Toyo Proxes TR1

The Toyo Proxes TR1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 81%
Wear 72%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 73%

Tyre review data from 64 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 731,283 miles driven.

The Proxes TR1 is ranked 66th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo Proxes TR1

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V XL   E B 70  
195/45 R15 78V XL   E B 70  
205/45 R15 81V XL   E B 70  
215/45 R15 84V XL   E B 70  
195/50 R15 82V XL   E B 70  
205/50 R15 89V XL   E B 70  
225/50 R15 91V XL   E B 70  
185/55 R15 82V XL   E B 70  
195/55 R15 85V XL   E B 70  
215/40 R16 86W XL   E B 70  
195/45 R16 80V XL   E B 70  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E B 70  
225/45 R16 93W XL   E B 70  
245/45 R16 94W XL   E B 70  
195/50 R16 84V   E B 70  
205/50 R16 87W   E B 70  
195/55 R16 91V   E B 70  
205/55 R16 91W   E B 70  
215/55 R16 93W   E B 70  
205/40 R17 84W XL   E B 70  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E B 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E B 70  
215/45 R17 91W   E B 70  
225/45 R17 94Y   E B 70  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E B 70  
215/35 R18 84W XL   E B 70  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 70  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes TR1

2019-07-19 - Hi I have just received 4 new toyo-tyre proxes All I need to know is are these tyres sided or not Thank you

The Toyo Proxes TR1 is an asymmetric tyre.


2020-11-06 - For a 225/45/17 what is the tread depth? I have always run Uniroyal Rainsport 3/5 but am tempted to go with these if they are of similar tread depth since they are cheaper.

I don't know the exact starting tread depth of the Toyo TR1, however it will certainly be comparable to the Rainsport range.


2021-11-16 - These appear to be a popular mid-range UHP tyre and yet no one has included them in any independent comparison tests. Is there a reason?

I can't speak for other tests, however when I speak with Toyo they're not usually keen to be in tests, and if they are they would likely submit the Toyo T1 Sport for testing in Europe as I believe this tyre is aimed at other markets.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/45 R16 £93.78 - £93.78 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £71.00 - £71.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R15 £85.33 - £85.33 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R15 £93.58 - £93.58 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £95.65 - £95.65 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £86.14 - £86.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes TR1 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Renault Clio 1.8 16v (195/45 R15) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
This tyre is difficult to judge on comfort as I ran lowering springs, but I wouldn't say they were in comfortable. When I first purchased some alloy wheels, a had 4 different tyres, tread depths you name it. They were poor. Footing a set of proxes t1r's literally transformed the car. Dry grip was unbelievable, car cornered like a house fly. I later fitted some to a Mégane and that was the same, gave me so much confidence to through a car into a bend and it would hold. Really stable at high speeds as well from the stiffer side walls.
Helpful 412 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2019
Given 63% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (195/55 R15 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
My size is very odd in Malaysia so theres little to no performance tyres. I have been on almost 3 sets of ATR Sport. THose things are terrible at wet but great at dry, before 50% used at least. TR1 is great at wet, previously with the same wet road I would just glide lol. TR1 managed to grip and slow me down, impressive. They are both a few bucks different only. I drive a Proton, nothing in the list haha
Helpful 144 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2020
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
5 stars
Helpful 170 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2019
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes TR1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes TR1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes TR1 >

Latest Toyo Proxes TR1 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Toyota Sienta (195/50 R16) on mostly town for 42,000 average miles
buy this tyre unplanned & without survey. noisy tyre and very soft wall.
been around malaysia with this tyre from KL to Kedah & KL to Johor with noisy level that cant be handle. not recommended for other to buy this tyre.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2024
Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Before putting on this tyre I had Fuldas fitted on my car, and they were pretty old and worn out, probably had around 4,5mm of tread on them...to my surprise, they handled better on dry pavement, then these new Toyo proxes TR1. I drove on Toyo's for about 5000km, and sold them...I was not happy with the performace on dry roads in summer time.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Honda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
I have had these tires on my Civic. They look great, handle great but are so prone to cupping I threw them away after 15000km!
And half those miles were noisy to the point it was no longer a smooth drive. NOTE my daily car is perfectly aligned, has good shocks and I have a proper driving style with over 30000km annually.

Never again for a daily, I now only buy Toyo semi slicks for my track car.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2023
Given 94% while driving a BMW (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I have been using these tires on a BMW E30 320i.I drive it just for pure pleasure during dry days. The tires behave exceptionally well. In fact I did not expect it.The price range they are at is very reasonable vs. the performance. Comfort is more than decent. Can't say much about the durability as I have not used them for long time. I would definitely buy Toyo again, this time for my Alfa Romeo Giulia Veloce.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Renault (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I bought my car on June of 2004 with a different brand of tyres (Michelen Pilot sport).
After 3 years, for first time, I put Toyo and I still wear Toyo.
It's my second set of Proxes tr1 and when the time come to change it (I have a lot of miles for this moment, during the lockdown I didn't move the car) I will buy the same or the newest tyre of Toyo
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2023
Given 94% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
the best tires at a decent price. together with pirelli they are the best tires I have had. the adhesion is excellent. a little noisy.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Honda EK4 1.6 Vti (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
These tires really over-performed my expectations, its truly a reason why these tires are the official rain or wet tires for GT circuit racing in Norway.
These tires has both been used on street driving and now 3 track days and I can say it does very well on both occasions!
The most impressive feature of this tire when driving on the track is that you can feel the limits of grip slowly going away as you're pushing the limit, meaning there's no sudden snap between grip and no grip. This makes it easier for me to learn the limits of my car and my tires since it gives me confidence to push the limits.
Only minus I really have is that the tires after 3 track days has gotten heat damage and has become louder after track use, though I suspect this would be the case for most tires after hard use.
Its one of the cheaper sports tires that are actually good and worth the money! Perfect tire before moving towards semi-slicks for sure!
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2023
Given 77% while driving a (195/55 R15) on for 0 miles
One of best tyres for sporty tyres. Makes a whole difference. Control and drives perfectly in dry and well ine wet. You have full control in any weather conditions. I usually run in tight corners and man these tyres grip to the road like nothing before.
The only drawback is of course the comfort which is compromise.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2023
Given 69% while driving a Audi A2 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I’m a wanted more from this tyre …something it’s missing like speed handing The tyre it’s good, more the good
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Acura 3.2 TL (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Genting uphill no problem, grip all the way even in light rain . Using on Honda City GM6 (Side note : my fren using tr1 drive on karak highway medium rain 190kmh still gripping) Perodua Myvi Gen 3 Proton Saga MC1
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2022
Given 47% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Cheap tyre for good dry performance - I have used them with a heavy car doing autosolos and track sessions in summer. But poor in the wet and cold and very poor when coming towards end of life. I managed 12k mi from my set of 4 with rotations.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Lexus IS200 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Low cost alternative to Pirelli P Zeros or Michelin Pilot Sports. When up to temperature, they are pretty sticky on dry. Amazing water clearing on wet. Can't really say about the wear as I've only done 10,000km on the tire.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2022