Michelin CrossClimate

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 72%
Ice Grip 60%

Tyre review data from 133 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 1,709,250 miles driven.

The CrossClimate is ranked 16th of 44 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 17 tyres

View Full Test >>

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.
View Full Test >>

2017 All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - The Michelin CrossClimate has an excellent all round performance, with a particular strength in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average snow handling.
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test (175/65 R14)
  • 9th: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2017 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 1st: 2017 All Season VS Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2017 All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2016 ADAC All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2016 AutoBild All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2016 GF All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2016 AMS SUV All Season Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 3rd: 2016 ACE All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2016 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2016 AZ Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2015 AutoBild All Season Tyre Test (195/65 R 15)
  • 3rd: 2015 French All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
    175/65 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 7.11kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 68 6.48kgs
    175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 68 7.10kgs
    195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
    185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
    195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68 8.00kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69 9.17kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69 9.60kgs
    215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69 9.93kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69 9.29kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69 9.30kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 9.05kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 69 9.37kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69 10.02kgs
    215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69 9.84kgs
    225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 68 10.82kgs
    215/65 R17 103V XL   B A 69 10.80kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL AO B B 69 11.00kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

    2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

    This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


    2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

    Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


    2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

    Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


    2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

    Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


    2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

    It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


    2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

    Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


    2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

    Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


    2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

    If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


    2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tyre in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

    There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tyre. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


    2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tyres just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tyres or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tyres?

    It is not advised to fit just two all season tyres, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


    2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

    It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tyre for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tyre in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


    2019-03-01 - Why Crossclimate have so much difference from Crossclimate+ on ice performance?

    It shouldn't, both tyres should be very similar.


    2020-05-05 - In which country or countries are your Michelin CrossClimate tires that are sold in Iceland currently manufactured?

    I'm afraid I can't answer that question, but it will be noted on the sidewall of the tyre.


    2022-01-18 - Hi! I would like to ask about the performance of these tires in off-road conditions. Is it true that Allseason tires tend to deteriorate easier? I usually do 50% asphalt - 50% offroad with max. snow of 1 month per year. Do you think they should fit or a summer tire is preferable? My car is a Fiat Panda Cross.

    Like most summer and all season tyres, the Michelin Crossclimate is not intended for heavy off-road use, and as such it is not constructed like an off-road tyre. My main concern would be puncture risking from doing a serious amount of offroading with them!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    CrossClimate Prices

    Size Price Range  
    195/55 R16 £163.80 - £167.10 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £115.49 - £119.40 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 41 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

    Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
    I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
    Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
    Over rated in my view for the most part.
    Helpful 483 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016
    Given 59% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    These tyres were so good on two other cars, that I put them on my Octavia. BIG mistake. The steering became optional. Excessive understeer, low front end grip and plenty of roll. Worse still was, as they wore down, they were like having skis on when it rained. At about 4mm they were so bad in the wet that I had to have them replaced. Now on Goodyears, and the grip has returned. Won't be chancing the Crossclimate+, as it's not meant to be as good in the wet!
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2018
    Given 51% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 17,000 easy going miles
    Bought them after reading all these fine and convincing reviews for the occasional and rare meet with snowy roads. Well, in snow total failure, even cars with summer tires where able to move much better than me. I was left spinning my wheels hopelessly while other cars with summer tires had no problem passing me. I have them for a year and a half, with 17.000 km driven. Not satisfied at all with snow handling (about 5-7 cm of snow) and rather displeased with overall handling and value for money. Will not buy ever again and I won't recommend them to anyone.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2016
    Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin CrossClimate >

    Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

    Given 91% while driving a Nissan Murano (225/55 R20) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    awesome tire
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Ford c max (215/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 26,000 easy going miles
    Tyres provide confidence in all weather. On the few occasions we had snow, they were great! On wet, slushy ice they were not as impressive as on fresh snow, but so much better than summer tyres.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 97% while driving a Honda CRV (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    I put a set onto my 2016 Honda CRV (four wheel diesel) a few years ago and when I traded up in 2021 to a 2018 model I swapped the wheels/tyres at the dealership (the deal did not allow for such decent tyres) , this week before the MOT I thought I should check the tyres more closely the front were down to 2 mm and the rear on 4 mm and then checked the miles done with both CRV's it came to in excess of 30000 nad am sure at least another 5000 if I wanted to go to the wear indicators so am please and fitted two new Cross climate to the front wheels . I know that a 4 wheel drive / CRV/SUV will normally wear tyres more quickly so remarkable in my opinion and I have done a fair mix of driving, after the new front tyres yesterday I can appreciate the difference in road holding and in fairness I have had my moneys worth , in ice / snow the grip/performance as not faltered and whilst the CRV has 4WD that kicks in as required you would expect some slippage , and if the 4WD engaged I did not notice .... so delighted and I will replace the rear in another 10000 miles with the front tyres and put new onto the front again of course cross climate
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2022
    Given 75% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Tyres cracked, replaced f o c by cc+
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2021
    Given 89% while driving a Jeep Cherokee Limited 2015 (225/45 R18) on for 35,000 average miles
    I put 50,000k on these tires on a 2017 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 3.2l engine these tires are excellent. Living in Quebec Canada , weather can get nasty , one day snow next day freezing rain then back to snow , tires have never let met down. Never would I go back to a full time winter tire. I just bought a new 2021 Jeep Cherokee high altitude sept-2021 and my new Michelin cross climate 2 are on order and will be installed Nov 15-2021.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 76% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 37,000 average miles
    Had the CC's for five years and approx. 60k km and they served me well. They got me through five winters with moderate snow and five hot summers, trips on really bad tarmac or no tarmac at all, high speeds and a lot of city driving. They still have 3-4 mm left which is really impressive. The only downside is that after about 20-25k km they lost a lot of grip and became really noisy which was really a shame considering how good these tyres were at the beginning. Also, the ice grip isn't too good, but with precaution in mind you can get to your destination safely. But you can't have everything. Now I'm waiting for this year's reviews for all season tyres (205/55 R16) to see where the CC2's stands against Vredestein Quatrac and Pirelli SF2, the newest tyres and biggest competitors for this size (IMO).
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2021
    Given 27% while driving a Peugeot 407 4 door sedan 2.0 petrol (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
    Please for the love of God do NOT buy those tyres. They are the most noisy thing ever, They can make a sweet french GT autobahn cruiser into a nightmare.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2021
    Given 78% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    I've had these on my car for a few years now, they have been fine in the dry, and decent in the wet. I have a leaf and I've found a lot of tyres struggle with the weight and the torque, especially under wet braking. They don't effect the range too much and they are good enough in the snow. Don't expect winter tyre levels of grip but they will get you home as long as you're gentle with the right foot
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2021
    Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Long story short, I've never been a fan of all seasons but this tyre has won me over big time. It's an ideal tyre for the occasional encounter with snow and ice and performs extremely well as a cold resistant dry road tyre. They feel more like a summer tyre and won't kill the fun for more "spirited" drivers. In fact I think they're better then some summer rubber I've been through. I do notice a rather intense wear compared to other tyres I've had. Guess that's the price to pay for an otherwise overwhelmingly positive performance. If you're looking for an all seaon tyre that doesn't annoy you and has plenty of reserve when the air gets cold and the roads snowed up, this one is a great option. It's also very resilient. I had a run in with a very bad pothole. The tyre was fine, it was the wheel that broke. I'll likely put them on again.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2021
    Given 37% while driving a Opel zafira 1.8 140 mont. 2008 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 easy going miles
    Worst tires I ever had. Bought them to replace my combination of summer and winter tyres (Bridgestone turanza and Dunlop winter sport). After first summer (30-35 Celsius) Crossclimate was teared up here and there. Not the same at whole surface, but tear and break every 5-10 cm. And on the winter (-5-0 Celsius) at first they seemed ok, until they were not - almost had accident because couldn't stop on snowy road (where my previous winter tyres didn't had problems). So my conclusion is crossclimate is worse than cheapest summer tyres, and worse than cheapest winter tyres.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2021
    Lexus (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,500 average miles
    At new, the tyres only have tread depth of 7mm, compared to 8-9mm for other tyres. The front tyres are now 5.5mm after only 3,500 miles. At this rate, I will have to replace them not much over 10,000 miles. Extremely unimpressed with what is an expensive tyre and I won't be putting these on my car again.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2021
    Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
    Replaced oem Bridgestone which were worn out at 15000 miles. The Michelin are showing about 50% wear at 25000, and this alone would guarantee repurchase when necessary. But handling, comfort and ride also excell, the car feeling very different and inspiring confidence in all situations, both wet and dry.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021