Hankook Ventus S1 evo

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 75%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 70%

Tyre review data from 43 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 544,521 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo is ranked 37th of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances in any weather, good steering response and car balance, good price / performance ratio.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Bild Performance Tyre Test - 1st of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced tyres without obvious disadvantages, the shortest braking distance in the wet, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None mentioned
View Full Test >>

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Although the Hankook S1 Evo only managed a single top place (its subjective feel on the dry track) the rest of its results were strong enough to give it a close second behind the Conti and a whisker ahead of the Goodyear.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82H OE E C 70 7.66kgs
195/50 R15 82V OE E C 70 7.66kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL OE E C 71 7.94kgs
205/55 R16 91V OE E B 70 8.78kgs
205/55 R16 91H OE E B 70 9.00kgs
215/55 R16 93V OE E B 71 9.95kgs
195/40 R17 81W XL REP C C 71 7.32kgs
225/40 R18 88W REP E B 70 11.69kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL REP E A 71 14.43kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL REP E A 74 11.31kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL REP E A 71 9.83kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL REP E A 74 12.38kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.43kgs
345/25 R21 105Y XL REP E A 72 15.37kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ventus S1 evo Prices

Size Price Range  
195/45 R16 £67.00 - £86.33 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £50.07 - £66.71 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo Reviews

Given 33% while driving a Ford Fiesta (225/50 R16) on mostly town for 6,000 spirited miles
Dont bother. decent dry grip but wet grip is a disaster. Came with my new Fiesta 1.4 diesel and in the rain it is unresponsive and it aqua-planes. had to change after just 10000km. Replaced by Continental Premium Contact 5 and they made a huge difference!!
47 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2015   
Given 85% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
I have switched to Hankook (run flats) after reading reviews for them on my car, I did have Bridgestone 050 rft. The Bridgestones had poor grip, breaking away with no warning and had serious tramlining feeling dangerous. Since getting the Hankooks they make the car feel as it should, both wet and dry performance is great, I will definately replace with the same when the time comes. I am so glad I did not wait for the old tyres to wear before replacing them!
7 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
This is my second set of Hankook tyres having used the EVO 1 variety in the past on a previous car, The S1 EVO 2 version has an all around improvement with very good grip in dry conditions, low road noise and a minor improvements in wet conditions. I feel very comfortable throwing my car around tight corners and accelerating out of corners during spirited driving. When the tyres do let go you get a very progressive and controlled release which is easy to catch. Front end grip is excellent with almost no signs of under steer.

In the wet the progressive feeling diminishes and I'm somewhat wary of how unpredictable the car can handles and as such it's best not to explore the limits of these tyres in anything but dry conditions.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2016   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo >

Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo Reviews

Given 50% while driving a MINI MINI COUNTRYMAN S ALL4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
I have 4No Hankook Ventus S1 evo tyres fitted on a 2017 Mini Countryman Cooper SD which has now covered 11,767 miles from new, with one pair having 6mm of wear left and one pair with 4.5mm of wear left, all 4No tyres have started to perish around the outer treads and 2No in particular are perishing around the tyres in the inner grooves, I have been advised to replace these or risk a high speed blow out, I have contacted Hankook Tyres UK who have stated that they take these matters seriously but would need the tyres returned to them through the vehicle dealership in the cases of original equipment fitment to consider a warranty claim, what's the car going to run on during this period?, I will let everyone draw their own conclusions as to quality and warranty
3 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2019   
Given 41% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I can't believe how bad these tyres are considering the good reviews they get in larger sizes. I know that tyre manufacturers use different compounds and carcasses for different sizes but in this size on this car (195/50R15) they are awful. They feel like they've been designed for taxi drivers and slow drivers. Compared to the Turanza T001 Evo tyres I had before they have no steering feel, a harder ride, less grip and zero progression at the limit they just snap into understeer. I've driven budget tyres for less money that are better overall. The good thing about them is that they aren't noisy the hard tread means they wear slowly. For the tiny price difference per corner (about £3-9) I'd buy a better tyre from Bridgestone, Michelin or Continental unless you drive slowly and want a tyre that lasts a long time.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 47% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These where fitted by the garage when i bought the car.
Didn't like them at all, poor wet grip causing bad understeer in the damp.
Wet braking was sketchy with the cars ABS and stability control working overtime.
Dry grip isn't too bad until the price of them is considered.
Road feel and feedback not too bad but the absolute worst was the wear.... 6000 or so miles and they were worn to the tread limit.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a Renault Twingo RS (195/40 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I had 4 on my Renault Twingo RS 133. On the dry, not much to blame this tire. Accurate, sporty behavior. But he suffers from some shortcomings on the wet. For wear, it is average.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2017   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
I have 2013 Fiesta 1.5tdci. Between 0- 30.000km is very good handling and wet grip. But if i apply to break a little hard (with low speed) ABS moves in very often.

Between 30.000-50.000km, comfort is very good but handling and feedback lose last performance's (100to70)
They have long life, they have still 3,5mm depth.

As a result they are good tires.
6 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Ford fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
These came new on my 2009 Fiesta 1.4 zetec diesel, i did rotate them twice to even out any wear, Ive just changed them after 6 years and 28000 miles not because they are worn out, they still have 4mm left on all tyres, but because they have started to crack pretty badly down the groove in the tread on all tyres, plus I fancied a new set of michelin pilot sport 3, i reckon the hankoooks would have lasted me 40000+ had they not started to crack up! nice silent comfy ride, good grip, not quite so good in the wet, looking forward to trying the new michelins out in the wet !
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2015   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall astra vxr with 280bhp and coilovers (245/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres all round. Up grade from Pirelli p zero and glad I did.
Wet grip excellent, dry grip also excellent. Had them on for three months now and no noticeable wear or deteriation the the grip in all conditions.
For the cost I would recommend these for the Astra j vxr.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 75,000 average miles
Excellent long lasting tyres. Still had some tread on 2 tyres when new tyres were put on. Two of the tyres were damaged and prematurely worn due to mag wheels being buckled by bad potholes and roads in South Africa
1 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2014   
Given 35% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Very poor quality don't feel safe with these add 4 tyres fitted last week £259 total waste of money
2 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Lexus GS450h (245/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Better in the wet than Bridgestone REO50. Not quite as sharp in the dry. Confidence inspiring grip particularly in colder wetter weather where I think it really matters in Northern Europe. Let's you know when it's going to start giving out whereas the Bridgestone will throw you sideways in the wet without warning. Wear is reasonable but this was the weakest area overall but by no means a show stopper.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2014   
Given 73% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTLi (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Good value for money
0 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/45 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
These came fitted to a new Fiesta I bought in 2012. I have covered 25,000 mainly motorway miles and they are still not down to the tread markers on the front, the rears still have another 25,000 I'm betting. Great tyre!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2014