Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 190 2.3 16 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (7) 84% 89% 87% 71% 87% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (84) 91% 88% 81% 85% 89% 83%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (66) 88% 83% 82% 80% 87% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (25) 86% 85% 80% 80% 86% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (21) 92% 89% 82% 83% 75% 74%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (26) 91% 83% 84% 81% 85% 88%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (65) 84% 79% 81% 81% 76% 75%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (246) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (89) 90% 86% 81% 82% 53% 77%
Dayton DW510 (5) 72% 78% 72% 76% 76% 64%
Landsail LS588 UHP (91) 80% 74% 69% 67% 75% 79%
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (44) 80% 68% 71% 75% 69% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport LM704 (27) 80% 58% 75% 75% 79% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Pirelli P Zero (159) 84% 68% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (140) 77% 68% 63% 61% 71% 71%
Bridgestone Turanza ER33 (22) 75% 59% 69% 61% 91% 57%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Falken FK453 (30) 77% 70% 63% 60% 60% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (60) 73% 59% 67% 66% 73% 49%
Pirelli P6000 (175) 66% 46% 55% 48% 67% 60%
Bridgestone Supercat (21) 63% 37% 48% 52% 70% 65%
Winrun R380 (4) 60% 53% 45% 48% 48% 55%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%
Sumitomo Tour Plus LSW (7) 55% 38% 38% 40% 33% 35%

Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV given 84% (255-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
I have used Vredestein Quatrac 5, Pirelli Scorpion Verde and Michelin Pilot Sport on my Mercedes GLC350D. The tyre sizes were 255 / 45 / R20 101W.

The Michelin PS4 tyres operate at +7°C to +40°C and are excellent in the summer wet and dry but not great (useless) in the winter snow & ice. The Michelin did perform better than the Vredestein Quatrac 5 or the Pirelli Scorpion Verde. I love this tyre.

With winter approaching, and tread wearing, I am now looking for a new set of tyres and am deliberating between the Pilot Sport 4 SUV and the Cross Climate 2. The Cross Climate 2 operates between -10°C to +30°C and will offer improved winter (snow) performance. The operating temperature should be ideal for the UK climate but I would like to better understand how much summer performance (braking, handling & stopping) I will sacrifice. Will I notice any significant difference in a 3.0litre, V6 Diesel SUV? It does not go on the track and is driven in Comfort Mode.

Both Michelin tyres get good write ups, hence my problem. Try something new (CC) or stick with the product PS4 that I know performs well 95% of the time.

1. Has there been a direct comparison between the Pilot Sport 4 and the Cross Climate 2?
2. Perhaps a comparison test would help many readers?
3. Does anyone have any direct experience?

Thank you
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-08 07:54:47
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 53% (225-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Expensive and lousy tyre, not comfortable at all. But last quite long.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-31 07:44:29
Writing about the Winrun R380 given 81% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-28 08:38:37
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I have these tyres fitted to my w204 2008 C230 in the 225/45R17 size, and they are very good. On the dry, as long as the temperature is still low, they will perform well, but if the temp goes over 20 C, they will start to become bad at braking. Same thing for the wet. In the Snow and Ice, they are extremely good, the fact that I could climb a fairly hard incline at -11 degrees C with snow and ice in a RWD says all you need to know about these tires. I also drove them during a blizzard where the snow was about 10-20cm high, it still went through them with ease.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-26 09:30:13
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 94% (-55-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
For the tire size 205/55/R15, choices are very limited in the United States. But it was going to be between this tire and the Vredestein Sprint Plus. So I bit the bullet and bought four of these new Yokohamas. What an amazing tire it has turned out to be. Cornering grip is nothing short of excellent and the shoulders are very rigid, keeping the sidewalls from deforming. The tires do generate more road noise than expected with the windows down, but the car is insulated enough that this is a non-issue if I keep the windows closed. Ride comfort is also great, better than even the 60-section all-seasons I have on my daily. And it's wearing well within the first thousand miles. In the few times I have driven in the rain, the tires maintained pretty much the same grip as in the dry. But the best part is the combination of all those attributes coming with a great price. I'm definitely ordering another set of Yokohama tires when the time comes to replace them.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-04 17:44:28
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 76% (255-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2 spirited miles
Average wet grip Performs well on dry roads Noise level below Average Handling good Brake distance on dry roads good Brake distance on wet roads Average
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-17 09:24:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Supercat given 97% (215-65-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
I purchased it first time.as in Pakistan its not available I import it from Dubai for my Mercedes W123 I found it the beat tire's ever,want more but hard to find in Pakistan, may be the company will think to open office in Pakistan I am sure they will get very positive response.as per my experience super cat tires are better then Mechelen tyre
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-11 03:55:06
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 93% (185-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
It's hard to quantify my opinions into numbers, so let me put it like this: I've owned 20 cars on many different tyres, and the Efficient Grip Performance 2s are, by some margin, the best touring tyres I've ever driven on. I have pushed them reasonably hard in the dry, and they showed no signs of even beginning to understeer, or oversteer in corners with the throttle down, which is important in an older rear wheel drive car like mine. Same performance in the wet. It is worth mentioning that my Mercedes 190 is over 30 years old, and while it is a good car to begin with, these tyres have transformed the driving and really brought it up to date. The handling is absolutely spot-on. The steering is responsive and it makes it a joy to throw the car through bends, and it really delivers the confidence if I need to manoeuvre around a dawdler. As for comfort, feedback from the road is good, but not super super informative, which is how it should be really. I want to know the bumps are there, but not feel every line of tarmac. If you want that, buy some Pilot Sports. The car rides over bumps very well, and doesn't crash or jolt at all, which is impressive, again given the age of the car. So many older luxury cars can be ruined by the wrong choice of tyre, but these fit the bill perfectly. At motorway speeds, you can hear them, but it's no worse than other tyres of this bracket (Primacy 4 etc). They also track excellently and stably at high speeds. For economy-wise, they offered a bit of an improvement in fuel economy over the previous, admittedly cheap tyres. One thing the EGP2 boasts about quite confidently is that it will last 20% longer than the next best tyre, and they almost certainly mean the Michelin Primacy 4, the other tyre I was considering, and which is well-known for being able to last 20,000+ miles. I've done 5000 miles, and the EGP2s don't even look like they've been used at all. It's possible they well last into Primacy 4 territory and beyond, I'll have to see. It was still a hard decision between the two tyres, but the one thing that clinched it for the Goodyears was the price. In my size on MyTyres, they were about £15 a corner cheaper than the Primacy 4 (£65 a tyre, if I remember right). To be honest, unless you were looking for a high performance or track tyre, I don't know why you'd fit anything else to your car.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-27 15:24:37
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 7500 average miles
7,500 miles and need to be replaced. I drive fairly conservatively-a GLC AMG 63. I will get different tires for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-12 14:43:06
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
A good tyre on dry roads, but on wet and icy roads they behave wonderfully on my car. The AS210 is a more winter oriented tyre, handling is a bit vague when it's very hot outside, but braking is strong in all circumstances. I bought them for an 190E I mostly drive around town and on short roadtrips, so I could not justify having two sets of tyres. That being said, they didn't let me down even when I tried a bit of spirited driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-03 05:30:15
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 71% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Tires were excellent during the first 10k kilometers.Then , it started to struggle while trying the discharge water out. After 20k kilometers, they completely ran out, and I started to feel vibrations above 180 km/h even after balanced wheels . I
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-27 12:44:13
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 43% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I have these 255/35/R18 for the rears and 234/40/R18 for the fronts. My car is not particularly powerful but after changing to these tires, I was surprised that the rear tires could squeal from stand start. I never could have done this previously, the car being an auto tranny and all. And now I have learnt how to drift, as any little throttle input on bends during some rain will cause my car to over steer. It's fun but bloody dangerous in real world applications. Let's not even begin on aquaplaning, I had to drive about 50km/h during a heavy downpour along a highway as the car was aquaplaning, not on puddles but large volumes of water on the road. I have never experienced this before. Maybe this is only applicable to fatter tires like mine. But I must say, comfort is good and the tires are wearing out evenly really well. And these things are really really cheap. A quarter of the price I had to pay for entry level UHP tires from known brands. But the reason I'm writing this is that I'm getting it changed tomorrow with 70% tread left. I can't take it anymore. Btw, I'm gonna get some Michelin PS4s. Enough of being a cheapo and risking my life on it.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-11 08:50:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre