Ford Focus MK3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus MK3.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus MK3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus MK3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (11) 88% 86% 88% 90% 93% 94%
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (43) 92% 88% 87% 88% 85% 91%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Michelin Alpin 5 (23) 85% 93% 84% 77% 91% 89%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (77) 92% 89% 82% 85% 90% 84%
Fulda SportControl (40) 92% 87% 85% 83% 85% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (234) 93% 90% 86% 88% 80% 81%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (20) 88% 90% 86% 76% 88% 82%
Nokian zLine (83) 91% 90% 89% 87% 76% 85%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (98) 88% 85% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 (36) 83% 91% 78% 82% 87% 85%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (48) 89% 92% 83% 86% 83% 86%
Sava Eskimo HP2 (25) 85% 82% 78% 78% 82% 80%
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (35) 87% 85% 77% 80% 80% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (307) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (110) 89% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (87) 87% 83% 74% 71% 84% 85%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (61) 84% 83% 82% 82% 86% 82%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (111) 89% 85% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (46) 85% 85% 76% 80% 86% 76%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (80) 87% 81% 78% 79% 74% 77%
Kleber Quadraxer 2 (14) 82% 75% 87% 82% 83% 87%
Michelin Primacy 4 (152) 85% 81% 74% 77% 82% 84%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (58) 86% 81% 80% 79% 74% 72%
Avon ZV5 (112) 84% 78% 77% 77% 71% 77%
Nokian WeatherProof (31) 80% 84% 79% 79% 74% 87%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver (136) 83% 71% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (36) 87% 91% 79% 81% 62% 80%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Michelin Primacy HP (198) 85% 75% 77% 74% 77% 76%
Michelin Primacy LC (12) 82% 79% 67% 68% 73% 88%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (193) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (64) 76% 86% 70% 69% 75% 80%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Sailun Atrezzo Elite (19) 85% 74% 76% 66% 67% 76%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (134) 83% 81% 74% 74% 67% 74%
Sportiva Compact (7) 89% 70% 73% 71% 70% 70%
Davanti DX640 (93) 79% 71% 75% 73% 66% 79%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (198) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 (23) 78% 57% 67% 72% 80% 86%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (75) 79% 86% 76% 72% 62% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (61) 79% 73% 72% 71% 67% 72%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (20) 78% 63% 74% 64% 66% 77%
Accelera Beta (11) 80% 59% 59% 53% 94% 75%
Firestone Winterhawk 3 (8) 78% 69% 69% 68% 75% 73%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (161) 79% 69% 69% 67% 63% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (137) 77% 68% 63% 60% 70% 71%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (35) 73% 66% 67% 68% 59% 68%
Aptany RA301 (18) 74% 66% 68% 67% 50% 66%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Continental ProContact (11) 73% 69% 65% 67% 62% 60%
Davanti DX390 (24) 69% 60% 62% 60% 65% 63%
Triangle SporteX TH201 (25) 71% 52% 58% 55% 66% 66%
Infinity INF 050 (19) 66% 47% 59% 54% 78% 51%
Imperial Ecodriver 5 (1) 80% 40% 70% 60% 70% 30%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Zeta Ztr10 (31) 59% 44% 48% 46% 60% 60%
Durun A One (21) 67% 46% 59% 51% 45% 49%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Kormoran Gamma B2 (18) 58% 33% 46% 41% 48% 56%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%
Firemax FM601 (5) 53% 30% 43% 38% 38% 55%

Ford Focus MK3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 given 80% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
My initial Review on these tires Dunlop LM705/Lemans-V ( Asia Market )
Previous Dunlop tire experience was Blu response European tire.
Done (4K miles) They seem ok until now it's too early break in period " 4 months " wait until winter have a better option on them.
1. High comfortable tire low nose
2. Good dry breaking
3. Handling ok
4. At least Made in Japan
My next review will have allround feedback on Summer/Winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-04 21:01:05
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 70% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
In terms of road feedback, steering precision and grip on dry & wet roads, these are definitely the best touring tyres I've ever driven on! When finally losing and than regaining grip, it all goes progressive and predictable.
These elements contribute to a pleasant dynamic driving experience while feeling safe. Except for the aquaplaning behaviour, where the tyres in my experience do not offer enough safety margin.
The big upside: the PC6 can be so fun to drive... the 5 % of the time that traffic conditions and speed limits allow me to drive really sporty.
The downside: the rest of the time, me and my passengers have to live with quite uncomfortable tyres (noise and damping of road imperfections). Changing back from winter tyres, it was really a huge positive difference in terms of sportiness and hugely negative in terms of comfort.
Because of the aquaplaining resistance, I will replace the tyres at around 3 mm. Then the front tyres will have lasted about 27.000 km. That is correct, but not great for an expensive tyre.
Knowing what I know now, I would have offered some fun in favour of cost and comfort. I would have bought a tyre like the Goodyear EGP2, that appears to offer a similar safety level for a better TCO and better environmental impact. But since the PC7 seems to have improved and to offer more or less the same driving pleasure, it still might be my next tyre. We'll see.
tyre reviewed on 2023-05-16 14:28:01
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 given 83% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3750 spirited miles
Almost time to switch back to my summer tyres. So, here’s my impression of my “mild climate winter” tyres. I used to drive on Continental WinterContact TS860 winter tyres, but last winters, I noticed that I almost never drive on snow. And in spring and fall, when temperatures jump up and down, I was sometimes driving on my winter tyres at temperatures around 20°C. So now, I followed your advice and chose All Season tyres for the winter season. I drove them for about 6.000 km now in temperatures between -2 and +16 °C, in the dry and in lots of rain.
Just after switching to the Vector 4S, I had the same feeling as when I changed to winter tyres: I felt a bit unsecure while driving: compared to my summer tyres (Continental PremiumContact 6) the road contact of the V4S is noticeably less direct. Better than a winter tyre, but worse than a summer tyre. Once you realise the grip is actually present, the confidence comes back quickly. In fact, in terms of safety, I see it as a good thing: because it is so much fun to go quickly with the PC6, I sometimes feel tempted to go just that bit faster. The V4S isn’t that inviting, so I drive slower. Safe in winter, fun in summer, I can live with that.
And in terms of grip, the V4S does an excellent job: In the dry, it is more than sufficient. The steering feedback is obviously less than with the PC6, but still more than enough to know what’s going on. In the wet, I was impressed by the grip on near freezing wet surfaces and by the aquaplaning resistance. And when the tyres start sliding, it all goes very gradually and controllable. Such a safe and stable tyre! In all aspects better and more pleasant than the TS860, which to be honest didn’t do bad at all for a winter tyre in the dry and in the wet.
Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to test the tyres on real snow. On muddy roads, light snow, frost and in salted snow/ice slush however, the V4S provides sufficient grip to steer, accelerate and brake without problems. In such conditions, other cars on summer tyres are the biggest risks one can encouter anyway, so I drive extra carefully then.
Comfort (noise and suspension) is just fine. Slightly better than the TS860 and way better than the PC6.
I noticed an increase in fuel consumption of about 0,2 l/100 km when driving in similar conditions as with the summer tyres.
In terms of wear, the tyres lost about 0.4 mm. tread depth (almost no difference between front and rear), which is in line with the AutoBild wear test (70.000 km). If I replace the tyres at the minimum winter tyre depth (4 mm.), I will be able to drive about 50.000 km on them. Very reasonable (My PC6 front tyres will last about 30.000 km).
In short: thank you Goodyear for getting me safely through the winter season. And now let’s get the Conti’s back on!
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-24 17:42:28
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 91% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 47000 average miles
After Long term review close 6 years, Done 47K miles on Ecsta HS51 version. I'm very pleased , one of the best tyres *All weather conditions excellent . * The rear still have tread on them . It's time for new set of tyres . I recommend these tyres to all want a great Tyre with a reasonable price not too expensive with high quality and durability.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-28 22:53:25
Writing about the Firemax FM601 given 27% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
I was in a bit of a problem with cash needed to get some tyres for mot. local tyre company said these were high end of budget range. these are terrible tyres i would never buy them again. slides in wet very low traction they squeal in dry conditions even at low speed around a roundabout but grip is ok wearing fast done about 3000 miles i would guess about 1/3 down on front. i drive a 1.0 ford focus so not a very fast car and can really tell these are poor on it. paid £280 for 4 tyres which isn't a lot and yes they are budget but should have paid a few more quid and got a mid range tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-12 11:35:56
Writing about the Durun A One given 59% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Put 4 on brand new. 3 years later and only 4000 miles done, all 4 have a ring crack in the inner tread, all the way around the entire circumference of the tyre. Tread still 6mm, all good on the outside, but MOT pulled it up. Basically really poor quality rubber that biodegrades with age, not miles. Avoid unless you do high mileage. Otherwise, the car (Ford Focus) feels comfortable and grippy in all conditions. It only weighs 1.3 tonne though, so on a heavier car these may not grip as well.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-30 15:51:00
Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given 54% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
Had 4 of these fitted within a few months of each other, tpms light came on on the motorway, stopped as soon as possible to find no air would go in the tyre, changed for space saver to discover the side wall had come away from the cord inner side wall, 2 months later exactly the same issue again, 2 months after that car fails mot because of guess what, yep inner side walls both showing cords how on earth i never had a blow out with all 4 tyres like this i'll never know, unsurprisingly i would not recommend or buy these tyres again
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-15 14:22:33
Writing about the Imperial Ecodriver 5 given 57% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12600 average miles
Good performance on dry roads (urban/motorway) in warm conditions. Seems to perform well in cornering and acceleration. Braking performance is not so good compared to better brands (see: any brand priced above Imperial). When conditions become cold and very wet these tyres are quite poor when cold and do not provide much confidence in handling at all. Road noise is very loud unless set to high pressures. The benefits of high pressure means good rolling resistance behaviours at high pressures though (Front 38 psi, Rear 44 psi). The noise doesn't decrease much if setting pressures to manufacturer ratings (Front 32 psi, Rear 36 psi). This applies on motorways and urban roads above 60 km/h. Comfort is not good under any condition at any reasonable speed (>30km/h) as all impacts are felt even at lower pressures. Feedback is okay but nothing special beyond the tyre making you very aware that it's slipping a lot in wet conditions on corners. Fuel economy is quite good under dry conditions and high pressures, as noted above. Overall would not buy again, only had the chance to test these tyres as they were fitted new by dealer upon taking ownership of vehicle.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-04 23:27:05
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 100% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 43000 average miles
This will be my last update on the Escata Hs51. I have done 43K miles. All type of weather conditions are excellent: grip, handling, breaking High quality and good price. No issues with blow outs for normal high speed driving excellent. For track or extreme need a upgrade for specific tyres (Track, Ultimate extreme). I recommend them for all. Winter time hopefully be updating or upgrading to the Hs52 or Ps version Will have a update and throw review on them.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-17 12:22:07
Writing about the Triangle SporteX TH201 given 63% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
I had these fitted on my 2013 Ford Focus. They are a perfectly acceptable tyre at a good price; however, I wouldn't recommend them for anything more than conservative driving. I found handling and grip to be insufficient when driving around corners as a reasonable speed and wet grip was a bit of an issue at anything like half throttle.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-27 12:36:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 85% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-04 13:57:13
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 83% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Very stable tyre. Great feedback and handling. Very good price for the size. Too soon to tell anything About the wear.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-29 21:38:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre