Passenger Car Summer Max Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer max performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S * (3) 100% 87% 93% 97% 70% 83%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport 02 (5) 94% 98% 76% 82% 95% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (112) 94% 84% 90% 88% 84% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (13) 92% 83% 83% 81% 88% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (132) 93% 88% 86% 87% 82% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (102) 95% 92% 88% 88% 73% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (143) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Falken Azenis FK520 (20) 92% 87% 86% 88% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (234) 93% 90% 86% 88% 80% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Nokian zLine (83) 91% 90% 89% 87% 76% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Continental SportContact 7 (49) 97% 93% 91% 91% 71% 76%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (55) 92% 93% 82% 81% 82% 84%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (49) 95% 83% 91% 93% 69% 75%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (177) 89% 86% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza GIII (7) 96% 83% 87% 91% 74% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004 (17) 88% 79% 86% 88% 76% 76%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (89) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (33) 89% 83% 83% 78% 72% 88%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti Plus (4) 88% 83% 93% 88% 75% 68%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (311) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Nokian Hakka Black 2 (3) 90% 95% 90% 90% 70% 65%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (89) 91% 78% 83% 87% 71% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport (41) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 75%
Hankook Ventus S1 Evo Z K129 (3) 90% 83% 90% 80% 60% 77%
Nokian PowerProof (24) 87% 89% 80% 75% 67% 85%
Continental SportContact 2 SSR Run Flat (6) 90% 83% 83% 85% 70% 72%
Syron Street Race (5) 100% 80% 96% 90% 52% 56%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (18) 90% 79% 87% 87% 65% 63%
Bridgestone Potenza S007A (11) 83% 69% 84% 90% 75% 73%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (89) 84% 78% 78% 78% 75% 80%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (57) 89% 79% 85% 82% 63% 71%
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (88) 91% 87% 82% 83% 53% 77%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (42) 87% 86% 73% 71% 68% 77%
Dunlop Direzza DZ101 (8) 85% 68% 80% 79% 67% 76%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (44) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 72%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (80) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 72%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 ev (4) 85% 65% 83% 85% 73% 63%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (212) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S007 (6) 86% 76% 85% 70% 54% 54%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza S04 Pole Position (3) 90% 73% 73% 87% 40% 67%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (158) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (27) 83% 73% 72% 74% 71% 57%
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (53) 85% 73% 74% 76% 64% 64%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (41) 83% 69% 76% 74% 58% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (57) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Pirelli P Zero (157) 84% 69% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Bridgestone Potenza s03 (7) 86% 54% 70% 67% 71% 60%
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (29) 87% 75% 78% 75% 48% 56%
Pirelli P Zero Silver (3) 67% 67% 67% 57% 80% 77%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (162) 79% 69% 69% 67% 63% 64%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 (8) 75% 68% 70% 64% 66% 63%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Falken FK453 (30) 77% 70% 63% 60% 60% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza S02A (5) 75% 65% 70% 65% 63% 63%
Nokian Hakka Black (4) 80% 83% 58% 63% 70% 53%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (60) 73% 59% 67% 66% 73% 49%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF (10) 79% 69% 66% 59% 44% 65%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (35) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%

Passenger Car Summer Max Performance Tyres with no reviews

Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Pole Position, Bridgestone Potenza S01, Bridgestone Potenza S01R, Continental Sport Contact M3, Cooper Zeon RS3 S, Dunlop SP Sport Maxx 060+, Falken Azenis RS820, Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 N, Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 ZP, Michelin Pilot Sport S 5, Michelin Pilot Super Sport Zero Pressure, Nokian Hakka Black 3, Nokian Powerproof 1, Pirelli P Zero Direzionale, Pirelli P Zero Rosso Direzionale, Vredestein Ultrac Pro

Passenger Car Summer Max Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Bridgestone Potenza Sport rated 77% while driving a Toyota RAV4
Driving on mostly motorways for 13000 average miles
Good grip both in dry and wet conditions, pretty comfort, road noise is mild to a bit loud.
Will definitely re-buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-18 04:48:23
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 rated 88% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 5 GTI
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Got a set of pilot sport 5 for my tuned Mk 5 golf Gti after I watched the tyre review youtube video. Best tyre I've ever had on the car , came with Dunlop Sport max which where terrible in the wet .Got a set of Yokohama not sure the model of Tyre sorry but they where even worse .The pilot sport are fantastic in the dry car goes round corners like its on tracks only down side is , there is a bit of road noise not bad but a small price to pay i suppose . I've only done roughly 3000 miles so cant say what overall ware is like . But if you are looking for a Tyre that grips has good feedback and not much sidewall roll pilot sport 5 is definition worth consideration.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-18 03:24:42
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 rated 89% while driving a BMW 320D xDrive Gran Turismo
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Very good tyre, I'm very pleased with them. Exactly what I expected, very good mix between performance/price/comfort.
Are very quiet, after 80 km/h I hear only some noise from the wind. Road feedback is very good, are very good for 18" wheels, I know very well what's happening with stearing of the car on cornering even at higher speed, good sidewall enforcement as well.
I looked for competition but were much more expensive and didn't have the same properties especially for noise level.
I used tyres from competition, premium brands but I came many times back to GoodYear because they have the good mix for me.
Definitely I will buy them again. Very good job Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-13 00:43:46
Pirelli P Zero rated 50% while driving a Hyundai Kona N
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Unfortunately, the factory equipped tires on my 2022 Hyundai Kona N were Pirelli P-Zeros. All the Kona N's were equipped with these high-performance tires, a poor choice by Hyundai. These tires seem to be made with a very poor compound, as they mine were in this condition after the car sat a half year on the dealer's lot: Hyundai Canada won't warranty them, as they say it is a tire manufacturer issue, and the consumer needs to contact Pirelli directly, whom I have heard is very difficult to deal with. I ended up selling the car shortly after. It's disgraceful that Pirelli would put out a product like this.

As far as ride is concerned, they do grip extremely well, but only in warm (+15C and above) temperatures. Anything close to freezing temperature or below, and they basically become like hockey pucks. Don't even THINK about driving on snow with these tires! In hot weather, they are sticky. They will pick up every bit of dirt and sand and fling it against the sides and underside of your car, so consistent use on gravel is not a good idea. Also, they are fairly loud and communicate a dull roar to the passenger cabin.

In summary, I would not purchase these tires again, no way.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-12 08:33:24
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 rated 66% while driving a Ford fiesta st
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I've gone through 2 sets for ps4's on my mk8.5 fiesta ST so I've got a pretty good idea of how they feel. These are the OE tires that come with the car and are a good middle ground between performance/wear/comfort. The car is very often driven in a way that would land you in jail in most countries and has seen many mountain roads, highway and high speed cornering. If you want a good all round tire the ps4 will not let you down in any way(apart from them getting too hot quickly) but are in no way shape or form a tire that will extract the most out of your car(sport driving wise). If you have a sporty car which you use for cornering(such as mine) or enjoy pushing it in general just look elsewhere. The car is on Goodyear supersports now and is far superior in the sport characteristics but lacks in the wear department as expected. Lastly it is worth mentioning that both ps4 sets were pretty much done after 10k kilometers.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-11 08:31:43
Nokian Hakka Black 3 rated 77% while driving a Volvo Volvo C30 D4 R Design
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
I bought the Nokian Hakka Black 3s because of their supposed high grip in both wet and dry conditions, and because of the low noise rating on harsh tarmac. Nokian also lists this as their more sporty tire, which I do generally like my tires to have sporty attributes. When I got the tires my very first impression was that these are really not very sporty, with a soft sidewall and therefore slightly delayed turn in feel. They do however load up quite nicely, but I would have liked a more crisp turn in on a tire in this segment of the market. The other thing I noticed was the really good noise performance! Compared to my actual sports tires (Goodyear eagle f1 Supersport), these are a lot quieter, except when on the limit, as they get really screechy as they run out of grip, unlike my actual sports tires in the same size. The comfort is also a nice change of pace from my other set. The grip is really good, especially in the wet, but the tires don't feel like they want to go fast, in contrast to my sports tires. They genuinely feel more like my smaller winter tires than my same size sports tires, just with much more grip. If you expect a sporty tire, you will be disappointed, but as long as you know what you're getting, they're actually quite good. I would best describe the Nokian Hakka Black 3 as a high grip touring tire. I would personally recommend this tire to all my non car enthusiast friends, because of the good wet grip, comfort and noise level, but with the current pricing, I would at the same time be hesitant to recommend it, because you could get something like the goodyear eagle f1 asymmetric 6 for a lower price on the same size. And they are supposedly a more rounded tire, with slightly less emphasis on noise and comfort, but then again better feel and handling which I personally like. I would not have these as my only summer tires, but with the f1 Supersports as my summer tire, I use these as the daily in spring and autumn for Scandinavian rainy conditions, and they probably also help me keep my license, because they don't feel like they want to go fast literally all the time. This is in contrast to my Supersports where I literally have to use cruise control 95% of the time when driving to keep myself from pinning the throttle through every corner I go round, because the tires are so mind bendingly responsive.

I have not used them enough to comment on wear.

The tires are mounted on a 18x7.5 rim.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-10 11:54:02
Dunlop SportMaxx RT rated 84% while driving a MINI Cooper
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I had these tyres on the Mini for some time and they have been very confident and competent. Given that they are a ten year old design and the tyre is still so competent, I wonder if Dunlop has improved them quietly over the years as they are very widely available at BMW/Mini dealerships still. So after hitting the biggest pot hole in the world and broke the springs and many things, the dealer had to replace my front tyres as well. They recommended the starred (bmw fitment) Dunlop Sport Maxx RT again and even though I could have got the supreme Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for a much cheaper price outside a dealership, I agreed with the dealer and chose the Dunlop again. That is how highly I rate these tyres after years of driving with them and the Dunlops are phenominal at dealing with aquaplaning!
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-09 16:00:21
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 rated 44% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176
Driving on mostly motorways for 4500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-08 03:36:24
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 rated 91% while driving a BMW 330D Touring
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
Extremely happy with these tires. Fronts are 225/40/18 rears are 255/35/18. 330d xDrive.
I bought and fitted them a bit earlier than I usually do (mid March). As luck had it we had a few rainy and very cold days with damp and almost 0C temperatures in the mornings, when going to work. Whilst they of course required careful driving I was surprised by the amount of grip and confidence I had in those conditions.
Now that temperatures are higher and it's mostly dry I can say I am even more impressed. Grip is outstanding, they are noticeably quieter than my previous tires (Hankook evo 3s) and the ride is quite comfortable. I can't comment on wear as I've done about 1200 miles so far.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-06 13:58:39
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 rated 79% while driving a Ford Focus ST250
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 spirited miles
Fitted my first full set 10/22 on a Focus ST3 running 280bhp on a stage 1 map).
Great type but they lasted 7500miles (my commute is 5miles each way) plus general driving. Great tyre but god they wear fast, even the backs only lasted 12months, not usual 24months.
Fitted second full set 10/23 to same car... I've now done 4500miles and they have 4.4mm left all round. Needless.to.say they won't last till 10/24...
The Old PS4S lasted much better wear wise.
I'm struggling to find a reason to try a third full set...
May have to revert back to Eagle F1s.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-06 06:33:59
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 rated 96% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I had already owned a first set of tires GY asym6 and I loved them very much, even if they disappointed me just a little bit for their not very lasting life (about 29.000 spirited kms).
However, as I usually like to try something new, when I had to buy a new set of summer tires I've had some hesitations. After some days passed mainly on tyrereviews.com to check all the best alternatives that matched my needs, there were just three options at the end: GY asym6 (again) , Michelin PS5 and Conti SC7.
As far as I could understand from all the reviews, the PS5 can be considered better only for the wear, but at the same time they are the less fun and sporty tires of the group, so it was quite natural for me discard them. Conti SC7 are maybe on the opposite side: they have exceptional handling and road feedback qualities but maybe they are more UUHP tires than UHP tires and that's not what I needed because I imagined that this would mean higher wear than the asym6, that in turn was not unforgettable (P.S. it would be very interesting a tyre test made by tyrereviews, including the wear test, comparing asym6 - PS5 - SC7 in the 225/40 R18 syze). For all of these reasons, I buyed again the asym6 that seemed to be halfway the PS5 and the SC7. Now, after months passed driving with my winter set, the new set of asym6 has been fitted on my (wonderful) car and it was enough to start pushing again that... I remembered why I loved them so much! The feeling they give when cornering at high speed is simply amazing and they are super fun!
Yes, I've bought them again and I don't regret it!
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-04 11:57:58
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P rated 81% while driving a Audi A4 b9 2.0 tdi
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
Milage was mainly on motorways, but time spent driving was predominantly on country roads of varying roughness. Dry braking was excellent, even under heavy braking ABS bite point was predictable and consistent. Wet grip was good initially, however, as the tyre got below the Continental raindrop marker performance decreased significantly. To be fair to Conti, this is still stipulated on their website. Feedback was decent near breakaway there is a huge window of transient grip which would suit people unfamiliar with pushing tyres. I wouldn't recommend for track at all. I can't fault the wear, pressure was checked weekly, and wear was seen to be even across the main body of the tread. Comfort was decent on motorway and not particularly noisy. The sidewall seems to be a bit stiffer than others in the class I have tried, fine for when pushing a bit, but some bumps felt harsher than expected. I would buy again if in a pinch, they're not a bad tyre, but I think money could be better spent elsewhere.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-04 09:50:52
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre