Michelin Primacy 4+

The Michelin Primacy 4+ updates the hugely successful Primacy 4 with better braking performance when worn. The new Michelin EverGrip technology combines two layers of rubber to offset the loss of tread depth when worn.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy 4.

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 163,200 miles driven.

The Primacy 4+ is ranked 24th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews Best Summer Tyres - 5th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet grip with very short wet braking and good wet handling, very high aquaplaning resistance, low noise, high levels of comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Sluggish dry handling with limited grip in handling and braking.
  • Overall - The Michelin Primacy 4+ wasn't quite as sharp as the Kumho, or any of the tyres around the dry handling lap, but it was excellent in the wet with the second best wet braking and great aquaplaning resistance. It also had a very low noise, great comfort levels and a good rolling resistance.

View Full Test >>

2023 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Overall - Although it didn't win any test category, its consistent high-level performance across all tests allowed it to secure the second place. It is a well-balanced tyre that ensures a high level of safety in all conditions.
View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 50 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, good on dry and wet roads, good environmental record, very high mileage (top grade.)
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Driving safety: The Michelin Primacy 4+ secures an overall good rating for driving safety. The Michelin already offers the driver only satisfactory feedback on the steering wheel on a dry road, but still shows itself to be safe in the limit area. Its braking distance is classified as good compared to the test field. On wet roads, the Michelin gets good ratings in terms of braking distance measurements, aquaplaning behavior and handling. This makes it very balanced on wet roads. It offers good grip and safe driving characteristics.

    Environmental balance: In the environmental balance, the Primacy 4+ secures the second best rating in the test (best: Michelin e.Primacy). Its predicted mileage is classified as very good and its abrasion is also low.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2023 Motor Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2023 Tyre Reviews Best Summer Tyres (205/55 R16)
  • 2022 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2022 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus

    2023-01-22 - Can a Primacy 4 Plus be combined with a Primacy 4 on the same axle

    A good question. Ideally you will always keep the same two tyres across an axle so I'm not sure anyone would recommend mixing, however the changes from the Primacy 4 to 4+ were small so of all the mixed axle combinations, this is one of the better ones.


    2023-04-20 - I have just bought Primacy 4+ (245/45-18 100W XL) for my 2017 Mercedes E220d (model S213). The tire is very quiet in general, but there is often a strange "resounding" sound. Not extremely loud, but significant and annoying when I drive the car so much every day (approx. 3500 km / month). The sound is intermittent and it is not dependent on the road surface. Is this a "phenomenon" you have encountered?
    I used to drive Primacy 3, which I have been very happy with, but they are noisier in general and extremely noisy when they are half worn.

    Unfortunately I've not come across any noise issues with the Primacy 4+, or seen any references to this in other tests or online.
    If it is intermittent and it is not dependent on the road surface I wonder if it's something from the car systems you weren't able to hear with the older, noisier tyres. If the sound seems like it's coming from one corner of the car you could try moving wheels around to see if it changes.


    2023-11-01 - I drive a 2006 Mitsubishi Colt CZT with 220HP, FWD, 1060kg. Currently Michelin Pilot Sport 3 in 205/45R16, however not updated and tire is end of life, practically no new tires in that size except for Michelin Primacy 4+ Question: Rather again buy the now super old Pilot Sport 3 or go with Premacy 4+? or? Thank you, Alexander

    If you don't mind losing a small amount of steering feel and dynamic qualities, the Primacy 4+ will be a significantly better tyre.


    2024-02-24 - Does the primacy 4+ has a rim guard / rim protector lip just like the michelin pilot sport? Thanks

    Rim protection can vary by size, however I don't recall testing a Primacy 4+ with significant rim protection as that is often removed on non-performance tyres for added aero benefit.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 £101.09 - £117.49 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £113.11 - £116.29 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £108.02 - £117.76 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £146.68 - £165.49 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/45 R17 £122.68 - £138.53 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/60 R17 £161.94 - £161.94 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 53 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Primacy 4 Plus Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Honda Civic FK7 Sport (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Coming from the Civics original tyres Primacy 3 that’s lasted 25Kmls or just over 4 years, I don’t do a lot of miles daily but those Primacy 3 tyres served me well with just the road noise being a little loud at times I liked the dry, wet, handling and comfort of these Michelin’s.

    So with not a lot of info on the new Primacy 4Plus and needing 4tyres I decided to go with these anyway as only £1.oo each dearer than the primacy 4 when I purchased, in for a penny in for a pound, these are the XL reinforced version I went for as they are a whole 1DB quieter than the non XL version according to the tyre info.

    Noise loudness will always be dependent on the surface you drive on, so as surfaces change so does the tyre noise but the difference between these Primacy 4Plus and the old Primacy 3 is night and day and worth the price of entry alone in my ears, no they ain’t dead quiet/ silent but are a lot more bearable and not as intrusive, as I’ve went from listening out to hear the difference to now not noticing the noise like I did with the old tyres.

    Comfort - oh yeah less noise and there’s a softness, definitely more comfortable drive

    In the dry the tyres are good , nice feedback from the road however sharp corners taken fast pushing the limit there is a give there that you are wary of after the first time, but this will make you safer as you won’t push quite as hard, it’s that softness mentioned earlier that gives you this feeling/ feedback on hairpin bends.

    In the wet, love them, it rains in Scotland and the surface water can be a bit deeper and running on the roads in areas, but these Primacy 4 plus, just grip grip and grip and provide a lot of confidence way bettering than the old Primacy 3 on the civic, a tyre for Scotland without doubt

    The tread is less on the 4 plus than on my new Primacy 3 when got the car but these P4 plus are meant to be harder wearing tyre so only time will tell, but if they last 20Kmls or 4 years then I’d be more than happy.

    Initial thoughts on first 1Kmls is if you want a premium tyre live in a wet summer area and enjoy less noise and improved comfort give these a go.
    Helpful 199 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2022
    Given 60% while driving a BMW 320i (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,100 spirited miles
    Initial review after a few days of driving with these brand new Michelin tyres for a long distance on various roads and weather. According to the tyre-dealer this is the very latest Michelin tyres, same size as the original tyres. This is not my car but I have often driven this car since it was new with two other different set of tyres from two other premium tyre brands. The original OEM tyres were Run-Flats which I did not like at all, rather mediocre tyres in every aspect. The second set of tyres were from yet another premium tyre brand, not Run-Flat tyres but the same original size, and I really liked those tyres on this car, very good comfort and noise level, very good performance in every aspect except wear which was rather mediocre. The new Michelins are significantly better than the original Run-Flat in every way, but they can not quite match the second set of tyres from another brand. The Michelins have in general a little bit more diffuse feeling and tendencies to instability on certain surfaces, I preferred the previous set of tires regarding feel, handling and stability, but it is very small differences. The comfort and noise level on the Michelins are much better than the OEM Run-Flat and about the same as the second set of tyres, I did however prefer the second set of tyres, I just liked them a little bit better. The Michelins are in general predictable and controllable in wet and dry and will probably not surprise with bad behavior although I would say that the tyres probably do not like cold rainy weather, I had a ”surprise” in a wet rainy roundabout coming home from the long drive, the temperature was ca 2-3 degrees, I was caught in this "surprising" skid and the stability systems on the car really had to work overtime, it's the only ”surprise” I had so far with these tyres, and maybe in all honesty I might have been over-optimistic in that roundabout, but I have done the same with the other tyres in the same circumstances in the same roundabout without "surprises". There is nothing particular wrong with the Michelins, not huge differences, good grip wet and dry, relatively good comfort and noise level, acceptable handling and feel, but they are not worth the extra cost, they do not exceed other tyre brands, in fact they do not quite match the previous set of tyres from 2020. I guess the joker here would be the wear rate, the other tyre brands had rather poor wear, if the Michelins have significantly better wear rate then this could probably persuade some buyers, but not for me, I prefer the best handling and feel over wear rate.
    Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
    Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz A45 S AMG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    fantastic tires , oh my god , michelin best brand
    Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2022
    Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Primacy 4 Plus >

    Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Plus Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a BMW 530D (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
    Excellent tyre very very comfortable no road noise the car drives like on clouds!
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    My car is old and do not have any esp/asr systems, but have a lot of torque(450nm+) for a small car. I try few mid class tyres, but all was the same-very low grip, wheels spin and burnouts, dry and wet. So I buy michelin primacy 4+ and is all good. after 10k miles, I dint notice any wear or problems. Great tyres!
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 78% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    My tyres are Primacy+ SUV which I believe is equivalent to Primacy 4+ in Australia for this size of tyre. It's early days, but initial impressions are very positive. Grip in all conditions seems to be excellent, as does braking performance. I have not specifically rated wear (too soon) or handling (not tried anything beyond routine suburban and highway driving). The Subaru Outback is fairly softly sprung and the tyre certainly complements that, giving an excellent ride. At first I thought the steering seemed a bit light and slightly flighty but then I discovered that the fitting centre had managed to get a 6lb difference between the pressures across the axle (in fact every one of the tyres was at a different pressure, none of which were per the placard!). Having set the pressures correctly all round the slight lightness compared with the OE Bridgestone Dueler Sports remained, but the flightiness was gone. The steering is very linear and progressive and the car tracks true even in cross-winds. Note these are touring, not sports, tyres and their characteristics (especially with a 60-profile side wall) reflect that. If you want precision, get Pilot Sports or Pirelli PZ4s which is what I have on my other cars. Initially the tyres were not as quiet as I had expected, but they seem to be improving as they wear in a little. In any event they are a definite improvement on the Duelers in that respect. I have an impression that the rolling resistance is better, leading to slightly improved fuel consumption, which will be tested when we do our first long trip on these tyres in a few weeks' time. Overall, I'm very positive, as I would have expected given previous/current experience on different cars with Michelin's Primacy ST, Primacy 3, Primacy 4 and Pilot Sport 2 & 4.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2023
    Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Carnival 2.2 Diesel (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Absolutely brilliant. I drive a kia carnival and have the primacy 4 plus suv variant. I bought the car 2nd hand and it was wearing bridgestone supercats. I only realised how bad the bridgestones were after i swapped them for the Michelins. The difference is huge. They have much better grip in both the dry and wet. My carnival used to spin the tyres too easily on wet roads at the traffic lights with not even firm acceleration, that stopped after changing to Michellins. Better still is how more comfortable and quiet the tyres are. I have had them for over 14,000km now and they are wearing very well. I highly recommend these tyres
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2023
    Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    When I put the tyres on I was actually a bit disappointed. I got a strange "resounding" sound that I couldn't identify, as it didn't always have anything to do with the road surface. But after 2-3000 km the resounding sound disappeared and today I am really very happy with the tyres. I'm not into "sports tyres" anymore (used to be) and don't drive hard in the car etc. so for me the tyre is absolutely perfect. It is extremely quiet compared to the Primacy 3, Primacy 4 that I have been driving on before the Primacy 4+. It is admittedly a somewhat softer tyre which gives a little less feedback in sharp curves, but it is really comfortable as potholes etc. are heard and felt much less. So I am very happy with the Pimacy4+
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2023
    Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 JTD (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
    My car is tuned, have more torque and HP(than stock model) and this tyres fits to my drving style, very good tyres.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2023
    Given 56% while driving a Toyota Sienna (235/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 80,000 miles
    Tires are suppose to last 80,000 so they said on the warranty. Rotated every oil changes. Drove only 30,000 and now need replacement. Too expensive and doesn't back up what the tires advertised. Goodyear or Dunlop are better. Going back to them, they back it up with what the preach. What a disappointment!
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2023
    Given 87% while driving a BMW 335d (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    I switched to Primacy 4+ from Pilot Sport 4 so I am sharing my experience as a comparison between the two on the same car. The main difference in normal everyday driving is the steering feel. Primacy 4+ is noticeably slower in reactions to steering inputs - it feels less eager to change direction. It makes the car feel generally less agile and does not encourage spirited driving like Pilot sport 4 does. When increased lock is applied there is a signifficantly more progressive centering force with Primacy 4+. I find this most welcome on a BMW F31 with its otherwise quite light steering. The effect is more natural and authentic than the car’s sport mode steering feel (which just makes the wheel unnaturaly heavier). The result is a superior sense of stability at all speeds. Less focus and precision is required to make smooth progress, and high-speed driving is signifficantly more relaxed with Primacy 4. The difference in confidence is further increased in wet. I don’t hear any significant difference in interior tyre noise on smooth roads but bumps, potholes, and protruding manhole covers are better smoothed-over and less annoying with Primacy. For spirited driving the Primacy 4+ is not. When pushed harder it just all starts giving in where the Pilot Sport starts to shine. There still is respectable cornering grip with Primacy 4 and traction is more than adequate but you can tell the tyres are fighting and there is no reward when pushed hard. My decision to switch from Pilot Sport to Primacy was based on the fact that I have very few daily opportunities for spirited driving. So 95% of the time I am very happy with my decision while the remaining 5% is also dialled back a little and everything is fine. If I had a second car just for fun it would be fitted with Pilot Sport (S), no doubt.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2023
    Given 67% while driving a Subaru forester 158cv 2.0 auto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Dry grip is excellent, can't say the same for wet. Road noise is quite noticeable.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2023
    Given 63% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    This tyre was fitted to my hybrid car as the e-primacy was not available from Michelin. Originally my vehicle was fitted with Energy Saver tyres which regularly gave me in excess of 70 mpg. These tyres have not been able to achieve 60 mpg on a regular basis.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2023
    Given 87% while driving a SEAT Leon (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
    I've had these on all round on a PHEV SEAT Leon for around 3,000 miles now, before I had the from factory Bridgestone Potenza S005.

    Driving in the icy/snowy conditions seen just before Christmas 2022, these tyres gave me more confidence in control and handling, as the Bridgestone's often struggled for grip in the dry let alone the cold and wet.

    The grip so far has been an extreme improvement, the Bridgestone's would often spin under the power of a PHEV in all conditions, despite trying my hardest, it is difficult to replicate with the 4+ from a standing start.

    There has been a lot of rain lately, and with the 4+, there is a significant reduction in the slippery feeling when passing over standing water, particularly at motorway speeds.

    The tyres have also improved the slip/lean feeling on roundabouts. It feels as if they are listening to the direction I want to go, and I know that they are complying.

    I've not noticed a difference in braking performance - seem standard for a premium tyre, and time will tell if they deflect nails and are not magnet for them like the Potenza's.

    Noise seems average. Potholes feel harsher.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2023
    Given 96% while driving a MINI Mini Countryman Cooper Petrol (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Trust me, these michelin primacy 4+ tyres: 205/60 r16 96H XL on the front of my Mini countryman 1.6 are the better tyre than the bridgestone XL on the rear . these Michelins are improved version of the Primacy 4, more comfort, more feedback and super grip. Always had Michelins on the front wheel drive Mini, worth the little extra cost. Had michelin primacy 4 tyres: 205/60 r16 96h xl previously. Those lasted 6 years, a great tyre used right down to 1.6 mm with over 50000 miles clocked up with various short and long journey shared with my teenage son. Change can be good and Michelin had done an excellent job with the improvements on the 4 Plus. It's also super quiet, the best and safest Tyre around, really.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2022