Continental Sport Contact 5

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 214 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 2,401,190 miles driven, and 28 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 76%
Wear 51%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 53%

First On MarketJanuary 2011
Wheel Size17 - 22"
Width195 - 315mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)71 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Sport Contact 5 is ranked 47th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 6.

Tests Included

28

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tyre Test
2nd of 8 tyres
  • No real weaknesses in the dry or wet handling or braking.
  • Average aquaplaning resistance, average comfort levels.
  • Very good - Continental win more tests than any other brand in Europe, and this was apparent with the excellent SportContact 5 even though it has now been replaced by the newer PremiumContact 6.
View Full Test >>
2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test
8th of 9 tyres
  • Good resistance to aquaplaning, low rolling resistance, good levels of comfort
  • Average braking, slow steering, low stability on wet roads
  • Average
View Full Test >>
2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Test
4th of 10 tyres
  • Excellent in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, short braking and good handling in the dry
  • Poor comfort, high noise
  • Recommended
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Continental ContiSportContact 5 Launched
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    17 inch
    225/45 R 17 91 VCB71
    225/50 R 17 98 Y XLCA72
    225/45 R 17 91 YDB71
    225/50 R 17 94 WDA71
    215/45 R 17 91 W XLCA72
    225/45 R 17 91 WDB71
    215/45 R 17 91 W XLCA72
    225/50 R 17 94 WCB71
    225/50 R 17 94 YCA71
    205/50 R 17 89 VCA71
    225/45 R 17 91 YCB71
    225/45 R 17 91 WCB71
    225/50 R 17 94 WBB71
    18 inch
    245/40 R 18 93 YDA71
    245/40 R 18 97 Y XLCA72
    245/45 R 18 96 YDA71
    225/40 R 18 92 Y XLDA72
    225/40 R 18 92 Y XLDB72
    235/60 R 18 103 VCB71
    245/40 R 18 97 Y XLDA72
    245/45 R 18 96 WCA71
    245/45 R 18 96 WCA71
    235/60 R 18 103 VCB71
    245/45 R 18 96 WDA71
    245/40 R 18 93 YCA71
    245/45 R 18 100 W XLCB72
    255/35 R 18 94 Y XLDB73
    235/60 R 18 103 VCB71
    225/40 R 18 92 Y XLCB72
    245/45 R 18 96 WDA71
    235/60 R 18 103 WCA71
    235/60 R 18 103 HCA71
    225/40 R 18 92 W XLCB72
    20 inch
    255/45 R 20 101 WCA72
    255/45 R 20 101 WDA72
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Sport Contact 5 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Sport Contact 5

    2016-04-22 - What is difference between Continental SC-5 and SC-5 XL? I drive BMW F10 528i.

    The XL denotes eXtra Load. The Sport Contact 5 XL will be a higher load rating than the non-XL tyre and designed to carry extra loads at higher tyre pressures.


    2016-05-11 - With run-flats, not necessary for a spare. If intending to change to non run-flats, does that mean I would require 5 wheels/tyres? If so, no location for the spare wheel.

    When switching from runflat tyres (in the case of Continental the SSR range) to non runflats, it is a good idea to get a space saver wheel for your boot. An alternative option is a compressor and tyre "slime", but these only temporarily fix very small punctures so aren't applicable in every deflation scenario.


    2016-10-21 - Is it safe to mix Continental Sport Contact 5 M0 and Continental SportContact5 on the front wheels of my Mercedes C220 cdi? Are they compatible?

    While it is safe, it is not advised. Tyres should always be matching pairs across the axle, and there could be modifications to the structure or compound of the MO version of the Sport Contact 5.


    2016-10-20 - Is there a difference between Continental SportContact5 and Sport Contact 5 M0

    The MO version of the Sport Contact 5 has been specifically tweaked for Mercedes.


    2022-07-02 - Hello! I’ve just bought an audi q3 40 tfsi quattro stronic with black line trim (sport suspension) with 40.000km and 3 years. Front tyres are hankook ventus s1 evo3 XL AO (coming from factory-3 years old) and rear tyres are continental sport contact 5 XL AO (new). With this configuration, ride is top notch with good roads but if it is in worse condition, suspension is too harsh and road noise is too high. What change do you advice me to do in front tyres to have more confort and less noise? Maybe goodyear? Is true thar there is no problem with quattro traction in changing tyres of only one axle? Thanks in advance!!!

    You didn't mention what wheel size you have but the SportContact 5 is a reasonably comfortable UHP tyre so it's unlikely you'll see a huge improvement in comfort without changing wheel sizes.


    2022-12-22 - Is the sport contact 5 have good grip for the dessert sand?

    As a summer tyre it's unlikely the Sportcontact 5 will offer any meaningful grip on sand.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £97.62 - £143.99 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £90.62 - £126.02 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £134.53 - £182.33 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/40 R18 £150.14 - £159.72 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/45 R17 £126.72 - £133.63 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 73 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 61% while driving a Ford Focus ST3 2008 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    These tyres came fitted to my wife's car, so when she needed 2 fronts replaced on MOT I stuck with the same on the rear, imagine my surprise when less than 5000 miles later the fronts were on the legal limits AGAIN!, and now the rears were done too. My wife does not drive like a boy racer either so the tyres have not been thrashed. Performance wise I can not fault them but they are high end tyres which are not cheap and wear out faster than my bank balance can keep up unfortunately, would not buy again on wear only (sorry).
    Helpful 270 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2016
    Given 89% while driving a Saab Automobile 93 Aero TTid Sportwagon (180) (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 20 spirited miles
    Have used Conti Sp Contact 5's since I've had my Saab 10 years, I do mostly motorway miles, but I do drive both A and B roads. I'm a very enthusiastic driver who on occasions will go into a bend faster than you should, I'm still here because the car and tyre combination is great especially in the wet, on motorways I pity people who get too close as amount of water displaced by tyres is great, I change tyres about every 16 months, or 15 - 18000 miles. I feel very confident using these tyres, I have used other brands but these give me great confidence in any road/weather combination. I suppose tyre choice is like car choice, you either love or hate them.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2023
    Given 60% while driving a Audi Q5 (235/55 R19) on mostly town for 13,000 easy going miles
    Tyres came factory fitted on Audi Q5 2litre diesel 13000 easy going miles, mainly town with some motorway .I have been pleased with the handling in wet and dry conditions, comfort and road noise good. Wear has been terrible especially on the front. Replacing now with mitchellin latitude sport 3 and hoping these have better wear!!
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2022
    Have you driven on the Continental Sport Contact 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Sport Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Sport Contact 5 >

    Latest Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a MG ZT 135 CDTi (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 22,000 average miles
    I used these for 22k miles on the front of my car in all weathers. Grip is excellent in all conditions. They were noticeably quieter than the Michelin tyres they replaced too. The only fault I can find is that they wore out far short of what I would expect and see from other brands. The treadwear rating is very low.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2024
    Given 43% while driving a Kia Motors Optima (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
    These things will go empty your wallet like an addiction to flying a private jet.

    We had pirelli tyres, they lasted about 32000miles. These tyres which are premium allegedly have lasted 12 months and 11000 miles.

    They are not fitted to a drift car, but a kia diesel estate driven to work and back. Not used like a track car obviously.

    Also they handling is nowhere near comparable to the pirelli

    A genuine disgrace the length of time they have lasted.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 66% while driving a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.4 ZC33S (195/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,500 spirited miles
    Not the best tyres to start on a Suzuki Swift Sport. (Zc33s)

    Continental in this case really disappointed me with these tyres on this car.

    I used them mostly on town road, and sometimes on some mountain passes.

    The handling was really good in dry conditions and they were a lot comfortable.
    In wet conditions the tyres didn't handle very well, in specific on roundabouts and some turns, they tend to understeer on wet conditions.

    I also had a turn on track (Modena Circuit) and the tyres are ready to dump.

    Now I have Toyos Tr1 and they are much better (on 16 rims)

    Totally a NOT buy.
    Specially for the non-economic price.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2023
    Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz A210 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Gives confidence at speed and in the wet. Copes well with urban potholes. One of the best low profile tyres for this vehicle in this less common size. Deals well with higher power outputs - the grip only drops off once the tread depth reaches the wear markers. Wears very evenly.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2023
    Given 59% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (275/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Both rear tyres changed to Continental Sport Contact 5 in May 2021. Tread under 3mm by September 2022, only 12,000 miles. Premium brand that does not last. Never had a set of tyres wear so quickly.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2022
    Given 41% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (235/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Tyres arrived with the Car from the factory. lasted 2 years and 20000miles , and not in a great condition at all.. wear condition is very high , and the tyre became dry after a year and a half. almost all of them are dry (even thaw i park in the shade) and are not grippy at all.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2022
    Mercedes Benz C63 AMG (235/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Grip in dry is good. At 4mm onwards, wet grip deteriorates badly, it's dangerous, you would not go 100km/h, only 80km/h to be safe, even then, you'll prefer not to use them. Wears quickly compared to other tyres like Potenza RE002 & Re003, Pilot Sport 3 & 4, Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3. They are soft, and stone sticks to tyres, even in basement carpark where no tyres has ever picked up anything, this tyre will stick any stone to it, as a result, i get lots of stones being flicked up and causing lots of paint chips under rear bumper, side skirt, even rear arch from front tyres flicking stone down the side of the car. Soft but not as much grip as Pilot Sport 4 which aren't soft like this and last longer. These tyres are also not comfortable at all, at 4mm and below, it's downright harsh, you feel like you're in a racecar, running over cateyes, you think you run over a sharp stone that is 5x higher.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (255/50 R17) on mostly town for 2 spirited miles
    Average wet grip Performs well on dry roads Noise level below Average Handling good Brake distance on dry roads good Brake distance on wet roads Average
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2022
    Given 70% while driving a Opel Insignia B (235/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 15 average miles
    good tires but at 27,000 kilometres they will be done by 30,000. I don't believe these tires are particularly well suited to NZ roads, probably better on euro roads? with AWD you certainly get the grip and sure-footedness, but this does come at the price of tire wear. these are a summer tire, I might look for an all season tire next. just on here doing my research before I decide what I want instead of these
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2021
    Given 79% while driving a BMW BMW X1 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 21,700 spirited miles
    I fitted these tyres after a set of Yokohamas (great btw) to have a sporty tyre that was also runflat and long lasting. They are a bit noisy, but generally all RFT tyres are. Much more comfortable than the P7 Cinturato that came with the car. The tyres were very good even at the end of their life, they dropped performance on the last 1000km at the rear especially (they were done). I only experienced a slight issue when hitting water with only one of the tyre in a bend, the car unsettled and the traction control got confused for a second, but generally were very good on wet and acquaplaning so, maybe was a combination of tyre-car-surface-speed. I would recommend them for 4WD cars such as mine, very progressive even when you push them.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2021
    Given 51% while driving a Mercedes Benz A200 petrol (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
    This is my first car and didn't know that these tires could be that bad almost cost the lives of my family. I bought this new car from official seller in my city and didn't imagine the tire that came with the car could be in almost totally broken condition after around 4 years. I only drove around 12000 miles with very normal speed. A lot of parts on the tires have already missing and any human can easily tell using these tires were extremely dangerous. I read a lot of user reviews and pick PS4/F1A5 after I learn that I was in big risk with these tires and I didn't even know. The funny thing is this tire is not even cheap at all. I normally don't write review but I hope this review can save your life. I learn so much about tire after seeing these broken tires attach to my car and make sure I would not make this same mistake again. By the way the broken conditions of all 4 tires are pretty even so it was not because any other road factors.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2021
    Given 56% while driving a BMW 130i M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Annoying on-centre precision, too many steering corrections to keep it straight. This happened in my 130i and Megane rs175, I couldn't wait to change them just because of this. I fitted it in two cars because I couldn't believe how bad it was in the BMW and thought the car had a problem with the steering. And I wanted to like the tyre. But no, the Megane became crap with them too. Grip in the dry is and stability are quite good, but the balance is towards too much understeer and isn't fun to drive at all, especially on the BMW because you can't steer the car with the throttle. Not progressive enough in the wet, showing a decent grip limit, but too agressive breakaway and too long recovery time; I didn't trust this tyre in the wet, especially in the BMW. Wear is average if you drive gently. Comfort is borderline acceptable for me, as there's too many vibrations after the initial touch with impacts. This effectively reduces the peak force, but doesn't provide enough roundness or quality feel. I can't recommend this tyre as it doesn't suit my driving style nor my comfort preferences.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2021