Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SportMaxx RT.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 81%
Wear 76%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 71%

Tyre review data from 74 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 559,454 miles driven.

The SportMaxx RT 2 is ranked 27th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 225/50 R17 - 6th of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Especially good on dry roads.
  • Negative - Slightly increased wear, slight weakness in the wet.
  • Overall - The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is another dry specialist, with precise handling and good levels of grip. The Sport Maxx RT2 is less balanced in the wet, it has good aquaplaning resistance but the grip and handling is only average. Low internal noise and low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling in all conditions (light understeer appears in high-speed corners on wet surfaces, but overall the tires provide a fairly high level of grip), good level of comfort, high resistance to aquaplaning.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.92kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70 7.69kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.13kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 68 8.13kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.86kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 69 9.86kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67 8.70kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL * C A 71 9.00kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.41kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 69 9.41kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.85kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 67 8.65kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   C A 66 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
215/55 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL *MO B B 69 10.06kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.80kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.98kgs
235/60 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 68 8.66kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.28kgs
275/35 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 10.75kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 67 10.00kgs
215/40 R18 89W XL   C A 70 8.87kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 68 9.50kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.65kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 70 9.60kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 69 10.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.12kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.36kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 69 11.80kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.98kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 15.20kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
205/45 R18 90Y XL   C A 67 8.50kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 67 9.61kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 9.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL         10.49kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.20kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.48kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 68 10.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69 10.50kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   B A 70 10.40kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 68 13.71kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 10.22kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.40kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 68 9.28kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 68 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 67 9.98kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.59kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.87kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO C A 70 13.50kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.23kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69 10.77kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.30kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.31kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.05kgs
225/45 R19 92W XL *RSC C A 68 11.90kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 11.18kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69 10.44kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 70 11.50kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 10.80kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.06kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL MO C B 71 14.70kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL MO C A 70 17.00kgs
265/45 R21 104W XL   C A 69 12.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

2016-12-01 - Dunlop sportmaxx rt2 or coopers zeon cs sport. both A rating for wet. Which one would be better? i have an Insignia.

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 has shown to be better than the Cooper in the 2016 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test.


2016-11-02 - I'm considering buying a set of these tyres but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyres look good too. So my main question is, If both sets of these tyres were the same price (Dunlop Vs Goodyear), which set would you go for? I currently drive a FWD Hyundai Coupe 1.6 ( A car which I find very heavy ) on Irish roads and need to upgrade my tyres immediately. At present, the tyres on my car are Landsail items, and are utter rubbish. Between horrible handling, a hard ride and high noise levels, I have to contend with the fact that 4 separate tyre dealers in my area couldn't balance my wheels correctly, so I have to swap them asap for a quality set-up.

That depends on your requirements from the tyre. The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is intended as a performance tyre, whereas the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a touring tyre. As such, the Dunlop will have a more sporty feel, and the Goodyear will offer more comfort. Both are excellent tyres and will offer significant improvements over your current landsail tyres.


2017-08-14 - The Dunlop Sport Max RT 91W factory fitted front tyres on my Octavia estate(64 plate) are coming up to their limit after 25500 miles.( the back ones have lots of tread left) I am not a performance driver, preferring comfort and good mpg( 58 mpg over this mileage). What do I go for to replace them?

Depending on size, the Continental Premium Contact 6 looks to be an excellent blend of comfort and performance.


2017-12-19 - Hi, I have a 2016 Subaru WRX STI with the recommended 245/40 R18 Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 tyres. Unfortunately, I find the ride excessively hard (I know this is a characteristic of the car). Is there a tyre of the same size that would help the ride comfort and smooth things out, without too greatly compromising the vehicle? Softer sidewalls? I see above you recommend Continental Premium Contact 6 as an excellent blend of comfort & performance, and I believe the Goodyear F1 AsymmetricaI 3 is also very good. I only drive at normal road speeds, and own the vehicle for it's AWD ability to operate in all conditions (dry, rain, mud, frost, sunny etc.) - I am not interested in maximum attack style track days!. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

For all its sporty credentials, the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is actually a comfortable UUHP tyre. The Continental Premiumcontact 6 would be a good option, also the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance will be more comfortable than the Asymmetric 3 and RT 2.


2018-04-17 - Do these tyres have good alloy wheel protection ?

In certain sizes the SportMaxx RT2 has a raised flange to protect the wheel, you would need to check with your tyre dealer to see if your size does.


2018-05-27 - Is there any significant difference between SportMaxx RT2 & Goodyear Asym. 3 in terms of feedback and comfort considering the fact Dunlop's parent company is Goodyear?

Not a huge amount! In theory the RT2 is slightly more sport focused than the Asymmetric 3, but I've not had chance to do the test back to back so can't confirm this. Both are excellent tyres.


2018-07-25 - Are these going to be available in 16" or shall I go with the maxx RT? I'm currently using Barum Bravuris 3HM, is the maxx rt's overall performance better than the Barums? Is it worth to replace the Barums with maxx rt or rt 2 if it's going to be available in 16"?

It is very unlikely Dunlop would develop this in a 16 inch as their focus is very much on 17 inch plus. The only chance of it being developed in 16 inch is if Dunlop had an OE fitment request, which is again very unlikely.


2019-04-12 - Hi, I need to fit my old 2000 corvette cab with staggered size 245/45YR17 and 275/40YR18. The Dunlop RT2 and the Hankook S1, V12 are the one that I could find in both size, given that I am only looking at major brands. I am focusing on touring if any. The Dunlop attracts me due to lower noise and good braking in the wet, which in sweden is a interesting point. The Hankook is similar in test result, except for the noise and recommended. What is your take on this? Should I mix brand and model front and rear? Should I stay with same model? Dunlop or Hankook? Thank you very much.

I would avoid mixing front and rear where possible. I'd probably go for the Dunlops over the Hankooks if it's an earlier version of the S1. In turn, the S1 Evo 3 would probably be the smarter purchase as it's a newer tyre than the RT2.


2020-05-22 - I have a mercedes clk 350 convertable with 225 40 18 on the front and 255 35 18 on the rear. I am looking for maximum comfort and low noise as I use it as a tourer rather than a sports car. I have Pirelli P zero which are starting to crack between the treads so its time for a replacement. I was thinking of Dunlops RT2 going off peoples reviews. What are your thoughts. would you recomend another tyre over the dunlops.

The Falken FK510 has higher levels of comfort than the RT2


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SportMaxx RT 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £77.59 - £91.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.59 - £180.20 (44 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £95.99 - £108.14 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £122.19 - £140.02 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 76 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
262 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2016   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
After 15 000 km. it is time to share my opinion again. The wear is absolutely fabulous in comparisson with the previous gen. RT. In all other areas Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 scores perfect 10 too.
91 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2016   
Given 39% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
These have moderate performance, but are blighted by two significant problems:
1. They are not round, so vibrate. This can be measured and confirmed on a road force balancer. I have bought 6 so far and still have a vibrating car. Dunlop customer services useless. The car is fine with a different set of tyres fitted, that are round.
2. They are a bit bouncy. It's an odd feeling, but not the end of the world.

In short, if you have a car that is sensitive to out of round tyres like a BMW, avoid these like the plague. I think I will probably have to end up putting them all in the bin (about a grands worth) and buying a different brand.
43 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 >

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 21,000 spirited miles
I drive my EVO X about 23000km / year / for 7 years - mainly on civilian roads. When buying, Michelin Super Sport was assumed, but they did not give me a sense of confidence on the arches and quickly clashed - after 1 season. Next came The Goodyear eagle f1 asymmetric 3 or 4 (I don't remember) and these drove a little better, but they clashed after about 1.5 seasons. Looking further for the right footwear I bought Dunlop SportMaxx RT. It was a shot in the 10. On the rest, I could enjoy the ride I like. While driving on a curve, I felt perfectly the moment of tire slip. Regardless of whether on dry or wet surfaces, the car listened and did what I expected. Tires durable 2.5 seasons. I currently have a Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. They seem a bit softer than their predecessors, which further boosted the feeling of stability when driving >200km / h and look insane! They are already finishing season 2 and will go half more. I fell in love with these tires. Recommend
0 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2021   
Given 63% while driving a Audi a3 8v sportback 2.0tdi quattro 150cv (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 32,000 spirited miles
the tire when it is new in the first 5000 km has a good grip on dry, you can feel what you are doing if you heat it up a little has a nice lateral grip but this lasts little because it overheats immediately after. Good braking in dry conditions. on the wet from new has decent performance and resists well to water planing, braking is inexistent on scandalous and non-existent wet the second year after removing the winter tires. exceptional comfort excellent resistance to holes. For the duration after the first year it becomes hard and no longer wears out, then also checking the convergence every six months the outer shoulder due to the driving style is finished before the central part that could also do another 15000 km
0 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 (255/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Tried the goodyear asymmetric 5 for a month. Swap tu the horrible but expensive ps4s for a week n finally to this excellent RT2. I was blown away. Sudden quieter tyres. So much more smoother to drive than the PS4s n Asymmetric 5. More direct steering too. So glad i tried this. Better to drive than the asymmetric 5. Waaaaaaay better to drive than the crappy ps4s. Best decision ever.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Would buy again because of the price, but handling isn't very good. I got these for my Clio 182 and the car response became too darty and lacked linearity in the way lateral forces were built-up, making you feel there's not enough lateral support. Precision wasn't really good, as in assessing the required steering angle for some corners. Grip in the dry is good, a little lower than expected in the wet but progressive enough and predictable at the limit. Wear in this light car is good. Comfort is good, impacts feel rounded and rolling noise is low (205/45R16). I got the same tyre for the Megane rs175 (225/40R18) in the A0 spec from Audi, as I had driven an A3 on those tyres in circuit and found it superb in terms of driving pleasure. Balance is playful and with low understeer, but lower understeer in this type of car would be better. Grip when new in wet or dry was good and predictable when approaching the limit. In the Megane this tyre lasted many spirited miles (8k+) but now towards the end of their life they got cracks on the outer edge of the pattern and the grip in the dry is just not enough, especially traction/braking. Comfort is terrible since the beginning, with too high impact forces and too high noise (low frequency noise), especially rolling noise. Roundness is fair and the shake is well controlled, absorbing impacts with enough quality feel.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2021   
Mercedes Benz (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
These tyres come with my car when I bought it. I am quite shocked with the wear rate of the tyres because my michelin Pilot super sports tyres in another car could last for about 4 years while Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 couldn't even last longer than 2 years. The outer part of the front tyres lost a lot of thread within 2 years. Maybe my driving style is slightly aggressive (not crazily fast) and the car front is heavy. But still that's unacceptable
1 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2021   
Given 59% while driving a Jaguar XKR 5.0 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
I bought and fitted these tyres to a 2013 Jaguar XKR Coupe in November 2019. Now 10,000 miles and 15 months later all tyres are showing hair line cracks running along the valleys between the treads. I admit car because of COVID not used so much in last 12 months. But at £800 cost I feel these tyres should be able to cope with diverse use and mileages. As I write I am not aware whether this is an MOT failure or not. Performance of tyre In wet and dry conditions generally good and with out issues. I only discovered these cracking problems yesterday and have not yet taken it up with Dunlop but will be. There was nothing I could do to prevent this and through the ownership period I have maintained the the recommended pressures. VERY POOR DUNLOP!!! Roger
0 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2021   
Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Having had two sets of the previous generation Dunlop SP Sportmaxx RT on my Mondeo before, I had no hesitation going for the next generation RT2 when they came for replacement. As with the previous generation I was impressed with this tyre but the biggest upgrade from the previous generation I found the wear rate to be much better. I tend to carry speed through bends where I can and these were certainly communicative and grippy both dry and wet. High speed motorway running in heavy standing water wasn't a problem for these and I was able to carry on when other cars were slowing down or spinning off. Snow grip isn't anything to write home about but then this is a performance summer tyre not a winter one. The tyres weren't unduly noisy or harsher than any other tyres I'd had on the car. They were pretty low profile and with the -20mm lower sports suspension pack on the car they weren't overly thrashy around potholes. Fuel consumption was pretty good too.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2021   
Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (225/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
On a A-class 220 with 560NM torque this tyre is a problem in wet conditions and simply unreliable. Maybe the problem lies in the AMG sportline shocks. For the rest it's good value for money.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Have had the Sportmaxx RT2 fitted to my ‘06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro since early 2018. During nov- march I’ve got winter tyres fitted. The tyres have done 45.000 km / 28.000 mi and are down to 2 to 2.5 mm. Previously I’ve had Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 and Pirelli’s fitted. Wear and comfortwise the Sportmaxx RT2 are the best of all tyres I’ve had on the car. The Falken’s had slightly better grip on warm dry days but where down in all other conditions and only lasted 30.000 km / 18.750 mi. The Hankook’s were slightly better on wear compared to the Falken’s but wore unevenly and gave the car an unresponsive feel. The Pirelli’s had the least grip, the least comfort. Can’t comment on wear, they started showing cracks in the sidewall after 2 years. Switched to the Sportmaxx RT2 after the Pirelli’s and a new set will def. be fitted after winter. Tyres give excellent grip in dry and wet weather. The tyres give the car a comfortable ride and responsive steering feel. Plus the noise they produce, our should I say lack off, is less compared to the Falken’s and Pirelli’s. If I had to name a slight downside it would be cold (
10 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
This is a very soft tyre. The sidewalls are very soft so for turning fast isnt so good. Very comfortable and very quiet!
6 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2020   
Volkswagen (225/45 R17) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
Replaced totally worn Michelin Primacy Oem fitted wich where decent but not sporty. I find this tyre is close to being Dangerous!.. Very little steering response. Worst of all is the initial turning. It turns and then without increasing speed or turning the wheel more it suddenly looses grip...squicking.. I had the correct pressures(38-40) ..played up and down a bit nothing changed.. I think the sidewall is way way too soft. The problem is much worse in high speed corners (over 120-130kms) where it suddenly looses grip without ANY warning and its really frightening i ve done just 2000 kms and the Sport max on the sidewall is almost worn out.. The totally destroyed (no thread at all left in them ) Michelin where handling A LOT better and they are not considered to be a "grippy" tyre
4 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020   
Given 39% while driving a BMW 320D (255/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Big noise after 9.000 km,because of,uneven grinding of the tires.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2020