Mazda 6 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda 6.

Do you Drive a Mazda 6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 6 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (53) 88% 95% 91% 88% 94% 93%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (94) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Barum Polaris 3 (18) 82% 88% 83% 80% 87% 86%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (30) 89% 84% 83% 80% 76% 90%
Vredestein Quatrac Lite (7) 86% 87% 80% 81% 86% 87%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (290) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (34) 85% 87% 81% 78% 85% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (104) 88% 87% 83% 74% 88% 87%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (38) 88% 80% 80% 79% 79% 86%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (57) 88% 82% 79% 75% 85% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (282) 90% 88% 81% 84% 74% 79%
Falken Azenis FK510 (133) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS (8) 90% 91% 81% 90% 64% 84%
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (41) 87% 81% 81% 80% 79% 81%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (101) 90% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (54) 85% 79% 81% 82% 77% 78%
Michelin Primacy 4 (128) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (135) 88% 85% 83% 80% 83% 89%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (233) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (11) 75% 76% 70% 70% 60% 89%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Nexen Arrowspeed CP661 (11) 79% 73% 72% 75% 79% 76%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (171) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (120) 84% 77% 76% 78% 75% 82%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (40) 81% 84% 80% 77% 76% 77%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (177) 88% 85% 79% 76% 61% 83%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Michelin Primacy 3 (181) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Avon ZV7 (103) 85% 81% 74% 73% 68% 81%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (190) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Toyo TEO plus (16) 80% 65% 69% 73% 80% 85%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Davanti DX640 (79) 80% 71% 77% 76% 66% 80%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (167) 83% 74% 74% 75% 70% 74%
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (15) 81% 73% 75% 65% 69% 73%
Yokohama S Drive (64) 82% 68% 75% 76% 71% 68%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Maxxis M35 Victra Asymmet (13) 83% 69% 73% 67% 68% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (206) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Kleber Dynaxer HP 3 (11) 78% 64% 70% 75% 79% 69%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Aoteli P607 (21) 78% 63% 68% 67% 77% 72%
Toyo Proxes C1S (35) 78% 69% 71% 69% 66% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (210) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Yokohama AVID ENVigor (4) 85% 80% 80% 70% 65% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (122) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (99) 80% 70% 69% 67% 63% 71%
Bridgestone Turanza ER33 (19) 75% 58% 69% 61% 91% 58%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Nexen N Priz 4S (14) 78% 59% 65% 66% 65% 76%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Pirelli P2500 (4) 70% 53% 68% 60% 83% 68%
Rockstone Ice plus s210 (7) 68% 55% 56% 48% 70% 72%
Falken FK453 (29) 76% 69% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (43) 78% 61% 67% 62% 72% 57%
Yokohama iceGUARD iG30 (2) 75% 75% 65% 65% 50% 60%
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (42) 72% 45% 62% 63% 73% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport 2050 (4) 75% 50% 80% 63% 58% 73%
Hifly HF805 (55) 74% 60% 64% 63% 54% 63%
Landsail DH2 (17) 72% 57% 63% 54% 62% 65%
GT Radial Champiro UHP1 (14) 74% 69% 61% 64% 44% 61%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Rapid p609 (33) 68% 54% 56% 60% 62% 58%
Fullrun Aderenza ADZA88 (7) 77% 34% 54% 54% 77% 63%
Pirelli P6000 (173) 66% 47% 55% 49% 67% 61%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (59) 68% 39% 55% 53% 65% 61%
Roadstone CP661 Classe Premiere (9) 59% 44% 54% 51% 66% 53%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
Dunlop SP Sport 2050M (17) 59% 41% 57% 51% 44% 51%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Kormoran Gamma B2 (18) 58% 33% 46% 41% 48% 56%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%

Mazda 6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 given 83% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
I've driven these tyres for two winters now and encountered various road conditions. The main focus is deep winter conditions - great performance on snow and ice, but comparatively worse performance in dry and rain. The road feel isn't very sharp on dry asphalt, feels a bit like a boat, but on snow you can read them really well. The behaviour of the tyres is very predictable, you can tell when they're about to slip and how much they're slipping very easily. Slides have been very easy to control or avoid.
They are quiet, and make a slight wind howling sound. Speed bumps and potholes are very squishy and only slightly annoying, smaller road bumps are completely absorbed. After 20000km, I still have 6-7mm of thread left. The rubber is very soft though, so with fast accelerations and speeds they might wear a lot quicker. The tyres feel confident at cold degrees, but warmer than 7 degrees Celsius they feel very spongy.
Performance on various winter road conditions:
1) dry: good grip, but "swimming around" like a boat, the feel isn't very sharp. Above 100 km/h the tyres feel twitchy.
2) fresh powder snow: controllable, decent grip and good braking distance, but sometimes can understeer.
3) deeply packed snow: great grip and sharp steering, good braking distance. The tyres seem to easily grab onto the snow.
4) rain: longer brake distance than many other tyres, still decent grip but not what you might be used to.
5) snow slush, salted roads: better than in rain, digs deep into the slush and grabs fairly well. Some controllable slipping, but decent braking distance.
6) regular ice: the tyres grip ice quite well. moderate braking distance and grip, although longer than on snow. Slides in hard icy corners.
7) black ice: strictly dangerous, since the ice is glass-smooth and the tyres have nothing to grab onto. ABS kicked in even braking from 5 km/h and braking distance was several meters. Steering is hard. Only nail-tyres would help here.

In conclusion, these tyres shine in deep winter conditions, but aren't meant for rainy winters. Grip on various snow surfaces is great and good even on ice. They are very predictable, which makes it easy to correct slides. The tyres are comfortable and quiet, and the wear is good.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-15 22:32:53
Writing about the Rapid p609 given 67% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Handled great however wore quite quick. Happy for the price, not nearly as bad as everyone purports
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-23 08:40:41
Writing about the Nexen Arrowspeed CP661 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 20 average miles
just a few miles with the tires ... 2 on the front....its feel good on dry weather...When it is wet or raining I can drive on the highway at 70 miles an hour ... but no more fast ... overall they are good tires
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-30 21:15:31
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 58% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1400 average miles
Initially they seemed like very good tyres. Despite the 71db rating, they seemed very quiet. Handled good in the dry although slightly softer than the previous Toyo Proxes & Bridgestone Potenza tyres. The fact that they are slighty softer does mean that they are comfortable and absorb bumps & potholes very well. I had no issues when driving in the rain either. never really got the chance to test aquaplaning and i can't comment on wear either because i ditched these tyres after not even 2000km's... Because these tyres are absolutley lethal on the highway. My car did not want to drive in a straight line anymore, it constantly felt like there was a 120km/h side wind pushing the car from left to right! this gives a 'floaty', tramlining, and very insecure feeling when driving at speeds above 90km/h, and gets worse and worse the faster you drive. Tried many different tyre pressures, but nothing helped. When switching to the winter tyres, this floaty feeling immediately went away, so the issue is not with the car. I am very dissapointed with these Hankook tyres and have the same 'floaty' experiences with the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 on my other car. i expected much better from a manufacturer of this brand and will now be driving through the summer on the Nexen winter tyres, which are actually safe on the highway, and when the budget allows i'll hopefully switch to Nexen N'Fera SU1 or Goodyear Effecient grip perfomance 2. So to sum up, it's a good tyre for drivers who never leave the normal city & country roads. Not recommended for highway drivers as you'll be scared to drive it at normal speeds. (note: 2 tyres where new (DOT 4021), and 2 others where already on the rear axle and had about 5,5mm left (DOT 3818), both sets had the same tramlining effect when moved to the front axle)
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-04 20:57:28
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 81% (235-45-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 spirited miles
TL;DR: If your car comes equipped with touring summer tyres, the V701 is a great upgrade. If you're lucky enough that your car comes with the usual premium UHP tyres equipped (CSC5/6, PS4/4S, S007A, etc), the V701 might not be for you. Context: Do note - I live in Singapore, where it never snows. The weather is usually around 30+ degrees Celsius all year round, and we have 180 rainy days per year, give or take. I've always loved symmetrical unidirectional tyres. My purchase history includes tyres such as the Yokohama ES100, Dunlop SP Sport Maxx, Hankook V12 (yuck), Hankook RS2, Yokohama AD08 and Toyo R1R. These aforementioned tyres were not purchased for the Mazda 6, of course. My Mazda 6 was a mid-life purchase as I graduated from fun cars into something a little more comfy. When i took delivery of my Mazda 6 in 2017, the stock tyres were Bridgestone's T001 in 225/45/19. Tyre reviews are always subjective, so please bear these stock tyres in mind. Suffice to say - I used the T001 for 10k km before I decided they were shite and didn't do justice to the 6. Even threw on camber bolts to tweak the 6's neutral front camber to 1.5 degrees to eke out more cornering grip from the T001. Didn't help much. I really wish Mazda had found a better OEM tyre. V701 Review: Some time in early 2018, when I finally had enough of the stock T001, I found Yokohama's V701 and realised that they were priced very reasonably (in Singapore at least), especially for made-in-Japan 19-inch tyres. Being a fan of symmetrical tyres, I slapped them on (in a slightly-upsized 235/45/19) and drove them for a good 4 years in our blistering weather. First up - the V701 isn't especially noisy when new. They did get loud towards the end (but never uncomfortably so), and were reasonably quiet for the first 20k km. The sidewalls aren't especially stiff either, so they do offer you a decent amount of comfort. FWIW, I usually ran 240Pa (34PSI) for the front tyres and 230Pa (33PSI) on the rear. On initial turn-in, the tyre does give you a slightly vague feeling, but once the weight has loaded up, the tyre provides a very high level of grip and confidence throughout corners. At the limit, the tyres won't break traction suddenly. Understeer sets in progressively, allowing you to make corrections way in advance. Wet weather grip is also surprisingly good. Braking and cornering in the wet is definitely confidence inspiring. My wife (who also drove my car occasionally) remarked that the car braked way better with the V701 vs the stock tyres. I've never driven these tyres to the limit in the wet, but they gripped very well through the usual expressway puddles (ponds?) created by Singapore's typical thunderstorms. Wear was surprisingly decent for this tyre. After 4 years and 40k km on a heavy (1500kg+) FWD car with camber bolts installed, the tyres were *almost* down to the tread wear indicators. To be fair, I religiously rotated the tyres front and rear every 6 months, and at the 2-year/20k km mark, I had them cross rotated (cost a bit more) so that I could evenly wear out the inside/outside of the tyres - a lovely perk of symmetrical tyres. I would definitely buy these tyres again. The V701 definitely matched the Mazda 6 very well, and provided a very good balance of comfort and grip. For the time being, I've swapped them out to try Bridgestone's new Potenza Sport since they were also priced very attractively. These are my first asymmetrical tyres I've purchased in decades and if they disappoint, I will be re-purchasing the V701 again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-12 09:31:13
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS given 69% (225-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
DWS06 + are very good on my Mazda 6 turbo except for rolling resistance. I have lost approximately 10% in fuel range and mpg. Previous generation DWS06 tires did not have this issue. This time I changed from Michelin Pilot Sport AS3's and noticed the mileage drop immediately after DWS06+ installation. Pressures have been confirmed as spec'd. Contacted Continental to enquire about this and did not get a response, as expected. Tires are great otherwise.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-23 15:57:56
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 50% (225-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Noisy, wear too fast
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-09 17:07:38
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 66% (225-45-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-22 15:09:01
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
I'm having two set of this tyres. On a suv 235/55 r19, on a sedan 225/45 r17. The wear is surprisingly very good, both of tyres around 30.000 kms (19000 miles) and more the half of the thread left (5-6mm!) The only concern is the noise.. In the firs year it was exceptional good. The next year it was good. This is the third season, in this season, it is unbearable. On highway speed (around 90 mph), if the asphalt is not brand new, we cant talk. The radio cannot be loud enough. So its terrible. I'm trying to survive this year, and next year i will buy another brand.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-26 19:07:08
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 47% (165-60-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
The lateral wobble of the tires was sometimes alarming. The tires wear down very quickly. The compound was too soft. Thread fibers were exposed after 30k miles of gentle driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-18 19:02:38
Writing about the Aoteli P607 given 46% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Bought tese tyres around 5 months ago after damaging a pair of Uniroyal rainsport 3 on a kerb whilst swerving to avoid an accident with an Audi driver on the phone. Needed a cheap pair of tyres as there was too much month left at the end of the money so i went for these Aotelli p607's and immediately regretted it. Dry grip is not bad but wet grip is terrible, braking distances are extended in both dry and wet. The sidewalls are super soft giving zero steering feedback but by far the worst and frankly dangerous problem with these tyres is how much they upset the traction/stability control on my mazda 6, to the point where the car will cut power pulling out of junctions when the wheel is turned, even in the dry on hot summer days, it just won't pull away until the steering is straightened up. I've recently swapped the wheels around so these tyres are on the rear axle and the traction issue has disappeared but there's now the issue of the back end wanting to break away on wet roundabouts. I'm going back to Uniroyals this month, not risking driving on these ditchfinders this coming winter. Would not recommend and will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-28 09:47:20
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 84% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have istalled this brand of tiresin my mazda 6 1,8 2004 having noticed their perfomance in the past tyre reviews test. First of all the tires have strong sides and responce instantly and directly in direction changes. But belinging in UHP category I have noticed that the comfort is moderate due to high level of tyre presure because of heavy weight I always drive. Secondly I have pointed out the low level of noise in all condition low or high velocity. Maybe the warm weather in Greece and the all time use of clima doesnt allow any noise penetrating the cabin. Due to warm weather and lack of rain i cant say any opinion about the performance in wet roads. I promise that i will return with review in early autumn days when rains will meet Mediteranean
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-06 16:05:07
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre