Pirelli P Zero

This is the original iconic P Zero tyre by Pirelli.

Tyre review data from 157 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 2,196,474 miles driven, and 40 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 72%
Wear 58%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 52%

First On MarketNovember 2005
Wheel Size17 - 24"
Width205 - 355mm
Profile25 - 55
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)67 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The P Zero is ranked 61st of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Pirelli P Zero PZ4.

Tests Included

40

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

25th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test
8th of 20 tyres
  • Excellent wet and dry handling, precise steering with good feedback, short wet and dry braking.
  • Average mileage, high fuel use.
  • Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

2011 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Pirelli P Zero Update - Press Release
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    17 inch
    225/45R17 94 Y XLCA69
    18 inch
    245/40R18 97 Y XLCA69
    225/40R18 92 Y XLCA69
    245/45R18 100 Y XLBB70
    245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
    225/40R18 92 W XLCB72
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
    245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA69
    225/40R18 88 YDB71
    245/45R18 100 W XLAB71
    245/45R18 100 Y XLAA71
    245/40R18 97 Y XLCB72
    245/45R18 100 Y XLBB70
    245/40R18 93 YDA71
    255/35R18 90 YDB72
    225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
    245/45R18 100 W XLBA70
    225/40R18 92 Y XLDA68
    19 inch
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDA68
    235/35R19 91 Y XLCA71
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDB68
    235/35R19 91 Y XLBB69
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDB68
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDA68
    235/35R19 91 Y XLCB72
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDA71
    235/35R19 91 Y XLDB68
    235/35R19 91 Y XLCA70
    20 inch
    255/45R20 105 V XLAB71
    255/45R20 105 Y XLBB70
    255/45R20 105 Y XLCA73
    255/45R20 105 V XLBB72
    245/35R20 95 Y XLCA69
    245/35R20 95 W XLCA69
    245/35R20 95 W XLCA69
    245/35R20 95 W XLCA70
    245/35R20 95 Y XLCB72
    255/45R20 105 W XLAB71
    255/45R20 105 V XLAB71
    255/45R20 105 V XLAB69
    255/45R20 105 V XLAB71
    255/45R20 105 Y XLAA69
    255/45R20 105 W XLBA70
    255/45R20 105 V XLBB69
    255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
    255/45R20 105 Y XLAA69
    255/45R20 105 W XLAA71
    255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
    255/45R20 105 W XLBA72
    255/45R20 105 V XLAB71
    245/35R20 95 Y XLCA69
    245/35R20 95 Y XLCA68
    255/45R20 101 YCA70
    245/35R20 95 W XLCA69
    255/45R20 105 Y XLDA71
    245/35R20 95 Y XLCA67
    245/35R20 95 Y XLDB72
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Pirelli P Zero >>

    Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero

    2016-06-30 - Pirelli have just launched their new version of the PZero. When will they launch the new version of their Runflat PZero, with all the advantages, of the new standard tyre, mentioned in the press release? Thanks again, Ray.

    We are still currently waiting to hear back from Pirelli regarding the launch dates for the runflat version of the new PZ4 P Zero. Update: There already are a few run flat homologations currently in the range for BMW 7 Series, Mercedes E Class and MINI Clubman. More due soon but no dates as of yet.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £118.27 - £144.85 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/35 R19 £153.41 - £232.50 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/40 R18 £120.10 - £168.50 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £147.50 - £268.10 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 96 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Pirelli P Zero Reviews

    Hyundai i20N (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
    Front tyres only lasted 7500m before needing replacing, shocking
    Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2023
    Given 53% while driving a Volvo (255/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    I didn’t think I’d have any issues with this top brand tyre. Even swapping front to back at 15k and 6mm left on rears and 5mm on fronts, still thought I wouldn’t need to concern myself at wet road conditions.

    Straight braking, excellent. Saved myself from a side impact on a car pulling out on me at 27mph to zero in under 2 car lengths. The dash cam was very accurate in relaying that detail. I had a small scratch instead of a significant dent. Dry conditions.

    But any corner, steep curve in the wet it is a gamble whether these tyres will grip or not. Even when they were quite new the sideways grip was shocking.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2023
    Given 75% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/40 R19) on mostly town for 21,000 average miles
    All aspects of the tyres are comparable to ALL my experiences with this type of tyre ( specs ) through many years of different vehicles , from Mercedes , Porsche etc EXCEPT for the MILEAGE aspect. At some 18,500 kms I now need to replace ALL four tyres on my Mustang GT. This is around 50% expected usage - NOT ACCEPTABLE.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2023
    Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Pirelli P Zero >

    Latest Pirelli P Zero Reviews

    Given 50% while driving a Hyundai Kona N (235/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
    Unfortunately, the factory equipped tires on my 2022 Hyundai Kona N were Pirelli P-Zeros. All the Kona N's were equipped with these high-performance tires, a poor choice by Hyundai. These tires seem to be made with a very poor compound, as they mine were in this condition after the car sat a half year on the dealer's lot: Hyundai Canada won't warranty them, as they say it is a tire manufacturer issue, and the consumer needs to contact Pirelli directly, whom I have heard is very difficult to deal with. I ended up selling the car shortly after. It's disgraceful that Pirelli would put out a product like this.

    As far as ride is concerned, they do grip extremely well, but only in warm (+15C and above) temperatures. Anything close to freezing temperature or below, and they basically become like hockey pucks. Don't even THINK about driving on snow with these tires! In hot weather, they are sticky. They will pick up every bit of dirt and sand and fling it against the sides and underside of your car, so consistent use on gravel is not a good idea. Also, they are fairly loud and communicate a dull roar to the passenger cabin.

    In summary, I would not purchase these tires again, no way.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2024
    Given 57% while driving a BMW X1 2.0 Xdrive (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
    On my BMW X1 the front set lasted 17,000 miles compared with 24,000 miles for previous Michelins and 25,000 on original Bridgestones. Not impressive. Good grip and fairly quiet but not worth the money. Now trying Goodyear Efficient Grip
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 57% while driving a Audi A4 (225/35 R19) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
    Two new tyres on my A4 in February, 7000 miles ago and they're being replaced now in September because they're almost bald. Can't believe how bad these have lasted on mostly motorway mileage when the 2 original ventus from the factory are still going strong from 3 years ago. Never buying these again.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2023
    Given 49% while driving a Audi A5 2.0 tfsi remapped (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
    I bought these tyres as they are the standard ones that come with Audi A5's, but what a mistake. Off the line there is a lot of wheel spin even under light acceleration, meaning I have very little confidence in them. In the wet they are even worse, literally skidded around a roundabout recently when the road was slightly wet and when not accelerating. I can't wait to change them and get Michelin tyres installed instead. Overall very disappointed and suggest Audi change their supplier to Michelin / Bridgestone.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2023
    Given 53% while driving a Audi A4 Avant (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I bought these tyres to replace the ones that were already on the car when I bought it. I have to say I've not been impressed with them. They look good, but the wear has been very poor for the price. They have worn unevenly even though ive had the car tracked twice. They are also quite noisy, and as mentioned the grip when cold or damp, especially on my FWD car, is shocking. I would not buy these tyres again
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2023
    Given 53% while driving a (245/45 R18) on for 0 miles
    After 20K miles on a Kia K5 that my Daughter mostly drove these tires were done.
    I mean barely any tread left. I would NEVER buy these tires.
    Called customer service and they did not care so I will never buy a Perelli tire
    and I will suggest to all to look for other brands. Happy Shopping.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2023
    Given 50% while driving a Aston Martin db9 (295/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    I have had these on a few high performance cars when i bought them and i change them almost immediately. They are so noisy and give really poor ride quality. Rubbish grip when cold also. Terrible for the money.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2023
    Porsche Cayenne 3.6 (305/40 R20) on mostly motorways for 32,000 average miles
    Had a major event today after one of these P Zeros burst its steel cables on a motorway and the tread separated. We escaped unharmed off the motorway but I’m not impressed and I’m going to take it up with Pirelli.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2023
    Given 41% while driving a Hyundai i20N (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 8 easy going miles
    The tyres came with a brand new car I purchased 8 months ago, an Hyundai i20n. I'm sorry but they're diabolical. When coming out of my drive way or junctions if the road is even slightly damp, the don't grip at all and slip. After doing just over 7 thousand miles the front ones wore down to illegal levels. The rear wasn't as bad, but was getting near being illegal. At that amount of miles these tyres should never have worn down that much. I'm not the only one this has happened to. I don't drive like an idiot, I'm a careful lady driver with an advanced driving qualification. I have now changed them to Michelin PS5's which are a thousand times much better.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2023
    Given 66% while driving a Hyundai I30N (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
    These tires have been great on my Hyundai I30N they have great feedback, did well on the odd track day, stop really well and pretty comfortable on the road, however in the wet I found them not as good and they have wore very quickly due to soft side wall. If they did not wear so fast I would probably buy them again.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2023
    Given 23% while driving a Dodge Challenger (305/35 R20) on mostly town for 0 average miles
    I purchased 2 sets of these tires the 1st set managed to get about 16k miles and the 2nd set last about 4 months and 10k miles. I called perelli to see if they could help out with warranty and got told no. These tires is horrible and I will never buy another set of Pirellis ever!!!! If your looking for a good tire look elsewhere other than Pirelli
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2023
    Given 63% while driving a BMW 128TI (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 1,800 spirited miles
    My 128ti was fitted with Pirelli P ZEROS as the "performance tyre" option, and I have to say, I was really hoping for Michelin. These tyres don't inspire confidence in anything other than dry conditions. I know the 128 is front-wheel drive with 265bhp, but the front wheels spin so easily, both off the line and when already rolling. Turn into a roundabout hard and there'll be some front end slide... Would I recommend these? No. I'm saving my pennies for some Michelins!
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2022