Audi A1 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A1.

Do you Drive a Audi A1? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A1 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (16) 93% 97% 87% 88% 88% 89%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
General Altimax One S (13) 88% 78% 78% 78% 86% 75%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (112) 84% 78% 76% 78% 75% 82%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Landsail LS588 UHP (81) 81% 77% 70% 68% 76% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (112) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 79%
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (19) 84% 74% 76% 73% 81% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (195) 84% 77% 75% 73% 61% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Davanti DX390 (19) 67% 58% 61% 57% 61% 68%
Rapid p609 (26) 67% 56% 57% 60% 59% 57%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%

Audi A1 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Rapid p609 given 26% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Bought 4 tyres in a month the tyre tone into pieces. How can this be. Trust me no good tyres. Buy at your own risk
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-11 09:28:53
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 79% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
Overall, a good set of tires. In the dry the grip is good, nothing special but good considering they are all weather tires. In the wet is where they start to shine, good grip both in acceleration and braking as well as in the turns with wet roads. At highway speed, in very wet conditions under heavy rain, no aquaplaning at all. They give a lot of confidence in these situations. In snow they are used to take you home, they do not have a spectacular performance, but if you live in climates like me where it snows once every three or four years, on the days that it snows you will not have problems to return home safely. If you drive on snowy roads frequently or go a lot to ski resorts, these are not the right tires, they have not been designed for that, in those situations a set of full winter tires are the right ones. But as I say, for normal day-to-day driving in dry or wet, very good tires. In the snow they will save you, nothing else.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-10 11:50:57
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 97% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
I bought these from a friends garage, Harborne Tyres and told him I would leave a review as I was really Happy with the service and the tyres. He said this was the best place to write a review as you can’t do it on his website. Only drive an A1 and don’t drive fast so not sure exactly how to score some of the above, but the tyres have been really good so far so tried to reflect that in the marks. First time I’ve changed the tyres from the ones it came on. Can’t notice any difference which he said was good as the same tyres he replaced would have cost me a lot more.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-16 15:14:16
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 87% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
A perfect winter tyre for city car. I tested it on snow wet dry and it outperformed my expectations. Really recommended for european winters (I live in north of italy)
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-02 07:31:12
Writing about the General Altimax One S given 89% (225-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I put a pair of these on the front of my wife's 2018 Audi A1 TDI after the Bridgestones were looking tired @17k miles. I was dubious about using mid range tyres for the first time ever but the Continental ownership of General reassured me. The tyres are rated B/C in respect of wet weather and rolling resistance.
Having now scrubbed in for a thousand miles the tyres are very impressive, it's a nippy little car with bags of torque for such a low kerb weight but the front grips well in the wet and seems to pull up well under moderate braking. So far, so good, it's difficult to comment on the wear rate but @ £75 per they're looking good.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-17 22:57:48
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 57% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8200 spirited miles
Hard ride and high road noise. Reasonable dry grip (poorer in the wet) and handling, with fairly poor road feedback. Replaced with Continental Premium Contact 2 which seem much more compliant and grippy, slightly quieter, and offer a smoother ride.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-13 13:37:45
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 79% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
A comfortable and dynamic tire with reasonably low road noise, good compliance and good feedback. The tire grips well in wet and dry conditions and seems to offer an improvement in braking over the previous Dunlop Sport Max that were on the car.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-13 13:32:52
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 100% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-11 08:56:26
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 33% (225-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 26000 spirited miles
Shockingly hard and awful tyre. Dry grip is decent and wet is shocking. This is down to the hard compound of the tyre. Avoid buying these!!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-18 16:38:35
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 76% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-23 20:30:38
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 24% (215-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Horrendous tyres. Only thing good about them them is the dry grip. Everything else is appalling.

They were fitted to a 62 plate Audi A1. Couldn't corner in the wet, encountered very heavy understeer. Wouldn't recommend these tyres. These tyres came fitted to the car when I brought it.

Fitted Toyo tyres and already I've seen a massive improvement.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-24 15:44:38
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
Have been using these on my A1 Sport Plus. 189hp in a light front wheel drive would generally be considered a recipe for serious wheelspin and understeer, but these tires transformed the car into an incredibly grippy hot hatch. Combined with lowered suspension, the car is totally transformed and I definitely would recommend them to anyone particularly with a high powered front wheel drive. Nitrogen filled, so fuel economy has seen slight improvements and tires are reasonably comfortable with little to no increase in road noise. In the wet, they can be prone to aquaplaning early on, this would be my only complaint.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-15 00:13:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre