Dunlop Sport BluResponse

The Dunlop Sport BluResponse is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 76%
Wear 61%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 170 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 1,676,677 miles driven.

The Sport BluResponse is ranked 55th of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 11th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 19th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry and wet, slow steering, low value.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - We found the Dunlop Sport BluResponse easy on the wallet and fairly refined.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H XL   C A 67 6.10kgs
185/60 R14 82H XL   C B 67 6.29kgs
185/65 R14 86H XL   C B 67 6.45kgs
195/50 R15 82V XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.62kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 69 7.12kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E B 69 7.12kgs
185/55 R15 82V XL   C A 67 6.81kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   C A 67 6.81kgs
195/55 R15 85V XL   C A 67 6.87kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C A 67 6.87kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   C B 67 7.70kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   B A 67 6.42kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   B B 66 6.52kgs
185/60 R15 84H AO B B 67 6.47kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL AO B B 70 6.47kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.77kgs
195/60 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.45kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.11kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 69 7.10kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.11kgs
205/60 R15 91H XL   B A 67 7.85kgs
205/60 R15 91V XL   B A 67 7.85kgs
205/60 R15 95H XL   B A 67 7.72kgs
165/65 R15 81H XL   C C 66 6.60kgs
175/65 R15 84H XL * C B 67 7.21kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   B A 68 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 91V XL   B A 68 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B A 68 8.09kgs
205/65 R15 94V XL   B B 68 8.43kgs
205/65 R15 94H XL   B B 68 8.43kgs
215/65 R15 96H XL   B A 68 9.04kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 68 7.12kgs
195/50 R16 84V XL   C A 67 7.24kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   B A 68 7.24kgs
205/50 R16 87V XL   B A 68 7.54kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C B 69 7.60kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B A 67 7.17kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C B 69 7.60kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.24kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   B A 67 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87V   B A 67 7.17kgs
195/55 R16 87V XL   B A 67 7.66kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   A B 68 7.39kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL VW LRR B B 68 7.65kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL VW C C 68 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A B 68 8.27kgs
215/55 R16 93V XL   B A 68 8.34kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 68 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   A B 68 8.27kgs
225/55 R16 95V XL   B A 68 9.17kgs
195/60 R16 89V XL   C A 68 7.64kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 72 9.69kgs
205/60 R16 92V   B A 67 8.39kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 71 8.50kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   B A 71 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 68 8.36kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B B 69 9.76kgs
205/65 R16 95W XL * B A 66 9.27kgs
215/65 R16 98V   B A 68 9.32kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   C A 70 9.73kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.45kgs
205/50 R17 89H XL   B A 70 8.24kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 68 8.25kgs
205/50 R17 89V XL   B A 68 8.25kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 69 9.00kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 72 9.00kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL   B A 69 9.00kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   A B 68 8.23kgs
205/55 R17 95Y XL J C A 67 8.90kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Sport BluResponse

2016-07-10 - What is the difference between the Dunlop Bluresponse 195/55R16 87H and 87V , apart from the price !

The V rated construction of the Sport BluResponse is rated to a higher maximum speed (130 mph for H, 150 mph for V), but in reality unless you plan on travelling faster than 130 mph there would be likely be no noticeable differences between the two models.


2016-08-18 - Should the tyre pressures be different because my new tyres look a bit flat. I can roll the car side to side

The tyre pressures for the Dunlop Sport BluResponse should be as your manufacturer specified. Some people are finding a few extra PSI in modern low rolling resistance tyres are helping stability. If you decide to over inflate, keep an eye on wear to make sure the tyre is wearing evenly.


2019-06-28 - what is the average mileage one can expect from a Dunlop sports bluresponse 205/55r16 . Thanks

Tyre wear can be influenced by a huge number of factors, such as vehicle weight, driving style and surfaces driven on. I'd recommend looking through the wear ratings on the website to find an average for your own personal setup.


2019-10-15 - Purchased a set of blue response tyres 205/55R16 5years ago they have covered 10,000 miles. All tyres have at least 5mm left on them and all look in good condition. One tyre however has a crack around the centre between the tread. is this normal.

Surface cracking can be normal, especially tyres of that age, but worth getting checked by a professional. Tyre manufacturers recommend no more than 5 years use, so it might be time to change them regardless!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Sport BluResponse Prices

Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £52.46 - £77.50 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/60 R15 £56.59 - £70.10 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £48.21 - £75.78 (37 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £56.99 - £88.20 (60 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.34 - £82.00 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 31 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews

Given 47% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
I am not satisfied after six months of wearing this Tyres..
At the beginning was good on handling and on wet grip and dry grip.
1071 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2018   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 13,392 average miles
Since I fitted these tyres in 2013 I did 21552 km and I am pleased with wear. I think they will last at least 45000 km, or even more, as I drive normally, anticipating traffic. Dry grip is very good by my standards, as well as wet grip. I experienced straight aquaplaning as I drove with 55km/h in standing water and nothing bad happened, so these tyres are very good. I had to brake hard in both dry and wet conditions, and they did grip well. In conclusion I'm more than pleased with Dunlop Sport BlueResponse. Surely I'll buy them again.
146 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2016   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
very happy with these tyres. had a set of Goodyear efficient grip on my 1.8 focus before which are ok, but the Dunlops I replaced them with have more wet and dry grip, are less noisy and at the same mileage have a good 25% more wear to go. that is game set and match for the Dunlops. also, they are a reasonable price so will be buying again.
35 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2018   
Have you driven on the Dunlop Sport BluResponse tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Sport BluResponse? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Sport BluResponse >

Latest Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I drove these on a Citroen C4 1.6 ehdi, for about a year and a half and 25k km, mixed roads, 20% of the time spirited, the rest just normal drive, like with any other tire I have. They are good tires, overall, good dry and wt grip, good cornering and feedback also. I found an issue with them, when it snowed unexpectedly and the rubber got stiff and very slippery, so if you are in some area where you can encounter temperatures bellow 7, these are not the best choice. I haven't got the same issue with the Michelin Primacy 4 or 3, those just work in snow and low temperatures, also. Another minus, compared with the Primcay's is that this Dunlop wears about 30% faster. With Michelin Primacy you can do 80k km, with these, probably 60 k at most. Overall a good summer tire, quiet, comfortable and safe.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2021   
Given 56% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCI (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 5,221 easy going miles
More than pleased with all aspects of the tyres except having to replace all four after only two and a half years and only 5000 miles due to rubber cracking at the base of the tread pattern.Side walls were fine and tread wear was like new as you would expect after only 5000 city miles..For a good middle priced tyre,to be told by the garage not to to expect much more from the brand,they represent terrible value for money,or were mine a manufacturing fault?.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a Ford Bmax (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Surprised by some of the negative reports but hey! everyone has an opinion. i have been using Dunlop tyres on all my cars and motorcycles for years and never had any issues. Superb road feedback, good in the wet with positive handling. Also very quiet wlth little road noise but then that could have something to do with Ford's cabin insulation.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Golf came with Continental tyres, poor. Changed to Dunlop's huge improvement on steering grip here in hot Spain, Great safe grippy tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2021   
Given 70% while driving a Jaguar S type 3.0 (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
These are OE on Jaguar XE 180d (Some models), but they have a real tendency to not cope with putting torque down in the wet. Fishtailing out of roundabouts isn't great fun. They lasted 23,000 miles. Car was always very sure in the dry and wet handling, but let down with lack of stickiness under hard acceleration in wet. Pretty quiet and comfortable on a cruise and over bad potholes. New tyres going on now will reveal how much of that is Jag and how much is Dunlop.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I read many reviews before deciding on the Dunlop’s as i wanted a decent tyres to replace the Falken ZE914’s i had on before these of which i couldn’t get along with as when i’m on my own in the car i like to press on on country roads. There isn’t much choice in this size range unless you go for the cheapo ditch finders which there appears to be lots available of and i wasn’t prepared to risk that. I will be changing them within the next 1,000 miles for another set of Dunlop sport blu response. The ride is quite soft as the sidewall is soft which means feedback can be described as neutral sometimes when pressing on in the sweeping corners, dry grip as expected is very good along with wet grip and we have had some torrential rain this year. The Falken ZE914 tyres i had on before weren’t a patch on these. They do cost a little more than most tyres but i do trust them and how many tyres can you say that about
5 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 5 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Very nice alround performer, very quiet and notice improved fuel consumption after I had these fitted. I had all 4 done as there was an offer and I was not happy with budgets my car came with from the last owner. Great dry handling pretty progressive, wet handling is also very good. Very safe loads of confidence in the wet grip and dry, never a scary moment. Despite my best efforts no wet aqua plane type incidents either. These are one of my favourite tyres, I did struggle with my size and load index for availability in 205 50 r 17 93 but that's this spec as it's not so common. Only slight negative for me was wear after 12000 the fronts diped below 3mm to about 2.5mm so just had a new pair! Rears on 5.5mm. Don't drive on less than 3mm especially going into autumn. They are slightly soft but they do give great ride, wet and dry handling good feedback. Very safe dependable tyre and also fuel efficient so slightly lower wear than a michelin or conti is the pay off. Would defo buy again for my other car. These were on my second family car but driven some spirited miles at speeds ups to 135mph.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Skoda (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
One of the best tyres for a standard family car.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 35,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted to my dads 130hp passat b5.5 4 years ago. The car is 95% used on straight country roads and the rest is highways. Only used in summer season (april - october). He is an super economy driver but I got the chance to often drive on these tyres when going on long journeys. Quiet and comfy is what first comes to mind. But they also hold reasonably well when pushed with predictable and progressive when about to loose grip. I feel like they are also decent in the dry if you are not really pushing to the limit. No aquaplaning on motorways with reasonable speed. We cannot complain about the wear at all - due to style of driving and conditions. In fact, I would say superb wear! (mileage might be even higher, but I put a conservative number, not 100% sure since It's not on my car.) Drawback: they seem deflated all the time even with higher pressure. Soft sidewalls as with any low fuel consumption Tyre. I don't know If they still make them, but overall we were supper happy with them! They were around 63 GBP in Serbia. Happy motoring everyone! ;)
6 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Vauxhall Agila (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Tyres were good at start but all had cracks in base of tread after 4 years. 1 was replaced after a puncture and has the same issue at a year old. Buy again, never! Bought Dunlops because of the brand, should have bought something else.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2020   
Given 61% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Grip is very good, both dry and wet. But my issue with them is horrible tyre deformation after 2 summer seasons. They look like new but all 4 tyres have up and down play and also side to side on some, impossible to get perfect balance from them now. Ruins the chilled and seamless ride of the car.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
haven't driven many cars, only other tyre brand tested was bridgestone on my old car, and i must say they are nothing alike, i mean bridgestone seemed to have better dry grip but worse wet grip and one annoying feature which was the noise they made when doing a spinout at the traffic light. with the dunlops it was a whole new world, more quiet even on rough surface roads, spinnouts were silent and the only way to know i was spining out was from the car going sideways or engine revving higher than it was supposed to. they tend to understeer a bit if you push too hard trough corners but if they had the grip of the bridgestones i'd be scared to push as hard from the fear of rolling over , my car has quite high ground clearance and soft suspensions. they are excelent on wet surface you can predict exactly when and where they will slip and when it's a surprise is usually the fact they don't slip and also the understeer is more pronounced in wet conditions but still controllable . one thing i'd wish for would be the durability, mine are 2 years old now and barely made 8000 km and the front ones seem already gone over the 60% of they'r life while the back ones look at around 75% . the thin sidewalls are a double edged sword they are good for handling on slow speeds but bad for high speeds , good for comfort bad for hitting a curb. had 2 instances when i had to change one because of hitting a curb at 30 km/h , last one actually bent the rim a bit so i guess it was to be expected.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2020