Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2

The Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 75%
Wear 85%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 84%

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 528,200 miles driven.

The MP 46 Hectorra 2 is ranked 21st of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 19th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 24th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

  • 19th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 24th: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2

    Questions and Answers for the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2

    2016-06-21 - Is this tyre a run flat? Matador mp46 hectorra 2

    We do not believe there is a runflat version of this tyre produced.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    MP 46 Hectorra 2 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 Reviews

    Given 91% while driving a BMW 320i Touring (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Excellent tyre for the price!! A lot better than Falken452. Very soft and comfy ride while handling is superb compared to run flats. The car is transformed!! Definitely buy again
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2014
    Given 51% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    After the excellent pair of my Michelin pe2 passed away, I replaced them with matador's. Much more cheaper choise, with similar good reviews here. It was totally wrong idea to compare my previous tyres with these. In the first 10000 km my Citroen seems to be more comfortable with a nice but nervous grip is limit conditions, driving with less aggressive style than wearing my previous set. After 15000 km decided to replace front with rears, because the behaviour of my car became unusually strange. For 2000km my car replaced it's name, in summer conditions. When the winter started, especially in rainy days, my car Started spinning even with 3rd gear, fast cornering was dangerous. Certainly not a tyre that inspire spiritual driving. Not suggested even for a value choise. I was more satisfied with other midrange brands like, falken and Uniroyal, which were more close to a premium pair.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2016
    Given 43% while driving a Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback (225/45 R17) on for 2,500 miles
    shocking in the wet. My Audi A3 sport back goes sideways in a corner when the boost comes in, have too drive like my granny. These tyres where new on the car when I brought it can't wait to change them.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2019
    Have you driven on the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 >

    Latest Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 Reviews

    Given 36% while driving a BMW M3 e46 (225/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    The worst tire ever. Bouncy when I drive a corner with 80 km/h. The sidewall moves in the middle of the corner an I then need to steer again. There is no predictable driving characteristic, the tire gives steering feedback like driving on marbles. And on the motorway with 100Km/h in the wet the car went siedeways. I‘m driving a e46 m3 and a friend of mine put these on. I am now gonna change them for Michelin PS4s
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Honda Civic Type S 2.2 i CDTi (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    great value for the price handling up there with the best
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2016
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 29% while driving a Audi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    These tyres are dreadful. I've always put branded tyres on my cars as I'm a big believer that you get what you pay for, and after all the tyres provide the contact between you/your car and the road. However, I've a new car on order which is being delivered in a couple of months time, so I thought I would something cheaper on 2 worn out rear tyres. I therefore plumped for the Matador M46 and what a mistake. It feels like the rear end of my car is driving on jelly. You give the cars throttle a bit of a squeeze exiting a end and I get a dashboard full of anti-skid warning lights. Really wish I had spent a few more quid and keep with the branded tyres as I feel vulnerable driving on these poor tyres. Avoid them!
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2015
    Given 71% while driving a Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    These were on a Octavia VRS i purchased recently. Have now driven them for approx 1000 miles. Must admit to being fairly impressed, Ive tried many tyres over the years and the cheaper ones are usually not worth having - frequently being OK in the dry but awful in the wet.

    These tyres have proven to be capable in both the dry and the wet, which for such a reasonably priced tyre is rare. No idea on wear as yet, but I am tempted to buy a set again when these wear out.

    Only thing I would say is that they seem to need inflating slightly more than some other tyres, perhaps a slightly soft sidewall, this can lead to a very slightly harder ride than ideal.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2015
    Given 96% while driving a Ford MONDEO (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Never had a single trouble with this tyres. Impressed how well they performed and I can easily recommend them. Way behind that reason is their price.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2014
    Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK230K (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Replaced the mix and match tyres on the Mercedes and it has transformed into a comfortable and safe tourer.Grip is good in both dry and wet. I think the softness of the tyrewall does hamper the feedback a tad but the steering on this Merc can be a little numb anyway. Noise is down, fuel economy is up and the comfort levels have improved massively. The wear indicators are a good idea and the tread pattern looks superb. Not a cheap tyre but better value than a budget because budgets are pants and better value than a top brand as they can cost the earth. Have used Matador in the past and will use again. The MP44 Elite are also superb.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2014
    Given 38% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Replaced my bridgestone RE050a's with these after seeing such excellent reviews. I don't normally buy mid range tyres, but thought I'd give it a try.. Wish I hadn't now!

    Absolutely hate them, grip is very average in both dry and wet but for me the killer is the very soft side wall.

    I have lost all confidence in my car, have some new bridgestones on the way to replace these tyres after a week!
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2014
    Given 86% while driving a BMW (265/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 17,000 spirited miles
    Had these fitted on the rear of my remapped 320d producing 210bhp and 450nm (330ft lb) torque and I do drive the car very hard

    The grip from these is far better than that of the dunlops previously fitted. Wet grip was surprisingly good, pushed hard in the wet and they held really well - back end never stepped out and barely a flicker of the traction control light.

    Road noise and comfort also better than the previous dunlops although they were run flats.

    Standing water at 70-80mph on the motorway didn't phase them, felt solid and planted with no fear of aqua planing.

    Only issue is they lasted 17000 miles - but then that's possibly my aggressive driving style.

    Would definitely reccomend these tyres and will be replacing with the same again.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2014
    Given 80% while driving a Ford Focus ST170 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Had these tyre previously on my st, They are an excellent tyre!
    Compared with conti michelin and goodyear these are there abouts, Great dry handling, good in the wet, wear i found to be about the same as a conti/michelin etc. Great all around tyre, For the price at £67 a corner from CAMSKILL 225-45-17w these are a bargain!



    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2014
    Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Superb tires at cut price compared to most big brand names. Apparently Matador are a unbranded Continental(i think), made in the same factory but branded Matador to represent the budget line of tires made by the big named company, but in fact these are easilt as good performance wise as my Michelin Pilot 2's i had on my Mk5 Golf Gt Tdi 2.0. 140bhp and 236lbft torque gives tires a very hard time and these lasted way longer than Michelins but delivered superb grip in the dry and wet. At almost half the price of Michelins but with better longevity/lower wear rate its a no brainer. Make sure its the MP46 ones you buy as there are one or two different variances of Matadors.
    Profile was 225/45 so quite wide and low profile which did transmit alot of road noise but none more than Michelins.
    I think before i sold the car they'd worn from 8mm down to 5.5mm in approx 10k, so looking at maybe 20k from them, and at £57 from camskill.co.uk for 225/45/17 4th Dec 2013 and £5 delivery you'd be mad not to try them.
    Highly recommended!
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2013
    Given 71% while driving a SEAT EXEO. SE.(143) 2.0ltr dsl turbo (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
    These tyres have one an Achilles heel which is a major flaw. They have a very soft tyre wall which seems to make them prone to side wall punctures, which seems to be verified by a previous reviewer. The first tyre lasted four months (7000 miles) the second which replaced the original Matador five months (9000miles) both suffered side wall punctures. I have been driving 30 years and never before suffered a side wall puncture maybe this was due to me previously buying premium brand tyres. I decided to purchase this brand due to favourable reviews on this site and they are manufactured under the Continental umbrella. I agree they performed very well against the premium brands and felt very connected to the road in all conditions, but these failures have made me lose faith with the brand so its back to Michelins for me
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2013
    Given 87% while driving a BMW (265/30 R19) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
    Had these on the rears of my 2.5L 3 series for 12 months now. Bit of a cheesy name but not a bad piece of rubber from the Continental stable, no drama in the wet even under duress, quiet ride with 34 psi and does not look overtyred for a big boot, sitting on 9J rims with a 35 offset.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2013