Maxxis Victra Sport 5

The Maxxis Victra Sport5 has been tested by TÜV SÜD against 245/40R18 97Y variants of the Hankook Ventus S1 EVO2 and Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Based on the report, the Maxxis tyre outperformed its rivals in almost all of the tests and matched them in others. Most notably, the Victra Sport 5 cut braking distances in wet and dry conditions by up to 5.5%, improved handling in the wet by 2%, came joint top of the charts in terms of resistance to aquaplaning, and came within a mere 0.2% of the best dry handling results. An interesting result for a low cost tyre!

This tyre replaced the Maxxis Victra Sport VS01.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 83%
Wear 66%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 161,687 miles driven.

The Victra Sport 5 is ranked 54th of 139 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Balance performance in the dry and wet, good aquaplaning properties, fair price.
  • Negative - Delayed steering response in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2022 AMS Performance Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Despite poor wet braking, surprisingly good and dynamic steering in wet handling.
  • Negative - Poor steering precision in the dry, limited wet braking and aquaplaning resistance, uncomfortable.
  • Overall - Good dry performance but limited unbalanced grip in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The VS5 had good handling and levels of grip in the dry and wet.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis Victra Sport 5

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Maxxis Victra Sport 5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £98.69 - £109.70 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R19 £101.99 - £105.60 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.19 - £92.00 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £100.99 - £135.60 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R19 £140.29 - £145.10 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Maxxis Victra Sport 5 Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 miles
There were fitted to the front of my juke nismo rs -no confidence in the rain -car just squirmed about like it was aquaplaning all the time. Was that impressed in the dry either!
Helpful 190 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2019
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Huge improvement over my Bridgestone Potenza RE003's. Comfort and noise is the largest improvement, but nothing has been sacrificed in terms of handling, dry, or wet grip. Very progressive at the edge of traction as well although I really have struggled to push it there with the amount of grip these have along with the 4wd on the Golf R. Can't forget to mention that it really does look great too. Hugely impressed with what Maxxis have done here.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2019
Given 98% while driving a Audi Audi A6 Ultra 2.0 tdi 190hp S tronic (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good tires, good handling at higher speed în wet and dry roads.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2019
Have you driven on the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis Victra Sport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Maxxis Victra Sport 5 >

Latest Maxxis Victra Sport 5 Reviews

Given 40% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
Put the tyres on in march this year and they didn’t even last 20,000 kilometres I wouldn’t recommend them in a pink fit the absolute worst tyres I have ever had
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 25,000 easy going miles
Tires had dry tears in the sides after one year already. I tried to reach Maxxis but no response at all.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 100% while driving a BMW 730d Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 average miles
i am amazed with performance of MAXXIS it is more responsive and comfortable than yokohama, michelin and continental.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo brera (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Had these for approx 14K miles having done one swap front-rear to ensure balanced wear. I drive usually on motorways and having done a big trip across Europe (from the UK to Greece and back), i really love them. This is the 3rd set of 4 tyres since i got the car and the best so far. On dry tarmac they stick like a train and on wet surfaces after having some hard breaking, they perform well and confidently. I have never had any issues regarding my confidence on them. So in summary i would say that: + Dry, wet handling and braking, no problem with aquaplaning. Good treadware (over 300). Their performance is consistent since new. - The steering feel lacks a bit of character, but nothing significant, just my thought. Due to the inner side being worn (i have it lowered by 30mm), hence the camber angle creates a faster wear out on the inner side, i have to replace them. I would certainly buy again, but i am going for All season tyres due to my move to Germany in winter.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2021
Given 68% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
Just recently turned into a corner little more than normal and the grip was fantastic. They aren't the most quiet tyres but I've had them since April 2021 and so far happy with the purchase. Replaced Pirelli Cinturato P7 Tyres RFT's that came with the car from factory. They had loads of trend left but were old. Went for these as they were less expensive than Goodyears and Michelin.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2021
Given 50% while driving a Audi 2.7T Quatto (255/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Damaged far too easy, and wouldn’t honour warranty. For couple quid more I got michilen
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
Audi s3. These tyres were amazing in the rain. Fast corners, progressive break away, excellent braking. Very high confidence in wet conditions. They need to be properly inflated. OEM requires 39 psi front. Dry cornering is also excellent. Surprisingly rides softer/smoother than the Continentals on before. Not as sticky however when launching. In summary, fantastic road/track tire. Not ideal for drag strip use. Will buy again for sure.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2020
Given 87% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I'm very surprised from this tires. I was a little bit skeptical about them, but very impressed. My previous tires were Bridgestone S001 and I can say that Maxxis VS5 are better. For me this tires are upper mid level tires, especially taking into consideration the price.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2020
Given 96% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Great tyres for the money. Way better than PS4 although take some scrubbing in which to me means they will be a better more grippy tyre in the long run. Had PS4 previously and the sidewalls perished very quickly and were not as grippy. Converted 4 friends to these tyres by taking them out in my car, with PS4 prior and now the vs5. Great tyre will buy again and again
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2020
Given 84% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/45 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Many years ago whilst in the Isle of Man at the Manx Grande Prix (August) I spoke to a well know motorcycle racer regarding what tyres he was using. "Maxxis", he said. Never heard of them! Got home and had them put onto my road bikes. Jolly good tyres; good dry grip and pretty good wet grip too. Very impressed. They actually lasted well too being slightly harder compound. Getting to the point. I have just replaced the tyres on my Audi A6 twin turbo; lots of power if required but on soft grippy tyres that have lasted just 15000 miles. Now, tyres on the big Audi are not cheap and don't last long. The Maxxis tyres 'drive' well, no longer 'following' the poor road surfaces and have great adhesion in the wet as long as you don't allow the 'big second turbo' to take over. Most impressed. 8mm of tread as well, certainly as good as the Pirellis fitted as standard. Jolly good price as well compared to the over-priced popular tyres. Will I use Maxxis again? Yes I will. Most impressed with them.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2020
Given 81% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Regardless of price these are a great tyre. Transfer excessive torque really well. Traction light is hardly on. Very impressed
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus RS (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
This tyre is impressive and surprisingly much better than my expectation ,quick steering response and grippy on all condition, i would take this tyre next time
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2019