Fulda SportControl

The Fulda SportControl is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Fulda SportControl 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 83%
Wear 85%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 88%

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 314,931 miles driven.

The SportControl is ranked 7th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 13th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Low wear, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively weak on both wet and dry roads
View Full Test >>

2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Long braking distances on wet surfaces - a clear tendency to understeer and long braking distances on dry roads
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, short braking distance on dry roads
  • Negative - Noise / comfort
View Full Test >>

2016 Tyre Tests

  • 13th: 2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 (225/45 R17)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tyre Test (215/55 R16)
  • 12th: 2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 9th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2013 Auto Review Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • 10th: 2012 Auto Bild Max Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2011 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2011 AMS Ultra High Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 9th: 2011 Auto Zeitung Max Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    225/50 R17 98W XL   C B 67 11.00kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Fulda SportControl. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Fulda SportControl Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
    After suffering Bridgestone and Uniroyal this tyre really put a smile on my face. Excellent tyre at reasonable price.
    Helpful 68 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2015
    Given 89% while driving a Honda Accord (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    Very good tyres on dry and wet. I think is one of the best. Only problem - wear, but Fulda Sportcontrol is a sport tyre.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017
    Given 46% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (230/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    After 3 year usage all 4 tyres had issue with vibrations.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2018
    Have you driven on the Fulda SportControl tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Fulda SportControl? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Fulda SportControl >

    Latest Fulda SportControl Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt (215/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    These were fitted to the Forester XT 2.5 turbo when we bought it used.
    I cannot fault them for grip wet or dry, never once did the traction control light flash up, never once did the car feel light no matter how hard it was pushed or how fast one might pull away on a roundabout or junction wet or dry.
    They were not used during winter because we have a full set of winter tyres on wheels.
    However i have removed and replaced them, barely worn, and the reason is the hard ride and the road noise, but they were probably 6 years old as the car does very little mileage, even now it's only covered 33,000.

    If you don't mind road noise and ride quality then these are really very good.

    Just out of interest they have been replaced with Falken ZE914 (not yet driven on the road as it's January so still on the winter set) , purely because they have proved to have good grip in normal wet or dry conditions and are wearing well on my daughter's hard driven Civic.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Nissan Skyline R33 GTR (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tyres on my R33 gtr for fast road use and track. Quiet and hard wearing.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2017
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
    Great tyre. Have done 60,000 kms and still has half its legal tread left. Grips well and is quiet.

    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2016
    Given 81% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Great combination tyres- Comfort and dry/wet grip is good.
    Fuldas replaced previous Falken912 so big improvement on comfort but not as good sharpness in steering.
    On an E90 320d Msport they take bumps well and grip is very good dry and wet. Very secure and smooth at motorway speeds.
    Wear after 12K miles is ok,,, prob 3k miles more to go.
    Would buy again.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2016
    Given 94% while driving a Lexus SC430 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Just fitted a set on my Lexus sc430 and they are superb tyres,much better than the conti contact 3 which trame lined big time
    They are very smooth and Handel great,and have a big kerb Rib
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2016
    Given 37% while driving a Toyota Auris (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    These tyres were promised as good tyres in all conditions. Untrue. These tyres have no wall strength and feel as though the wheels are working loose. They give no confidence when going into any type of corner, if it's a long turn (motorway exit or run on) the back end wants to slide around in front of you. I have tried various pressures and weights and the only time they seem to perform adequately is when the cars loaded with 5 adults and the pressure is increased by 2lbs. Do not buy these tyres, especially when for another £8-£12 you can get a real performance tyre. The only good thing I have to say for these tyres is that I have curbed them on a few occasions and they are indestructible! Not even a scuff on the side wall. 5000 miles in and there is virtually no sign of wear, pity as I want rid of these wretched things. I won't make the mistake of listening to the small independent tyre dealer offering advise in future either.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2016
    Given 49% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Got them with a used car, 7mm left on all 4, 2 years old. This tire is mediocre in all of its properties, except for grip on slightly wet roads, which is rather on the bad side of things. I do appreciate when a car lets me feel that it has a life beyond the stability gadgets but the Sport Control is losing grip way too fast on corners with residue humidity on the road, from some rain 1hr ago.

    Saving 100 bucks at the wrong end and buying cheap tires for anything better than a Corsa/Ka/Twingo class car is stupid and dangerous, even if the tires make it into the "mediocre" category somehow, like the Fulda Sport Control.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2016
    Given 90% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
    Much improved grip and reduced noise over the highly rated Goodyear Eagle asymmetrics I had before. Slightly poorer fuel consumption. No change in the ride. Fronts have lasted 14000 miles - never spun the wheels once - and I couldn't say that for the Goodyears. Some noise as they reached the end of their life, but absolutely no loss in grip, wet or dry - amazing. Have just re-ordered - an unsung hero of the tyre world.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2016
    Given 87% while driving a Vauxhall (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
    For the price these tyres were great. Fitted to a chipped Astra 5 door at the front end. Previously I had Falkens on the front but i found the tracking of them was disconcerting , once changed it felt like a new car and mush more responsive. Would recommend highly.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2015
    Given 99% while driving a Opel (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,200 spirited miles
    Absolutely a great tire, in every condition of the road: it showed no weakness even under torrential rain (no sign of aquaplaning); it is accurate and reliable on dry asphalt. By visual inspection, after 5,000 kilometers covered, it still looks new. It's a German product, belonging to Goodyear-Dunlop Group: it's a secure purchase!
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2015
    Given 100% while driving a Skoda octavia estate 4x4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    Awesome tyres in all aspects... amazing dry and wet grip, super comfortable and quiet... had to replace a DISAPPOINTING tyre such as Bridgestone RE050 (stiffy/noisy) and now my car is like bing on a railroad.
    100% reccommended!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2015
    Given 94% while driving a BMW F30 320D (265/30 R19) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
    Best tyre i've had, dry/wet grip is fenomenal. Wear seems pretty good aswell. Driven about 13k miles/20000km with these tyres, and i've got at least 50% left on the rears.
    Driven in Sweden, so much wet roads!
    (comparing to continental, pirelli, Michelin. And hankooks, but they were really rubbish)
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2015