Avon ZX7

Designed for medium and large SUV fitments, the ZX7 – Avon’s first ultra-high performance SUV tyre – offers outstanding grip ('A' grade wet grip) and handling.

Avon's ZX7 has been developed with a unique asymmetric tread pattern, which is specifically designed to cope with the weight of large SUVs. Large circumferential grooves in the tread clear water efficiently from the contact patch to reduce the risk of aquaplaning in wet conditions, while a large central rib increases feel and driving response.

The tread pattern of the ZX7 features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three-dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which, in turn, helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

With a lightweight construction and reduced rolling resistance, the ZX7 also provides outstanding steering response.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 76%
Wear 57%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 61%

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 236,177 miles driven.

The ZX7 is ranked 16th of 27 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling in the dry, with sporty direct steering, good in wet handling.
  • Negative - Longer braking distances in the dry and wet, poor aquaplaning resistance, low grip on gravel and grass, highest rolling resistance on test.
  • Overall - The Avon ZX7 was an enjoyable tyre to drive in the dry and wet, feeling even sporty at times, however the braking and aquaplaning performance of the tyre couldn't match the best on test.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    235/60 R16 100H   E A 69 12.21kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   E A 69 11.79kgs
    215/65 R16 98V   E A 69 11.79kgs
    235/70 R16 106H         14.00kgs
    245/70 R16 111H XL         15.00kgs
    245/70 R16 107H         15.00kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   E A 69 12.27kgs
    235/55 R17 99H   C A 69 12.45kgs
    275/55 R17 109V   C A 70 14.67kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   E A 69 11.51kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   C A 69 11.92kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   E A 69 12.51kgs
    225/65 R17 102H   C A 69 12.14kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 70 13.52kgs
    235/65 R17 104V   C A 69 13.52kgs
    255/65 R17 110H         14.08kgs
    265/65 R17 112H   C A 70 14.86kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   E A 69 12.49kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 70 11.81kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   E A 69 12.78kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   C A 69 12.64kgs
    235/55 R18 100H   C A 69 12.64kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   B A 71 13.78kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 71 13.78kgs
    225/60 R18 100H   C A 69 12.43kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 70 13.58kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 70 13.58kgs
    235/60 R18 103W   C A 69 13.58kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 71 15.36kgs
    225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 11.49kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL   C A 69 11.81kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 70 12.57kgs
    285/45 R19 111W   C A 72 15.24kgs
    285/45 R19 107V   C A 73 15.59kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 71 13.84kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL   B A 71  
    255/50 R19 103W   C A 71 14.06kgs
    235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 69 13.60kgs
    235/55 R19 101W   C A 69 13.78kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 70 13.60kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   B A 71 14.25kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 13.96kgs
    245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 70 13.19kgs
    255/45 R20 101W   C A 71 13.98kgs
    265/45 R20 108Y XL   B A 71 13.93kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   B A 71 14.80kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   B A 71 14.47kgs
    255/55 R20 110Y XL   B A 71 15.10kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 73 15.63kgs
    275/45 R21 110Y XL   B A 71 15.84kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Avon ZX7

    2016-08-30 - Is the Avon ZX7 M&S rated?

    No, the Avon ZX7 is not an M+S rated tyre.


    2019-02-25 - Could you tell me if these tyres can be fitted to my car " Chrysler Sebring " The Avon ZX-7. Many Thanks.

    As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, there's no reason the Avon ZX7 can't be fitted to your car.


    2020-07-25 - is the zx7 n rated

    We do not believe there are any N Rated ZX7's


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    ZX7 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    215/60 R17 £87.00 - £101.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R19 £113.00 - £140.20 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/60 R18 £102.00 - £121.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R18 £98.00 - £120.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R18 £94.89 - £115.99 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/45 R20 £145.23 - £232.20 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 36 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Avon ZX7 Reviews

    Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Just completed the first 1000 miles on these tyres. I'm very impressed with every aspect of these tyres. These are quieter, more comfortable and provide a fantastic feel whilst driving, very smooth.
    The feed back whilst steering is superb, incredibly precise and sharp to the point where I actually over steered for the first few miles until I got used to the fact that they were so precise with no roll or wallow round corners or roundabouts.
    These have a slightly older fashioned pattern on the tread so if that's your kind of thing then your going to be disappointed as they don't have nice swirly patterns like some other tyres, but if that's your criteria when buying a tyre then your buying tyres for the wrong reason, although they do have a nice touch of having the brand and model mounded into the tread.
    Helpful 162 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2016
    Given 92% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/55 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    The car had done 46k 3rd set of tyres, first and second sets oem Hankook Optimum and so noisy..
    Funny my wife researched and spotted these,. My given apprehension was what happens in winter conditions.
    A1 near Berwick about 2" had fallen dual carriageway was down to one lane except Discoverys etc...
    Stopping distance was huge. Ex ambulance driver, if I had not had the skid pan training etc, I would never avoided having a rear end collision despite decent braking distance.

    I'm a firm believer that low profile tyres are killers in winter for average driver.
    Having driven an old Ford Cortical rear wheel drive with skinny budget tyres as a young man I never got stuck.

    Avon.. Tyres are excellent up to a point, but the ABS works overtime even in snow.
    I use the A82 a lot, now I pick long term weather forecasts to drive to Glasgow or Newcastle upon Tyne.
    Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2018
    Given 76% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/55 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
    FITTED TO FRONT ON OUTLANDER. DRY GRIP GREAT, AND WET GRIP GREAT, NOT NOISY ... THEY HAVEN'T LASTED AS LONG AS I THOUGHT THEY WOULD BEING A TYRE A TYRE FOR SUV'S .LASTED ONLT 6,000 MILES ?
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2017
    Have you driven on the Avon ZX7 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZX7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Avon ZX7 >

    Latest Avon ZX7 Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
    Just getting through my 2nd set of these, very happy, getting at least 26k miles on the fronts with a commute thats 2/3 A road and 1/3 motorway. Dry grip is excellent and wet grip is also very good.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
    Given 40% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10 miles
    I bought some Avon zv7 because I thought they was made I the UK and they were not I had them on my honda civic I had four fitted at the same time in October 2020 I have just had to have them replaced after 17 months they were all perished down the centre grooves and failed the mot I will never buy these tyres again
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 73% while driving a (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 11 average miles
    Bought a full set of Avon ZX7's Tyres for my 2015 Mercedes ML W166 after reading reviews & my only issue is after 11,000 Miles am looking to replace them next few months as they've worn out alot sooner than I'd expected, Been a good tyre in most respects except i wasn't overwhelmed with them in the snow (Thankfully only lasted afew days), Am looking at Bridgestone/ Goodyear/ Michelin next time
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (245/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 17,000 spirited miles
    I loved these tyres so much I have just ordered 4 more. They are very quiet and handle well in all conditions. I’m driving a Kia Sportage GT line AWD. The only downside for me is that they’ve only lasted 17000 miles - whether that is normal on an SUV I’m not sure but they are good tyres so a few thousand miles on a quiet safe tyres seems worth it
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Land Rover Evoque (245/45 R20) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
    I have been an Avon fan for nearly 50 years and currently have 4 of their tyres on my SUV. I've just received an MOT advisory warning that the front 2 are perishing, after only 2 years and 6000 miles of normal use (UK roads only - no offroad use). I've submitted a warranty request to the company and will update this review, based on the response I get. UPDATE - The response I've received from Avon is that I have to return my car to the garage that fitted the tyres, then get them to remove the tyres and send them back to Avon. That means I have to leave my car sitting on the garage forecourt on its rims for as long as it takes Avon to uplift, examine and report on the tyres. If Avon deem the ZX7s to be faulty, they will refund on the basis of how much tread is left compared to new, but if they think the tyres are 'within normal specification', they will return them to the garage, to be refitted. As an alternative, Avon suggest that I simply buy 2 new tyres, before sending my originals back. That way I don't lose the use of my car, but what happens if they decide that they won't honour my warranty claim? I'll then have 2 sets of tyres! And who pays the garage to do all this work? If ever there was a procedure designed to hamper a consumer making a warranty claim, then this has to be it. No goodwill from Avon, no acceptance of what an accredited long standing garage or a qualified MOT inspector says. Just a robotic insistence to follow a claims procedure that severely inconveniences customers. All tyres perish eventually, but not usually after only 2 years and 6,000 miles of normal UK use - and not usually in the valley of the tread (which is dangerous, because it's closer to the structural carcas of the tyre). If my situation was a one off, you could just put it down to bad luck, but a quick internet search reveals plenty of other people with Avon tyres failing in exactly the same way. Bearing in mind that if you buy Avons and they perish like mine, you will be expected to jump through the hoops I have described above to make a warranty claim, the only logical advice I can give is that everyone avoids buying Avon tyres in the first place. FOOTNOTE - regarding the ZX7's performance, I found them to be quieter than the Continentals the car came with from new, but inferior in all other aspects, particularly economy. The performance is irrelevant anyway, if they perish after just 2 years and 6,000 miles.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2022
    Given 53% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 11,000 average miles
    Having had Avon tyres on other cars I went with them on my Audi Q5 when they ended replacing. After 2 years and 11000 miles the outside edges on the front Avon ZX7 tyres have wore down to where I need to replace them. I thought there was a issue with the tyre pressures or tracking and so got them checked out at two separate garages which both found there were no issues and put it down to the tyres. For the cost of them I’ve been very disappointed and won’t by Avon’s again.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Renault Kadjar, Dynamic S Nav 4WD (225/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 200 average miles
    I find Avon tyres sit on the fine line of mid range and high end. The zx7 I would say is more high end. quiet, comfortable, grip great in dry and wet. You can be confident in these at 70 mph on a wet motorway. If you’re looking for a tyre that’s not sitting at the £150-200 per tyre (for 225/45/19) then go for these I don’t think you’ll be able to tell the difference on a normal everyday car like a kadjar or juke. Also like the fact that they are made in the uk
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2021
    Given 66% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 17,000 average miles
    Full set fitted 18 months ago, 17000 miles completed, will need full set for MOT. No issues with the tyres other than, expected more miles from them especially when most miles are motorway driving.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2020
    Given 73% while driving a BMW 118i Sport (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    In summary, these are great tyres, discounted 15% to nearly cheapest anywhere but with a good brand name just instills quality without certification, however, compared to factory fit Continental EcoContact, the Avons let the rear slide out way earlier than the worn Continentals.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2020
    Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
    2016 VW Touareg 3.0 tdi. OE Continentals were expensive at the time and tbh weren't great, although didn't have much to compare against and lasted 18k which sounds ok for a 2+ ton car (mainly motorway miles). These worked out around £200 less for 4. Just in for MOT, done 5k miles, 5/6/5 (in/centre/out) on fronts and 6/7/6 on rears, think i'll swap them round at service to even it out but looking good to at least match the originals. The car handles well, plenty of grip wet or dry, thick channels run round which is probably why they get a good wet rating but had no issues in dry either. Noise wise, these things are fantastic. The car was quiet enough but the road noise now is negligible - for a big heavy car with fat wheels the cabin is incredibly quiet at, ahem, motorway speeds. If I get c20k miles out of these I will be well impressed and will buy again. Oh, the rubber protects the alloys too, which the originals didn't (unfortunately, when you have to park so close to the kerb in London), so another plus. Might not be a "premium" brand but def a premium tyre.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2020
    Given 51% while driving a Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp (255/50 R19 V) on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
    I had these tyre fitted on my xc90 about 18months ago and lasted about 9000 miles very steady driving style. Very disappointed with wear rate 80% worn out within 12months.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2019
    Given 98% while driving a BMW X3 3.0dA (225/60 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
    I recently replaced the BMW-spec (but non-runflat) Pirelli P7s on my X3 with these Avons. My first impressions are that the Avons are a fair bit quieter and give slightly better feedback in the dry. I haven't had the chance to do many miles in the wet on the Avons, but they do seem to have better grip on damp roads compared to the Pirellis.
    As it stands at the moment (only done 300ish miles) I find them better in all aspects than the Pirellis.
    Some reviewers have said they thought the Avons don't last very long. As long as I get 15000 miles from mine, I'll be happy - I value wet grip and all-round feedback above longevity. The Avons are 80% of the cost of a set of Pirellis or Dunlops, so anything less than 20% reduction in tyre life is acceptable in terms of "bang for buck".
    Based on these impressions, I would definitely buy them again. If I should happen to change my mind before they need to be replaced, I will report back.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2019