Michelin Latitude Sport 3

The Michelin Latitude Sport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Latitude Sport 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 83%
Wear 82%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 380,010 miles driven.

The Latitude Sport 3 is ranked 7th of 27 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Autobild 4x4 / SUV Tyre Test - 4th of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Very high resistance to aquaplaning, good traction on grass and sand, good comfort, low noise
  • Negative - Long wet braking distances, expensive
  • Overall - Good
View Full Test >>

2016 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2016 Autobild 4x4 / SUV Tyre Test (255/55 R19)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    255/55 R17 104V   C A 70 13.16kgs
    275/55 R17 109V   C A 72 14.44kgs
    235/60 R17 102V VOL B A 70 12.50kgs
    235/60 R17 102V   C A 70 12.29kgs
    255/60 R17 106V   C A 70 14.22kgs
    225/65 R17 102V   C A 70 12.29kgs
    225/65 R17 106V XL JLRDT A B 70 11.75kgs
    225/65 R17 106V XL JLR A B 70 11.80kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL VOL C A 70 13.50kgs
    235/65 R17 104W   C A 70 13.41kgs
    235/65 R17 104W AO C A 70 13.10kgs
    235/65 R17 104V MO B A 70 13.20kgs
    235/65 R17 104W TV       13.45kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 70 13.63kgs
    245/65 R17 111H XL MO-V B A 70 13.80kgs
    235/55 R18 104V XL VOL B A 70 13.10kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   C A 70 13.10kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   C A 70 14.59kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   B A 70 14.23kgs
    255/55 R18 105W N0 C A 71 13.80kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL * C A 73 18.35kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL * C A 72 14.20kgs
    285/55 R18 113V   C A 70 16.50kgs
    225/60 R18 100V   C A 70 13.00kgs
    235/60 R18 103V VOL B A 70 13.20kgs
    235/60 R18 103V MO B B 70 13.20kgs
    235/60 R18 103W   C A 70 13.20kgs
    235/60 R18 103W AR. B A 70 13.60kgs
    235/60 R18 103W N0 C A 71 13.00kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 70 13.32kgs
    235/60 R18 103W AO C A 70 13.40kgs
    235/60 R18 103H   C A 70 13.33kgs
    235/60 R18 103V AO B A 70 12.70kgs
    245/60 R18 105H   C A 70 13.81kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   B A 70 14.56kgs
    235/65 R18 110H XL   B A 70 13.86kgs
    255/45 R19 100V   C A 70 13.41kgs
    275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 70 14.83kgs
    285/45 R19 111W XL   C A 70 17.96kgs
    285/45 R19 111W XL   C A 70 14.80kgs
    295/45 R19 113Y XL   B A 70 15.72kgs
    235/50 R19 99W MO C A 70 13.50kgs
    235/50 R19 99V   C A 70 13.16kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL A VOL C A 70 13.50kgs
    245/50 R19 105W XL * B A 70 16.04kgs
    255/50 R19 103Y   C A 70 14.63kgs
    255/50 R19 103Y N0 C A 71 14.60kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL   C A 72 17.54kgs
    255/50 R19 103Y MO1 C A 71 14.60kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL MO B A 70 14.40kgs
    255/50 R19 107V XL   C A 70 14.75kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL   C A 70 14.75kgs
    265/50 R19 110W XL * B B 70 17.67kgs
    265/50 R19 110Y XL N0 B A 71 14.90kgs
    265/50 R19 110W XL   B A 70 15.50kgs
    275/50 R19 112Y XL N0 B A 72 15.60kgs
    225/55 R19 99V   C A 70 13.09kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL A VOL C A 70 14.30kgs
    235/55 R19 101Y N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 70 13.82kgs
    235/55 R19 101V   C A 70 13.90kgs
    235/55 R19 101Y   C A 70 13.92kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL C A 70 14.05kgs
    235/55 R19 101Y MO1 C A 71 14.00kgs
    235/55 R19 101V MO C A 70 13.70kgs
    235/55 R19 101W AO C A 70 13.70kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL N0 B A 71 15.20kgs
    235/65 R19 109V XL   C A 70 14.17kgs
    315/35 R20 110W XL   C A 70 16.09kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72 14.57kgs
    275/40 R20 106W XL * C A 70 16.20kgs
    285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.50kgs
    295/40 R20 106Y N0 C A 71 14.31kgs
    295/40 R20 110Y XL   C A 70 15.63kgs
    245/45 R20 103W XL   C A 70 13.26kgs
    245/45 R20 103W XL * C A 70 14.30kgs
    255/45 R20 105V XL A VOL C A 70 14.15kgs
    255/45 R20 105Y XL A T0 C A 70 13.90kgs
    255/45 R20 101W AO C A 70 14.60kgs
    255/45 R20 105V XL   B A 70 13.80kgs
    255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 70 14.10kgs
    255/45 R20 101W MO C A 71 14.03kgs
    265/45 R20 104Y N0 C A 71 13.57kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   B A 70 15.02kgs
    275/45 R20 110V XL A VOL B A 70 15.80kgs
    275/45 R20 110V XL VOL B A 70 15.30kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL A T0 C A 70 15.60kgs
    295/45 R20 110Y   C A 72 17.08kgs
    245/50 R20 102V   C A 70 14.23kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 70 15.07kgs
    265/50 R20 107V   C A 70 15.49kgs
    265/50 R20 111Y XL   C A 70 15.66kgs
    275/50 R20 113W XL MO B A 70 16.60kgs
    275/50 R20 113W XL * B A 70 19.50kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL MO C A 72 13.80kgs
    295/35 R21 103Y N2 C A 71 14.20kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL N1 C A 72 13.80kgs
    295/35 R21 103Y N0 C A 71 14.15kgs
    255/40 R21 102Y XL   C A 70 14.63kgs
    265/40 R21 101Y N2 C A 71 13.50kgs
    265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 71 14.00kgs
    265/40 R21 101Y N0 C A 71 13.40kgs
    315/40 R21 111Y MO C A 70 18.00kgs
    275/45 R21 107Y MO C A 70 16.55kgs
    275/45 R21 107Y AMO-S C A 70 16.55kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Latitude Sport 3

    2018-06-24 - Is LS3 directional?

    No, the Latitude Sport 3 is an asymmetric tyre.


    2022-10-12 - OK. The Sports 3 is a “summer” tire. What does that mean exactly? How cold can outside temperatures get before they lose performance?

    Generally anytime under 7c you start to lose wet performance, and when you get close to freezing there can be a significant drop in wet grip.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    235/55 R18 £128.69 - £178.00 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/45 R20 £233.79 - £372.00 (59 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/45 R20 £207.89 - £323.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    275/45 R19 £170.39 - £231.10 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    275/45 R20 £225.00 - £286.80 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Michelin Latitude Sport 3 Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Audi Q7 (295/35 R21 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    The Michelins have so far lasted 20,000 miles of driving and have about three mm left on them . A combination of motorway and city driving. I am very impressed by the tyres. I have looked for reviews to suggest good alternatives but looks like I will end up buying the same again. Most owners of the Q7 seem to be happy with 15,000 miles out of a set.
    Helpful 311 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2014
    Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (275/45 R20 W) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
    Brought a set of 4 pieces a month back had run through 2000km on my 2012 VW Touareg. Both comfort and dry/wet driving condition was very good. Like the initial consumption on my fuel since most Nee tyres I replaced tend to create higher friction thus higher consumption but not to this model as compared with my last Teo models of Continental CSC5 and Pirelli scorpion.
    Helpful 61 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2017
    Given 74% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/60 R18) on mostly town for 3,600 easy going miles
    Very comfortable tyres, confident on dry and wet corners.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2016
    Have you driven on the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Latitude Sport 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Latitude Sport 3 >

    Latest Michelin Latitude Sport 3 Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Porsche Macan S (265/45 R20) on mostly town for 10 spirited miles
    Just purchased LS3 for my MacanS Is a big improvement form the old Continental I am most surprised of the little road noise.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel (255/50 R19) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
    I'm only driving them now for 2 months. I had the Vredestein tires under my X5 3.0D but they were noisy. So far i love them, specially the sound and fuel consumption! Negative point: expansive to others.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 84% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R19) on mostly motorways for 55,300 spirited miles
    Got these tyres with purchase in Aug 2018. Took care of rotation at each 8000km intervals and regular pressure check
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
    Given 99% while driving a Vauxhall Antara (235/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
    I have an Antara and found these tyres were far better than that Vauxhall had fitted on the vehicle. Road handling / braking in the wet and dry excellent. Purchased just over 4 years ago, have done 31000 miles and just mot'd and still have 5mm tread. Not the quietest tyre on market depending on road surface, but you expect a little noise with this of width of the tyre.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (225/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    These tyres are ware on VW Tiguan ALLSPACE 2.0 TDI 4X2. I think that they are the best tyres for any 4x2 SUV.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021
    Given 59% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC250d Coupe 4matic (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
    Mercedes glc250d coupe.....this car is driven by my wife which is to say it is not driven aggressively AT ALL. My biggest complaint is she is on 34,000 miles and she is on her THIRD set of rear 285/40 ZR20!!!!!! There is no unusual wear the car is fine but they absolutely eat these tires up. We live in Thailand so it’s hot all the time, nevertheless they do not come close to their 20,000 warranty and trying to deal with warranties in Thailand is a joke. This is also the only tire we can get for the car here so I’m not that happy. Aside from the outrageous wear? The tires are awesome in every other category.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2020
    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (275/45 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
    I'm not too sure what to expect tyre wear wise regarding my VW Tourag 2008 3.0 V6 TDI I have only had it 7 months. Had these tires fitted 6 months ago and had a full tracking and alignment check and adjustment..
    We have just covered 8,000 miles on them and the rears are approaching 3mm rapidly, fronts are 5mm.
    Tyre wear is even across the axles. No inner or outer wear.
    That said the performance of these tires in the dry and wet is just amazing. Its just the £700 a set for I reckon 9500-10,000 miles is worrying. But may be this is the norm.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2019
    Given 86% while driving a Volvo XC90 2.9 T6 (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 35,000 easy going miles
    Having a second set.
    The first set still lot of treadwear left after 3 years , 50000km but some peeling appeared at the edge. Riding is reasonable, an annoying high pitch sound persisted throughout the life span.
    It yielded 8.9/100km on my 2016 XC90, which was incredible.
    The second set is AC tire with a block of foam inside and along the rim.
    The moment it got on my SUV, I thought I was driving a totally different car.
    The high pitch noise totally disappeared. The riding comfort improved tremendously.
    The only drawback is that mileage dropped to 9.4L/100km.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2019
    Given 97% while driving a BMW BMW X1 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
    It's good
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2019
    Given 88% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19 V) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
    Picked it up for my Mazda CX-5. Compared to stock Toyo proxes R36, handling is quicker and more responsive. It feels like the car is lighter and can change lanes swiftly, very fun to drive. Feedback is just right to make me feel confident, while staying relaxed. Noise level seems comparable to the old tyre, not much quieter in my opinion.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2019
    Given 81% while driving a Audi Q5 (235/60 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 8,600 spirited miles
    A good overall tyre, for my test ugly design, still they have good confort and good overall grip. Also for me is not a sport tyre but a good overall one. Not the greatest feedback. Above average wet grip and excellent wear. If you want a good overall tyre for a SUV this one is for you, if you want a sporty tyre go look elsewhere.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2019
    Given 83% while driving a Nissan Murano (235/65 R18 H) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
    235/65/R18 on Nissan Murano 3.5 Auto.

    Done 25k miles on these and they have been very good. Front down to about 3.5mm and rears at 4.5mm. Could probably get a bit more out of them if we swapped them around and might do that for summer but I will replace before winter.

    At £525 fitted at Costco in July 2016 they have been a good buy but this tyre has now been replaced with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV so I will look at them though I could buy the Latitude 3 again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2019