Avon ZV5

The Avon ZV5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Avon ZV7.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 78%
Wear 72%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 75%

Tyre review data from 111 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 1,389,255 miles driven.

The ZV5 is ranked 54th of 132 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 39th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 24th of 54 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 33rd of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/50 R15 86V   C C 71 8.84kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C C 70 7.82kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C C 71 8.27kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C C 71 9.32kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C C 71 8.62kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C C 71 9.36kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C C 72 7.86kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C C 71 10.24kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C C 71 8.68kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C C 71 9.77kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C C 71 9.69kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C C 72 9.69kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C C 71 9.81kgs
225/60 R16 98W   C C 71 10.83kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C C 72 9.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C C 72 9.11kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C C 72 9.00kgs
215/45 R17 87W   C C 71 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C C 72 10.07kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C C 72 9.13kgs
205/50 R17 89V   C C 71 9.52kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 72 10.00kgs
215/50 R17 91W   C C 71 10.00kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C C 71 10.60kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B C 72 10.44kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon ZV5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon ZV5 Reviews

Vauxhall (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I replaced a pair of budgets on the rear of the Signum about 2000 mls ago. I tend not to be a spirited/sporty/progressive sort of driver tending to keep my distance and driving a bit defensivly so can't comment on aquaplaning/wheel spinning/soft side walls on round-a-bouts etc but I can say that they are very quiet and still look brand new and haven't given me a single exciting moment. Very boring but I think I'll buy two more when the fronts are ready. Paid £66.00 for them which I think is a bargain.
23 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 57% while driving a Renault espace mk3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Fitted these as a full set approx 3 years ago, found them very good in wet or dry, but can be made to slip very easily in the wet if getting away from a junction in a fairly spirited style, never driven them on the limit in the wet, but they've always felt very secure unlike the ZV3' previously fitted which were on the skittish side,
Wear has been very good with at least another 10K miles life remaining in them, BUT, and in this case a VERY BIG But, ALL FOUR TYRES have developed Very Serious and dangerous defects with mass area cracking on the Tyre walls, plus cracked close to the wheel rims as well as in all of the roots between the tread blocks,
Two of the tyres started deflating regularly, which the Tyre fitter said was due to porous alloys and not the tyres, however having to use an emergency leak sealer to get me home one day revealed a considerable number of spots of the sealer leaking out of the Tyre wall,
The defects in all of the tyres is now extremely bad, possibly dangerous and requiring renewal of all 4x tyres well before they were due, I won't be fitting ZV5's again and because of the cracking can't recommend them to anyone,
Depending upon the response from Avon and the company that fitted, them, the new tyres may not be Avon replacements.
11 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (205/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 14,000 average miles
I bought the Fabia with Avon ZV5's all round and I can say I have never driven a car that tramlined so much on anything but smooth roads. The road noise seemed loud and the ride harsh. After having the tyres and steering geometry checked and cleared I was advised the tyres did not suit the car. I fitted Kumho Ku39's on the front and the car was transformed for the better. I'm now tempted to replace the rear Avons.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2017   
Have you driven on the Avon ZV5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZV5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZV5 >

Latest Avon ZV5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Lancia Delta HF Integrale 16V (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've had a set of these on my Lancia Delta for nearly 10 years! Albeit not done that many miles in the scheme of time fitted. Every time I drive the car it feels totally secure and tyres offer oodles of grip. The car does get a good workout most drives and the tyres have been exceptional really. I keep thinking I should replace them due to age but they show no signs of losing grip or cracking around the edges. They are have been brilliant and I think I paid £50/each for them which was cheap even 10 years ago!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2021   
Given 91% while driving a Porsche 986 2.7 (225/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
Bought these for my Porsche 986. What a flexible, compliant ride! Gives good feedback when pressing on. Dry B road grip is enchanting and confidence inspiring. They are a communicative tyre.
Going to test them in the wet tomorrow, but so far, no bad thoughts on them.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 69% while driving a Ford Focus (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Tyres are good to drive, however after 1 year two of them started deflating still not sorted. Three times resealed and changed valves. Unfortunately I found out tyres has cracks on wall and on thread part so bad, that is not even anymore. All 4 has bump on same place (inner side) all around. I think may cause steering wheel shaking what I'm struggling to sort for "while", wheel balancing is not helping. Thread has still 2mm to go but I don't trust them.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 20,500 easy going miles
Managed over 20.5k from rear tyres on BMW E39 523 touring, admittedly driven carefully by my wife. Would recommend these as very quiet and comfortable drive. Just ordered new ZV7's and am hoping for simular performance.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2016   
Given 71% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Bought these Avon ZT5 Tyres approx. 2 years ago they have lasted on my Skoda Fabia 1.2 ( on the front ) for approx. 18000 miles although not down to the wear indicator strip yet, its time to change approx. 2mm to 2.5mm tread left on them. I found them to satisfactory in the dry but in the wet I felt they where suspect and not as good as Dunlop Blueresponce or Continental both of which I've had fitted to the same car ...but I suppose you get what you pay for.....So I think they where ok for the money I paid but IF you get them Slow Down in the Wet. also road noise was acceptable.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a Ford S Max (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Had a set of these on the rear of our Ford S-MAX TDCI 2ltr for 3-4k miles then transferred them to the front when my existing fronts (Dunlop BlueSportResponse) got low. The difference in `feel` was most noticeable, and not for the better! The Dunlop's felt like they were flat on the road, these Avon's feel like your driving on wobbly balloons....I kid you not! They don't feel unsafe but do make me think twice about the speed I'm going entering pretty much any corner over 30mph. Wear and grip seems OK but it's as if the side walls flex to much. It really has made me realise there can be such a difference in `feel` of a tyre. Wobbly coins it!
3 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2016   
Given 33% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,500 easy going miles
A very unsafe tyre for the Greek roads. I have installed them (December 2015) on a Citroen c4 VTRS, a Golf 1400 cc and a Corsa 1200 cc. All three cars have done about 3000-4000 kms each. I am going to replace them as soon as possible. Very dissapointed with their performance from any aspect.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Just changed to these after too many near misses with the cheap budget tyres that were on the car when I bought it. What a transformation! Excellent tyre that is quiet, comfortable and inspires confidence. Added bonus of "Made in England" moulded into sidewall! Also have these on two more cars in the family fleet and more than happy with them. Ride and handling is fine.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2016   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Have just replaced two front tyres with these and can honestly say they are superb. They replaced ageing Bridegstone ER300s which I now realise were probably some of the noisiest uncomfortable tyres ever put on a car!

The Avon ZV5s are extremely quiet, a joy to drive with and they have transformed my Ford Focus to a hushed comfortable environment. Excellent grip in both wet and dry. Get some, it's like riding on silk.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2015   
Given 62% while driving a Vauxhall (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
No substitute for performance tyres.
Bought these as a cheaper alternative to the Bridgestones I had on my vectora vxr, having liked Avon zz3's on a Mondeo st220.
Alas these zv5's are extremely poor on feedback, to the extent I regret buying them .
Comfort and road noise is great, grip is good, but lacks the outright grip and turn in bite of the Bridgestones. I expected this, but the steering is completely numb and ruins any driving enjoyment as you have to take a leap of faith with how much grip there is .
I will be moving them to the rear axle and putting the older Bridgestones on the front to see if that helps .I can't comment on wear, but won't be sad to see these go.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a Alfa Romeo (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
Mid range tyre at a budget price. You can't really go wrong.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2015   
Given 94% while driving a Audi A4 2.5tdi Quattro Avant Sport (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
I don't think you can beat these tyres for value at under £50 a corner. Managed to get 35000 miles out of a set with fantastic grip in both wet and dry conditions - not hanging around either!!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2015