Ford Focus MK3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus MK3.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus MK3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus MK3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (7) 93% 91% 94% 93% 94% 98%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (18) 91% 95% 88% 92% 94% 93%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (106) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 84%
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (32) 94% 90% 89% 89% 86% 91%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (26) 87% 91% 83% 85% 87% 90%
Michelin Alpin 5 (19) 86% 95% 87% 79% 88% 91%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (36) 90% 94% 88% 88% 83% 89%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (16) 88% 93% 88% 74% 85% 83%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (17) 89% 95% 86% 81% 83% 85%
Nokian WeatherProof (26) 82% 88% 82% 82% 74% 89%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (66) 93% 88% 86% 89% 77% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (200) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 81%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (30) 86% 87% 80% 83% 87% 80%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (63) 88% 87% 82% 82% 78% 82%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (75) 90% 83% 81% 78% 82% 79%
Sava Eskimo HP2 (12) 86% 81% 77% 78% 85% 75%
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (25) 88% 85% 76% 81% 78% 84%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin Primacy 4 (71) 86% 83% 77% 79% 84% 84%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (64) 87% 81% 78% 78% 73% 77%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Michelin Primacy 3 (161) 86% 81% 78% 78% 68% 81%
Michelin Energy Saver (125) 83% 72% 76% 71% 85% 79%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Davanti DX640 (62) 81% 72% 79% 78% 68% 82%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (196) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (179) 83% 76% 77% 72% 77% 70%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Michelin Primacy LC (11) 81% 77% 64% 65% 70% 86%
Accelera Beta (10) 86% 62% 62% 56% 93% 79%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (188) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Sportiva Compact (6) 88% 70% 72% 70% 68% 68%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (227) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (56) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (89) 75% 62% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (147) 80% 69% 70% 67% 65% 64%
Aptany RA301 (15) 75% 70% 70% 69% 53% 68%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (124) 77% 67% 61% 59% 70% 71%
Landsail LS388 AS (38) 77% 70% 72% 68% 73% 76%
Davanti DX390 (16) 69% 59% 63% 57% 65% 68%
Infinity INF 050 (18) 64% 45% 57% 52% 76% 49%
Zeta Ztr10 (28) 59% 44% 50% 50% 62% 58%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Continental ProContact (5) 58% 58% 38% 46% 55% 34%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Kormoran Gamma B2 (17) 58% 34% 46% 41% 46% 56%
Infinity INF 05 (67) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45%
Wanli S1088 (83) 57% 35% 41% 38% 58% 38%

Ford Focus MK3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I absolutely swear by these tyres, used them on my ford focus for several years now and wouldn't be without them during the winter. Superb grip during the wet/sleety roads during our lovely Scottish winter weather. Far superior to some of the cheaper Chinese tyres I've used in the past. Do yourself a favour during winter time and buy yourself a set of these, you won't be disappointed. I cant recommend them enough.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-07 11:42:07
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I had to change all 4 tyres on my Focus 215/50/R17 95W XL after 4 years (since new) and 87126 km/54137mles. The original tyres where Michelin Primacy HP and I think they lasted a lot (they still had legal thread on them) but besides endurance they where a very bad tyre. At the end of they're life, the grip on dry was very poor and on wet roads....well...... very tail happy. Out with the old and in with the new Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2. First off, the comfort level it's huge in comparison. A very very comfortable tyre that absorbs bumps and potholes very well and a quiet tyre... most of the times. The grip is good too in the dry and I didn't had yet a chance to drive on a wet road (I live In S-E of Spain and we don't get to much rain even now in winter) but instead I drove on a damp-ish road and it was ok (more updates on this when it rains). The inputs feel ok, it doesn't loose traction easy and again, a very smooth tyre. The negatives: -from 50-60 km/h and again around 140km/h there is a noise/humming kind of coming from the tyres and I don't know why is it doing that. I had the tyres balanced and aligned of course. - I had to drive on a dirt road for about 400-500m and I guess, because of the design/patern of the tyre, the side of the car and the back of course got very very dusty. I bet on a wet day the side of the car will get very very dirty but maybe it's a good thing - water evacuation... will see and I will come back on that. - maybe because it absorbs bumps very well it feels like a soft tyre and I am afraid that they will not last as much as the MIchelins but time will tell. I am very happy with my choice and I hope they will last me at least 60k km. I was not happy about the price though but it's not the manufacturers fault. It's an expensive size 215/50/R17. I paid 517 fited and alignment and everything, but in comparison for 4 Michelin Primacy 4 I would have had to pay 635. For me that's a good saving, Maybe next time I will downgrade to a 16'' rim because they take 205/55/R16 and that's 410 for the Michelin and about 370 for the Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-02 18:49:12
Writing about the Sava Eskimo HP2 given 82% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
Second winter on these tyres. Very good for the price, solid when dry, better than most competitors when wet, haven't really had a chance to test it in real snow, but at what little there was they were good. Feedback is good, better than expected for a winter tyre. It's comfortable, a bit noisy but the frequency of the noise is not anoying for me, it relatively high piched hum. I recommend this tyre and I will buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-15 07:33:14
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 91% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I've switched to this tyres from nokian wr a3. And the difference is like night and day. Nokians was quite bad tyre simply to start moving on snow sufrace, even on flat road. This was the case from the very beginning of using nokians. On blizzaks i've stopped on steep hill coverd with snow behind a car which wasn't able to move further up and then just move on and pass this car without any problems. They are clearly soft tyres, but with nice neutral balance on dry and wet conditions. Let's see how they would behave when a bit weared.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 20:03:44
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 89% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Had those tires for one summer (and than i bought different wheels). They are just very very good, wet or dry always fun to drive with them. My only negativ for those tires is comfort level(both comfort and noise).. but i i gues we cant have all ... Thats actually only reason im switching for goodyear eagle asym5 for my new rims.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-08 20:32:45
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 78% (215-50-17-)
Driving on for 10000 miles
I have bought those tyres before last winter, so this is my second winter. I would start with positives - the tyre feel like summer tire, perfect grip in dry and wet... really love to drive them hard in those conditions. Comfort of tire and noise level is ok for me, wear seems ok and i think about 40k km is possible before reaching 3mm limit. Meanwhile on fresh snow tires are just fine but on icy roads / freezed snow the car dosnt handle good at all, it had hard time to grip and i was actually scared to drive more than 50km/h on country roads. So i would say those arent the heavy winter tires, more like all season tires in my opinion. If you experience heavy snow winters i would look for smg else. But for me they are perfect since we have those conditions only few days a year. Will be looking for smg else for next winter tires tho.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-08 20:25:58
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 80% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
bought two for the front of my diesel focus on a 2012 plate. at first I thought I was losing efficiency, but not the case. a new battery during august reset all my stats and now I have improved my efficiency by 1.5 mpg, 54 to 55.7. they hold the road well, corner lovely, reasonably quiet and very little rumble feedback. not sure what they are going to be like in the snow or icy roads, but if you drive to the conditions then you should be ok. i really dont see an issue with the Davantis, I am having the rear tyres done this afternoon, so will have a full set. it may be that these are best suited to the smaller family car rather than the racing maniacs cars, having said that i have cornered at 60 mph without any slide, so feel quite safe with these.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-26 12:23:25
Writing about the Continental ProContact given 56% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
I got them on my company car for the summer 2019, so nothing crazy. They are reasonnable in the dry and they squeal very early before understeering safely. They also do well in extreme heat. Not very impressive in the wet, but least they will not try to kill you. Noisy and slightly harsh at highway speeds. Surprisingly sturdy off-road (keeping in mind it's fitted on an FWD compact car), decent grip and no puncture by pinching the sidewall. That would probably a great tire for a van, but perhaps not the best choice for a car.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-25 18:32:21
Writing about the Sportiva Compact given 50% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 average miles
I've bought these for my ford focus estate 1.6 tdci 3 years ago. I didnt know much back then and I wouldn't buy these tyres again. The grip in wet is terrible, however it's pretty good in dry and it aquaplanes pretty good. I've done around 40k km on these and I'll probably use them for another 20 so the wear is good.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-09 23:03:48
Writing about the Aptany RA301 given 44% (235-35-18-)
Driving on for 8000 miles
These are the fastest wearing tyres I have ever bought. My last set lasted 30,000 miles, these are shot ofter 8,000
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-04 06:48:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre