Mazda 3 2.2D 150 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda 3 2.2D 150.

Do you Drive a Mazda 3 2.2D 150? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 3 2.2D 150 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon CS8 (15) 87% 81% 81% 77% 82% 83%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (117) 89% 84% 83% 85% 74% 78%
Michelin CrossClimate (143) 88% 85% 82% 80% 84% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (80) 87% 81% 78% 79% 74% 77%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (90) 84% 78% 78% 77% 76% 80%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (46) 87% 86% 72% 72% 69% 78%
Habilead SportMax S2000 (13) 84% 76% 77% 75% 70% 77%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (82) 79% 86% 76% 72% 62% 75%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (53) 85% 73% 74% 76% 64% 64%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%

Mazda 3 2.2D 150 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 59% (215-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16000 spirited miles
I have used these for 20.000 km on a Mazda 3. engine is a remapped 2.2 turbo diesel with 210 HP and 480nM. it's not slow but spinning in 3th gear in wet roads is excessive. even my winter tires (Dunlop wintersport 5) put down more grip . dry grip is fine, steering is very wobbly, the sidewalls are too soft so it dances around in fast corners. not a fan, will change to Michelin pilot sport 5.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-05 13:12:12
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 94% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
I bought the car with a brand new set of Chinese-brand tyres the previous owner had just fitted to sell. I hated them. The car slid pulling away from the lights when there was even just a shine of moisture on the road (accelerating with everyone else driving during a commute). Sounds worse than it was, as I only noticed that the car had more power, presumably as the traction control was no-longer limiting the engine power once I changed to these Dunlops. But that, at some 15-20k+ miles later, I was so glad when I finally got rid of them. (The car chewed through the inner edges, as the REAR wheel tracking was out* - I suspect was the reason for it having the new tyres when I bought it).

The Dunlops are SO much quieter than what I had on before - I actually took to wear ear-plugs for long journeys as there was so much road-noise from the Chinese tyres. Also the Dunlops gripped the road so well that I actually thought the car was now 'twitchy' - as in if I moved the steering wheel at motorway speeds the car immediately changed direction. I had the tracking re-checked after my first journey, as it has been adjusted, and I just wasn't used to that (tracking was still spot-on).

On the whole I really liked these tyres, especially the Rim Protection feature - as few tyres are currently have that. I live in a Victorian terrace, no drive, so have to parallel park every day. Once or twice a year, usually in the dark and rain, I am glad for the extra rubber to keep the kerb off the alloys. Also I am changing them as I just had a blow-out due to a nail causing the a rear tyre to slowly deflate. I strongly think the extra load capacity (XL) and rubber of the rim protection (RP) saved me from scrapping the rim. My passenger and I didn't notice anything until I started to slow down to turn off the motorway, only then the tyre started to make a strange noise. I think I must have driven for many miles with the shredded tyre - it has several large holes in the sidewall, so zero air. I would certainly not recommend doing that again, a narrow escape, they are not 'Run Flats' (and nor would I buy these; and no, I was not wearing ear plugs at the time).

I would say these tyres are very good indeed. Well well worth the extra money - especially compared to 'budget' tyres. I remember the Chinese 'Eco' somethings cost about £65each to get like-for-like in 2018. But I hated them, besides I recon my fuel economy went UP because of the extra grip; but for me the main selling point is the grip in the wet (never every felt like they were slipping - even now with the tread approaching the limit), and certainly the low noise. I got 35000 miles from my last set of Dunlops. Very happy with them, so despite looking into alternatives I have just bought exactly the same again.

*Final point is that 4-wheel tracking (£96) is sometimes worth the extra money vs the usual (much cheaper) 2-wheel one. At the MOT it was noticed both front Dunlops wearing in the same way as the Chinese tyres (inside edges). I had 2-wheel tracking done when the Dunlops were fitted, but when the uneven wear continued (actually faster) I had the 4-wheel tracking done - expensive but cost less than one new Dunlop, so... Since I had the car properly set up, the wear became even across the whole tyre. So I have just ordered 4-wheel tracking with the new set of four tyres I have just bought, as a precaution - I figure it is OK once every 35k+ miles, especially as I know how quick they will wear, if it is out. Like I say, I am very happy with these tyres. Others may have a slightly better dB rating (Michelin Primacy has 69 vs 71dB), but I know these are quiet enough, and have definitely served me (very) well.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-30 09:43:32
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 43% (205-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres since they are winning test across Europe. I'm mainly comparing to Nokian winter tyres, which I've had on one Ford Fiesta, and two Hyundai Getz's. The Blizzak is fine in dry and wet conditions, but fails in snow, icy or general cold conditions. It can hardly stop or steer in a thin layer of snow, without ice underneath. However, if you are going side ways, it is excellent in slowing down the car, and helping you to crash head on, by straighten up your car. The front tires are already down to 4-5 milimeters, and some of the lamellas are not cut all the way to this depth. I drive apprx. 20k km/year, and switches between summer and winter tyres, and I don't think the Blizzak will have a third season on the front tires. A bit disappointing considering it is a some what expensive tyre. Maybe I'll try another "premium" tyre, or revert to Nokian.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-17 03:43:49
Writing about the Habilead SportMax S2000 given 51% (215-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
Car unstable when cornering
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-07 04:51:23
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 60% (-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 spirited miles
I only drive 3000Km. Somehow I expected more but the grip is pretty average. At the very beginning, the tires were awful. They had no grip at all. Now over the time they have gained more grip.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-09 09:36:16
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 73% (215-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these to my Mazda3 Sport Nav. I’ve always been a fan of Hankook tyres but have had various on different cars, Michelin to Budget.

First thing you notice with these tyres is just how much they improve the ride. The car had stock Dunlop Sport Maxx TT tyres and whilst these gave a sharper steering feel you felt every little ripple in the road. The Hankooks certainly smoothed things out, with only a small trade off in steering feel. Next is the grip. In both wet and dry I’ve been known to do some pretty stupid things, but I’ve yet to trigger the ABS or lose grip with these tyres. They grip and go. Aqua planing isn’t any more of an issue than any other wider tyre.

Downside to this tyre is wear - front tyres down to 2mm after just 19k but expected with a 2.2d fwd car. Even then no noticeable loss in grip. Regarding noise it seemed quieter when I first put the tyres on, however these Mazda3’s aren’t the quietest and there is a lot of road noise coming through. Unsure if this is the tyre itself or the actual car, but on a previous vehicle (Seat Ibiza) I noticed a similar intermittent droning noise when switching from the Ventus V12 Evo to the Ventus V12 Evo2. Will be trying the Michelin PS4 now that it’s available in this size, as had on an A3 S Line Saloon, found I got around 30k on the front tyres and they’re only £10 per tyre more.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-16 17:45:56
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 90% (205-65-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
This is my first impression as I drove only around 3000 miles on those tyres here in Ireland. My mazda 3 has a firm suspension and those tyres soften the ride quite a bit. At beginning it felt strange, you may feel it is too soft, but after a while I just love it. It calms you down and the car feels more like a cruiser, they are also a bit quieter, especially on motorways, very happy with it. Also, as I was changing them just before 'the Best from the East' winter, had a chance to see if they are as good on snow as advertised. I have many years of experience with dedicated winter michelin tyres back in Poland, I can honestly say those crossclimates don't disappoint at all. Had no problems starting and breaking on snow and slush. The conclusion is that perhaps those are the best tyres for the current climate here in Ireland (and UK), they give the best of both summer and winter tyres without the need of changing them every 6 months.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-31 06:28:59
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 84% (215-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyres for the price. Little bit noisy at higher speeds but saved £150 against Pirelli. Have really good grip in all weathers for a budget tyre and are a bit better than the dunlops they replaced. Would reccomend.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-10 12:13:37
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 63% (215-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
Mazda 3 sport 2.2 fastback(64 Reg) Had this car almost 2years now I'd have to say if it wasn't for the noise that comes from the tyre I'd buy these again but theyre so loud I have to turn music up loud just to drown out the road noise as I do mway & Dual carriage ways
..shame coz the grip & tread work really well it's just way too loud to buy again..so I'll be going elsewhere when they need replacing .
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-28 17:39:20
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS8 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
These are a new model for 2016 and as there are no reviews yet, I thought I will write something short...

In 2 words - buy with confidence - the tires are great and I would say they definitively match their EU label.

I only had them for around 2k km but already had the opportunity to test them in heavy rain on the freeway, on wet road and on of course on dry. They have been great in all conditions so far, offering perfect grip and great braking, especially impressive on wet. They are comfortable and quiet. They are replacing a set of Toyo Proxies CF2, and even though Toyos were no doubt good too, I feel these better on breaking, especially on wet. So far I am liking them, so if in doubt, take the chance - I think you will not regret, especially for the price.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-13 16:01:33
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 61% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Had rainsport 2s on my focus and now my Mazda 3. Generally satisfied so fitted the RS3 to the rears. Have become very noisy (drone) over the last 2-4 months; having today put my winter tyres on I can see why!

Both inside rears have worn down whilst the next solid tread band appears to have worn less that the remaining outer tread! Recent 4 wheel laser checking confirms tracking spot on, Driving gentle & mainly motorway.

Grip etc fine but won't buy again due to wear and therefore noise. Pleasure to be on my winter michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-10 12:46:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre