Hankook Ventus Prime 4

The Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 125,313 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 90%
Wear 84%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 91%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width195 - 255mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - C
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)68 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ventus Prime 4 is ranked 5th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

11

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

13th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 Motorhome Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 10 tyres
  • Brand summer tyre with convincing driving characteristics on wet and dry roads, good safety margins in aquaplaning, neutral and secure wet and dry handling, quiet pass-by noise, low price level, very good value for money.
  • Average comfort.
View Full Test >>
2024 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test
7th of 21 tyres
  • Dynamic driving behavior on wet and dry roads, short dry braking distances, low rolling resistance.
  • Moderate tread life.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2024 ADAC Summer Tyre Test
8th of 16 tyres
  • The Hankook Ventus Prime4 achieves only a satisfactory rating, primarily due to its wet performance. On dry roads, it provides satisfactory steering feedback and is considered safe at the limit, with its braking distance rated as good compared to other tyres in the test. However, on wet roads, the Ventus Prime4 narrowly misses a good rating in braking distance measurements and clearly falls short in wet handling, offering a medium level of grip and suboptimal integration of longitudinal and lateral forces. Its aquaplaning resistance is also rated as just satisfactory. In terms of environmental impact, the Ventus Prime4 receives a good rating, with both its projected mileage and wear rated as good. Its weight is considered good for efficiency, and it nearly achieves a very good rating in fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
205/55R16 91 VCA69
205/55R16 94 W XLCA69
205/55R16 94 V XLCA69
205/55R16 91 WCA69
205/55R16 91 VCA69
205/55R16 91 HCA69
205/55R16 91 HCA69
205/55R16 91 WCA69
205/55R16 94 W XLCA69
205/55R16 94 V XLCA69
205/55R16 91 WCA69
205/55R16 91 HCA69
205/60R16 92 HBA69
205/60R16 96 V XLBA69
205/60R16 96 W XLBA69
205/60R16 96 V XLBA69
205/60R16 92 HBA69
205/55R16 91 VCA69
205/55R16 94 V XLCA69
215/60R16 99 V XLBA69
205/60R16 92 VAA68
215/60R16 95 VAA69
205/60R16 96 V XLBA69
205/60R16 96 W XLBA69
205/55R16 94 W XLCA69
215/60R16 99 V XLBA69
205/60R16 92 HBA69
215/70R16 100 HAB70
17 inch
225/45R17 91 YCA69
225/50R17 94 WCA71
215/55R17 94 WCA69
205/50R17 93 W XLBA69
215/55R17 94 VBA69
225/60R17 99 VBA69
225/45R17 94 W XLCA69
225/60R17 99 VBA69
215/55R17 98 H XLAA69
215/55R17 94 WCA69
215/45R17 91 Y XLAA68
215/55R17 98 W XLBA69
215/55R17 94 WCA69
225/45R17 94 W XLCA69
225/50R17 94 WCA71
215/55R17 94 WAA69
215/55R17 94 WAA69
225/45R17 91 YCA69
225/45R17 94 W XLCA69
225/50R17 98 W XLBA69
215/55R17 98 W XLBA69
215/55R17 94 VBA69
205/50R17 93 WBA69
225/50R17 98 W XLBA69
205/50R17 89 VCA69
205/50R17 93 W XLBA69
225/45R17 91 YCA69
215/55R17 94 VBA69
18 inch
225/40R18 92 W XLCA69
245/40R18 97 W XLCA69
225/40R18 92 W XLCA69
245/45R18 100 W XLCA69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 >>

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus Prime 4

2022-04-18 - Hi, does the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 in size 225/55 R17 have a Rim Fringe Protection? Thanks

Unfortunately we don't haev details of the rim protection in each size yet, we recommended you speak to Hankook directly who should be able to advise.


2022-07-04 - I chose these tyres just a second ago in 205/60/r16. But I am wondering: Is there difference in performance between the 2 variants in this size (92v vs 96H)? I found the ventus prime 3 which seems to have a difference in performance between those 2 types.

The EU label is the best option to see basic performance stats, it might be they're the same tyre or very similar.


2024-02-17 - The tire size specification for my vehicle is 215/60 r16 95s. Would there be any adversity if I put 215/60 R16 99V XL hankook ventus prime 4s on it?

No, you can always go up in load rating. There might be a potential small loss in comfort compared to a 95 tyre, and an improvement in handling, however these differences are very small.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £105.88 - £124.31 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £74.10 - £108.85 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £98.32 - £132.58 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £125.44 - £139.19 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £123.01 - £138.28 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £138.59 - £153.56 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £142.44 - £198.56 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus Prime 4 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 10,000 spirited miles
The new Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is perfect tyres in Greek roads.
Helpful 260 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2022
Given 99% while driving a Honda Civic (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is one of the best summer tyres. My car loves theses tires because it brings out its qualities. The Prime 4 is quiet and performs exemplary in dry and wet conditions. After 8000 km I can say I would buy it again.
Helpful 110 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2022
Given 99% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 16v NFX (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
I recently 'jump' from incredible Conti sport Contact 2 to these phenomenal tyres.In my dimension (205/45 R16W XL) these tyres provides phenomenal grip.They don't need warming up and my car refuses to understeer no matter what i do.They are almost 20km/h above Sport contact 2 on the limit with better steering feeling,less fuel consumption in high speeds and of course less tyrewear.I don't know what magical they did at Hankook development department centre but these tyres are the best i ever driven(i am car mechanic so i've tested many cars with many tyre brands).In Greek roads this tyre suits very well with no much compromise in comfort for the feedback and cornering stability provides.Try it and you will be suprised in many ways ;)
Helpful 95 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2022
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus Prime 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus Prime 4 >

Latest Hankook Ventus Prime 4 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Acura Integra Type R (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
Undoubtedly one of the best tires in the premium segment, with excellent value for money. They provide an excellent grip and driving experience, regardless of the condition of the road surface. I recommend them!
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2024
Given 89% while driving a Honda BRV (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Get this fullset new tyre replace my old tyre Michelin Primacy 3ST in Feb 2024...this new model tyre from Hankook are really something...this tyre perform well in my country with hot weather (tropical) and heavy rain...quiet, comfy, good rolling resistance, most important is it have good balance tyre and no vibration in low speed or high speed..push hard in curve/twisty road with no problem in dry grip..already test speeding at highway in rainy day, speeding 14+ kmh car is very stable.. i personally feel this tyre perform very well and good compare to previous tyre i used (Michelin Primacy 3ST)...definitely will buy this set Hankook Ventus Prime 4 again..
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 95% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
The tires were bought new this year. It may be a little early for a concrete test and description, but still...the tires "behave" fantastically. The grip is excellent (even now, when it's 4 degrees in the morning). They are quiet and relatively comfortable. Road feedback is perfect (unlike the previous GYs). For once, the "fuel" consumption is quite high compared to the previous tires (GY EP2) (about 20% higher), but time will tell when they are a little more worn (rolling resistance of new ones) and warmer outside - EV is particularly "sensitive" here (rolling resistance)! In summary, an extremely good tire for a very very good price. I would definitely buy it again!
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2024
Given 67% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 SPORTSCOMBI (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 11,000 easy going miles
Overall a very good tire. Had zero issues with them except excessive wear. Mostly country road driving mixed with some highways from time to time. No spirited driving at all really, just according to speed limits.

All in all it is a good handling tire, safe in all conditions but after 18000km the tires are down to the wear indicator. At this point the tires feels very odd and not trustworthy. I will not buy hankook tires after this excessive wear and strange feeling at the end of tires life.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 GTA (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
The best summer tyre I drove was the Continental premium contact. And I wanted to try something different, and I need to say that I didn't regret, hankook ventus prime 4 is very good replacement. I am more than satisfied, and I would recommend that tyre.
Thanks
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2024
Given 88% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.5 BlueHDi (205/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Good quality, quiet, soft and resistant tyre. Provides excellent rim protection and good cornering agility. I put on 4 new tyres about a month ago to replace some Michelin Primacy 4, and it was definitely an upgrade over the original tyres, especially in terms of comfort and noise. When I need to change tyres in the future, I'll certainly choose the same ones, I recommend them!
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 CDI (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 easy going miles
A very good mid range tyre , soo impressed fitted a set to the wifes car. car feels planted and quiet , my last set was the goodyear asy 6 which was dredfull.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2024
Given 80% while driving a (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Previously was using Goodyear Triplemax 2 at the front and Ventus Prime 3 at the rear. Changed all 4 to Ventus Prime 4 just a few days ago and here is the difference -

Positive points
1. Less understeer
2. Felt the car glides smoother on the road.

Negative points
1. Slightly less steering feel.

I will update more as I drive.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Citro├źn C5 (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
When new: grip on dry and wet was very good. Always had a good feedback. Low noise and fuel consumption normal. But the tyre came new with 6.5 mm. Ok, they were cheap. Now they have 2-3 mm and they really got bad now. Especially in the rain. I would not buy them again. To high wear.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2023
Given 98% while driving a Mazda 2 1.5 sport (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 500 average miles
I replaced my OEM Toyo Proxes R55a in185/60/16 to 195/55/16 and I'm very happy cause they have excellent grip in all conditions, brakes, fuel consumption, cornering, and good comfort as well....it's a perfect choice...so amazing in good price!! I would buy it again!!!
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,500 spirited miles
Hi,


I had left a review a few months back and want to share my updated mid term review.

1) the tyres still hold/handle like they did when new
2) they are still smoother then any competitor I have used
3) though smoother then competition they are somewhat stiffer when compared to brand new state, I did replace them with a new set to check and I can confirm the new set is about %20 smoother but please dont be fooled from this comment they definately are smoother then any competition period.

4) the only area I would give them 6-7 stars is wear, they arent your typical 60-70k km tyres like bridgestone or pirelli with hard compound,they are a much smoother compound and obviously wear faster, I would say you would probably get 30000km's out of a pair without signs of wear and by 40000km they would definatley need replacement, not bad but not great either however again compaired to the price and what it has to offer this is actually a very good result.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Audi (205/55 R16) on for 0 miles
Amazing dry grip
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2023