Toyo Proxes TR1

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 79%
Wear 73%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 71%

The Toyo Proxes TR1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 122,840 miles driven.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo Proxes TR1
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V XL   E B 70  
195/45 R15 78V XL   E B 70  
205/45 R15 81V XL   E B 70  
215/45 R15 84V XL   E B 70  
195/50 R15 82V XL   E B 70  
205/50 R15 89V XL   E B 70  
225/50 R15 91V XL   E B 70  
185/55 R15 82V XL   E B 70  
195/55 R15 85V XL   E B 70  
215/40 R16 86W XL   E B 70  
195/45 R16 80V XL   E B 70  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E B 70  
225/45 R16 93W XL   E B 70  
245/45 R16 94W XL   E B 70  
195/50 R16 84V   E B 70  
205/50 R16 87W   E B 70  
195/55 R16 91V   E B 70  
205/55 R16 91W   E B 70  
215/55 R16 93W   E B 70  
205/40 R17 84W XL   E B 70  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E B 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E B 70  
215/45 R17 91W   E B 70  
225/45 R17 94Y   E B 70  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E B 70  
215/35 R18 84W XL   E B 70  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 70  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes TR1

2019-07-19 - Hi I have just received 4 new toyo-tyre proxes All I need to know is are these tyres sided or not Thank you

The Toyo Proxes TR1 is an asymmetric tyre.


2020-11-06 - For a 225/45/17 what is the tread depth? I have always run Uniroyal Rainsport 3/5 but am tempted to go with these if they are of similar tread depth since they are cheaper.

I don't know the exact starting tread depth of the Toyo TR1, however it will certainly be comparable to the Rainsport range.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £38.80 - £50.88 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R15 £49.00 - £63.54 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £55.20 - £68.20 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/45 R16 £58.69 - £71.45 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £50.59 - £60.16 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £61.00 - £80.28 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes TR1 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Renault Clio 1.8 16v (195/45 R15) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
This tyre is difficult to judge on comfort as I ran lowering springs, but I wouldn't say they were in comfortable. When I first purchased some alloy wheels, a had 4 different tyres, tread depths you name it. They were poor. Footing a set of proxes t1r's literally transformed the car. Dry grip was unbelievable, car cornered like a house fly. I later fitted some to a Mégane and that was the same, gave me so much confidence to through a car into a bend and it would hold. Really stable at high speeds as well from the stiffer side walls.
304 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2019   
Given 63% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (195/55 R15 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
My size is very odd in Malaysia so theres little to no performance tyres. I have been on almost 3 sets of ATR Sport. THose things are terrible at wet but great at dry, before 50% used at least. TR1 is great at wet, previously with the same wet road I would just glide lol. TR1 managed to grip and slow me down, impressive. They are both a few bucks different only. I drive a Proton, nothing in the list haha
37 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
5 stars
31 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2019   
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes TR1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes TR1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes TR1 >

Latest Toyo Proxes TR1 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Citroën Xsara Coupe 2.0 HDI 90 (195/55 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Comming from Sava Intensa HP i got when i bought new VTS rims at 70% wear i can say it's a big upgrade. The Sava were ok on the dry but terrible on the wet and impossible to wear down as they were so hard. So after 2 seasons i had enough and bought 4 new Toyo TR1 for 210€ (very cheap) because they were the sportier tyre in my size (against Rainsport 5) and i am very pleased with them. The dry grip feel is very good even if we are clearly not in the same league as UHP tyres like michelin PS4. The wet grip is pretty good but it's clearly a tire made to perform the best in the dry. The soft compound was disturbing at first as it was inducing a bit of a delay when steering and reducing a little bit the feel (even if there isn't much feel to start with because of the car settings) but after some times i got the confidence to "throw" the car in the corners thanks to the tyre being very progressive. On this note i do not go on track with the car (90hp diesel please T.T) but i feel that with the softness of the compound it will overheat pretty fast. You can have some early sign of this on long mountain roads when driving hard in the summer. For noise i'd say it's okay but i doesn't matter to me so i did not pay attention. Fuel consumption is worse than the Sava (they were rock hard so no surprise there) by 0,4l/100km it felt a little draggy at first but that's a price i'm willing to pay to be able to take corners. And about the wear after 1 season (50 hard driving mountain roads + some calm highway and country roads) they wore down 20-25% at the front (especially the sides) and 5-10% at the rear.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021   
Given 66% while driving a Renault Clio 182 cup (205/45 R16 W) on track for 0 spirited miles
I used this tyre as a wet option at Silverstone in the 6 hour Birkett Relay on a clio 182 race car. Having ended up running it in both dry and wet conditions during the race, I thought I'd give my opinion. In the dry I found the tyre just lacked grip all round and easily overheated when pushed hard. On the clio the balance was severe understeer, which was a surprise as ut is setup to oversteer. This made it impossible to carry good speed especially through the higher speed corners. Braking was acceptable. In the wet they were much better and the wetter it got, the better they performed, with the balance of the car moving from understeer to very nicely balanced. They gave alot of lateral grip and had good progressive brake away on the limit. Wet braking was fantastic and was the best feature of this tyre in my opinion. It allowed me to really push hard and late in the brakes. I'd recommend this tyre for someone on a budget wanting a good all round road tyre. However, if your looking for a sporty, dry weather performance tyre, especially for track use I'd sgeer clear.
9 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 43% while driving a MG MGF (205/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
I wasn't going to buy these tyres until someone on a club forum said they were brilliant, sadly this is not the case. They are not as good as the T1R's at all, when cornering at any speed I feel the back end moving about due to the soft sidewall. I've increased the air pressure but still feel it squirm around. It is now terrible to drive and I have paid £300 for the priviledge :-( They maybe good for a front engined car but sadly not for mid engined.
8 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a Honda Civic (195/50 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Since these are really cheap tyres, I didn't expect much, but I was stunned. They perform absolutely amazing on dry roads, pushed them hard on mountain roads, never lost grip. As per wet, never pushed them on wet, but also didn't lose grip once. Amazing tyre for the price. Will buy again if Toyo doesn't make something newer/better in the same range.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Running the tires on a Mk2 miata with the 1.6 and cheap coilovers i can tell that the dry grip is decent, although nothing too special compared to the earlier T1R and Nankang NS-2R. The Nankangs definetly grip better in the Dry. Wet grip is another story though, it is VERY good in my experience. i can push very hard and the tires are pretty predictable, when it gets slippy. Road feedback is okay, though not great, given that the sidewall is not as stiff as some UHP tires and the compound itself is pretty soft. i mostly drive b-roads and push the card very hard on those. They are very progressive at the limit, you can judge when they are loosing grip really well and slides of throttle are very controllable. Drifts on power in the dry is difficult to judge for my car and 110 HP so im gonna leave it at that. For the price i can recommend them a lot if you are looking for a daily driver that gets also driven in the wet and even works well while driving relatively hard.
6 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2020   
Given 48% while driving a Nissan 2002 patrol (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is good, wet grip is decent, haven't been able to test them too much in the rain. They grip good, slightly above the Yokohama S.Drives I had prior, and doesn't seem to overheat as quickly as the Yokos. However, they look like they are not as wide as the Yokos, they have a more rounded tread pattern, and they are HORRIBLE at feedback and on driver inputs. My car felt like a gokart when it had the Yokos, even after they were 3 years old with only half of its tread left due to excessive camber, and now it feels like a small bus. The steering is vague, really, really vague, inputs take a fair while until the car reacts. These tyres are good in the sense of dry grip, but they just aren't confidence inspiring, seeing as you can't really tell how the car is going to react, and that it takes a lot of time until the car reacts to your input. They are cheap, and for easy going to medium-fast driving I would recommend them, but for fast driving, I seriously can't. I regret buying these tyres
12 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/50 R15 V) on mostly town for 7,000 spirited miles
toyota corolla g6 160hp blacktop. Greece country. more warm weather and less rain. This tire is unbelievable on the dry road, in braking and in corners, after a lot of pressure in turns it continues to be absolute, it needs heating about 10 to 15 kilometers after that it has excellent grip and is close to semislick .. the same tire has been tested in seat ibiza cupra 300hp and audi s3 420hp with perfect response results. on the wet road it is fair for its price, anyway on the wet you have to be more careful. I would definitely put it on again next time.
25 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2020   
Given 63% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (195/55 R15 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
My size is very odd in Malaysia so theres little to no performance tyres. I have been on almost 3 sets of ATR Sport. THose things are terrible at wet but great at dry, before 50% used at least. TR1 is great at wet, previously with the same wet road I would just glide lol. TR1 managed to grip and slow me down, impressive. They are both a few bucks different only. I drive a Proton, nothing in the list haha
37 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Honda City (195/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
Replaced my original tyres(goodyear gt3) had day and night performance difference. Tyres are quite noisy though. Sharp corners are grippy and response time increase. Rainy weather still not so confident as hitting deep puddles can cause abit of sway.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Mazda Mazda2 (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Replaced the set of Jinyu Gallopros that were fitted when I bought the car over a year ago and the improvement has been sensational. Great grip on country roads in both wet and dry which gives confidence to push the car, and not too noisy nor harsh at speed, whether on country roads or dual carriageways. Could be quieter at town speeds, but the noise isn't so bad it's constantly noticeable (unlike the Jinyus). Over bumps and even potholes the tyres remain forgiving yet firm and stable.
10 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020   

See all 23 customer reviews of the Toyo Proxes TR1 (newest first) >>