Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 85%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 87%

Tyre review data from 107 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 643,785 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 S is ranked 3rd of 69 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the dry and wet, good aquaplaning resistance, low levels of noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Lack of steering feel and speed during handling tests.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S continues to be a tyre that does everything well, excelling in every test and having a range of abilities no tyre can rival. The negative of the PS4S is the same as always, it has slightly slower steering and worse feedback than the best on test, but this does bring levels of refinement the sportier tyres can't match.
View Full Test >>

Should You Fit OE Tyres? Michelin Pilot Sport 4S vs 4S * (BMW) - 1st of 2 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Extremely rounded UUHP tyre with the shortest dry braking distances, excellent aquaplaning resistance, good levels of comfort and lowest rolling resistance of the UUHP tyres.
  • Negative - Not as dynamic handling as the other two UUHP tyres in this test.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is an extremely rounded UUHP tyre, offering the most complete blend of qualities. The trade off for all these qualities seems to be in dry handling, where it doesn't feel the most sporty of tyres.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 71 8.58kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 E B 71 9.82kgs
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71 9.59kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.10kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.21kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.79kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 73 12.67kgs
325/30 R19 105Y XL   C A 73 14.28kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.87kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.22kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.08kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO1 E A 71 9.92kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.40kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 72 10.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.81kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.93kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 71 11.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.44kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.51kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 11.93kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.98kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 9.91kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL NA0 E B 71 10.72kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 71 12.97kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.25kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E B 71 14.23kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.98kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.70kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL AO E B 71 10.30kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.38kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.52kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 71 11.49kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL A T0 C B 71 12.88kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL MO E A 71 12.09kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.76kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.71kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.18kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.46kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL N0 E B 73 14.12kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL AO E B 73 13.83kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   C A 73 13.85kgs
345/30 R20 106Y   C A 72 15.44kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.90kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL N0 E B 71 10.48kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.29kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 10.80kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K1 C B 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL MO E B 71 10.85kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 C B 71 10.08kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL N0 E B 71 11.04kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.96kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 11.79kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.92kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N0 E B 71 12.41kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E B 71 12.20kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.38kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL K1 E C 71 11.76kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.08kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL * E B 73 13.21kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL   C A 73 13.77kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL A MO1       13.91kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.50kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL NA0 E B 73 13.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.68kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 E C 73 15.00kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.77kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO1 C B 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 12.80kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.78kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL   C A 71 13.10kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL A MO1       13.45kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 14.75kgs
235/45 R20 100Y XL   C A 71 13.42kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 71 13.51kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 71 14.43kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.87kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.68kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.31kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 12.50kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 14.78kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A MO1 E B 73 15.33kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C A 73 15.40kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 C A 71 11.41kgs
255/35 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 11.39kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 E B 71 12.77kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A MO1 E B 71 12.99kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.60kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL   C A 71 14.42kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL MO1 C B 73 14.30kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL * E B 71 13.01kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL * E B 71 13.73kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL MO1 C B 71 13.10kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   E A 73 13.17kgs
255/30 R22 95Y XL   E A 71 11.66kgs
285/30 R22 101Y XL   C A 73 11.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL N0 C B 73 14.96kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL N0 C B 73 14.30kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL   C A 73 14.72kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 71 15.47kgs
275/40 R22 107Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs
275/40 R22 108Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tyres all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tyres to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tyre comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tyre, using camber and pressures to ensure the tyre is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tyre in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tyre available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


2019-08-16 - Hello, I have a Mercedes C63 with the 19” wheels, currently on MPSS which are fabulous although could be a little better for traction in the cold and wet. I don’t track the car just want solid road driving and enhanced wet weather grip. Would you recommend MPS4s or the new GoodYear supersports? Loved your recent film which leads me to believe the Goodyear are even better in the wet?

According to our test, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport should offer a little more wet traction than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. More tests will hopefully confirm this next year!


2019-09-27 - Hi Jonathan, first of all thanks for the excellent tyre review videos and this great website! First question: how big is the difference between getting a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S with the BMW star indicator in comparison to a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S without any indicator or even a wrong indicator like MO for a BMW? Would be great to see a video on this with a BMW M2!!! Second question: how do you exactly measure stopping distance? When for example in the video it gives the average stopping distance for 100-0kph at which speed did you hit the brakes? At +6kph? And why don’t you measure 100-5kph as the german stopping distance DIN recommends? And how many brakes do you do to get an average? And do you just read the braking distance from the race logic instrumentation or do you use a different calculation like the MFDD (mean fully developed deceleration) to determine stopping distance? And which Instrumentation with how much Hz do you use? Thanks a lot in advance and keep up the fantastic reviews!

That's a lot of questions, so I'll summarise. Email in if you'd like more details.
1) Sometime very little differences between * and AO etc marked tyres, sometimes a lot. You'd have to test on a case by case basis. 2) We always start braking at a higher speed, usually +5-8, and usually measure down to ~5kph due to ABS systems effecting the last few km/h. Sometimes we calculate down to zero, sometimes we just show the 100-5 distances. 3) We usually do 5-7 good braking runs to average per set. 4) Instrument depends on test location. Usually it's racelogic.


2019-12-05 - Hi I'm looking to buy Michelin ps4s for my TTRS but I've noticed the EU rating of C and E does this make a big difference to the performance of the tyre.

The difference between a C and E grade in wet braking can be very small in the real world (grade D isn't used), but where possible always buy the newest version of the tyre.


2021-07-04 - Recently replaced the pretty worn and aging Pilot Sport PS2 N2’s on my Porsche 997 Carrera S with PS4S. Sizes are 235/35/19 and 305/30/19. For whatever reason, the fronts were only available in a ‘DT1’ version. I was hesitant but went ahead with them. Having driven 200 km on them, so far I absolutely hate them. Turn in is so vague and indirect, simply changing lanes in the dry at normal speeds almost felt scary. I can’t find any good info on that DT1 version. These are my first 4S tyres. Will things improve with mileage, different pressures, is it the DT1 (only front, rear is non-DT1) or is it just I made a mistake and should get PS2’s again? Thanks for any advice!

This is a common complaint about the PS4S. I'd suggest upping the pressures slightly on the front to try and compensate. The tyres will bed in more, however it's unlikely they'll feel like the N specific PS2 sadly.


2021-07-26 - Where can I find the spec when it comes to the Run Flat characteristics of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S?

Sadly I've never seen any runflat tyres tested.


2021-11-13 - I’d appreciate some tyre advice please. Wanting to change my F82 M4 competition tyres from PSS to PS4S, as I have these on my Cayman and they are excellent. Weirdly though, I can only find the 285 30 20 rears in BMW homologation, not the fronts 265 30 20. I’m persuaded by your videos that OEM is better due to the R&D, but combining OEM with non-OEM on a different axle probably defeats the point. Is it better to just put the generic PS4S on both axles or generic front and BMW rear? Thoughts appreciated, thanks.

I'm not sure the F82 ever got the 4S officially, you're finding the rear of the G82. As you've seen in the video, they're quite different tyres so I would probably choose to match all four tyres with non-oe. Or fit a set of G82 wheels and use the 19" front :)


2022-01-30 - Last week I was pricing out a set of Pilot Sport 4S for my Cayman only to learn that Michelin have just announced the Pilot Sport 5. I can hold off for a month or two and was hoping the team at tyrereviews.com could comment on the new tyre. Are you likely to get your hands on the Pilot Sport 5 anytime soon?

The Pilot Sport 5 directly replaces the Pilot Sport 4, not the 4S which is a even-more performance orientated tyre. I will hopefully get on the PS5 in March, but I expect for a Cayman the PS4S or one of the direct rivals such as the Sport Contact 7 will be the better option.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport 4 S Prices

Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £151.39 - £301.00 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £208.69 - £248.25 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £164.39 - £231.24 (43 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 99 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
Helpful 373 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tyres i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tyres was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
Helpful 106 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
These replaced some Goodyear F1 Supersport tyres. The Goodyears had amazing grip, great steering response and I got almost 30k miles out of them. The problem with them was the harsh ride, really noticed a difference when I had the PS4 S fitted and it wasn’t a case of old v new, I noticed the harsh ride after the Goodyears replaced some Pirelli’s. The Michelins are so much more comfortable, a little quieter but are still responsive to steering input. If you’re an out and out racer choose the Goodyears, if you want 99% of the Goodyear’s steering response but value comfort choose the Michelins, I will in future!
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Skoda (235/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Skoda Superb 162tsi wagon (2019) - swapped to PS4s for more grip form the stock Pirelli P7. Corning and general back road blasting is so much better. They are mighty on the brakes and plenty of confidence they’ll stick and are predictable when they run out of grip. Sadly my set haven’t lasted long at 26,000km my first pair I had (admittedly on the front to replace two damaged tires) only did 18,000km. Note I drive plenty of course chip country B roads which might not help. I’d love to go for another set but will punt for the PS5 to hopefully get more K’s out of them.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
One of the best tyres! I had before pirelli scorpion zero, but they were too harsh. It felt like I had no tyres. Michelin 4s are so comfort. You have that feeling that everything is under control. On wet is like on dry, excellent
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Really like the PS4S. For backroad spirited driving, they've been absolutely fantastic. I don't find them noisy, and wear on them has been quite reasonable. I used them for a day of open lapping at one point too, and they did really well on track. Last year, I decided to try the Firestone Indy 500 (aka Bridgestone Potenza RE003) because they're significantly cheaper, but they sucked in comparison and I swapped back to PS4S within a couple of weeks.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Acura TSX (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These are great tires, they become noisier as they age.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A great tyre. They replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport on my E46 M3, which were also fantastic. I hope the PS5s come out soon. My tyre sizes were 255/35/r19 and 224/40/r19
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Infiniti G37 (/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Ive had Hankook and Falken top tier tires and they were good. Hankook better than Falken but essentially I needed a better application for the type of power I have driving and also I would go to Canyons quite a bit so I needed something with more grip and where I felt confident. Michelin Pilot Super Sport and Pilot Sport 4s did it. The difference I felt almost immediately, the level of handling I felt like I could handle now and just the drive, I will absolutely buy again. The price will have me wait till I need to replace them, but you absolutely get what you paid for.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 230 spirited miles
This is an initial impression of the tire as I am finally happy to obtain these tires especially when switching from 16 inch wheels to 19 inch wheels so this should provide an excellent take. With reading some reviews about PS4S having marginal to no differences to PS4 I opted out for PS4S BMW star spec for improved subjective feel as I found regular PS4 lack in feedback under load and inert feel at yaw changes. Dry grip was exhilirating as hell. I am under impression this is a semi-slick tire with more tread! It bites onto the tarmac harder than PS4 ever could which is also heavily influenced by 255 width vs 205 width. Braking feels like having swapped 2 piston calipers with 6 piston calipers which felt similar with the way PS4 was but this tire transmits you every little detail of what you do with the car on the road leading it to inclusive fun as well as having the advantage of a wide tire. Wet wasn't as bad as I had expected, barely any slip unless really hooning it but that is mainly due to lack of heat during the single rainy day however it has so much stick I never felt nervous even when braking. I expected wet braking to be bad but it wasn't, only slightly worse than PS4! Handling is definitely the best I had experienced! It's all I ever seeked of and it really DOES feel like a SEMI-SLICK. While PS4 reduced body roll moderately the PS4S * reduced body roll significantly. It fears no corners at any speeds. The most flat experience I ever had in a car as it has no roll like a go-kart, completely surprised me and it feels so tight on the road. Dry handling is full neutral and can rotate to oversteer if you over-rev and break the balancing in corners. You're never reaching the limits of this tire in the streets ever. It killed the nose heaviness Audis are known for - push to understeer at adhesion is absolutely eliminated and rotates without hesitation whereas PS4 near the limit liked to push the understeer from neutral handling. Wet handling was neutral to oversteer but I hope to experience wet performance more. It was a lot more fun to throw my car around the wet roads but I believe PS4 is better in this field as the oversteer was a lot more controlled and allowed to mash the throttle at wet roads without any slip. Road feedback...like what the hell this is the best tire for it ever! The only tire that ever got a 10 from me. Previous highly scored tires in this category are PS4 and Blizzak DMV2 on another car which got an 8 and the current winter tires WinterContact TS870 P would get only a 7 much like Turanza T001 instead of a 5 this time around. This has all of it! It is so heavy even when variable steering overboosts the assist at low speeds it feels great and makes it fun to drive. On lower levels of assist it feels as heavy as or heavier than the steering I tried on E90 BMW 3 series. The inputs are sharp but quite progressive so it doesn't feel too darty but enough to drive like a maniac. You feel the road perfectly - all that force feedback, yaw changes, braking, slip angle, load up etc. The stiffening of the compound and strenghtening of the sidewalls is a definitive plus for this tire and vastly improved something that was missing in the regular PS4! Regular PS4 had decent heft but it was so lackadaisical it wasn't always fun to drive even if it inspired you to drive spirited. They simply were plagued by the sidewalls and only under limit they felt blissful. This tire massively begs to be pushed and communicates with the driver like no other, it gets me excited! It truly complements my upgraded sport suspension as if they were made for these tires. Can't comment on wear yet but comfort surprised me. For such a chatty tire, feeling so tight and heavy on the steering and with sheer amounts of grip it is shockingly comfortable. Noise is pretty low, I personally felt that regular PS4 tires were a little louder. Rides and drives smooth rounding up the bumps quite well for a 19 inch tire. I really expected worse from this profile of the tire but it does feel due to compound of the BMW star spec tire like you would have highly uprated springs on your car. I suspect PS4 on 19 inch feels exactly the same or similar but without the tight feel because I barely noticed any differences so no issues with comfort even on a wild tire like this! Overall this is the best tire I have ever owned and having the star spec allows it to be on its own level. This is the real deal it feels like a semi-slick even more than regular PS4. I rated it quite low than expected before so regular PS4 tire would get somewhere nearly a 9 from me this time around as it really was a fun tire with tremendous grip especially in the wet but it lacked ultimate handling and feedback due to their touring level sidewalls. This one is a perfect 100% for the time being as it deals with all the tasks and commands I throw at it. It eats the roads like no tire ever and the dynamics of it improved my car to levels I have never thought they were possible. BMW definitely knows how to tune their stuff. Came in with a moderate expectations ended up being highly optimistic. This will be educational for me to find out how they will last over long term because I really see no competition that can beat this tire. It really is a tire that has all-in-one deal and although I want to try other tires, ultimately Michelin has been consistently the best brand for me. Can't wait to find out how mindblowing the PS5S are going to be in the near future.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2022
Given 66% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S came standard with my car, which is a daily driver car. I mostly drive on maintained paved road, and never took my car to a track. Being a summer tire, it is grippy enough that it gives me confidence that I will not lose traction on turns, specially if I'm travelling a little faster than I'm suppose to be. I have driven my car on wet and/or cold condition as well, and predictably, I had to be extra careful, specially on turns, for this tire can easily slip on a wet or cold surface. Overall, I am happy with this tire, but will I buy it again? Most probably no. Like I said earlier, I do not track my car. I would gladly swap the extra grip provided by this tire, for something that I can use on all weather, plus gives a longer tread life.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2022
Given 100% while driving a SEAT Cupra 300 (235/40 R18) on track for 3,500 spirited miles
Amazing tyre, done 5 trackdays in 3 months/8,000km over 9 months. Only half worn after all the hard driving. The grip on track is unreal in the dry and wet. Great feedback also. Going to try Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersport next to compare.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Yaris (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Great road tyres. Only negative seems to be price. Can't go wrong.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Found PS4s to be an overall good tyre but they can be quite dull on road feedback wich I absolutely hate. Compered with PSS which will stick the performance GTI like glue on dry (although not so great in weat), PS4s will lose greap when pushed at limit when cornering.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
By far the best tyre I've ever had on any car. Grip on dry, wet, steering response, the car feels planted. The tyre largely outperforms my car, it's the first time I feel like I can throw anything at it and it still grips and feels super safe. I sometimes drive like a madman and these tyres just feel right at home when driving fast and taking corners at high speed. Highly recommend. Oh and they don't wear at all. Still got 3.5mm left after about 30000 miles.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2021