Hankook Ventus ST

Also known as the Ventus ST RH06

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 92%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 89%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 10,542,390 miles driven.

The Ventus ST is ranked 2nd of 17 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 All Road 265/60 R18 4x4 Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good off-road, high resistance to aquaplaning, short braking distances in the wet, well priced.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Test winner.
View Full Test >>

2013 Auto Review Sports SUV Summer Test - 11th of 11 tyres

  • Overall - The Hankook RH06 has the worst wet grip in the test, with wet braking increased by over 10 meters from 50 mph and a poor balance. In the dry the grip is ok, but the tyre often has a double stab at the corner leading to unpredictability. Unpleasant and unsafe. Best traction in the sand, but they're the only tyre marked M+S in the test.
View Full Test >>

2010 Auto Zeitung 4x4 Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Overall - The Hankook RH06 is let down by it's dry performance and rolling resistance
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/55 R17 97V REP C C 71 12.38kgs
275/55 R17 109V REP C C 72 16.11kgs
285/55 R18 113V REP C C 74 17.87kgs
285/60 R18 116V REP C C 73 20.07kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL REP C C 71 15.02kgs
275/45 R20 109V XL REP C C 72 15.74kgs
265/50 R20 112W XL REP C C 72 16.54kgs
285/50 R20 112V REP C C 74 18.39kgs
285/35 R22 102W REP C C 74 16.32kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Ventus ST. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ventus ST Prices

Size Price Range  
275/40 R20 £162.18 - £194.60 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
285/55 R18 £133.50 - £153.20 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Ventus ST Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (285/40 R22 W) on mostly country roads for 50,000 average miles
I put these on my 2008 Range Rover Sport as the Pirelli Scorpions didn't seem to last too long, and I was amazed by these tyres. More comfortable ride, very quiet, fuel economy increased by 2mpg, and, get this, on a big heavy vehicle, these tyres lasted 50,000 miles!!! Will defo buy again for any vehicle
81 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These tyres transformed my car. Swapped for Pirelli zero's that had approx 3mm tread left. These are way quieter and loads more grip. I can't comment on longevity as only done about 1k miles but very impressed so far will definitely buy again
16 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2016   
Given 94% while driving a Mitsubishi Shogun 3.2Ltr Diesel LWB (285/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 90,000 average miles
car originally fitted with Pirelli Scorpion Zeros and I have had several replacments sets. These are a good tyre, but the Hankook Ventus ST are far superior in all aspects. I would definatly continue to use these. Supply is not easy..........
11 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2010   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus ST tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus ST? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus ST >

Latest Hankook Ventus ST Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz GL 350 CDI (265/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
I have driven around 10k kms with these tyres on my 2013 Mercedes GL(S) 350 CDI this year (2021). As I have four kids we are quite heavily loaded most of the times. Previously I had Michelin Latitude Tour HP 265/60 R18 (MO) on and I have to tell: the two tires have as good as nothing in common. While the Michelin did not show a lot of grip on dry road and even less on wet with horrible performance on aquaplaning these new Hankook tyres are very good on dry surface and amazing on wet. Got into a heavy rain in Italy this summer - on the highway all other drivers stopped expect for large trailers and us. It was at least 5 cms of water on the highway and we got stable. No aquaplaning at all, no sliding no drifting not even at higher speeds over 100 km/h - you wonder how the tires manage this at all??? But you know, all coins have two sides, so what you get for this excellent performance on dry and wet (and also in mud of course) you have to pay with less comfort (and probably faster wear) on the other side. When I put on these new tyres this spring (after my Toyo Open Country winter tyres) I was shocked. I even told my wife, let's sell these after summer and get new ones for next season. The reason: they are loud. No, not a bit loud. They sound as if you had superhard offroad tyre on your SUV. And no matter whether you drive with 2.5 bars or 3.0 bars. These tyres are extremely loud and especially on low speeds (they are close to unbearable to my ears). The music starts at around 60 kmh and lasts till around 120-130 then wind and engine noise would take over the lead. I am still considering selling them but you know: the performance in wet is so unbelievably amazing... I might keep them. Buyin them again? Let's see in four years. If the manufacturer manages to do something with the noise, these tires are could beat all the others. But, somehow, I think this is the tradeoff: grip vs comfort.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021   
Given 91% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/50 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 35,000 average miles
I have driven (Jeep Grand Cherokee crd 2014) nearly 35000 miles on a set of these tyres and have to say the are probably the best tyres I have ever own. I drive both motorway and country lanes about 50/50. The wet grip is exceptional, whilst the dry grip is as good as my previous Continental set. However the real feature has been the wear. I still have what looks like a this a third of the tread left until I get to the worn indicators. The feel and comfort are better than the Continentals and certainly the overall winter grip in Slush and water feels far superior!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Cayenne Turbo (285/35 R22 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Great tyre, lasted far longer than any other tyre I’ve used by over twice the mileage. Grip in both wet and dry is very good. Wear is even. Well balanced at high speed, have done 150+ (German autobahn) with no wobble or vibration. Would definitely recommend and use again!
Tyres are down to about 3mm on the front and 4mm at the rear. Tyres are fitted to a 4wd 510bhp SUV. I have found you need to shop around for the best deal as the price of these tyres can vary radically between retailers. I got mine at £160/tyre fitted and balanced.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Cayenne Turbo (275/40 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Initially bought these tyres due to availability for my vehicle. I had recently removed some fairly squirmy and overall understeer prone Michelins and figured that the heavy front end of the car was to blame. Boy was I wrong.

This car weighs near enough 3 tons, generates well over 500 hp and these tyres don't seem to care. They are a touch wrigglier in the wet and towards the end of their life but even then are oh so predictable. For a summer tyre, they are pretty respectable in the North's snow and ice too, particularly taking the vehicle mass and tyre width into account.

Considering the half-worn Michelins that came with the car lasted 4000 miles, I did not expect to get near enough 30000 miles on the front axle and half that at the rear. To put that in context the front discs have worn out at the same rate. I did initially have some issue with uneven wear on the rears but this has not recurred since aligning the 10 year old car for the first time in its life.

These tyres are not about to get your Chelsea tractor to win your local autocross but they punch well above their cost and were pleasantly surprising when the weather got tough. I am keen to try some other rubber for this nugget of a car but would totally recommend these for any heavy, overpowered car that excels in wallet damage.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/40 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 40 spirited miles
Originally picked these up in summer 2014 for about £120 per corner, on the recommendation of a friend in the motor trade. Upon fitting, the difference between them and the previous tyres (Continentals with about 16k on them) was staggering. Quieter, better fuel economy, improved grip in both the wet and the dry, you name it and the Hankook Ventus ST beats the Contis hands down.

We've taken our car across France on the autoroutes at speeds that English police would claim is unsafe, and the Hankooks provide everything you could possibly want when driving a fast, heavy, expensive car. Great grip, precise handling, slow to wear down, surefooted in heavy rain. Really impressive tyre in every way. Whilst my other half drives like Morgan Freeman in a heartwarming movie, I like to squeeze every last ounce of performance out of the car - the tyres take a beating when I drive, and they have stood up admirably to everything I have thrown at them.

Fast forward to autumn 2018 and having done 40,000 miles we finally need to replace two of the four, because they are down to about 3mm. A bit of research demonstrates that although the price has risen to £157 per corner, the Ventus ST is still the best value tyre out there for the Range Rover Sport. Pirelli alternatives are more expensive but no better, Continentals are more expensive and distinctly worse. Bridgestone Duelers are far more expensive and arguably worse than the Contis, so that only leaves Michelin as a viable alternative... and they start at over £200 per tyre.

The Ventus ST isn't fabulous off-road. Wet grass is no particular problem, nor is gravel or shallow mud. When you start splashing around in deep mud however, you are going to find that there is a limit. It's miles better than the Bridgestone Dueler (we have these fitted to a Toyota Hilux and they are complete rubbish), but that's not exactly a benchmark!

A final mention regarding snow performance: living in southern England means we very rarely see any snow, so I can't really say how the Ventus ST performs in that regard.

All in all, I simply don't understand why these tyres aren't fitted as the default option coming out of the factory. The quite simply urinate all over the opposition.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (275/50 R19 W) on mostly town for 35,000 average miles
I ran these tyres twice on my old 2007 VW Touareg V8. That thing chewed up tyres very quickly. These were the longest lasting and most evenly wearing tyre I ran. Other tyres lasted as little as 12,000km. The Hankook Ventus RH06 lasted a good 30,000+km. Not great but still way better than all the other tyres I ran on that car and I clocked up 200,000+km before selling it.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Dodge Nitro (275/45 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Improved the handling vastly rear end no longer wants to spin out quite compared to the Goodyear that Dodge fitted
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2017   
Given 71% while driving a Dodge Durango (275/60 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
The tyres are as they wear off getting quite noisy. But overall an impressive tyre.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2017   
Given 64% while driving a Mitsubishi Shogun 3.2Ltr Diesel LWB (285/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
All four corners had Ventus ST on them when I bought the car and all tyres had approximately 4mm on them. Found them to be noisy on the motorway and A-Roads. Ok around town and superb off road. Dry grip was good but I felt they were skating a touch on very wet roads which made for poor feedback. Definitely a great 4x4 tyre but not so great when using them on tarmac.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a BMW X5 e70 (285/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Overall very impressed with these tyres. Opted to change from the Bridgestone runflats that are standard on the BMW X5. Dry grip is very good, wet grip is above average. The other major benefits are they are notably more quiet than other tyres I've used and seemed to last longer than others (rear bias on my car and the rear tyres lasted 24,000), that's impressive considering most of my miles are fast motorway driving. A lot of people don't realise these tyres are actually all-weather tyres so they cope well with snow should it come! I would definitely buy again, good value for money compared to others too.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Lexus RX400 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000,000 average miles
Put two of these on the rear and the difference in road noise is nothing short of incredible. Wear looks to be very good as well. Have just replaced front tyres with the same and car has a completely different driving experience. Quieter, more balanced, much better directional stability. Have previously run Bridgestones and Dunlops. Had the car from new and now at 170,000 miles. These tyres transform the driving experience
1 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2015   
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (270/40 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Excellent tyre for the money especially in the wet, i'd say probably the best in the price range and better than a lot of premium tyres, highly recommended on my T5, i will be using again and again.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2013