BMW 1 series Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 1 series.

Do you Drive a BMW 1 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 1 series better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (111) 94% 84% 90% 89% 85% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (93) 95% 92% 89% 88% 74% 86%
Michelin Alpin 5 (23) 85% 93% 84% 77% 91% 89%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (143) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (234) 93% 90% 86% 88% 80% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (39) 82% 89% 81% 83% 84% 90%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (47) 95% 83% 91% 93% 67% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (298) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (307) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (142) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus (5) 83% 87% 77% 80% 77% 73%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (8) 82% 64% 77% 73% 86% 91%
Michelin CrossClimate (142) 88% 85% 82% 80% 84% 89%
Nokian WeatherProof (31) 80% 84% 79% 79% 74% 87%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (63) 76% 85% 69% 68% 74% 79%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (44) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 72%
GT Radial Champiro FE1 (7) 79% 73% 66% 79% 73% 76%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (180) 83% 73% 73% 75% 69% 74%
Avon ZV7 (120) 83% 78% 73% 72% 61% 79%
Winrun R330 (30) 79% 66% 69% 70% 74% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (158) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (41) 83% 69% 76% 74% 58% 66%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (74) 82% 85% 76% 73% 56% 72%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68%
Continental EcoContact 6 (93) 75% 59% 58% 61% 54% 69%
Premiorri Solazo (9) 64% 40% 49% 55% 70% 65%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%
Bridgestone Turanza T002 (3) 85% 50% 30% 15% 65% 65%
Deestone Vincente R302 (8) 55% 30% 30% 29% 60% 20%

BMW 1 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
I found these Goodyear Asymmetric 6 tyres to be significantly better in all weathers on all types of road, better grip, inspiring more confidence at moderate speeds. This includes wet weather driving. The car is so much more planted to the road, I can feel the grip in the corners and bends, traction control light rarely comes on now. These tyres are exceptionally quiet also, which is a big desirable for me. I've had these tyres for 1000 miles and can highly recommended them. They are also competitively priced, not disproportionately expensive
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-20 07:20:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 49% (245-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
These tyre perform very well when they are new and when the weather is above around 10ºC. However on a cold day or when they are worn below around 4mm performance drops off a cliff. If they are worn and it is a cold damp day the car has next to no grip and is a real handful. I have rated the wear as poor as there is only around 3mm of useable tread if you value performance. Noise and comfort are good.
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-04 18:09:30
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 72% (245-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my BMW M140i the car is mapped so puts out a little more HP and TQ than stock.

Dry grip: Really good, grips well off the line and out of corners and you know where the limit is.

Wet grip: Is just okay, it's struggles with traction sometimes spinning in 5th gear (Auto) and at times you can feel the ABS kicking in under braking, it also struggles with clearing standing water a bit too. So overall not confidence inspiring in the wet. Anyone saying otherwise simply doesn't drive hard enough to tell the difference between tyres.

Feedback: This tyre really excels here through the steering wheel and the seat, I can tell what each corner is doing.

Comfort: Is compromised due to a stiff sidewall, but I knew that and I prefer feedback over comfort.

Wear: Too early to tell only covered 2k so far.

Conclusion: If you want a great summer tyre that gives you sporty dry handling buy these. Just know that it does come at the expense of wet performance.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-16 11:29:42
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 57% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
I had the Avon's fitted to my M140i AUTO RWD in the standard staggered fitment of F225/40/18 R245/35/18 XL.The car is modified running 400hp and 425lb-ft. I drive progressive and have done a Track day around Cadwell park in January so cold and wet. Also a lap around the Nurburgring which was quite warm around 25c. I will go into detail on how the tyres perform bellow this is comparing them to my previous tyres Michelin Super sports. Grip Dry. 6/10 Lateral grip is ok. Traction off the line is good putting all of the power down on decent tarmac in second gear. Grip wet. 6/10 Lateral grip is ok. Traction forget about it. Braking Dry. 6/10 It's quite easy to trigger the ABS, they aren't that grippy under braking. Braking Wet. 6/10 As above Feedback. 6/10 They lack communication, and also have delayed steering. However they are progressive on breakaway. Wear. The rears lasted 3,500 miles down to the bars, fronts have 6mm left. My previous tyres Michelin Super sports had 12.5K from a previous owner I then clocked up a further 10k on stock power and no track. Comfort. 10 is a strong point rides the bumps well and no strange noise at speed. Buy again. No there are better tyres for the same money.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-11 09:28:58
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 36% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
This is a second report due to the tyres nearing the end of their life. They have improved in terms of dry grip as they have worn, but unfortunately the numb, squishy handling has remained. Wear has been good but not fantastic, I managed 12000 miles on the rear of my 220bhp BMW in normal driving. Comfort was decent with them, the sidewalls are quite soft. These would suit a car driven steady, or for commuting but as a performance tyre they are somewhat lacking. I am looking at going for Goodyear or Michelin for the replacements.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-26 07:52:18
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 23% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Terrible! Same as previously seen review - trying to kill me? Soo relieved when I changed them - all problems solved. Only good for scrap!
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-06 21:28:44
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 51% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
came OEM fit on a M135i F40 (just for bmw to save some CO2 grams when they homologation them) as the other reviewer said and i cannot agree more with him. it is clearly not the right type of tyre for this type of car. it’s just not designed for powerful cars. it’s just a confortable tyre for standard model with not too much power to handle. it simply ruins the joy of the car. it’s a disaster. thanks good the car is super good and has xdrive plus limited slip differential that are somehow countering how poor these tyres are. if you drive normally it’s ok but as soon as you want to play a little bit the tyres are just immediately giving up asking you to speed down. horrible grip during acceleration because of its ver low rolling resistance. you just can’t use the full potential of the car on the first meters. i’m sure i can’t reproduce the same 0-100 with such tyre. fast cornering is a no go. wet grip on fast curves is ridiculous. they should have at least put some continental sport contact. but i guess that was not possible because bmw need to lower the co2 stats. still on such a car it is horrible. now i’m wearing winter LM001 bridgestone and i can feel the grip difference on acceleration. such a joy. so more response during acceleration. as soon as winter is over i will have to switch to michelin pilot sport 4s if i find any * otherwise i’ll go for pilot sport 4* that are for sure better than those horrible exocontact
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-02 22:40:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Phenomenal tyre on both dry and wet, drove them from 5c to 40c without issues. On direct sun on 35c after hard driving tyre just keeps getting better and better zero overheating all of that on really tight roads. After 10000km tread still looks like new. Best tyre I ever had fitted to my car in 30 years.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-02 13:01:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted to my BMW M140 and they have made the difference, excellent wet grip, assured at zero temperatures and still match premium summer tyres in the dry. My M140 is now as sure footed in winter as it is on the Michelin MPSS in the summer!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-04 19:26:35
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given NAN% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my m140 and they have transformed the car for winter, it is no longer a risk drive in freezing conditions. grip in the wet is impressive even at sub 5 degree temps. Dry grip is very good, not at a disadvantage from a summer tyre. Noise and comfort are good. I strongly recommend especially for rear wheel drive from Oct-April
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-04 07:54:05
Writing about the Premiorri Solazo given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Great tyres for the price
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-23 08:39:06
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 94% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, much better than the run flats they replaced. Rounds off the bumps and much quieter
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-24 19:12:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre