Volkswagen Touareg Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Touareg.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Touareg? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Touareg better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo Proxes ST (12) 92% 88% 89% 73% 92% 91%
Hankook Ventus ST (18) 88% 83% 84% 84% 94% 88%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (18) 88% 84% 84% 84% 77% 72%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
General Grabber AT3 (14) 83% 77% 76% 74% 83% 82%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (272) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (5) 86% 100% 74% 58% 58% 84%
Avon ZX7 (29) 87% 85% 77% 77% 58% 80%
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77%
Radar Dimax R8 plus (10) 82% 76% 69% 73% 74% 67%
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (44) 78% 71% 68% 68% 61% 70%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (66) 79% 65% 69% 63% 72% 63%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (47) 78% 63% 74% 71% 75% 70%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (42) 78% 61% 66% 61% 71% 56%

Volkswagen Touareg Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Radar Dimax R8 plus given 62% (225-45-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 average miles
So I just had all four tyres (Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport) changed and I went with budget Radar Dimax R8+(DOT 1619). This is an initial review of their performance which mind you is based on a 2.5 mile drive in the wet. Dry Grip: Can't write on this yet as I am yet to drive in the dry. Wet Grip: I was actually impressed by the grip in the wet - they seemed to respond quicker with about same stopping distance to my previous tyres which were rated C for wet (and down to 1.3mm trea depth). Road Feedback: was definitely milder compared to my previous, bumps didn't get feel as crude as before (maybe the "well-inflatedness" of the new ones factored into this). Handling: There was a certain sponginess to how they felt,accelerating seemed a little laggy but taking corners felt slightly better and there was no skidding. Wear: can't say much on ths as they are brand new - came with full 7mm tread depth, I'll see how wear goes - fingers crossed. Comfort: I usually drive with suspension set to comfort(else the mrs throws-up everywhere) but I did feel a slight but noticeable increase in comfort level. Buy again: Only time will tell! Looks: I like the tread pattern - with the reassuring 4 main groves present, not a big-fan of the checquered finish on the sidewall and they look a little pale too (will have to get them darkened somehow). Conclusion: So far so good, I have an eighty-mile roundtrip coming up, hopefully that will give more positive insight.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-19 19:09:09
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 89% (275-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
2016 VW Touareg 3.0 tdi. OE Continentals were expensive at the time and tbh weren't great, although didn't have much to compare against and lasted 18k which sounds ok for a 2+ ton car (mainly motorway miles). These worked out around £200 less for 4. Just in for MOT, done 5k miles, 5/6/5 (in/centre/out) on fronts and 6/7/6 on rears, think i'll swap them round at service to even it out but looking good to at least match the originals. The car handles well, plenty of grip wet or dry, thick channels run round which is probably why they get a good wet rating but had no issues in dry either. Noise wise, these things are fantastic. The car was quiet enough but the road noise now is negligible - for a big heavy car with fat wheels the cabin is incredibly quiet at, ahem, motorway speeds. If I get c20k miles out of these I will be well impressed and will buy again. Oh, the rubber protects the alloys too, which the originals didn't (unfortunately, when you have to park so close to the kerb in London), so another plus. Might not be a "premium" brand but def a premium tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-20 15:41:18
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 70% (275-45-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Very soft sidewall, first time out off-roading cut 3 tyres down to cord, now need to buy new tyres, so I’d say ok for road can get much better for offroad
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-27 10:45:30
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 19% (235-65-17-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 easy going miles
These are the worst tyres ever made!
Firstly, I got a set of 235/65/17 for my Touareg. They wore out extremely fast and they got a lot of punctures. There was some time I carryed around two (2!) spare winter wheels because of this shit.

I never seen a tyre such bad, they got punctured even from small rocks!

After 3 or 4 years I decided to give this model another chance - I had a big discount for a 255/60/17 set (also compatible with my Touareg wheels). F*** my life! They were even worse - on country roads the small rocks simply cut into the tyre... I never experienced a tyre such bad and I had from Kormoran to Debica (romanian cheapest brand).
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-16 22:36:20
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 89% (275-50-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 35000 average miles
I ran these tyres twice on my old 2007 VW Touareg V8. That thing chewed up tyres very quickly. These were the longest lasting and most evenly wearing tyre I ran. Other tyres lasted as little as 12,000km. The Hankook Ventus RH06 lasted a good 30,000+km. Not great but still way better than all the other tyres I ran on that car and I clocked up 200,000+km before selling it.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-16 06:21:30
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 54% (255-55-18-V)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 easy going miles
Bought these and fitted on Touareg, 2.5 Tdi. Have a very soft skin that make them prone to damage at the slightest. Definitely not for off-road, even a well worn dust road. Have replaced all 4 after less than 30,000km of use. Tread still good but punctured badly. Waste of my money!
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-29 03:22:25
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
I brought a full set of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 back on 22 June 2016 and put them on my 2014 VW Touareg, These tyres are fantastic, The road grip in all conditions is superb and the mileage I have got from these is 20,000 on the front and 22,000 miles on the back tyres. My service last week advised I change them soon as they are down to 1.6mm on the rear.

I will definately be fitting these again and have also fitted them all around to the wife's Tiguan. These tyres stop very efficiently and quickly, the A rating on the wet grip gives brilliant stopping in the dry. I absolutely recommend these tyres and I'm just starting my second full set after 2 years. I think with the softer rubber manufacturers are using have given me outstanding wear considering I do a combination long, short and medium distance driving and did not rotate my tyres. I also drive spirited and easy going so the tyres have had me giving hard driving into bends to test the grip.

For a 2 ton vehicle to get that sort of mileage nowadays is impressive, very under rated tyre,
Regards
K. Oscar
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-08 08:32:20
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV given 83% (265-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5500 spirited miles
In March 2016, I bought four new F1 tires for my VW Touareg V8. I mainly drive medium speed highways (80-140 Km/h) and unpaved roads. Before I place my statement I have to say that the roads I use are very tortuous and I generally drive them fast. I am very much aware of tire pressure control and tire rotation (done at 5.000Km). My comments:
- Cornering is excellent, both on dry and wet conditions.
- Noise is surprisingly very good, even on higher speeds.
- Tire balance is perfect, no vibrations or shimming at all.
- The main issue of this product is wearing. I have less than 8.000 Km and I already have to consider changing tires before the next rain season in October (the outer borders are totally weared out and aquaplaning is scaring my wife to death while I drive through the usual heavy rains that fall during summer time in Brazil).
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-10 18:23:17
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV given 80% (275-45-20-V)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-18 22:25:07
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 80% (275-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Brought a set of 4 pieces a month back had run through 2000km on my 2012 VW Touareg. Both comfort and dry/wet driving condition was very good. Like the initial consumption on my fuel since most Nee tyres I replaced tend to create higher friction thus higher consumption but not to this model as compared with my last Teo models of Continental CSC5 and Pirelli scorpion.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-25 07:21:23
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV given 83% (275-45-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-18 06:01:48
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 73% (275-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
First 4WD in a while and I decided to treat it to a set of winter tyres, general these go on in November and off again in late March/April, living in Norfolk we don't have a lot of snow but the last two winters certainly gave them a work out, winter 13/14 we've hardly seen any frost but it's hardly been above 10'c either.

Cold wet and greasy roads they are brilliant, inspiring confidence, in the snow and ice they are just staggering our neighbour with a disco 4 with all the gismos and 1/2 warn Pireli Scorpian Zero's had to accept to tow from me when the hill up to their farm firstly froze over and then had 10" of snow on it.... he now has Wintracs for the winter but we have really them yet this year :-((

One word of warning they are not that good in mud.... when new with 8mm they were very good but now down to about 4mm they filled with clay amd tuned in to roller skates !!

Overall, I will buy again and have also put on wife's car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-03 16:30:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre