Ford Focus MK3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus MK3.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus MK3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus MK3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (7) 93% 91% 94% 93% 94% 98%
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (39) 93% 91% 89% 89% 87% 91%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (53) 93% 91% 84% 88% 93% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (198) 93% 91% 87% 89% 83% 81%
Michelin Alpin 5 (21) 85% 93% 84% 78% 89% 89%
Nokian zLine (82) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (19) 88% 89% 86% 76% 87% 82%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (93) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (43) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Kleber Quadraxer 2 (11) 84% 79% 89% 82% 90% 87%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (38) 88% 89% 79% 68% 86% 90%
Sava Eskimo HP2 (19) 86% 83% 78% 80% 82% 78%
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (30) 88% 85% 79% 82% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (273) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (87) 89% 85% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (41) 86% 86% 77% 81% 87% 78%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (97) 90% 82% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (55) 85% 83% 82% 84% 86% 83%
Michelin Primacy 4 (117) 86% 82% 75% 77% 84% 86%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Nokian WeatherProof (28) 81% 87% 81% 81% 75% 89%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (22) 90% 95% 85% 86% 69% 85%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (74) 87% 81% 79% 78% 75% 77%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (44) 84% 89% 80% 77% 70% 80%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (46) 89% 83% 81% 80% 75% 73%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Michelin Primacy 3 (176) 86% 80% 77% 77% 70% 81%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Michelin Energy Saver (133) 83% 72% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (99) 84% 82% 76% 76% 69% 74%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Michelin Primacy LC (12) 82% 79% 67% 68% 73% 88%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (188) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Sailun Atrezzo Elite (14) 86% 76% 77% 64% 68% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (48) 75% 85% 67% 70% 75% 78%
Sportiva Compact (7) 89% 70% 73% 71% 70% 70%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (156) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (59) 78% 73% 72% 71% 67% 71%
Accelera Beta (11) 80% 59% 59% 53% 94% 75%
Firestone Winterhawk 3 (8) 78% 69% 69% 68% 75% 73%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (30) 74% 70% 68% 69% 60% 71%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Aptany RA301 (17) 76% 70% 71% 70% 53% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (154) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (134) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Triangle SporteX TH201 (15) 73% 61% 68% 59% 59% 71%
Landsail LS388 AS (43) 77% 70% 72% 68% 74% 76%
Davanti DX390 (21) 67% 57% 59% 57% 61% 64%
Infinity INF 050 (19) 66% 47% 59% 54% 78% 51%
Imperial Ecodriver 5 (1) 80% 40% 70% 60% 70% 30%
Continental ProContact (7) 66% 61% 53% 57% 65% 50%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Zeta Ztr10 (30) 58% 44% 48% 48% 61% 59%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Kormoran Gamma B2 (18) 58% 33% 46% 41% 48% 56%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Ford Focus MK3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Imperial Ecodriver 5 given 57% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12600 average miles
Good performance on dry roads (urban/motorway) in warm conditions. Seems to perform well in cornering and acceleration. Braking performance is not so good compared to better brands (see: any brand priced above Imperial). When conditions become cold and very wet these tyres are quite poor when cold and do not provide much confidence in handling at all. Road noise is very loud unless set to high pressures. The benefits of high pressure means good rolling resistance behaviours at high pressures though (Front 38 psi, Rear 44 psi). The noise doesn't decrease much if setting pressures to manufacturer ratings (Front 32 psi, Rear 36 psi). This applies on motorways and urban roads above 60 km/h. Comfort is not good under any condition at any reasonable speed (>30km/h) as all impacts are felt even at lower pressures. Feedback is okay but nothing special beyond the tyre making you very aware that it's slipping a lot in wet conditions on corners. Fuel economy is quite good under dry conditions and high pressures, as noted above. Overall would not buy again, only had the chance to test these tyres as they were fitted new by dealer upon taking ownership of vehicle.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-04 22:27:05
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 100% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 43000 average miles
This will be my last update on the Escata Hs51. I have done 43K miles. All type of weather conditions are excellent: grip, handling, breaking High quality and good price. No issues with blow outs for normal high speed driving excellent. For track or extreme need a upgrade for specific tyres (Track, Ultimate extreme). I recommend them for all. Winter time hopefully be updating or upgrading to the Hs52 or Ps version Will have a update and throw review on them.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-17 11:22:07
Writing about the Triangle SporteX TH201 given 63% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
I had these fitted on my 2013 Ford Focus. They are a perfectly acceptable tyre at a good price; however, I wouldn't recommend them for anything more than conservative driving. I found handling and grip to be insufficient when driving around corners as a reasonable speed and wet grip was a bit of an issue at anything like half throttle.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-27 11:36:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 85% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-04 13:57:13
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 83% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Very stable tyre. Great feedback and handling. Very good price for the size. Too soon to tell anything About the wear.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-29 21:38:19
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth AE50 given 31% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Just taken a pair of these off my ford focus. They are probably the noisiest most uncomfortable tires I have ever driven on. Like driving on flat rocks. Changed to some cheap Altenzo sports comforters and the car feels like a car again completely transformed the ride and stance of the car instead of feeling like a dodgem.car down the local fair. Absolute dud of a tyre
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-20 22:55:33
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons given 88% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 easy going miles
I got these tyres fitted on my used three year old Focus, when I bought it. The fronts were down to about 4 mm remaining tread depth and were replaced by the dealer. The manufacturing date of the tyres matched those of the car. So I guess, those front tyres were good for around 40 - 45k kms (and another summer afterwards). I wasn't happy with the all seasons tyres fitted, as I live in a rather hilly area in Germany, that sees a decent amount of snow in winter. I bought an additional set of proper winter tyres and didn't have the Goodyears on in the snow. The tyres were good on the winding roads as well as on the motorway and in the city. They do, what tyres shall do. I was, quite frankly, amazed by the performance in the wet. Wet asphalt in long curves does not bother the tyre at all. Constant motorway speeds up to 180 kph (which I shouldn't have done) in pouring rain went like on rails. No score for snow and ice performance (as explained above) and no statement, if I would buy them again - I probably would, if no proper winters were necessary here.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-12 20:11:49
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Elite given 57% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 44000 average miles
Drove them for 44kkm, mostly on bendy roads, I ve hade better experience with sumitomo, they are slicks now at 44kkm.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-09 10:48:20
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 98% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Night and Day. Driving on regular all seasons for years, then switching to the CC2’s, I was blown away. FWD car handled slush and snow with ease, especially from starting on tricky hills and positions. Quiet and confident dry road feel, and sharp response for quick maneuvers, while coming in under 150 USD
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-28 23:28:02
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 61% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
Got them for my Focus, thy stick great in wet,they do the job in dry,as long you don't push them to the edge.cos of the soft edges. One thing however is so bad ,and that is wear... I've done 16 000 km /10 000 miles,and they are gone. One mil away from wear indicator, meaning they won't last two seasons. So if you do low mileage,good buy,but if you drive a lot of km as I do,buy something more durable.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-10 07:37:36
Writing about the Firestone Winterhawk 3 given 48% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Got them as a used set of four. All same age - 2 years. The previous driver seemed to be an honest person. So nothing to say about that. I was used to having Uniroyals on my previous car. No comparison to them. In dry and wet conditions the tyres are quite all right, but last winter luckily gave us a bit of slush and snow. The car behaved not good. Steering wasn't put through to the road. I'll buy a pair of new ones soon. It'll not be the Winterhawk 3 again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-12 21:12:01
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 79% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
I've driven around 50-60k km on these tyres. I didn't get to experience much snow because I live in Croatia but I was very satisfied with these tyres. The only complaint is that the comfort was not great and road feedback was suboptimal. I would recommend buying these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 06:59:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre