Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC60 D5 AWD Auto better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (6) 90% 97% 92% 95% 96% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (131) 93% 88% 86% 87% 82% 86%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (8) 86% 86% 88% 86% 90% 86%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV (3) 90% 90% 87% 87% 93% 67%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (29) 88% 84% 84% 82% 81% 74%
Nokian WR SUV 3 (17) 86% 81% 85% 84% 78% 88%
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (18) 91% 89% 81% 82% 77% 74%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (111) 89% 85% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Michelin CrossClimate (142) 88% 85% 82% 80% 84% 89%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (11) 82% 89% 79% 71% 65% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (20) 86% 86% 76% 74% 75% 80%
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV (5) 92% 80% 90% 86% 90% 96%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (7) 83% 87% 70% 67% 67% 90%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (22) 82% 74% 76% 75% 75% 81%
Nokian WeatherProof (31) 80% 84% 79% 79% 74% 87%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (37) 82% 74% 74% 78% 78% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (211) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental 4x4 SportContact (7) 89% 73% 75% 67% 54% 81%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (107) 85% 78% 77% 76% 55% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (34) 84% 80% 76% 80% 53% 70%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (64) 80% 65% 75% 74% 72% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (55) 77% 69% 68% 68% 59% 71%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 90% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Around 8000 km driven with these summer tyres since April 2023 (5 months).
Grip is excellent and the car feels safe on the road. Wet grip is great and driving on highway (120-130 kmph) in strong rain did not show any issue. Even during aquaplaning in bigger puddles the car kept its direction and did not feel like losing control.
The only thing I have observed is that fuel consumption increases with 0.5 to 1 liter per 100 km when driving on wet highways.
They have around 6.5 - 7mm tread depth left on both axles and I can not still pronounce myself about the wear as I did not measure the new tyres' tread depth.
Did not have to use the brakes strongly in an emergency, but they seem efficient with normal breaking, both in dry and wet. Maybe wet breaking feedback is better and they seem to 'stick' to the road, but it's just a personal feeling.
The label says that the noise level is 72dB, supposedly noisy tyres, but my experience is that there is no noticeable noise from inside during driving on dry roads with smooth surfaces. On roads with rough surfaces there is noise, of course.
The overall experience is a good one and I would recommend them, especially for their wet performance.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-15 14:30:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV given 100% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Although its a bit pricey (and loud as they say, I dont care it it is loud as long as it is the safest), it will be my next purchase. Great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-03 23:11:19
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 17% (235-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
Poor performance coupled with even poorer quality. After two years of winer use only tires showed very fine cracking on the surface of the thread. At first Nokian declined to consider even looking at them (in Germany) however later they realised that it was a problem and some customers were compensated. Too late for me as I disposed of them already at the loss. Same happened with a Z-Line tires. Both models were made in Russia. Never I will even look at Nokian again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-06 12:13:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 100% (255-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 easy going miles
One of the best tyres! I had before pirelli scorpion zero, but they were too harsh. It felt like I had no tyres. Michelin 4s are so comfort. You have that feeling that everything is under control. On wet is like on dry, excellent
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-22 20:34:31
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 84% (235-60-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 55300 spirited miles
Got these tyres with purchase in Aug 2018. Took care of rotation at each 8000km intervals and regular pressure check
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 13:52:03
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 average miles
Enjoyed these tyres, but they have only given me 26,000 miles over 3 years, tread down to 3mm.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-29 11:05:39
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate SUV given 80% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Decent tyre, but pricey and ugly
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-13 18:58:18
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 73% (255-40-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
If you can afford to replace them every year ,well yes, it is an excellent tyre. Ok the Volvo is heavy and strong but you just expect more from premium tyres that cost an arm and a leg, especially when not pushing them to the limit and adopting a easy going drive style.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-18 07:48:27
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 60% (255-40-21-P)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre, but spending 1,300€ for 12-15k kilometers is a waste. Very disappointing wear capabilities.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-22 06:51:42
Writing about the Continental 4x4 SportContact given 55% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Not very impressed with these as they wear more. Dry grip is ok but not great and grip in the wet is very poor pulling away. They spin too easily especially as they are on an AWD Volvo grip on mud or poor also bad.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-02 12:27:51
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given NAN% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles

VOLVO XC60 D4
Purchased 4 Nokian Weatherproof tyres 18 months ago and covered less than 10,000 miles in that period , I am now having to replace them as all 4 tyres have deep cracks between the tread and I fear they are unsafe to drive on.
On doing some internet searching I found this seems to be common with these tyres with the ones made in Russia (check for yourself )
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-04 08:47:15
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 84% (235-45-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 41000 average miles
switched over to the Goodyear all seasons gen 2 tyres on my Volvo xc60 after original tyres worn out at 18000 miles. Goodyear fronts just replaced after 41000 miles! the 107 wall rating means they handle English potholes far better than most. the rain and ice grip is good and snow is ok but obviously not as good as a pure snow tyre. Had 4x4 's for many years and wouldn't fit any other tyre now.

















tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 09:09:49
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre