Subaru Forester Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru Forester.

Do you Drive a Subaru Forester? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Forester better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian SeasonProof (3) 90% 93% 87% 83% 97% 97%
Avon Ranger AT (2) 90% 95% 85% 85% 95% 80%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus (3) 97% 93% 83% 87% 97% 87%
Avon Ranger ATT (1) 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 100%
Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV (5) 90% 80% 84% 82% 80% 98%
Nokian WeatherProof (26) 82% 88% 82% 82% 74% 89%
Yokohama C Drive (45) 86% 82% 83% 77% 77% 86%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (75) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Michelin Latitude Cross (45) 86% 85% 77% 76% 91% 79%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 SUV (4) 87% 73% 80% 80% 70% 90%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Toyo Celsius (8) 80% 78% 67% 56% 79% 75%
Winda WH16 (15) 81% 73% 68% 54% 84% 84%
Yokohama Geolandar G900 (14) 88% 82% 75% 69% 72% 70%
Petlas Snow Master W651 (21) 78% 70% 66% 70% 83% 72%
Mastercraft GLACIER GRIP 2 (1) 70% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70%
Premiorri ViaMaggiore (6) 68% 58% 68% 68% 86% 55%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (57) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Kumho Road Venture 798 (4) 75% 63% 65% 53% 85% 70%
Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus (3) 80% 50% 70% 80% 90% 55%
Nokian Line SUV (7) 80% 77% 73% 77% 50% 67%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (67) 79% 65% 69% 63% 71% 63%
Continental 4x4 Contact (31) 80% 75% 69% 52% 51% 75%
Continental Premium Contact 5 SUV (4) 83% 73% 68% 68% 48% 68%
Achilles 868 All Seasons (3) 73% 57% 67% 67% 63% 70%
Silverstone Atlantis V7 (5) 68% 44% 56% 50% 60% 48%
Zeetex HP102 (11) 56% 47% 56% 47% 57% 48%

Subaru Forester Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Celsius given 57% (-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 easy going miles
Purchased the Celsius CUV tires for 2019 Forester. At first tires seemed fine except for a more bouncy sidewall feel. Over time noticed tires respond to raised bumps in front or back depending on tire rotation. No response from Toyo after two tries. Dealer could not duplicate complaint. Decided to replace tires because they do not seem to provide a stable feel. Previously had Celsius on Corolla and they were fine. Great snow performance not too good wet panic stopping. Otherwise no complaints. For V rated tire sidewall does not seem to match expectations of ride quality.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-24 13:29:37
Writing about the Nokian SeasonProof given 96% (225-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
Perfect
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-16 09:32:26
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G900 given 84% (225-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I was very impressed by this tyre (G95 ~ G900) while i drove it in almost every terrain, load, driving style. Road, sand, mud, icy snow, rain, on the limit, fully loaded, peaceful cruise... I can say this is a great ALL rounder. Predictable, versatile, well-balanced (all that added to my 2011 Subaru Forester).
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-24 12:55:26
Writing about the Silverstone Atlantis V7 given 41% (225-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Tires fitted for 20000 miles. Since I bought them they are very bad. Didn't change because of price and inflation rates. Average tire on dry surface. Very dangerous on wet. Worst handling on wet. Aquaplaning + I won't recommend to any.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-19 07:29:46
Writing about the Winda WH16 given 59% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 32000 average miles
Bought the tyres by recommendation of a friend. Tyres did well considering the price. Noticeably understeers, quite long dry braking and wet braking when stopping from over 100kmph, handles and drives exceptionally well under 80kmph. Quite and comfortable provided that has soft side walls. Seen temperatures between 18C and 35C, Rain and hot sun, Never seen snow. Aquaplanes when low tread (depends on road, usually smooth roads over 80kmph) Tyres lasted for 4 years of daily driving. Developed deep cracks on all four tyres after 75% of life. Overall- good tyres for a grocery getter or for daily commute, to and from work for a calm driver. Absolutely stay away from harsh driving over 80 kmph.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-22 08:53:47
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
These were a value option when I needed a pair of tyres during an interstate road trip in Australia. $135 each for a Subaru Forester - 215/60/16 I think? That was lower mid range pricing in 2016 in Oz. By the time I got home I was surprised and impressed - they were much better than I expected. Bought another two within months. Did maybe 50K on them in 18 months and bought a second set last year. I can't fault them in any area. I run 38 PSI and they complement the ageing Forester's balance and looseness well. Grip and feel are good and the wear is not high. I've driven several other foresters recently, other decent tyres just don't feel as confidence inspiring. I also drive a Mark 3 MX5, quite firmly, and am about to get re003s as the daily tyres. In that application with more limit-seeking and front to rear pitching I can tell these tyres will not be all or nothing. I am sure there are others but these inexpensive tyres are now for me basically "The ones" - just about right. They're my standard tyre now :-)
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-29 00:14:03
Writing about the Premiorri ViaMaggiore given 90% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
Wet grip seems to be the least inspiring but that also ignores the tyre's excellent grip with standing water due to the deep V-shaped sipes (grooves), which are excellent at draining water/snow/mud away from the contact patch.
Good progressive feel from the tyres gives confidence on the limit.
I bought them a year ago (11/2018), despite German review sites being very sniffy about frankly any tyre that wasn't German: these tyres came bottom of the list... except for snow and ice, where they came top. So I bought them, for use on snow and ice... Makes you wonder the point of the other tyres for winter conditions?
I kept them on over the summer, in case of mud and they still have 2/3rds tread left.
They have been used for quite a few snowy motorway trips and have never put a foot wrong when other csrs were in all sorts of trouble.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-28 17:12:56
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
It always makes me laugh when people say one brand ihandles better, is louder, stops better in the wet etc. How would they know? As far as I can tell, tyres from premium brands of the same size and using similar components all handle about the same.

Noisy? Don’t know. They’re certainly more quiet than a proper off road tyre but I’ve usually got my phat beats pumping.

Performance in the dry is better than in the wet, no surprise there.

Handling? Surely the vehicle’s geometry has more of a say there ... maybe tyre pressure as well.

If you drive like a dick then it doesn’t matter what brand of tyre you use, you’re going to get into more trouble than if you take it easy.

All up, there’s nothing wrong with these tyres. I can’t fault them but I can’t really compare them with anything because they’re the only tyres I’ve had on the vehicle.

I drive a 2018 Subaru Forester with 15000 kms on the dial. Mostly urban driving but quite a few kms touring, gravel roads and beach driving.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-18 23:03:59
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus given 81% (215-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Bought this set of tires for dads forester. Really good winter tires, city roads, snowy country roads, everywhere you go these tires are fine.
It works 7th winter season and looks like brand new.
I’m not sure that my other set of winter tires on Lexus IS is better than these old Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-28 10:43:49
Writing about the Achilles 868 All Seasons given 73% (215-60-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Great value for money and as good in the wet as any brand name tyres but much better in the dry!
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-21 23:27:11
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 SUV given 100% (235-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Third set of Vredestein Quatrac 5 tyres I’ve owned. Mixture of A & B road driving in all weathers including heavy snow and icy rural roads and can’t fault them whatsoever. They’re quiet, extremely comfortable and offer excellent feedback and inspire confidence in all weather conditions They also last of ages, we had over 2 years and 30,000 miles and they still had good tread on them. Worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-15 20:42:02
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 SUV given 81% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Advantages: very short dry braking distance, very good feel when driving in wet conditions.

Disadvantage: fuel consumption is high comparing with Yokohama which was originally on the car.

Other: Road feedback could be better especially at higher speed. At the beginning the tires are very quiet. Later they become noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-30 14:40:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre