Fulda SportControl

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 83%
Wear 85%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 88%

The Fulda SportControl is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Fulda SportControl 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 314,931 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 13th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Low wear, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively weak on both wet and dry roads

2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, short braking distance on dry roads
  • Negative - Noise / comfort

2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Long braking distances on wet surfaces - a clear tendency to understeer and long braking distances on dry roads
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R17 98W XL   C B 67 11.00kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Fulda SportControl. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Fulda SportControl Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
After suffering Bridgestone and Uniroyal this tyre really put a smile on my face. Excellent tyre at reasonable price.
60 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Honda Accord (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Very good tyres on dry and wet. I think is one of the best. Only problem - wear, but Fulda Sportcontrol is a sport tyre.
18 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017   
Given 46% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (230/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
After 3 year usage all 4 tyres had issue with vibrations.
10 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2018   
Have you driven on the Fulda SportControl tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Fulda SportControl? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Fulda SportControl >

Latest Fulda SportControl Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt (215/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These were fitted to the Forester XT 2.5 turbo when we bought it used.
I cannot fault them for grip wet or dry, never once did the traction control light flash up, never once did the car feel light no matter how hard it was pushed or how fast one might pull away on a roundabout or junction wet or dry.
They were not used during winter because we have a full set of winter tyres on wheels.
However i have removed and replaced them, barely worn, and the reason is the hard ride and the road noise, but they were probably 6 years old as the car does very little mileage, even now it's only covered 33,000.

If you don't mind road noise and ride quality then these are really very good.

Just out of interest they have been replaced with Falken ZE914 (not yet driven on the road as it's January so still on the winter set) , purely because they have proved to have good grip in normal wet or dry conditions and are wearing well on my daughter's hard driven Civic.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Given 46% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (230/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
After 3 year usage all 4 tyres had issue with vibrations.
10 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2018   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 89% while driving a Honda Accord (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Very good tyres on dry and wet. I think is one of the best. Only problem - wear, but Fulda Sportcontrol is a sport tyre.
18 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Nissan Skyline R33 GTR (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres on my R33 gtr for fast road use and track. Quiet and hard wearing.
7 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2017   
Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Great tyre. Have done 60,000 kms and still has half its legal tread left. Grips well and is quiet.

8 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Great combination tyres- Comfort and dry/wet grip is good.
Fuldas replaced previous Falken912 so big improvement on comfort but not as good sharpness in steering.
On an E90 320d Msport they take bumps well and grip is very good dry and wet. Very secure and smooth at motorway speeds.
Wear after 12K miles is ok,,, prob 3k miles more to go.
Would buy again.
10 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2016   
Given 94% while driving a Lexus SC430 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just fitted a set on my Lexus sc430 and they are superb tyres,much better than the conti contact 3 which trame lined big time
They are very smooth and Handel great,and have a big kerb Rib
8 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2016   
Given 37% while driving a Toyota Auris (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These tyres were promised as good tyres in all conditions. Untrue. These tyres have no wall strength and feel as though the wheels are working loose. They give no confidence when going into any type of corner, if it's a long turn (motorway exit or run on) the back end wants to slide around in front of you. I have tried various pressures and weights and the only time they seem to perform adequately is when the cars loaded with 5 adults and the pressure is increased by 2lbs. Do not buy these tyres, especially when for another £8-£12 you can get a real performance tyre. The only good thing I have to say for these tyres is that I have curbed them on a few occasions and they are indestructible! Not even a scuff on the side wall. 5000 miles in and there is virtually no sign of wear, pity as I want rid of these wretched things. I won't make the mistake of listening to the small independent tyre dealer offering advise in future either.
8 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2016   
Given 49% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Got them with a used car, 7mm left on all 4, 2 years old. This tire is mediocre in all of its properties, except for grip on slightly wet roads, which is rather on the bad side of things. I do appreciate when a car lets me feel that it has a life beyond the stability gadgets but the Sport Control is losing grip way too fast on corners with residue humidity on the road, from some rain 1hr ago.

Saving 100 bucks at the wrong end and buying cheap tires for anything better than a Corsa/Ka/Twingo class car is stupid and dangerous, even if the tires make it into the "mediocre" category somehow, like the Fulda Sport Control.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Much improved grip and reduced noise over the highly rated Goodyear Eagle asymmetrics I had before. Slightly poorer fuel consumption. No change in the ride. Fronts have lasted 14000 miles - never spun the wheels once - and I couldn't say that for the Goodyears. Some noise as they reached the end of their life, but absolutely no loss in grip, wet or dry - amazing. Have just re-ordered - an unsung hero of the tyre world.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2016   

See all 37 customer reviews of the Fulda SportControl (newest first) >>