Land Rover Range Rover Sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Range Rover Sport.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Range Rover Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Range Rover Sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 (3) 87% 100% 97% 100% 100% 100%
Hankook Ventus ST (19) 89% 84% 84% 84% 92% 84%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 (7) 88% 85% 85% 76% 92% 69%
Accelera Iota ST68 (6) 90% 80% 90% 72% 87% 86%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV (5) 90% 83% 85% 85% 58% 75%
Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac (7) 79% 70% 77% 76% 90% 73%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (70) 85% 78% 76% 79% 68% 74%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 SUV (6) 82% 90% 75% 80% 48% 82%
Continental Sport Contact (17) 85% 76% 75% 74% 69% 71%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (10) 80% 68% 64% 74% 67% 77%
Continental 4x4 SportContact (6) 87% 68% 74% 63% 53% 80%
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (8) 87% 81% 82% 59% 47% 86%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (51) 79% 64% 74% 73% 76% 70%
Laufenn S fit EQ (13) 78% 63% 62% 57% 73% 73%
Fullway HP 108 (8) 68% 46% 46% 44% 62% 46%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%
Zeetex HP202 (3) 37% 23% 30% 30% 13% 17%

Land Rover Range Rover Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 given 88% (265-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
I have gone through 4 sets of studded winter tires (Hakka2, Hakka5, Hakka7, Hakka9). Tried non studded Nokia WR (useless) and Michelin Pilot Alpin ( not great ). BUT....when the winter in Canada turns nasty and -25C or below turns rubber to hockey pucks, there's only one tire I turn to: Nokian Studded Hakkapelita! NOTHING stops on ice as good as these tires. My Range Rover turns into a Caterpillar snow plow . They give you such confidence, you think you're driving on dry. The studs are noisy but you don't hear them on the snow or ice covered roads. Good trade off for the sure grip they provide. Dry or wet grip is excellent also, considering I drive an SUV ( you can only get so much roll, going fast) . Only in the spring when the snow melts and the roads are dry you realize you are driving on "tank tracks",........and it's time to switch to All terrain tires ( and take the summer car out of storage as most Canadians do) ;) Not recommended for more moderate climates however, only the Northern American states and Nordic countries will benefit from these beauties.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-05 01:22:57
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 2000 miles
The tires feel comfortable, but that is where it ends. If you drive like and old lady and don't mind 'Made in China' stamped on your tires, then go ahead and buy them, but beware, you might get a puncture in these soft Tyre within the first st month of driving, that is what happened to me. I already replaced them with premuim tyres soon after, my life is more important than cheap tires.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-24 11:53:53
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given NAN% (275-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
The Tyre feels good and grips good all round, but almost impossible to balance. Already had the balancing done at 3 diffrent shops, but still feeling shake in steering from above 115 km/h. It is almost still new but will be replacing them soon.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-14 13:42:47
Writing about the Accelera Iota ST68 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Fitted IOTA ST68 275/40 R20 to the front of my 2012 Range Rover Sport replacing Pirellis. These are a revelation, in terms of road holding, comfort and general improvement to the handling of the car. The car is now a pleasure to drive and is almost unrecognisable from the experience on Pirellis. I tow a caravan and have just returned from an 700 mile round trip. The previous tyres had a disconcerting habit of following the ruts made by HGVs in the inside lane to the point, at times, it was almost dangerous. I can't even say I noticed this phenomena with the Accelera tyres. I can't comment on longevity but at about half the price of top branded tyres I wont be too concerned. Very pleased will definitely buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-10 15:19:16
Writing about the Laufenn S fit EQ given 91% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 7 easy going miles
I bought s used car with a mixture of Blacklion and Hifly tyres. I taught I needed a wheel bearing until my mechanic said it was the road noise. He offered the Laufenn and the car was transformed into a quite cruiser. I don’t do big mileage or drive hard so I don’t need a premium performance tyre. Just something quiet, stops me in the rain and doesn’t feel detached from the steering wheel, Laufenn does all that at a good price and my fuel consumption is a little lighter. No issues with 12,000 kms todate.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-29 22:48:35
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 76% (275-45-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-25 13:54:40
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico given 87% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 spirited miles
I’ve had these tyres for 35,000 miles now, and I have tried the falken fk510, Michelin’s pilot sport and the toyo proxes. So I’ve got some to compare it too. In the dry the falkens out perform the proxes massively and the Pirelli scorpions plus michellins somewhat too. The Pirelli’s seem to wear the best. They are the best in the wet, and I do off road my Range Rover and don’t put winter tyres on. The Pirelli scorpions seem to totally have you covered for the ice and light dustings of snow we’ve had in the south of England the last few years. Overall I’m happy to sacrifice a little dry handling and performance for the wet weather ability, winter capabilities, and better wear. Is worth noting that the falkens which drive fantastically are now basically the same price which is a shame as I would in the summer fit a pair on the front, seeing as I use two lots of fronts a year anyway.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-06 11:00:53
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico given 60% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
Great tyre in the dry but terrible in the wet. On the motorway in wet conditions anything over 60mph risks aqua planning.

Will never buy again
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-29 23:04:33
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 100% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 spirited miles
Originally picked these up in summer 2014 for about £120 per corner, on the recommendation of a friend in the motor trade. Upon fitting, the difference between them and the previous tyres (Continentals with about 16k on them) was staggering. Quieter, better fuel economy, improved grip in both the wet and the dry, you name it and the Hankook Ventus ST beats the Contis hands down.

We've taken our car across France on the autoroutes at speeds that English police would claim is unsafe, and the Hankooks provide everything you could possibly want when driving a fast, heavy, expensive car. Great grip, precise handling, slow to wear down, surefooted in heavy rain. Really impressive tyre in every way. Whilst my other half drives like Morgan Freeman in a heartwarming movie, I like to squeeze every last ounce of performance out of the car - the tyres take a beating when I drive, and they have stood up admirably to everything I have thrown at them.

Fast forward to autumn 2018 and having done 40,000 miles we finally need to replace two of the four, because they are down to about 3mm. A bit of research demonstrates that although the price has risen to £157 per corner, the Ventus ST is still the best value tyre out there for the Range Rover Sport. Pirelli alternatives are more expensive but no better, Continentals are more expensive and distinctly worse. Bridgestone Duelers are far more expensive and arguably worse than the Contis, so that only leaves Michelin as a viable alternative... and they start at over £200 per tyre.

The Ventus ST isn't fabulous off-road. Wet grass is no particular problem, nor is gravel or shallow mud. When you start splashing around in deep mud however, you are going to find that there is a limit. It's miles better than the Bridgestone Dueler (we have these fitted to a Toyota Hilux and they are complete rubbish), but that's not exactly a benchmark!

A final mention regarding snow performance: living in southern England means we very rarely see any snow, so I can't really say how the Ventus ST performs in that regard.

All in all, I simply don't understand why these tyres aren't fitted as the default option coming out of the factory. The quite simply urinate all over the opposition.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 14:28:29
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 49% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Tyre blew after about 20,000 miles and on inspection showed that the tyre had broken down and split around the inner rim.
For safety reasons have replaced with a set of Pirelli’s.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-30 22:19:27
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 SUV given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I purchased a full set of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 for my Range Rover Sport 3.0ltr HSE just at the beggining of 2018.
These tyres were great from the off, especially after i'd been riding around on a brand new budget set that came with the car. This transformed the handling and stopping distance immediatley!
Wet, dry and snow I have driven in this year and they've coped admirally and inspired confidence which is essential in a big heavy suv/4x4 such as mine.
On a purely asthetic note, they look good from the side view on the car and the tread pattern is a work of art!
I wouldnt hesitate to buy these again especially as i managed to get them for £125 each, which I considered to be good value for a tyre with the size rating 275/45/20 y speed rating xtra load......

tyre reviewed on 2018-03-11 16:06:29
Writing about the Fullway HP 108 given 49% (285-35-22-R)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Found these tyres to be noisy on the road and a little lumpy. I recently had all four tyres balanced, when on the machine u could see them going up and down. Well i've learned something again ... pay cheap prices and receive rubbish.

tyre reviewed on 2018-02-27 06:46:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre