Mazda 3 2.2D 150 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda 3 2.2D 150.

Do you Drive a Mazda 3 2.2D 150? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 3 2.2D 150 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon CS8 (12) 88% 84% 85% 78% 86% 88%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (18) 88% 87% 80% 78% 68% 78%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (50) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%

Mazda 3 2.2D 150 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 73% (215-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these to my Mazda3 Sport Nav. I’ve always been a fan of Hankook tyres but have had various on different cars, Michelin to Budget.

First thing you notice with these tyres is just how much they improve the ride. The car had stock Dunlop Sport Maxx TT tyres and whilst these gave a sharper steering feel you felt every little ripple in the road. The Hankooks certainly smoothed things out, with only a small trade off in steering feel. Next is the grip. In both wet and dry I’ve been known to do some pretty stupid things, but I’ve yet to trigger the ABS or lose grip with these tyres. They grip and go. Aqua planing isn’t any more of an issue than any other wider tyre.

Downside to this tyre is wear - front tyres down to 2mm after just 19k but expected with a 2.2d fwd car. Even then no noticeable loss in grip. Regarding noise it seemed quieter when I first put the tyres on, however these Mazda3’s aren’t the quietest and there is a lot of road noise coming through. Unsure if this is the tyre itself or the actual car, but on a previous vehicle (Seat Ibiza) I noticed a similar intermittent droning noise when switching from the Ventus V12 Evo to the Ventus V12 Evo2. Will be trying the Michelin PS4 now that it’s available in this size, as had on an A3 S Line Saloon, found I got around 30k on the front tyres and they’re only £10 per tyre more.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-16 23:45:56
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 90% (205-65-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
This is my first impression as I drove only around 3000 miles on those tyres here in Ireland. My mazda 3 has a firm suspension and those tyres soften the ride quite a bit. At beginning it felt strange, you may feel it is too soft, but after a while I just love it. It calms you down and the car feels more like a cruiser, they are also a bit quieter, especially on motorways, very happy with it. Also, as I was changing them just before 'the Best from the East' winter, had a chance to see if they are as good on snow as advertised. I have many years of experience with dedicated winter michelin tyres back in Poland, I can honestly say those crossclimates don't disappoint at all. Had no problems starting and breaking on snow and slush. The conclusion is that perhaps those are the best tyres for the current climate here in Ireland (and UK), they give the best of both summer and winter tyres without the need of changing them every 6 months.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-31 12:28:59
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 84% (215-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyres for the price. Little bit noisy at higher speeds but saved £150 against Pirelli. Have really good grip in all weathers for a budget tyre and are a bit better than the dunlops they replaced. Would reccomend.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-10 19:13:37
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 63% (215-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
Mazda 3 sport 2.2 fastback(64 Reg) Had this car almost 2years now I'd have to say if it wasn't for the noise that comes from the tyre I'd buy these again but theyre so loud I have to turn music up loud just to drown out the road noise as I do mway & Dual carriage ways
..shame coz the grip & tread work really well it's just way too loud to buy again..so I'll be going elsewhere when they need replacing .
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-28 23:39:20
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS8 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
These are a new model for 2016 and as there are no reviews yet, I thought I will write something short...

In 2 words - buy with confidence - the tires are great and I would say they definitively match their EU label.

I only had them for around 2k km but already had the opportunity to test them in heavy rain on the freeway, on wet road and on of course on dry. They have been great in all conditions so far, offering perfect grip and great braking, especially impressive on wet. They are comfortable and quiet. They are replacing a set of Toyo Proxies CF2, and even though Toyos were no doubt good too, I feel these better on breaking, especially on wet. So far I am liking them, so if in doubt, take the chance - I think you will not regret, especially for the price.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-13 22:01:33
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 61% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Had rainsport 2s on my focus and now my Mazda 3. Generally satisfied so fitted the RS3 to the rears. Have become very noisy (drone) over the last 2-4 months; having today put my winter tyres on I can see why!

Both inside rears have worn down whilst the next solid tread band appears to have worn less that the remaining outer tread! Recent 4 wheel laser checking confirms tracking spot on, Driving gentle & mainly motorway.

Grip etc fine but won't buy again due to wear and therefore noise. Pleasure to be on my winter michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-10 19:46:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre