Avon ZX7

Designed for medium and large SUV fitments, the ZX7 – Avon’s first ultra-high performance SUV tyre – offers outstanding grip ('A' grade wet grip) and handling.

Avon's ZX7 has been developed with a unique asymmetric tread pattern, which is specifically designed to cope with the weight of large SUVs. Large circumferential grooves in the tread clear water efficiently from the contact patch to reduce the risk of aquaplaning in wet conditions, while a large central rib increases feel and driving response.

The tread pattern of the ZX7 features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three-dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which, in turn, helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

With a lightweight construction and reduced rolling resistance, the ZX7 also provides outstanding steering response.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 73%
Wear 58%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 57%

Tyre review data from 42 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 297,194 miles driven.

The ZX7 is ranked 18th of 28 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling in the dry, with sporty direct steering, good in wet handling.
  • Negative - Longer braking distances in the dry and wet, poor aquaplaning resistance, low grip on gravel and grass, highest rolling resistance on test.
  • Overall - The Avon ZX7 was an enjoyable tyre to drive in the dry and wet, feeling even sporty at times, however the braking and aquaplaning performance of the tyre couldn't match the best on test.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    235/60 R16 100H   E A 69 12.21kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   E A 69 11.79kgs
    215/65 R16 98V   E A 69 11.79kgs
    235/70 R16 106H         14.00kgs
    245/70 R16 111H XL         15.00kgs
    245/70 R16 107H         15.00kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   E A 69 12.27kgs
    235/55 R17 99H   C A 69 12.45kgs
    275/55 R17 109V   C A 70 14.67kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   E A 69 11.51kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   C A 69 11.92kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   E A 69 12.51kgs
    225/65 R17 102H   C A 69 12.14kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 70 13.52kgs
    235/65 R17 104V   C A 69 13.52kgs
    255/65 R17 110H         14.08kgs
    265/65 R17 112H   C A 70 14.86kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   E A 69 12.49kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 70 11.81kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   E A 69 12.78kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   C A 69 12.64kgs
    235/55 R18 100H   C A 69 12.64kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   B A 71 13.78kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 71 13.78kgs
    225/60 R18 100H   C A 69 12.43kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 70 13.58kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 70 13.58kgs
    235/60 R18 103W   C A 69 13.58kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 71 15.36kgs
    225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 11.49kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL   C A 69 11.81kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 70 12.57kgs
    285/45 R19 111W   C A 72 15.24kgs
    285/45 R19 107V   C A 73 15.59kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 71 13.84kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL   B A 71  
    255/50 R19 103W   C A 71 14.06kgs
    235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 69 13.60kgs
    235/55 R19 101W   C A 69 13.78kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 70 13.60kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   B A 71 14.25kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 13.96kgs
    245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 70 13.19kgs
    255/45 R20 101W   C A 71 13.98kgs
    265/45 R20 108Y XL   B A 71 13.93kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   B A 71 14.80kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   B A 71 14.47kgs
    255/55 R20 110Y XL   B A 71 15.10kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 73 15.63kgs
    275/45 R21 110Y XL   B A 71 15.84kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Avon ZX7

    2016-08-30 - Is the Avon ZX7 M&S rated?

    No, the Avon ZX7 is not an M+S rated tyre.


    2019-02-25 - Could you tell me if these tyres can be fitted to my car " Chrysler Sebring " The Avon ZX-7. Many Thanks.

    As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, there's no reason the Avon ZX7 can't be fitted to your car.


    2020-07-25 - is the zx7 n rated

    We do not believe there are any N Rated ZX7's


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/60 R17 £95.51 - £118.80 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/60 R18 £109.80 - £124.61 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/65 R17 £97.99 - £114.78 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R18 £104.34 - £152.90 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/45 R20 £143.00 - £186.25 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/45 R20 £152.34 - £206.66 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Avon ZX7 Reviews

    Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Just completed the first 1000 miles on these tyres. I'm very impressed with every aspect of these tyres. These are quieter, more comfortable and provide a fantastic feel whilst driving, very smooth.
    The feed back whilst steering is superb, incredibly precise and sharp to the point where I actually over steered for the first few miles until I got used to the fact that they were so precise with no roll or wallow round corners or roundabouts.
    These have a slightly older fashioned pattern on the tread so if that's your kind of thing then your going to be disappointed as they don't have nice swirly patterns like some other tyres, but if that's your criteria when buying a tyre then your buying tyres for the wrong reason, although they do have a nice touch of having the brand and model mounded into the tread.
    Helpful 200 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2016
    Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (275/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    Only had me ZX7 since Christmas Eve 2022 but I was presently surprised after me old 10year Conti were done for,Not mileage Or wear and tear but by date. Avon at almost a 50% saving I could believe the exceptional children comfort Or was it old tyre fatigue? Not at all I recall the Conti New don't have the comfort of AVON ZX7s. On the wet they are so good It almost makes you to assured cornering at speed. I hope to update in time as the Mileage increases.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2023
    Given 39% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/65 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 easy going miles
    Picked up a set of 2 Avon tyres to replace ageing Yokohama tyres after 18,000 miles of easy going town driving with 3mm left. General performance of Avon tyres has been fine (for budget tyres) . However, the tread wear by mileage has been the worst of any tyre I've ever purchased. Less than 3mm tread after just 8,000 miles. Even on the front of an SUV, that's about half what I normally get out of tyres. I'll need to run them down to barely legal just to try and get some economic value out of them, but I don't think I'll get more than 9,500 in total before I have to change them. Definitely won't be buying Avon again or recommending these to anyone, as the compound is clearly too soft for general use. I think anyone reviewing these tyres as "good" are in for an unpleasant shock further down the line. I'll be switching back to a better brand as soon as these tyres are done.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2023
    Have you driven on the Avon ZX7 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZX7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Avon ZX7 >

    Latest Avon ZX7 Reviews

    Given 71% while driving a Volvo XC90 (2) D5 momentum (275/45 R20) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
    All four tyres developed cracks in between the tread after just three year and less than 10k miles.
    Avoid.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2024
    Given 40% while driving a Ford Mondeo 2.0 ~TDCi Business Ed. (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    All 4 of my Avon ZV7 are advisories on my recent MOT. Plenty of tread, but all are 'perishing' even though the oldest is only 2-3 years (less than 10,000 miles). My local tyre people won't touch Avon tyres for that reason!
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (245/45 R20) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
    My second set of these. OE tyres were noisy and didnt protect alloys from kerbing, lasted 18k miles. These Avons were a great price, saving me over £200+ on similar graded premium tyres. First set lasted me 20k miles, so an improvement, the car felt secure on the road in any conditions I hit (mainly dry or rain) and they are very quiet at motorway speeds.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2023
    Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 17 easy going miles
    Reasonably priced for my budget, i bought 2 for the rear first, liked the look and price so then later bought 2 for the front. British made I thought, let’s support Britain. Can’t complain about dry or wet grip, hence the score. The diesel Tiguan can hardly be thrashed about and my driving is a little sedentary at 63yrs old but I felt safe in all weathers on all surfaces (except snow). SO here comes the crunch, I’ve just had to replace the fronts at only 17,000 miles! I knew from research that the compounds were soft but I’ve never replaced any tyres at 17,000! The rears are also getting down at just 25,000 so very disappointed about the longevity akin to my driving style. A medium priced well behaved tyre but with a short lifespan. Luckily I only do 5000 miles a year so suppose they’ve lasted 3 years.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2023
    Given 67% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    These tyres were fitted to a RAV4 and were already on the car when I bought it. I have had all season Avon tyres on a Skoda Octavia Diesel and found them to be brilliant. So I had high hopes for these - and they’re totally the wrong tyre for the vehicle. They’re designed for motorways and all tarmac. Rubbish on grass and gravel - forget about mud. If it snows, leave the car at home - they’re absolutely rubbish - to the point of being dangerous. Day to day driving they’re as good as any other, and they’re hard wearing, and not overly loud - but that’s the best I can say about them. I will not buy them again.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2023
    Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.6 bi turbo elite (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
    No problems whatsoever in the dry, have never under steered or throttle off over steered in the wet and I'm not a slow driver, not a particularly noisy tyre, I have had 6, 4 on the front 2 on the back. Overall a great tyre that I am just ordering another 2.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2022
    Given 84% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
    Just getting through my 2nd set of these, very happy, getting at least 26k miles on the fronts with a commute thats 2/3 A road and 1/3 motorway. Dry grip is excellent and wet grip is also very good.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
    Given 40% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10 miles
    I bought some Avon zv7 because I thought they was made I the UK and they were not I had them on my honda civic I had four fitted at the same time in October 2020 I have just had to have them replaced after 17 months they were all perished down the centre grooves and failed the mot I will never buy these tyres again
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 11 average miles
    Bought a full set of Avon ZX7's Tyres for my 2015 Mercedes ML W166 after reading reviews & my only issue is after 11,000 Miles am looking to replace them next few months as they've worn out alot sooner than I'd expected, Been a good tyre in most respects except i wasn't overwhelmed with them in the snow (Thankfully only lasted afew days), Am looking at Bridgestone/ Goodyear/ Michelin next time
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (245/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 17,000 spirited miles
    I loved these tyres so much I have just ordered 4 more. They are very quiet and handle well in all conditions. I’m driving a Kia Sportage GT line AWD. The only downside for me is that they’ve only lasted 17000 miles - whether that is normal on an SUV I’m not sure but they are good tyres so a few thousand miles on a quiet safe tyres seems worth it
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Land Rover Evoque (245/45 R20) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
    I have been an Avon fan for nearly 50 years and currently have 4 of their tyres on my SUV. I've just received an MOT advisory warning that the front 2 are perishing, after only 2 years and 6000 miles of normal use (UK roads only - no offroad use). I've submitted a warranty request to the company and will update this review, based on the response I get. UPDATE - The response I've received from Avon is that I have to return my car to the garage that fitted the tyres, then get them to remove the tyres and send them back to Avon. That means I have to leave my car sitting on the garage forecourt on its rims for as long as it takes Avon to uplift, examine and report on the tyres. If Avon deem the ZX7s to be faulty, they will refund on the basis of how much tread is left compared to new, but if they think the tyres are 'within normal specification', they will return them to the garage, to be refitted. As an alternative, Avon suggest that I simply buy 2 new tyres, before sending my originals back. That way I don't lose the use of my car, but what happens if they decide that they won't honour my warranty claim? I'll then have 2 sets of tyres! And who pays the garage to do all this work? If ever there was a procedure designed to hamper a consumer making a warranty claim, then this has to be it. No goodwill from Avon, no acceptance of what an accredited long standing garage or a qualified MOT inspector says. Just a robotic insistence to follow a claims procedure that severely inconveniences customers. All tyres perish eventually, but not usually after only 2 years and 6,000 miles of normal UK use - and not usually in the valley of the tread (which is dangerous, because it's closer to the structural carcas of the tyre). If my situation was a one off, you could just put it down to bad luck, but a quick internet search reveals plenty of other people with Avon tyres failing in exactly the same way. Bearing in mind that if you buy Avons and they perish like mine, you will be expected to jump through the hoops I have described above to make a warranty claim, the only logical advice I can give is that everyone avoids buying Avon tyres in the first place. FOOTNOTE - regarding the ZX7's performance, I found them to be quieter than the Continentals the car came with from new, but inferior in all other aspects, particularly economy. The performance is irrelevant anyway, if they perish after just 2 years and 6,000 miles.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2022
    Given 53% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 11,000 average miles
    Having had Avon tyres on other cars I went with them on my Audi Q5 when they ended replacing. After 2 years and 11000 miles the outside edges on the front Avon ZX7 tyres have wore down to where I need to replace them. I thought there was a issue with the tyre pressures or tracking and so got them checked out at two separate garages which both found there were no issues and put it down to the tyres. For the cost of them I’ve been very disappointed and won’t by Avon’s again.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2021