Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC60 D5 AWD Auto better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (5) 94% 96% 98% 98% 96% 92%
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV (3) 90% 80% 87% 80% 90% 100%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV (3) 90% 90% 87% 87% 93% 67%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (4) 83% 87% 85% 85% 80% 93%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Nokian WR SUV 3 (17) 86% 81% 85% 84% 78% 88%
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89%
Michelin CrossClimate (127) 87% 85% 83% 80% 83% 89%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (10) 83% 90% 79% 70% 62% 80%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (33) 85% 78% 74% 79% 81% 80%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (18) 82% 73% 75% 75% 75% 84%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (86) 87% 81% 79% 79% 56% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (192) 87% 83% 80% 76% 51% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (25) 84% 81% 77% 83% 53% 73%
Continental 4x4 SportContact (6) 87% 68% 74% 63% 53% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (44) 78% 71% 68% 68% 61% 70%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (46) 78% 63% 74% 71% 75% 70%

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 73% (255-40-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
If you can afford to replace them every year ,well yes, it is an excellent tyre. Ok the Volvo is heavy and strong but you just expect more from premium tyres that cost an arm and a leg, especially when not pushing them to the limit and adopting a easy going drive style.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-18 07:48:27
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 60% (255-40-21-P)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre, but spending 1,300€ for 12-15k kilometers is a waste. Very disappointing wear capabilities.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-22 06:51:42
Writing about the Continental 4x4 SportContact given 55% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Not very impressed with these as they wear more. Dry grip is ok but not great and grip in the wet is very poor pulling away. They spin too easily especially as they are on an AWD Volvo grip on mud or poor also bad.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-02 12:27:51
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given NAN% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles

VOLVO XC60 D4
Purchased 4 Nokian Weatherproof tyres 18 months ago and covered less than 10,000 miles in that period , I am now having to replace them as all 4 tyres have deep cracks between the tread and I fear they are unsafe to drive on.
On doing some internet searching I found this seems to be common with these tyres with the ones made in Russia (check for yourself )
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-04 08:47:15
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 84% (235-45-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 41000 average miles
switched over to the Goodyear all seasons gen 2 tyres on my Volvo xc60 after original tyres worn out at 18000 miles. Goodyear fronts just replaced after 41000 miles! the 107 wall rating means they handle English potholes far better than most. the rain and ice grip is good and snow is ok but obviously not as good as a pure snow tyre. Had 4x4 's for many years and wouldn't fit any other tyre now.

















tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 08:09:49
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV given 87% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
I am very pleased with these tyres. They have lasted for 3 summers, and have had everything thrown at them, long distance motorway trips, towing trailers and caravans, country roads and the commute. The only fault came from a nail that punctured a tyre, but even that managed to hold together with the sealant to get us and the caravan 400 miles to our home. That tyre was immediately replaced with another Conti, despite there being a cheaper option on the shelf at the fitters. I've never had any issues with grip, handling, noise or economy with these tyres, and an estimated 30k miles shows that they can last, despite being fitted to a fairly heavy car. They are now at 3mm, so not suitable for another summer of use, but a new set is going on once the winter tyres come off.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-26 21:17:47
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 90% (235-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Live in Switzerland and have plenty of experience on snowy roads. The Vector Gen 2's performed just as well as a traditional winter tyre (I have alwys had Conti TS series,). A no brainer for me - the cost savings of changing tyres each summer/winter season will buy me a new set every 2 years!
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-10 19:41:45
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 90% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 average miles
Lasted almost exactly 30,000 on front changed with 2mm left on inner and 3mm middle and outside (still going on rear)

Good through wet mud (pretty deep mud) , wet grass, and mild off road, good in the snow too.

Have just bought 2 more as replacements.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-30 17:55:05
Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 100% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Used on my Volvo XC60 D5 AWD after reading lots of reviews. In the UK we had heavy snowfall this year and I was one of the few unaffected. At times I even got looks of envy from struggling drivers sliding around in lane 1 while I made my own tracks through the fresh snow in lane 2.

These cut through snow without any hassle at all, on country lanes which were ungritted and across inclines/declines they didn’t flinch. Better than sottozero’s which were my favourite winter rubber, until now that is. Even took for some light off-road action across a soggy field and they coped well.

I do plenty of mileage around 25-30k per annum. These tyres are also reassuring on both dry and wet surfaces in low temperature. There have been a few odd warm days around 12 degrees but the tyres don’t fell overly soft or sloppy when the temperature climbs (there have been 15 degree swings in temperature this year!). However it is time to put summers back on but can’t wait to get these out the garage again in winter.

The wear has been great too still plenty left for next year and my mpg was slightly better than the summer tyres. Also quieter. It’s a glowing review from me for these tyres, exceptional.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-24 07:08:49
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
Got these on my 2016 Volvo XC60 and just clicked up 22,000 miles and still got at least 5,000 more on them. Used on and off road in all weathers and never had a problem. Only 1mm wear difference between the front and the back.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-06 22:30:54
Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Used on my XC60 D5 In snow and ice, where other people have been crawling along or stranded, I’ve had no such issues. The traction in fresh snow is admirable and in ice is reassuring.

My wife and kids use this car, I have no hesitation with them going out in the snow when fitted with these. My current tyre of choice.

Mixture of A roads, B roads and motorway driving as well as still being fine on the mild days, not sloppy and actually increased mpg!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 07:08:08
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 91% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 51000 average miles
These tyres are give very good grip in wet and dry conditions. My tyres have done over 50,000 miles mostly motorways. The tyres got progressively noisier after 40,000 miles with a bit of shouldering on the front after 45,000 miles
I’ve been so impressed with these tyres, I’m having another set fitted tomorrow. I would recommend these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 07:27:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre