BMW 1 series Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 1 series.

Do you Drive a BMW 1 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 1 series better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus (3) 90% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (167) 93% 92% 87% 90% 85% 82%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Michelin Alpin 5 (21) 85% 93% 84% 78% 89% 89%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (399) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Nokian WeatherProof (26) 82% 88% 82% 82% 74% 89%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (285) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (243) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Falken Azenis FK510 (123) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (7) 82% 70% 77% 73% 86% 93%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
GT Radial Champiro FE1 (6) 78% 72% 67% 78% 78% 80%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (150) 84% 74% 74% 76% 71% 75%
Winrun R330 (23) 81% 71% 68% 71% 76% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (127) 84% 73% 77% 76% 68% 64%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (38) 73% 85% 66% 69% 73% 76%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (60) 82% 85% 78% 74% 62% 73%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (34) 84% 69% 76% 72% 62% 65%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68%
Continental EcoContact 6 (35) 76% 71% 58% 62% 49% 71%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (138) 71% 53% 54% 48% 55% 32%
Premiorri Solazo (6) 63% 33% 48% 45% 67% 55%
Bridgestone Turanza T002 (3) 85% 50% 30% 15% 65% 65%
Deestone Vincente R302 (8) 55% 30% 30% 29% 60% 20%

BMW 1 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 36% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
This is a second report due to the tyres nearing the end of their life. They have improved in terms of dry grip as they have worn, but unfortunately the numb, squishy handling has remained. Wear has been good but not fantastic, I managed 12000 miles on the rear of my 220bhp BMW in normal driving. Comfort was decent with them, the sidewalls are quite soft. These would suit a car driven steady, or for commuting but as a performance tyre they are somewhat lacking. I am looking at going for Goodyear or Michelin for the replacements.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-26 07:52:18
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 23% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Terrible! Same as previously seen review - trying to kill me? Soo relieved when I changed them - all problems solved. Only good for scrap!
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-06 21:28:44
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 51% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
came OEM fit on a M135i F40 (just for bmw to save some CO2 grams when they homologation them) as the other reviewer said and i cannot agree more with him. it is clearly not the right type of tyre for this type of car. it’s just not designed for powerful cars. it’s just a confortable tyre for standard model with not too much power to handle. it simply ruins the joy of the car. it’s a disaster. thanks good the car is super good and has xdrive plus limited slip differential that are somehow countering how poor these tyres are. if you drive normally it’s ok but as soon as you want to play a little bit the tyres are just immediately giving up asking you to speed down. horrible grip during acceleration because of its ver low rolling resistance. you just can’t use the full potential of the car on the first meters. i’m sure i can’t reproduce the same 0-100 with such tyre. fast cornering is a no go. wet grip on fast curves is ridiculous. they should have at least put some continental sport contact. but i guess that was not possible because bmw need to lower the co2 stats. still on such a car it is horrible. now i’m wearing winter LM001 bridgestone and i can feel the grip difference on acceleration. such a joy. so more response during acceleration. as soon as winter is over i will have to switch to michelin pilot sport 4s if i find any * otherwise i’ll go for pilot sport 4* that are for sure better than those horrible exocontact
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-02 22:40:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Phenomenal tyre on both dry and wet, drove them from 5c to 40c without issues. On direct sun on 35c after hard driving tyre just keeps getting better and better zero overheating all of that on really tight roads. After 10000km tread still looks like new. Best tyre I ever had fitted to my car in 30 years.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-02 12:01:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted to my BMW M140 and they have made the difference, excellent wet grip, assured at zero temperatures and still match premium summer tyres in the dry. My M140 is now as sure footed in winter as it is on the Michelin MPSS in the summer!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-04 19:26:35
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given NAN% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my m140 and they have transformed the car for winter, it is no longer a risk drive in freezing conditions. grip in the wet is impressive even at sub 5 degree temps. Dry grip is very good, not at a disadvantage from a summer tyre. Noise and comfort are good. I strongly recommend especially for rear wheel drive from Oct-April
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-04 07:54:05
Writing about the Premiorri Solazo given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Great tyres for the price
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-23 07:39:06
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 94% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, much better than the run flats they replaced. Rounds off the bumps and much quieter
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-24 18:12:09
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
This set of boots on my car is great. However it does miss that 'je ne sais quoi' effect. I think it lacks that sportiness look like the S001 has. The response from the front wheels aren't very good; i think this is because of 205/50R17 and would prefer a wider tyre and stiffer walls, again this draws me back to the S001. In wet conditions, it clears the water quick and car remains stable, no aquaplaning noted. Overall, I rate this tyre highly but I would like to try the S001 next. So if any of you have those on, could do with some feedback....
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-09 12:38:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 600 spirited miles
OEM tyres on dealer approved used BMW F20 bought one month ago.
Terrible grip in wet or dry. If you want to drift or power slide, these are for you. If you want to drive on Devon country lanes or even dual carriageway without tramlininig, skittering, vibrating to death or cracking a rim, DO NOT get these.
Without doubt the worst tyre ride I have ever experienced.
They are trying to kill me!!!!
Going tomoz.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-09 14:40:08
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-27 08:10:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3200 spirited miles
Bought them this summer and was really surprised by the performance, even more when i was looking at the test result's.
In my oppinion it's a better tyre than the test's show.
Did have the old RE050A and was pleased with them also.

With the RFT a can corner harder, the car isn't so soft, it corners great and the road feedback is good.
They are little more harder and noisy but hey, that's the price for paying if you want your car to go as on railroads ;)
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-28 15:52:35
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre