Vredestein Ultrac

The Vredestein Ultrac is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Ultrac Cento.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 75%
Wear 65%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 203,505 miles driven.

The Ultrac is ranked 61st of 199 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews Best Summer Tyres - 9th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet handling, the best aquaplaning resistance on test, good dry braking.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance, high external noise.
  • Overall - One again the Vredestein Ultrac proves to be a wet specialist, having one of the fastest wet handling laps and amongst the best aquaplaning resistance. Unfortunately all that wet performance leaves the Vredestein a little behind the group both in dry and rolling resistance tests.

View Full Test >>

2023 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Overall - This tyre lost the competition with Goodyear by only 0.1 point, showing that a good class tyre from the middle segment can compete with premium rubber. Interestingly, Vredestein performed much better than Goodyear on wet surfaces, but lost due to lower scores for dry competitions and high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The updated Vredestein Ultrac is impressive, with a consistent performance in all tests.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2023 Motor Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2023 Tyre Reviews Best Summer Tyres (205/55 R16)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Vredestein Ultrac

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Ultrac. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R17 £119.53 - £128.14 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £77.03 - £78.83 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £92.68 - £101.12 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R17 £124.18 - £124.18 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Vredestein Ultrac Reviews

    Given 95% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
    Wanted the previously used sportracs 5, but appears that the new ultrac is replacing them and the ultrac satin, so here I am in about 500 kms with the new tyres. First I can say that the comfort is outstanding, given the hard suspension on 1st gen ceed. 205 55 16 are even softer than my winter 195 65 15 alpin 6 used 2000 kms max. So really impressive achievement here for the new ultracs. They are good in the dry ofc, I feel somewhat better on wet. Need more kms to comment further these characteristics and wear. Really happy with my choice so far.
    Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021
    Given 52% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    Replaced Vred Sportrac 5 on front after the usual approx 3 years. Ultracs performed similarly in every respect except they wore out after only 5 months! Wear was absolutely atrocious - down to illegal after just about 4k miles. Of course I went back to the tyre fitter, who said the suspension must be wrong, so off to the trusted service centre who checked everything, including tracking and concluded there was nothing wrong with the suspension. They also noted the tyres were worn evenly and in a pattern consistent with normal wear - no scrubbing or anything. They are just very lacking in durability. I won't be going back for these. The sportrak 5s off the front, by the way, were demoted to the back wheels and still look fair (very little further wear).
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 308 (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
    I come from Bridgestone Potenza Sport, as soon as I fitted them I immediately noticed less noise, less nervousness in the steering, more comfort and lighter, more manageable steering. I will update my review in a few weeks.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2023
    Have you driven on the Vredestein Ultrac tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Ultrac? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Vredestein Ultrac >

    Latest Vredestein Ultrac Reviews

    Given 72% while driving a Peugeot 308 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
    Don't expect a tire with sharp steering and tons of stability. It is a premium, high-performance touring tire. Previously I had Continental premium contact 6 and Bridgestone Potenza sport, the Ultrac is superior to the other two for lateral grip and road holding, especially in the wet even at cooler temperatures. Safe and quality rubber, the only flaw is the rather rapid wear. I managed to drive on a wet road cornering at over 150-160kmh, very safe even for aquaplaning.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2024
    Given 84% while driving a Porsche (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 5 average miles
    1973 Porsche 911T

    Bought these for the above car despite the very mixed reviews.
    Would I recommend them. Yes, for both long and short trips, track use and in the wet.

    London to Le Mans and back and five flat out dry laps behind the pace car on the whole circuit.
    Road driving, no issues at any speed to report of.
    Track (tyre pressures adjusted) I'd like a bit more feedback and bite out of the corners BUT I did not expect them to have this. For comparison I have PZero Ns on a Boxster for the same drive and track use the previous year and the feedback was superb. These are relatively inexpensive tyres and my expectations were set accordingly. I did though find them satisfyingly predictable as to where the limits were and not difficult to control.

    London to Spa and back.. Again no issues on the way through France, but then their roads are like glass. You feel it when you get into Belgium, but that's the car and the suspension set up on their lumpy roads and not the tyres.
    If you're going to Spa at some point it will absolutely lash it down with rain. These tyres are pretty outstanding in it (and this was one of the reasons reading other reviews for the initial purchase).
    Track, five laps of Spa. Tyre pressures adjusted again predictable solid performance, including in the 100-120mph range. Same comments as above on feedback and bite and them being inexpensive tyres.

    I know some will say, it's an old car etc ... didn't seem to have any issues passing a 996, Boxster or Mustang at Spa, just takes longer to catch them and then pass them in the corners.

    Would I buy again, yes. Just found a nail in one of the tyres. Will plug it for now and swap it with a new one when it arrives
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 92% while driving a Ford c max (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    put these on a cmax on all 4 ! I had vreds ultrac satiln on and was a nice ride but you had to put the extra psi in as they always looked flat and wear was about avrage so once they ran out i thought i would try the new and improved ultrac and to be truthfull they are a massive impovement the walls are reinforced dont look flat grip very good in wet and dry steering feels light no fancy pattern on the side which is a shame (love the tyre gel) the only down side is you may get a holo sound when cold inside cabin just a slight one but flik the radio on and off you go!!!!! wear could not tell you as not been on long but i would thought 12000 +
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2022
    Given 37% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    I put a pair on the front of my Mercedes.
    I'm a pensioner, and drive rather conservatively.
    Firstly, I thought they rail-lined a lot.
    Slightly noisier than previous brands.
    The grip seems no better or worse than most.
    My gripe is how short they lasted.
    It failed the MoT today on both front tyres being worn down in places.
    I assumed it would sale through, as I've only had 'em about 10000 miles in Cornish weather.
    Not for me I'm afraid.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2015
    Given 83% while driving a Skoda Yeti (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 easy going miles
    Perfectly acceptable tyre BUT it is noisy, is prone to punctures (the tread pattern seems to collect nails etc) and not particularly comfortable. It is very hard wearing though.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2012
    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Touran sport TDi (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    Excellent tyre never let me down,dry or wet .Lasted in excess of 35,000 miles
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2010
    Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9TDi Sport Estate (Chipped) (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    A great all round tyre with a fantastic, eye catching tread pattern. Been very impressed with their wet weather performance on motorways, instilling confidence even in the heaviest Swedish downpours.

    Would certainly buy these again, HOWEVER there is a catch! Vredestein (in their wisdom) have STOPPED MANUFACTURING THE ULTRAC MODEL! I found this out last week when I got a side wall puncture (unrepairable) and have been trying every avenue to get a new one.

    If anyone from Vredestein reads this, please go back into production with the ULTRAC, they are much better than your Sessanta model!!
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2010
    Given 90% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
    Surprisingly excellent tyres bought to replace the Potenza R040's that car came with. They lasted ages and were very excellent for normal road driving from April to November, borderline useless on ice and almost reasonable on snow. I used these on a few track days too and they offered good drip on dry days and lots of opportunities to practice powersliding on wet days. The only gripe I have with these tyres is that once they get hot they become a little bit like soap bars and that's not on track! If I had a sensible car I would buy them again, but for the time being it's time to move on to the UHP sector. :-)
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2010
    Given 94% while driving a Honda Euro R (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tyre. I noticed the difference straight away once they were fitted. I found them better than my old f1's. I was suprised how comfortable they were too. Wet grip is amazing. Couldnt be happier with them. Would highly recommend.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2009
    Given 27% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
    despite being described as tyres for performance cars, these are suited to granny's fiesta and nothing else. they have no form of sidewall and the stability is appauling, and the lack of feel unbelieveable.

    i had bridgestone potenzas before these which although fast wearing did give a good drive. These are the worst tyres i have ever purchased by a long way, avoid them at all costs!
    Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2008
    Given 77% while driving a MG ZT T (190) (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Excellent dry grip and pretty good wet grip considering it is a summer tyre. Handling in the wet and dry is very consistent with lots of feedback through the steering.

    I was expecting poor wear from these but they were excellent- far better than the michelin and toyo tyres previously fitted. I would definitely buy these again.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2008
    Given 87% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    These tyres just get better and better really seem to grip well, better then the falkens 452's !
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2008