Falken Azenis FK520

The Falken FK520 is structurally stronger than the FK510 to improve steering precision and feedback, and is 10 percent lighter to improve unsprung mass and rolling resistance. It also improves dry and wet grip thanks to advanced compounding.

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 96,730 miles driven, and 9 tests with an average result of 7th.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 88%
Wear 80%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 88%

First On MarketJanuary 2022
Wheel Size17 - 21"
Width205 - 325mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)69 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Azenis FK520 is ranked 6th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Falken Azenis FK510.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

9

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

7th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test
7th of 8 tyres
  • Very good aquaplaning prevention, easily controllable but not very dynamic driving behavior on dry roads.
  • Limitations in braking and traction on wet surfaces. Also, unbalanced driving dynamics with oversteering and understeering in wet conditions.
  • In wet grip and driving stability, Falken could still improve a bit.
View Full Test >>
2023 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test
7th of 11 tyres
  • Good wet braking, safe aquaplaning properties. Safe but less dynamic cornering, best ride comfort.
  • Dull steering, somewhat indifferent balance in the wet. Less spontaneous steering and slightly longer braking distances when dry.
  • The new FK520 is comfortable, but steers sluggishly on wet roads.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/45R17 94 V XLAA69
205/50R17 93 Y XLCA70
215/45R17 91 Y XLDA70
235/65R17 108 W XLCA70
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA70
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA70
225/45R17 94 V XLAA69
18 inch
235/60R18 107 W XLCA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
235/60R18 107 V XLAA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA70
255/35R18 94 Y XLCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
20 inch
255/45R20 105 Y XLCA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Falken Azenis FK520 >>

Questions and Answers for the Falken Azenis FK520

2022-08-29 - Just purchased and ordered 4 Falken Azenis FK520 for my 2015 7 series BMW, and I am fitting them next week. They are replacing my Goodyear asymmetric 2 that handle well but have worn quite badly. My car is a heavy high speed and I go quite fast on the motorway and I cover huge miles.
There are very few reviews on your 520 tyre as it is new, and unlike the FK510, the reviews are not as encouraging. Your Azenis older FK510 has much better reviews fantastic grip in wet and dry and a seemingly better and more confident looking tread pattern than this new FK520 tyre, and I am wondering whether I have made the right decision. I have read all the advanced tech on the FK520 being stiffer and lighter but I am disappointed that wet braking and handling of the FK520 is lower than the FK510. I always expect that a new developed tyre should always be a significant improvement over the old one.
You have extensively tested your FK520 on the race track so please kindly let me know the how performance characteristics of this tyre over the FK510.to your reply.

Here at Tyre Reviews we've yet to test the new FK520 but we have every confidence in Falken delivering a tyre that performs better than its predecessor the FK510. The FK520 has only been in one proper test so far where it still finished ahead of a Pirelli tyre so we expect the tyre to perform at least as well as the FK510 did when it's tested more in 2023.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £94.50 - £106.16 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £92.60 - £108.36 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R18 £150.25 - £163.81 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £121.25 - £134.88 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £156.20 - £162.66 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £145.85 - £165.06 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 110 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Falken Azenis FK520 Reviews

Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I was very surprised by the comfort of the new tyres. My previous tyres were the fk510 and they were hard as hell, felt every crack in the road. The handling in dry and wet conditions are very good, and the cars feels sporty and good in rhe tight curves. Hope they will last as long as fk510 (around 35k km)
Helpful 252 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW X5 e70 (315/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
Initial 100 mile review of the Falken Azenis 520s has left me impressed. Having just ditched the Dunlop Sport Maxx GT RFTs that came on my E70 X5 when I purchased it, the following was apparent - Review is based on intial subjective impressions.

1) The ride was significantly improved on dual carriageways and undulating country roads. The perceived feedback is that it feels more compliant and better damped than the RFTs.

2) The wet grip and traction was impressive. I couldn't notice a difference in braking performance on wet corners on country roads. Turn in felt responsive and was expecting some understeer at 50mph on my local S-bends, but it tracked very predictable on throttle. It hasn't spun up any of the corners on aggressive throttle applications.

Time will tell on how long these will last, but if I'm able to get 12000 miles before I need to replace them, I'll be more than satisfied. My use case of living in a hilly area with loads of NSL roads means that they wear will be quite high due to the constant braking and acceleration.

I was quite impressed with the ZE914s I had on my Celica 8 years ago, so if these perform as well as they did, I'll be buying them again. Will revise this review with wear.
Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2024
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
The dry grip feeling is really superior, the sensations are that of a Bridgestone Potenza without a doubt. In the wet, the grip is very good, greater than the audacity of any average driver. Due to the width of my tire (245/45 R17), when hitting a deep puddle, the braking is felt on the suspension wishbones, like with any other tire of this width. I would recommend it for use in summer and rainy days, although with deep puddles and wet road markings you have to take the same precautions as with any other wide sports tire.
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2023
Have you driven on the Falken Azenis FK520 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken Azenis FK520? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken Azenis FK520 >

Latest Falken Azenis FK520 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a BMW 1 series (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Very happy with these tyres. The previous one which were fitted to my car were Goodyear Assymetric 6 which performed well but wore quickly and started cracking after only a few months. Initially these were slightly down on grip in the wet but now they have a few miles on them they perform just as well and appear to be wearing much better. Couple that with the much cheaper purchase price and you have a great tyre which I will buy again. Things like comfort, handling are all good, they are a relatively stiff sidewall tyre which translate to a sharp turn in, but this appears to have not affected comfort in a noticeable way.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2024
Given 84% while driving a BMW 440i Gran Coupe M Sport (255/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I had to change the tyres from Pirelli Pzero and i choose to take the Falken FK520 instead of the PS4, because there is a huge price difference (1000€) in Austria. And i was not disappointed .. the tyres are really performing.. its crazy .. never expected that..
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTLi (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 miles
I've put on a lot of miles on these, done the nc500 twice, the dry grip is better then average, the wet grip i was actually impressed with it as you can launch of without wheelspin but the reason i wouldn't buy these again is they are absolutely rubbish when you hit even the smallest amount of surface water. I nearly spun out twice within few minutues on a flat straight, speed limit was 70 and yet i was doing 50mph. The rain was the heaviest and surface had a lot of water. But the car behind same as mine with same setup but had toyo proxes actually didn't aquaplane at all which is shocking as they usually get bad reviews for wet. By the way Both cars were 192 hp celicas
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,500 average miles
I chose the Azenis FK520 for my Tiguan because Falken advertised it as a high performance SUV tire. Having driven it for aprox 2500 miles so far I can say it is a good tyre for dry an wet conditions. Never lost the grip so far. However I have to addmit it is not very comfortable, as you would expect in a SUV. The sidewall of the tyre is very stiff, so it gives good feedback, but it also transfers every small bump right into your seat. I had to lower the tyre pressure to 1.9bar/27psi, to get a somewhat decent ride. If the tyre is inflated to 2.2bar/32psi, you can definitely feel a radial wobble and vibrations at higher speeds. Did not expect this from Falken. I would not recommend it for SUVs, maybe it works good on sportier cars.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Toyota CHR Hybrid (225/50 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Had them fitted for the past 7 months and they're bloody amazing. Was kind of reluctant to put on a "performance" tyre on a hybrid daily driver but I don't regret the decision at all. Traction control barely kicks in anymore, the braking and the grip while cornering is amazing and they don't seem to have worn at all almost.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Lexus ISF (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
These are cheaper than the ps4s and after my front PS4S had worn I decided to change. I had Falken fk510's before which I loved on my previous car (Type R) so when Falken introduces the new FK520's I knew I had to buy these. Without any air in them they already have stiffer sidewalls. The turn in and steering responsiveness is way better than the PS4S you feel it straight away ! It is a harder compound tyre so u do need to warm them up slowly but overall it is an improvement !
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2023
Given 77% while driving a Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A great balance of safety, price, wear and handling.
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2023
Given 82% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have them on my Evo X for a few months and I am very pleased with them. Grip is good and they seem to be a very progresive tyre. Comfort seems above average for a UHP. I had two sets of Hankook S1 Evo 2 that have been amaizing, with exceptional feedback and very good handling, both attributes that are better than the Falkens. Overall, I would have bought them over the FK520, but that doesnt mean that the Falkens are not good. But my next set will definetly be the S1 Evo 3, Hankook in my opinion is the king of value-performance. Yet again, the FK520 are very good tyres, but they don't give me the feeling of the S1 Evo 2. Maybe they will have better wear than the Hankooks, as that was a weak point on the S1 Evo 2.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on for 10,000 miles
I'm coming back after 2 months, having done 10,000 kilometers. Because the car is professional. The tires are very good. Better than when I first put them on in terms of comfort. After the temperature has dropped, I have to say that they work perfectly in the grip, and with 8 degrees Celsius. since they have really warmed up! I'm very impressed for a summer tire how well it works at lower temperatures. after 12000 kilometers of wear and still it's like new if you're a fan of michelin I think the fk520 is a worthy competitor.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2023
Given 95% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
Amazing in the dry! In the wet it's just as good. I faced a slippery road with good traction. From a comfortable end, it's very quiet. A little hard in potholes on the Greek roads, but the hard sides are to blame. However, they make the car feel like a train on rails when cornering. You feel like you've changed the suspension more sports. braking is perfect in the dry and in the wet. it warms up relatively quickly and then it's a different tire!
Helpful 58 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (245/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Have Range Rover Evoque, enjoying with 520’s Go even off-road with them, but mostly stay on road. Have them 5000 km and I will stay with Falken for sure. Now I bought Wildepeak AT3 WA for the winter. Will buy again, price was very good to.
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E430 (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I practice a more relaxed driving style. At the same time, when overtaking with a car with a powerful V8 engine, the tires are stable and precisely controlled, even in rainy weather conditions! The tires are very quiet, cabin noise became significantly less compared to Sailun Atrezzo UHP tires that were before. Of course, the price tag is more expensive than Sailun's, but it's worth it. The especially good news is that living in Estonia, September is already cool, the road surface is also colder, as a result of which the Sailun tire became hard, started to make a lot of internal noise and handling became worse (10-15C°). The Falken Azensis 520, on the other hand, has not changed its good qualities at these temperatures! This adds to tire grip on the autumn road and safer driving. I definitely recommend using these tires, especially for those who drive a lot on roads, because there the speeds of movement are high and the characteristics of the tire are more important.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2022