. With Potenza Sport you get a semi-slick tyre looking like a "normal" UHP everyday tyre which you can run silently on a motorway or enjoy in the worst (or best) racing scenario. I couldn't believe such a sporty (steering feeling is amazing), grippy (no matter whether tyre is cold, warm or overheated, it GRIPS!) and yet comfortable tyre coud exist on earth!
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Porsche Cayman s (265/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Outstanding UUHP tyre. Sharp on the steering with excellent feedback in both the dry and wet. Grip is exceptional once warmed up (takes a few miles to build temperature) and the performance on a wet road is incredible.

Downsides are the tyre has high road noise and transmits sudden shocks into the chassis rather than absorbing in the tyre, not too bad if you have decent damping but something to be aware of if you value comfort and noise. Very much a "sporty" tyre for everyday driving without being too track focussed (ie normal road driving gets enough heat into the tyre to "switch on" the grip)

Cannot comment on wear as only put 2k miles on, but good to see tread depth and the small about of sipes go all the way to the base of the tyre which suggest performance should stay reasonably consistent over the life of the tyre. Tyre wear seems average for a UUHP tyre based on current wear rates.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
After Potenza s001 I choosed the newest production of Bridgestone POTENZA SPORT. So, this tire looks very good choice for some one how have high expectations from his car. Very good both for dry and wet conditions, perfect handling to the limits, typical POTENZA'S hard side's with very good rim protection. The bad thing is the wear of this tire. At this point yes POTENZA SPORT doesn't looks so good like the previus s001's and RE050a's. After 12.000 kilometres SPORT'S looks bit tyred. General yes, i would buy it again
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 miles
Unbelievable tyre for the price wear is high but that’s at the sacrifice of grip an oh do they grip
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Tesla Model 3 Performance (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
OK, I bought this tyre because it was fairly well priced here in Aus compared to the PS4s/SportContact6/PZ4 and they seem to have reviewed quiet well. 100% the tyre for the person who wants grip and wants the feeling of I can go around corners and just mash the throttle. Loads of grip in the wet and dry. I also felt it had good feedback through the steering wheel too. I've taken these tyres up to the mountains etc and they performed well. Thats where the good stuff ends. Although they had loads of grip and a great value I only got 15,000Kms from them. If it was a weekend car I would fit these tyres for sure 100% all the time. But being a daily and the High amount of kms I do per year its simply not worth the hassle getting them replaced every 15k kms. I came from OEM PZ4 and they lasted 38k kms... these Bridgestone were not half the price. so back to the PZ4 im going.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Porsche 986 Boxster (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1 average miles
I have these tires for around 2km and they do feel amazing. Great grip on dry and impressive grip on the wet. However, before pushing you first need to get them warm as they're actually really dangerous when cold. The feedback you get from these tires is incredible and they've made my car even more direct than it already was. Sad thing is that I've already noticed some wear on the rear tires which might have been done from a 800km trip I did when I first got them fitted.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Jaguar XF (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
A Real Performance Tire Potenza Sport. These tires are really fantastic for Performance Purposes. Car Power 300 Hp 625 nw/m Car weight 4300 Lbs Tires 245/45R18 100Y. Recommended pressure from car manufacturer, Lower 32 Psi Higher 38 PSI. Potenza Sport after 10.000 km (400 km in three track days). Last three Tires before Pzero, asymmetric 5 and asymmetric 3.
Front my point of view:
-Extremely good: Drive on wet. Dry and wet braking distance. Performance drive both wet and dry . Cornering both wet and dry. Wet driving Racing 99,5% in wet handling (exception aquaplaning)
-Very good: Dry handling better than other tires I've had, Dry racing drive.
-Good: Only one exception on wet , Aquaplaning with lots of water similar or lighter better than other tires I've had
-Right: Confort, Noise, fuel consumption, tire wear on road and tire wear on track if it is raining.
- Fuel consumption when tire pressure is the maximum recommended by Jaguar (38 Psi +0.2/0.3 l/100km) Not good enough: Fuel consumption if tire pressure is at the minimum recommended by car manufacturer. (32 PSI +0.7/0.8 l/100km).
Tire wear on Track if it’s Dry - In my opinion nothing is bad o very bad.
I drove three times on circuit, dry and wet for 400 km. It is not a Track tire, but it behaves well, very well for a road tire, especially in the wet ( I recommend it on a raining track day). On the circuit it wears out relatively quickly and holds up better if it's not hot.
In conclusion, a fantastic road tire choice for performance or wet purposes, not so good if you are looking for a very comfortable tire with real long life and low consumption.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Mazda CX7 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Fitted them on a CX-7 AWD on 19" oem wheels and oem size. The tyres before were Pirelli PZero Rosso. Bridgestones are by far better on every aspect except noise. These are ever so slightly louder and harsher on potholes. Would definitely buy them again, if the wear rate is decent. Also, flange protection is adequate.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2022
Given 93% while driving a BMW 335d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
very good rim protection, very precise steering feel, good comfort and low noise. compared to the hankook ventus evo 3, where the direction of the car was much more vague.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 64% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Great tyre in the wet and dry, but the wear killed me. I will never buy these again. My wife drives the car now since I work from home, we sure as hell don't do track days and these wore out on the rear in 8000 miles or so and in 6 months. This is on an Audi A4 Quattro 190 PS that is used for commuting. Hardly rigourous driving. I opened a ticket with Bridgestone and predictably, they said the wear was within "design tolerances". GFY. Typical get out clause BS. Avoid these like the plague unless you have money to burn. Yes I know 60% of torque on Quattros goes to the rear, but still..
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022