Hankook Kinergy 4S2

In order to be equipped for all weathers and temperatures, the new Kinergy 4S² offers specially balanced and constant performance features across all seasons. This is made possible by a directional tread being used for Hankook all-weather tyres for the first time, combined with a particularly innovative polymer silica tread mixture.

The Kinergy RS 2 is the 2022 Auto Express all season tyre of the year.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Kinergy 4S.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 72%
Wear 76%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 75%
Ice Grip 65%

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 253,012 miles driven.

The Kinergy 4S2 is ranked 30th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test - 12th of 13 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Best dry handling, short dry braking distance, shortest wet braking distances, very good levels of comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Poor aquaplaning resistance, average snow performance.
  • Overall - The Hankook Kinergy 4S2 was the best in dry handling, the best in wet braking, good around the wet handling lap, good in dry braking, and was comfortable. It did lose out in the snow compared to the best, but as I said at the start of this, I would rather have an all season tyre that's good in the dry and the wet than one that excels in snow, that's what a winter tyre is for afterall. Once again the Hankook has the balance of an all season I really like.

View Full Test >>

2023 Auto Zeitung All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Overall - Older model but performs well on wet and dry roads. Cost-effective, securing a strong third place.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2

2018-12-06 - Hi. Do the 4S2 tyres have rim protectors?

Not in the sizes I've seen, but rim protection can vary from size to size so it would be worth contacting Hankook to find out whether the Kinergy 4S2 has rim protection.


2022-09-16 - I’m looking for all weather for my ID.3 the handbook look good but all guides say I need the 4S 2X I take it the difference is in the weight limit but are they the same tyre apart from this?

As long as you can get the correct load rating the non X you'll be fine, but yes in theory the 4S2X will be modified towards carrying higher loads.


2022-09-27 - Hi everybody, Hankook 4s2 question. In 225/50 17 does the tyre 4s2 come in run flat form?

Yes, it seems there is a HRS (Hankook Runflat System) version of the tyre available in 225/50 R17.


2023-03-23 - Would you recommend these tyres in size245/40 r18 for a RWD car (around 280bhp)? I compared braking tests with mid summer tyre and results are surprisingly even especially when it comes to summertime weather condition results.

I actually have these in my all season test this year on a RWD BMW. Only tested in the snow so far so can't comment for sure but based on last years test they should be great in the dry and wet. Still, a fair bit off a summer tyre in the dry.


2023-05-19 - Hi, is this a good allseason tyre(18inch) for my Tesla Model 3 rwd+ from 2021. How is the noise and wear?

Hey! If you can find the correct load rating there's no reason it wouldn't be one of the better all season tyres, however any all season tyre will struggle with the weight and torque of a model 3 so make sure you're aware of the drawbacks.


2023-10-27 - I live in Belgium, so it only snows once or twice a year in winter. But temperatures are almost always around or below 0°C. I have seen both the 2023 winter tyre and all-season tyre tests and am a bit torn between choosing which tyre would suit me best. Since the performance of the Alpin 5 is almost the same or better than the Kinergy 4S2. But as said in the all season test, a all season tire could be a better fit than a winter tire in my region. Is it possible to give advice on which is the best option for me? (I also plan to use summer tyres regardless of whether I buy winter or all-season tyres). Thanks!

I personally believe that an all season tyre as a winter tyre is often a better fit than a winter tyre for regions that don't see a huge amount of snow and ice, but the performances between the two categories is so close either option will be a good result.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £104.77 - £114.82 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £65.99 - £90.25 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £102.05 - £123.26 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £142.76 - £169.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 54 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Very good all round tire
Helpful 182 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020
Given 76% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very solid tire, value for money is hard to beat at the moment.
Tire performs very well, especially amazingly on wet roads, despite the 255 width there is no slipping, aquaplaning or spinning tires. I switched straight from Fulda Sport summer tires to this model. Comfort and actually driving behavior are better than its predecessor. I couldn't believe it myself.
At first the tires were extremely loud, so I even considered complaining. I like that the tires simply tend to sawtooth.
Luckily the noise disappeared completely after about 2000km.
In winter the tire behaves like an average winter tire. Not special but not bad either.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
Does not give confidence after 150-170 km / h
Helpful 119 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2020
Have you driven on the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Kinergy 4S2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Kinergy 4S2 >

Latest Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus 1.5tdci (2016) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
For an idea of the climate they're operating in, I live in Dublin, Ireland so plenty of rain and mild temperatures for most of the year with some low temperatures and snow/ice around January/February.

I previously had 205/55R16 4S2s fitted to a mk2 1.4 Focus, and absolutely loved them in all weathers including ice and snow. When it came time to replace the front tyres on my Mk3.5 1.5TDCi Focus, I decided to upsize from the 16s that also came on the car to 17x7J wheels all round, as I didn't like the sidewall flex on the 16s.
I went with 225/45R17s rather than Ford's recommended 215/50R17s, as the 215s were much harder to come by and were more expensive. They have absolutely transformed the car compared to the 16" Davanti DX390s that came with it. Even with the slightly wider than recommended fitment, the turn in is almost instant, with very little hesitation. When they begin to let go they do so gradually, without any judder, and they're exceptionally easy to reel back in, wet or dry. They inspire a lot of confidence that when things go wrong, it won't be catastrophic and will guide you back onto line once a bit of speed has bled off.
Compared to the Davantis they're replacing, road noise is much reduced, and even despite the much smaller sidewall, comfort hasn't been affected too negatively. I've noticed much less road noise at all speeds, and the car settles down much more quickly over bumps. There's certainly more road feel through the seat and wheel, but I wouldn't class it as less comfortable since it doesn't tend to wallow the way it did before.
I've also noticed that, due to the stiffer sidewall, it doesn't scrape the deflectors in front of the front wheels over speed ramps anywhere near as easily as it did previously, but this might be more to do with the size change than the tyre change.
If things carry on as they are, I fully intend to keep these tyres and based off previous experience, I would recommend them to anyone who wants their run-of-the-mill car to perform well in all weathers!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2024
Given 66% while driving a Suzuki (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I bought them because I need one set of track tyres and one set for normal driving on roads. I didn't want third set of wheels as a winter set of tyres.
I am sad. I should buy Bridgestone All Season 6 instead of this tyres. I bought it because of the very good price but I am not satisfied with grip in various conditions. Wear is very good. They look like not used. Next time I will definitely go for more premium brands.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 45% while driving a Tesla (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I do mostly short city trips, and a few longer 30+ km trips a month, with some 300+ km trips a few times a year.

Best: They are decently responsive, and wear seems very good.

They do "sing" a bit at 100+ km/h, but its nothing major.

They are lacking in snow and slush performance, but my only direct here comparrision are dual motors (AWD) with winter tyres vs my SR+ (RWD).

Very sharp slip. Then they let go, they go. It always surprises you, and the TC saved me several times. It does not inspire confidence.

Worst of all: I've never had worse tyres in regards to balancing. They get flatspots SO easily, even though they are XL (extra load) rated. I've had them balanced 4 times, where they are perfect on the way back from the shop, but the next day, they will be vibrating again.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2024
Given 77% while driving a MINI (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good tire giving excellent handling on dry roads and confidence on snow.
As new can be a bit noisy on highway speed but this goes after 500km. For the moment vary happy with 4S2.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 20,000 miles
The best tyres for all conditions.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2023
Given 81% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Second review of the tyres now into 2 years of ownership.

Just driven back from West Wales during the start of storm Ciaran. Tyres are down to 5mm on the fronts and 6mm on the rear. That's on about 18k mileage.

Still inspire so much confidence in these wet UK weather conditions dealing with standing water, spray and the deluge of rain. So much so that I could concentrate on driving, safe in the knowledge of the tyres just working.

As JB has said in his first and second review of all season tyres they are an ideal pick for the UK autumn winter climate. I never fret coming into autumn and winter with these on my car.

And on top of that great comfort and perform well in dry and summer conditions.

Not driven them in much snow but I'd be happy to drive on them to Scotland or any other European ski resort.

Car is a Seat Leon 1.4 Act so not high performance, but these tyres make this a great all rounder for my family.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2023
Given 75% while driving a Mazda mazda 3 1.8D (2019) (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 44,000 average miles
It is my first experience with all seasons tyres. Hankook Kinergy 4S2 do their job. I never expected high performances but I was so impressed of how good they are on all conditions: dry, wet and snow. Drove on snow (fresh and icy) several days in the last two winters, snow is frequent where I live. Many people say all seasons are bad compared to summer and winter tyres, well, my point is they are better than summer tyres used in winter and better than winter tyres used in summer (we see lots of these cases, right?). After about 44000 miles there are still 1.5mm of tread above winter mark. Hopefully I migh be able to use them for anothre winter too. I will buy them again without any doubt. Well done Hankook!
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2023
Given 78% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Reviewing on the day I've been waiting for. 2-3 inches on snow in the south of the UK, and the country grinds to a halt. Had the tyres on the car for a good 18 months and have driven a good 16000 miles on them, so well used. They worked flawlessly in the snow and ice. Standard straight road, windy road and even stop start driving up and down hills, and cannot fault them. A bit of wheel spin when pulling away on an uphill gradient but found the grip and just got on with it, bearing in mind my car is 1.7 tonnes, I felt in control at all times. Obviously wasn't going the speeds Jonathon drives on the snow handling track, but 30 mph on snowy roads is easy, comfortable and felt incredibly safe. Have given scores, but haven't reviewed dry/wet etc as others cover that off, today (08/03/2023) is the reason I bought these tyres, to get me home when it snows.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2023
Given 45% while driving a Audi S4 (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
They grip fairly well for an All Season tyre and they will be fine for mildly spirited driving. They have quite a light feel to them which doesn't instil confidence as it can be difficult to tell if they are actually gripping or if it's the car's electronics kicking in and saving the day. However, when cornering hard you can feel them start to break away and start to loose grip, giving you a change to correct. Also, when coming out of a corner and accelerating hard you can feel them "lift" so to speak. Basically, losing traction. They are also very noisy on the motorway. I've not had a chance to test them in the snow or ice as it's been a mild winter, nor check the wear rate yet. I'll come back in a year and revise the review. Ultimately, I would say if you drive calmly with the odd bit of moderate spirited driving they are fine and hopefully also provide good traction when the weather gets cold and bad. But if you like to push it hard when the weather is above 7°C then stick with a decent set of summer tyres.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2023
Given 82% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Excellent tyre. I am a track day enthusiast but this tyre was fitted to my Golf Bluemotion daily hack. I previously had the latest Goodyear Efficient Grips and fitted these going into the cold snap in December 2020. Dry grip is good but compared to the Goodyears previously they do have a slower initial response But this is an all season v a summer tyre, so what do you expect. In the wet, it is simply fantastic. Often you hear the cliche that "you can drive your car in the wet like you can in the dry!" - but with this you really can. Incredible confidence in all conditions and have not aquaplained at all. Snow/Ice - obviously not a full winter tyre but they're excellent all round. Can certainly keep you moving while other cars are stuck spinning their wheels and give you lots of confidence. Obviously not an enthusiast tyre - but they're an excellent tyre for all conditions and for people who have to do a lot of driving (my commute is 110 miles a day, 5/6 days a week) and have also fitted them to my Partners car too. Economy wise, i have not noticed any difference in economy between the Goodyears and these Hankook (still over 70mpg) Have done approx 4000 miles and no visible or appreciable wear. I did also have a fresh alignment carried out when fitted. 10/10 would recommend these.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 11,500 average miles
I'm satisfied with its performance, grip levels and handling it is very nice to drive. I knew that it will not last as long as competing option but I believed that price difference justifies that. But still, I am dissapointed with the wear rate, 20.000 km and fronts are gone. Before these I had Crossclimate+ and they lasted for 35.000 km.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2022
Given 87% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Switched to the hankooks in Sptember 2021 just in time for winter. They replaced ageing gy as3 on the front and as5 on the rear. Comfort noticeably improved after switching to the hankooks. They inspire confidence in the wet and as the temperatures plummet I treat driving as if it is a normal day and don't feel I need to be overly cautious. Fast forward to summer 2022 and a fully loaded car plus roofbox and tyre pressures at a higher setting tyres still did a great job smoothing off bumps on our long trip to Cornwall. Seem to be wearing well as reports at this year's MOT stated 6.5mm on the front and 7mm on the rear. Great tyres able to cope with our wetter autumn winters inspiring confidence in treacherous conditions just as easily as when it's warmer. Plus their ability to cope with cold winters means they are worthy winners of tyre reviews mild winter weighting.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2022