Vredestein Ultrac Satin

The Vredestein Ultrac Satin is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 45 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 398,885 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 86%
Wear 86%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 86%

First On MarketDecember 2015
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width205 - 255mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ultrac Satin is ranked 7th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Ultrac.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

12th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test
7th of 9 tyres
  • Very good aquaplaning resistance, relatively low rolling resistance, good grip on gravel.
  • Long braking distances in the dry and wet, lower levels of comfort.
  • The Vredestein Ultrac Satin is a tyre we'd like to see trade some of its aquaplaning performance for some more rubber on the ground for improvements in the grip tests, as subjectively the tyre was nice to drive on, it just lacked grip.
View Full Test >>
2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 10 tyres
  • Great price / performance ratio, good wet handling, low noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Average traction on gravel.
View Full Test >>
2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test
6th of 20 tyres
  • Very high aquaplaning resistance, good comfort, low noise.
  • Long wet braking, poor dry stability and long dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB71
225/45 R 17 94 V XLCB71
215/45 R 17 91 V XLDB71
205/50 R 17 93 V XLCB71
225/45 R 17 94 V XLCB71
205/50 R 17 93 V XLCB71
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB71
215/45 R 17 91 V XLDB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Vredestein Ultrac Satin >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Ultrac Satin. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/45 R18 £117.99 - £133.63 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £89.99 - £104.95 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £117.99 - £140.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 15 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Vredestein Ultrac Satin Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Dealer oredred these especially for my car, being so new he hadn't any in stock. In the past I've used Michelin Pilot Sport 3s and Goodyear Eagle F1 AS2. These Veedesteins are up there with the best. Massive improvement over the Bridgestone Potenzas that were on before - much more comfortable, less noise, much better grip. Will definitely buy these again.
Helpful 286 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2016
Given 70% while driving a Honda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,500 spirited miles
I'm disappointed in this tyre, handling and comfort are really good but grip in the wet is awful. Sometimes there is a lack of grip on very hot smooth surfaces which didn't happen with Hankook, Conti and Bridgestone tyres.
If you are only driving your car in dry conditions this tyre is amazing, so it's perfect for weekend cars. But I can't recommend it to anyone for a daily driving.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Changed from Bridgestone potenza 050a to these. I was looking for more comfort (over bumps and quieter) and better wet grip. I definitely got both of these but I lost the precise handling and road feedback of the performance tyres. After these (55000km) I changed to Goodyear as3's which gave me back the proper sporty handling plus very good confident wet grip and low noise levels.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2023
Have you driven on the Vredestein Ultrac Satin tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Ultrac Satin? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Ultrac Satin >

Latest Vredestein Ultrac Satin Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Nissan X Trail (225/55 R19) on mostly town for 20,000 easy going miles
Fitted to a Nissan X-Trail 7 seater. They have lasted well, the fronts stayed on the front for the life of the tyre and we've had 20,000 miles out of them, down to the UK legal limit (1.6mm). The rears still have about 4mm left, however are perishing after 4.5 years, where the tread meets the sidewall they are cracked all round. They're still an MOT pass, however I think they'll probably fail next year.

I'd rate these tyres as good value. At the time I bought in 2018 they were slightly cheaper than any premium brand. First impressions were very good, however grip did worsen over the years, it seems the tyres get quite a lot harder as they wear down. Wet grip under braking has always been good, even when worn low, so safety for a family car has overall been very good. However wet grip cornering has been fair to poor. Fine for everyday driving where we live (outer London), but not so good if you regularly drive fast twisty A roads. Grip under acceleration on our front wheel drive (open diff) car has also been fair to poor in both wet and dry.

Noise was a minor issue, perhaps more to do with the car than the tyres. However moving to Goodyear now I've noticed they're quieter and have a less intrusive sound on motorways. The Vredestein's are more for comfort than for performance, however the noise does let them down a little. Handling and feedback are not strong points for these tyres, as expected.

Overall a good choice if they're around 15-20% cheaper than a premium brand, however I found spending slightly more recently got us a better tyre (however only 1000 miles driven).
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2024
Given 72% while driving a BMW 530d Auto SE LCI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
These are not a bad tyre, they do everything well, they are a comfort orientated tyre and in that area they are Good. I got them as affordable Tyres when switching from Runflats which were on the Car(Runflats are Horrible Things Dangerous No Grip) I think its fair to say I am a experienced driver after 40yrs and well over the 2million miles driven, these tyres have given me no nasty surprises they have been driven at high speeds in Germany well over 120mph nice and stable, in the wet they let you know conditions are wet, one could argue they have been designed to let you feel its wet without losing grip, I have them only front axle, so steering only on my car, they dont let lose suddenly, if i get a bit of understeer in the wet its done very politely needing just a tuck off the throttle to bring the grip back. What they do lack is that feel and response that encourages confidence if your a keen driver, my car is by no means a sports model, but she can lift her skirt and run 155mph so no slug, and they have been easy to live
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 81% while driving a Opel Insignia Sports Tourer Biturbo 4x4 (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles
I put on 4 of these when the previous Hankooks were replaced due to bad alignment having caused them to wear out on the inside tread. First impression was that they need to be aired up to 3-3.2bar or they feel wobbly in sidewalls, it felt like someone was rocking the car sideways on bad, bumpy roads. Ones that were done they were just fine and I pushed them hard on many occasions without being let down
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.4T 150 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Astra 1.4 150 HP, 2015 model. High wear, front set was down half by 10K mark, gave good feedback however had large understeer in the wet. Dry handling was decent and the tyre felt sharp through fast bends on the dry. Very comfortable with decent noise levels. Would by again for the price however need to improve on the wear and wet handling.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2023
Audi (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Had these on my c7 audi A6, for the price they are a great tyre, very quiet and offers good grip both wet and dry, the only problem I ended up having was one of the read tyres went out of shape near the end of their life and caused vibration, maybe it was a weak tyre but I'd buy again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Renault Renault Megane III Estate 1.5dci (130hp) (205/55 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
I looked closely at these tires for a long time and still bought it in the spring of 2021. After Pirelli Cinturato it is heaven and earth. It became 2 times quieter, the comfort also increased, the resistance to aquaplaning is remarkable. Wear during the run is minimal (a little bit in the front, like new in the back). If you want quality tires, this is it. Highly recommend
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Skoda (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
Excellent tyres also in wet, also indry. After the reading a lot s of reviews a decieded to try Vredestein Ultrac Satin, and I have to say : was the best choice! On my first trip I got cca 500 km strong raining, but my car was fixed perfectly on the highway. Before I had Pirelli Cinturanto P7 for 50.000 km. I had on my old tyres always 4mm grip, but on the wet roads it was dangerous, very hard and too noise. Than I decieded to buy Vredestein tyres. With Vredestein Ultrac Satin you dont feel any bumps on the road, more comfortable than Pirellis, and very low noise level. The consumption is the same like like with Pirelli. After 4500 km I cannot say anything about wear, they are like new. I will definitely buy this tyres again, top quality!!
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 GT SPORT 140PS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
One caveat to this review: I only had these tyres on the rear of a Mk5 Golf GT TDI with standard suspension. That said, I'm just about to put a set on the front. On the rear, these tyres followed through perfectly. I live in Cornwall, with lots of uneven, bumpy, twisty roads, and they put up with a lot. Wear wise I've had them on for just about 2 1/2 years, and they've done probably around 50k miles, and still have plenty of tread. In the dry, they give me confidence that if I want to boot it round a sweeping corner the rear end will stay on the road, really great. In the wet, they feel planted and secure. Comfortable too. Only negative is I would say they had increased road noise over other tyres I've used, but they are on the rear of a Golf which is renowned for having awful rear noise so who knows! Probably among the best tyres I've ever used, so definitely getting another set.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021
Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen GTi Mk6 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I would not buy this tyre again. Grip is good in the wet, but there's not much feel to it and the grip under hard acceleration in dry is really not very good. For a sport car just go for the premium brands.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 (245/40 R18) on mostly town for 125 average miles
Just have them for 18 days on an Audi A4 B8 2015 Quattro 190 HP with standard suspension. The feedback is very good. I'm impressed with the comfort because they behave the same way as my 17' wheels behave over bumps. Stability is much improved compared to my 4 year old Continental Premium Contact.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Skoda (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
When choosing new tyres I looked into a whole range of factors and eventually plumpt for Vredestein Ultrac Satin. I was replacing a set of Pirelli P zero nero that were dire. The Vredestein tyres are with out doubt the best tyres I have fitted to a car. Not a make I had come across before I did my research but I am so pleased I did. The transformation in feel and control of my VRS Fabia estate is sensational, I can now truly have some fun with it rather than worrying about when it was going to kill me! The ride has been improved so much, wet weather driving has stopped being a lottery of when will it let go. These new tyres just give firm predictable grip under cornering and braking. I can't conclusively give a view on wear as they haven't been on the car long enough, but unless they wear drastically fast I will definitely use these tyres again.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021
Volvo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I drive a Volvo S60 2.5T with 240hp (2008). I have had the car now for 7 years, and have driven the car with new Michelin Primacy 3, and subsequently with Goodyear Asymmetric 3. The Michelins were worn out after 25.000km. Big disappointment. The Goodyears lasted about 35.000km, but at the end they were a nightmare: no traction at all in wet weather. After reading the reviews, I decided to try the Vredestein Ultrac Satins. These are hands down the best tyres I have ever had. Exceptional handling in the wet! Superb road feel back, and the ride is so quiet!! Bumps in the road seem like non-existent. I've had these tyres now for about a month and have driven some 2000 km, and they constantly astound me in their quality. Of course, I cannot say anything about the wear, but I am really impressed. This has nothing to do about a budget tyre: this is pure quality!
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2020