Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 84 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 774,862 miles driven, and 22 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 85%
Wear 89%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width175 - 255mm
Profile45 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - C
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)67 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The EfficientGrip Performance 2 is ranked 15th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

22

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

16th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 ADAC Summer Tyre Test
9th of 16 tyres
  • The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 only achieves a satisfactory rating, with its dry performance being the limiting factor. On dry surfaces, it provides just adequate steering feedback and does not exceed a satisfactory rating in handling at the limit. The insufficient steering feedback makes it challenging to accurately adjust the steering angle for curves, leading to a tendency for the test vehicle to oversteer during sudden evasion maneuvers. However, the tyre does achieve a clearly good rating in braking distance. Overall, its dry performance does not surpass a satisfactory outcome. On wet roads, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 narrowly misses a good rating in braking and aquaplaning but secures a good grade in wet handling due to its controllability. In terms of environmental impact, it falls just short of an excellent evaluation but still impresses with a very high projected mileage in the wear test, low wear, low tyre weight, and low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>
2024 Motorhome Summer Tyre Test
5th of 10 tyres
  • Balanced, safe handling qualities in wet and dry conditions, stable cornering and good grip, precise steering response, reliable aquaplaning qualities, pleasantly quiet rolling comfort.
  • Increased price level, slightly longer wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/65R15 88 HCA69
195/65R15 95 H XLBA69
185/65R15 92 T XLBA70
195/65R15 91 HBA68
195/65R15 91 VBA68
16 inch
205/60R16 96 V XLBA70
205/60R16 92 HBA70
215/60R16 99 W XLBA69
215/60R16 99 H XLBA69
215/60R16 99 V XLBA69
215/60R16 95 VAA68
215/60R16 95 VAA68
205/55R16 94 V XLAA69
205/55R16 94 V XLAA69
205/60R16 96 H XLAA70
205/60R16 96 H XLAA70
205/55R16 91 YCA69
205/60R16 92 VBA70
205/60R16 96 W XLBA70
205/55R16 94 W XLBA69
205/55R16 91 WBA69
205/55R16 91 VBA69
205/55R16 91 HBA69
17 inch
215/55R17 94 WAA67
215/55R17 94 WAA67
215/55R17 94 WBA70
205/50R17 93 V XLBA69
215/55R17 94 WAA67
205/50R17 93 W XLBA69
205/50R17 89 VCA69
215/55R17 94 WAA67
205/50R17 93 V XLAA70
215/55R17 98 W XLAB69
215/55R17 98 W XLAB69
205/50R17 93 V XLAA70
215/55R17 98 W XLAB69
215/55R17 98 W XLAB69
215/55R17 98 W XLAB69
225/50R17 94 WBA70
225/50R17 98 V XLBA70
225/45R17 94 W XLBA70
225/45R17 91 WCA70
215/55R17 98 W XLBA70
215/55R17 94 WBA69
225/50R17 98 W XLBA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

2020-07-15 - Thanks for all your excellent and comprehensive reviews! I usually put Goodyear tyres on my 2004 BMW 330Ci convertible as they almost always rate very highly in tests. It takes 205/50 R17 93Ws. I am attracted to the EfficientGrip Performance 2 as it scores very highly in all categories. The EU rating is A for wet grip and B for rolling resistance. It is described as a premium touring tyre. It seems to be new though and there aren’t as many tests available for it. My normal choice would have been the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5. This is also A rated for wet grip but only E for rolling resistance. It is described as a max performance tyre. Both of the above are available in the size I need and I am genuinely conflicted as to which of them would be the best choice for my BMW. It is a powerful car and heavy in convertible form. The two tyres each rate highly among their category peers (touring/ max performance) but, because of the different categories, I can’t find a review/ test that rates them against each other. The EfficientGrip seems to be perfectly adequate for the weight & speed ratings required for my car. I note that the Eagle F1 is the only option in larger tyre sizes that might be required for a high performance car and my feeling is that the Eagle F1 would be better suited for spirited driving but I am concerned about the E rating for rolling resistance. I would be grateful for your input in choosing between these and your advice as to the criteria for ultimately deciding between them. I would normally have picked the Eagle F1 but as these both score almost identically and the EfficientGrip scores better for rolling resistance and tyre life I am swinging towards it instead but maybe the E rating of the Eagle F1 isn’t all bad and there are other factors I should consider. Let me know what you think. Thanks.

If you prefer a comfortable ride above all else, at the expense of sporty handling, then the EfficientGrip Performance 2 range is the choice. For me, I would put the Asymmetric 5 on the vehicle as I like to enjoy driving, and the real world difference between B and E in rolling resistance doesn't amount to a huge amount of extra petrol over the life of a tyre!


2021-03-05 - Which one should I choose between these one and GY Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Im looking for size 225/45/17 for Audi A3.

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is the better tyre if you would prefer more comfort, and the Asymmetric 5 is the more sporty tyre.


2020-09-05 - What is the weight for a 205/55/16 tyre? Thanks

You can find the weight here


2020-10-24 - what is the country that made this model please? Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 size 205/55/16

It will depend on where you are in the world and what load and speed index you require. I suggest speaking to a local tyre dealer to find out where his stock of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is manufactured.


2021-04-07 - I am considering Goodyear EP2 and the BFG Advantage in 205/55/16 size. Inclination goes to the goodyear, but you say that the BFG is even more comfortable. Is there really a difference in comfort between these two? I have a Seat Leon which has some horrid tires, and want to swap them to the most comfortable on the market, but still retain some decent performance.

In my test the Goodyear and BFGoodrich were different load ratings so it's not the best comparison of comfort. I would suggest fitting the EfficientGrip Performance 2 as the other benefits of the tyre outweigh a very small increase in comfort for a tyre with lesser abilities overall.


2022-01-10 - What is the commanded cold Tyre pressure of the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance 2 205/55R/16 91W?

The tyre pressures are vehicle dependant so please check your handbook or door shut for the correct pressure.


2022-05-31 - I have a 2007 Mitsubishi Colt Czt with 205/45/16 tires. This car is the only one that i have and it serves all kind of purposes, i have bc coilovers and powerflex all around cause i like some spirited driving on the many twisted roads here in Greece. Since this tyre size has little options i'm between Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2, Michelin Pilot Sport 3 and Efficientgrip Performance 2. Due to different tyre categories each on is in i can't decide which one is better for my purpose.

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 will likely offer the best comfort, lowest fuel use and best wet grip. The Asymmetric 2 will likely handle the best in the dry, and the PS3 will be somewhere in between.


2023-02-22 - Would the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 or Michelin ePrimacy be better for overall efficiency and longevity for an MG5 EV?

There's a test appearing on the site tomorrow with both of them in. The e.Primacy has slightly lower energy use but the Goodyear has much better wet grip, while still having low energy use, so it depends how important rolling resistance is to you.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £62.76 - £107.78 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £70.62 - £128.26 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £88.75 - £155.50 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £113.05 - £159.86 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £81.30 - £102.91 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £104.32 - £139.37 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Been looking for new set of summer tyres after decided to change my wheels size too, I went from 17” wheels down to 16” and fitted new set of Goodyear efficient grip performance 2, latest model tyres, they were made in week 7 of 2020 and I fitted them in week 8 of 2020, absolutely brand new and fresh rubber. So far so good, traveled around 1000 miles and tyres are excellent, performance, comfort, even though they are smaller size there is no negative performance, corners great, braking in both dry and wet is good, car feels very positive to drive , noise level also good. This is the first review of these new model efficient grip performance as other reviews are for the older model, I been using the previous egp for years and now I think my tyres for the next few years are exactly those especially if they last as they are advertised . Highly recommend to try them. They are made in Germany too. 👍
Helpful 288 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I just bought these tires today and drove them for 50km. My previous tires were the predecessors: Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance. I drove them 53.000km on the same Golf MK5 and the thread went down to 4mm, I could still drive them for 20.000km more if I need to, but I wanted to refresh my Golf with better ride. This is just the initial impression, these tyres are similar to the old ones, which were already great except for the noise, they were noisy and the comfort was just average. The new ones are less noisy and more comfortable. I will update this review over time with more info.
Helpful 123 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2021
Given 98% while driving a Audi a3 s line (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Hello I am from Cyprus and my car is Audi A3 sportback. I have before Chinese tyres davandi and after intertrac tyres. Very bad tyres don’t buy this brands. After that I decided to buy a better tyres. For the last 3 years I used them Continental contisport contact 5. It was good tyres I don’t have anything bad to say about this tyres. After the Continental I did my research and I decided to buy the Goodyear efficiendgrip performance 2. I have this tyres 1 month now and it’s absolutely amazing tyres. I don’t Know yet for the wet grip and for the wear. I pushed my car to the limits and my tyres give me a very good feeling they give me confidence a safety filing. I have to say it’s very comfortable tyres I don’t feel the pumps and the bad roads in Cyprus and it’s very silently too I don’t hear anything to the cabin. I will give a better review in 6 months. I am sorry for my bad English
Helpful 138 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2020
Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 >

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 Reviews

Acura 3.2 TL (215/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Not a review. The Goodyear EfficiëntGrip Performance 2 has a tread depth of 8,2mm from new. Measured in the size 215/55R17 94W
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2024
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 32 average miles
I drove well over 50.000 km with this tyre, from new to ... well, not worn, because there was still plenty of tread left, but at the beginning of the third season with them, they became quite loud, which was bothering me a lot. took them for a check and as we took the tyre of we noticed that sidewalls were a bit soft, but still safe and normally drivable. if it weren't for the noise - I would still be driving them. in fact, my brother in law has them now and are still going strong.

tyre is super comfortable, super fuel efficient (after them I fitted the car with Michelin Primacy 4+ which never got close to them), offers plenty of grip in all driving scenarios (bar the winter time, they were never meant for use in snow), are quiet and ... just go. if I weren't on a tight budget after changing the car, they would definitely be installed again on my new car.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 76% while driving a Nissan Sentra (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 43,500 average miles
It can fully meet the needs of general road use. More than 60% of my tires are used on highways, with a mileage of more than 70,000 kilometers. The tread depth is now about 1.8~2.2mm. If you don’t want to change to other brands of tires, EGP2 is the best choice. Can consider buying again
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat Estate 74kw diesel (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1 easy going miles
Balanced, responsive.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2024
Given 70% while driving a Volvo s60 D5 (163) (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Tyres was OK but just at it's 8th month started to crack all over. Turkey very hot place and I think this tire not suits here.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2024
Given 44% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,300 average miles
These are EXTREMELY NOISY tyres. My car is BMW F30 320 iA xDrive and the winter tyres I have (Continental VikingContact 7) are very quiet - can't hear almost anything from the tyres. But these Goodyear summer tyres - oh my.... Horrible noise even at low speeds. During wet conditions the noise is much worse.
I regret buying these and will replace them with some other brand even though I have driven only 2 000 km with these.
Interestingly Goodyear Efficient Grip 1 tyres were good and quiet on my BMW 530 but this 2-version is just an epic fail.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2024
Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
This is very unusual for this tyre, the second generation should be quieter than the first. Check for irregular wear which could be a contributing factor.
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai i20 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Been for 5000 kilometers I think it's a very balanced tire between wet and dry, I think you can safely push a normal car to the limit without any handling or breaking
problem.. I think I would buy it again
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2024
Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) (225/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 19,300 average miles
These are the best summer tires I have ever had. Dry grip is very good, but wet grip is where these tires are exceptional. My car is prone for understeer, esp. in roundabouts. With these tires, I have never felt even a slight slip of the front axle. Hard wet braking is bang on the money, very controled with no slip whatsoever. Aquaplaning resistance is superb, I have only experienced slight aquaplaning twice while doing about 80 mph in a downpour (standing water on the motorway). Feedback is noticeable and steering response is good. Handling wise the tires are very predictable and therefore safe. With the mileage driven, I predict they are on 1/3 of their life, with about 5.5 to 6mm of tread remaining (started with just over 8mm). The tires are relatively comfortable and very quiet. I recommend these tires to anyone who does a lot of driving in all conditions and wants a well-balanced and very safe tire.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2024
Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
I've been driving the goodyear tyres for a long while, they feel very good, although I dont have that much experience with different tyres therefore is difficult to compare. These feel comfortable and safe, specially for braking on wet and dry. I am mostly a safe type driver, but sometimes I do agresive driving, the tyres behave as expected all the time. About consumption, my car has a low average for being a van (5.5l/100km) including city and motorway driving, I believe the tyres have a low rolling resistance. Moreover, the 2 front tyres still have a save thickness but need a replacement soon after more than 60000km, the back wheels ofcourse are still safe to drive. So the lifespan of the tyres is very good. I am changing tyres because I need all seasons as I moved to a northen country.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2024
Given 85% while driving a Fiat (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
When I bought this car, I had put up with a mix of Davantis and Prestivos. The Davantis were absolute junk despite being nearly new, and I'd decided I'd had enough and invested in Goodyears.

I always try and put new tyres through their paces to give them a good workout. These tyres (all 4 were replaced) have absolutely transformed the car. They are much quieter (although as is also the case with the Goodyear Eagle F1s I would say the noise level is average as opposed to low), and are far better in the wet. We have had lots of wet weather recently in the UK, and the difference from the other tyres to these is like night and day. They cut through standing water with ease and you still have full control on corners in the rain. The only criticism if any, is that they aren't as responsive as I expected when they are getting to their limit on grip, for example on a fast roundabout in the wet. They start to understeer slightly with little to no warning, but this was while pushing them quite a bit, so in ordinary driving it is still a thumbs up for sure.

I had to wait a while to test them in the dry, as it simply hasn't been dry recently! But an opportunity finally came along, and they are excellent as expected. No complaints at all.

I haven't given a rating for wear, as I haven't had them anywhere near long enough. They come with 8mm of tread from new.

As for cost, they are very competitively priced considering their name and quality, and they sit in the same price bracket as many of the mid range brands like Toyo and Firestone. I had narrowed my options down to the Goodyears or the Hankook Ventus Prime4 which I have also fitted to another car. The Goodyears won based on an offer at the tyre shop I use, and I'm happy with my choice.

Definitely recommend these tyres for normal driving and motorway commuting based on their safety and ride quality, and I'm sure they still sit highly for those who are interested in good tyres for road cars doing faster driving too.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Very good tire comparing with same size from Michelin or Continental which I used also. I used it on a Peugeot 308 1.6 l HDI Automatic transmission and Goodyear has a very good feedback from steering and good comfort on bumpy roads. I also drove the care on highway and it has a noise more because of the wind, not too much from the tire. I enjoyed used and it has better value comparing with Michelin or Continental which have similar performance also on sportive driving style. Michelin has less feedback from the road comparing with Goodyear or Continental.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4 (205/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 40,000 easy going miles
Good, comfortable and quiet tyre for casual driving.

Good grip in wet also.

Would and have recommended.

And I've bought them again.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2023