Michelin Primacy 4

The MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre offers a new a reference for safety. After three years of development, this tyre provides a high level of performance on wet roads, from the first use until worn to the legal wear indicator (1.6mm). This tyre, thus responds to the need to perform at a high level when worn; a long lasting performance.

Compared to its direct competitors, the new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 lasts an average of 18,000 kilometres more; confirming the long lasting performance of the new tyres designed by Michelin. The new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre is a concrete demonstration of the Michelin Group’s strategy: consumers must be able to drive safely, throughout the life of the tyre, right down to the legal wear indicator of 1.6 mm

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 78%
Wear 84%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 116 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,432,896 miles driven.

The Primacy 4 is ranked 46th of 136 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, very good in the dry, low fuel consumption, low wear.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - The Michelin Primacy 4 achieved the second best result on dry roads. In the wet, it is rated just as good, but it can play its trump cards when it wears out. All in all, the tire is clearly particularly recommendable and thus gets one of the first two places in the overall ranking.
View Full Test >>

2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Logical and easy to drive. Good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Side grip on wet road. Sound comfort.
  • Overall - Primacy 4 has a natural and nice driving feel with a linear steering response combined with good stability, it remains logical and easy to drive when balancing on the grip limit. In the evasive maneuver tests, it handles the change of load effect without issue.
    Now when the environmentally optimized e.Primacy has been launched, we note that Primacy 4 has a deeper pattern depth than previous tests and "P4" has the highest resistance to aquaplaning in this group. However, the wet grip of the rubber compound itself is not top notch. Maybe this is the compromise that comes with Michelin's pronounced focus on durability?
    Furthermore, the road noise is sensitive to the surface with higher noise on rough asphalt.
View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch - 3rd of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, particularly good in the dry, low wear.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - The Michelin Primacy 4 shines with good results both in the driving maneuvers on dry and wet roads and in the wear test, which is why it is classified as particularly recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R16)
  • 3rd: 2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 5th: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 1st: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2nd: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 5th: 2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2019 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test (235/50 R18)
  • 8th: 2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 69 7.34kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 7.17kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 6.80kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.24kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 7.03kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 6.20kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.42kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.62kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL E A B 70 6.70kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 69 8.12kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 68 8.16kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 68 8.03kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S2 A A 69 7.50kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 68 7.88kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   C A 68 7.82kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.55kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S2 B A 68 7.80kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL E A B 70 7.50kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S1 A A 68 7.60kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL   B A 68 7.81kgs
    195/55 R16 87W * A B 68 7.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 68 8.41kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S1 A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 68 8.49kgs
    205/55 R16 91W * A B 69 7.90kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S2 A A 69 8.27kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   C A 70 8.57kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL S1 A A 68 8.60kgs
    205/55 R16 91H E A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/55 R16 91V ST       9.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91V S1 A A 68 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   C A 68 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL VOL A B 68 8.20kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   B A 68 8.83kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 8.81kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 68 10.04kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.89kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 68 9.89kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E MO A B 68 8.50kgs
    205/60 R16 92V S1 B B 68 9.10kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 68 8.35kgs
    205/60 R16 92W   C A 68 12.13kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92H S1 A A 68 8.48kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   B A 69 9.05kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.06kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.02kgs
    215/60 R16 95H S1 A B 69 8.95kgs
    195/65 R16 92V   C A 69 8.53kgs
    195/65 R16 92V S1 B B 68 8.65kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
    205/45 R17 88H XL S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S2 A B 68 7.60kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S1 B B 68 8.10kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 87W   C A 69 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL S1 B B 68 8.50kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL S1 A A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.84kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.78kgs
    225/45 R17 91W VOL A B 69 8.40kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL * A A 68 8.61kgs
    225/45 R17 91W S1 B B 69 9.00kgs
    225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   B A 70 8.89kgs
    235/45 R17 94W   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   B A 70 9.24kgs
    245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    205/50 R17 93H XL S1 A B 68 8.70kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL S1       10.02kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 8.60kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S2 A B 69 8.90kgs
    215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.29kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S1 B A 69 9.40kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 68 9.10kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 94W AR. B A 69 9.58kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.48kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 9.52kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 68 9.55kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   B A 68 9.54kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 9.44kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOLDT A B 68 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOL A B 68 9.80kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 68 9.70kgs
    205/55 R17 95W XL * A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   B A 68 9.03kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL J A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL S1 A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO A B 68 8.80kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.40kgs
    215/55 R17 94V S1 A B 69 10.40kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL S1 A A 68 9.65kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL VOL A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.14kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   C A 69 10.76kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   B A 70 10.83kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   B A 70 10.80kgs
    215/60 R17 96H S1 A A 69 9.90kgs
    215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 9.78kgs
    215/60 R17 96V S1 A A 69 9.79kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B A 69 9.70kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   B A 69 10.47kgs
    235/60 R17 102V VOL A B 69 11.40kgs
    215/65 R17 99V MO B A 69 10.60kgs
    215/65 R17 103V XL S1 A A 68 10.80kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 68 9.60kgs
    235/40 R18 91W S1 B A 69 9.60kgs
    245/40 R18 93H AO B A 70 9.80kgs
    225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL S1 A A 72 9.60kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL VOL A B 70 9.70kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL S1 A B 70 10.40kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL   B A 70 10.42kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 70 10.30kgs
    245/45 R18 96W   B A 68 11.55kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   C A 70 10.69kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 68 10.62kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL   B A 68 10.09kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   C A 69 11.36kgs
    235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 70 11.36kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL S1 A B 68 10.50kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL VOL A B 68 10.80kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO1 B A 68 11.00kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO2 A A 68 10.50kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL S1 A A 68 10.55kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO S1 A B 69 11.30kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL A B 69 11.20kgs
    235/55 R18 100V AO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL A VOL A B 70 10.20kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4

    2017-09-27 - Can you mail the catalog of primacy 4 or all the tyres size for me?

    We will be attending the Michelin Primacy 4 launch in mid October 2017, so we will have a full list of Primacy 4 sizes on the website shortly after.


    2018-02-13 - When will 15'' sizes be availabe for this tire? Michelin said they would be availabe from january. Have they dropped 15''?

    The plan is a phased transition in some sizes from Energy Saver+ to Primacy 4. 2018 sizes are 185/65-15 and 195/65-15 in May/Sept, more to follow in 2019.


    2018-03-12 - Need your help . Can’t decide between Michelin Primacy 4 , Continental Premium 6 and Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. Car: Ford Focus 2008 1.6 Ti-VCT 115hp . 2009-2013 ContiSportContact5 (35000km) . 2013-2018 ContiSportContact5 (30000km). 225/4018 both of them

    A very hard question to answer! I would be between the Michelin and Continental Premium Contact 6, but I would probably end up choosing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!


    2018-06-04 - For a 205/55/R16/91V tyre size, which is better, Michelin Primacy 4 or Continental Premium contact 5?

    They are both comparable tyres. The Michelin will have better mileage, the Conti might have slightly better wet grip.


    2018-09-01 - Considering both these or Pilot Sport for Golf 1.4 in 205.55 R16. Both seem excellent tyres...but not really sure how they compare to each other. I am assuming PS is more sporty, ie stiffer sidewall? Can anyone clearly characterize the differences in "qualities" of these tyres in order to aid decision-making? (over and above all the excellent reviews). Thank you!

    Your assumption is correct in that the Primacy 4 should be slightly more comfortable, slightly quieter and slightly better mileage, where as the PS4 will feel slightly more sporty.


    2018-09-17 - I am thinking about buying this tyre, but I don't know which version to choose between: 225/45/R17 91W/Y or the 225/45/R17 94W XL. The XL has better fuel rating and one decibel lower noise level. Would there be any drawbacks if opting for this version? The car is an Audi A3 Sportback 2.0TDI 170HP.

    In theory the higher load rating could give you slightly less comfort, but in practice the differences can be very hard to notice so I would suggest that would be the tyre I would look at fitting.


    2018-10-15 - Following on from the question someone had relating to the XL version being better noise and efficiency ratings that xl version appears more preferable to the 91 rated version. Would the 94 xl version need a higher psi or is it OK to run at the car manufacturers recommended psi (assuming the only psi rating given is for a 91 rated tyre)?

    It's always best to start running at the manufacturers recommended pressures. Sometimes XL tyres with loads like to be around 2 psi higher, but again worth checking.


    2018-11-23 - What is your advice 're replacing 2 tyres? Front primacy 3 on my volvo are worn but rears have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the fronts as presumably they have similar characteristics to the primacy 3s. Do you think I should put the newer tyre on the rear?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 would be a good replacement for the Primacy 3, and the general advice is to put the newer / better tyre on the rear of the vehicle to avoid oversteer.


    2019-07-30 - Is Primacy 4 an upgrade to the Primacy 3? Reason I ask if because the Primacy 3 is more expensive than the Primacy 4. Making me think that Primacy 3 might actually be better as an overall tyre? As I currently got my 2 rear tyres changed and bought the Primacy 4 tyres. However the Formula One Autocentre fitted the Primacy 3 tyres saying that the order of the Primacy 4 is due in another 6 weeks so he suggested to keep the Primacy 3 for the same price? Wondering if I should just keep the Primacy 3 tyres now they are fitted.

    If you ordered the Primacy 4, I would want those tyres. They are a direct replacement for the Primacy 3, and improve on the Primacy 3 in most areas.


    2019-08-26 - Living in a small market country like Cyprus where the market is limited to options in "strange" sizes (Lexus IS220d with 225/45/17 & 245/45/17) I have the following decision to take. The Pilot Sport 4 I have on the car now are wearing down (will get roughly around 30K km on them) and I enquired about Evo 3, Conti Premium 6 and F1 A5 (had the A3 before the PS4) and I can only find the front tyres (!!!) at the moment. So I'm kinda left with the F1 A3 and the Primacy 4. I liked the F1 A3 a lot but knowing that the F1 A5 is out there I'm a bit bummed. I know one tyre is a performance tyre and the Primacy 4 is a touring tyre and I'm not really driving the car on sport mode so I'm leaning towards the Primacy 4. Price for the Goodyear should be a bit cheaper (around €530 compared to €580 for the Primacy 4). Any opinion to get me over the line? :) Thank you.

    Without knowing your market it is very difficult for me to recommend anything else, especially as you really seem to know your tyres! The extra purchase price of the Prim4 should be offset by the extra mileage, but the Asymmetric 3 will likely be the grippier tyre overall.


    2020-01-06 - Rear primacy 3 XL on my BMW 520D are worn (after 12k mileage) but Fronts have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the rear? How do primacy 4 perform on grip as compared with PS4? Usually I drive within speed limits. Sometime 80 to 90mph

    Primacy 4 is the obviously replacement for the 3, it's improved slightly in almost all categories. Dry and wet grip should be broadly similar to the Pilot Sport 4, but they won't handle as nicely.


    2020-08-18 - I have a VW Golf 1.4 Tsi 90kw (2015) came factory fitted with Dunlop Sport BluResponse 205/55 16 91V. Generally run Michelin tyres on my cars. I’m looking at the Primacy 4 as all round replacements, historical spinal injuries/surgery mean comfort is a priority nowadays, in your recent test the Primacy 4 rated highly on subjective comfort. However, in the video it was listed as a 91H, so my quandary is, would the 91H provide slightly improved subjective comfort over a 91V? Every little helps. . . Being a 90kw model, both VW and Michelin have recommended 91H or higher for 205/55 16 wheels.

    In that size, the 91H and 91V tyres are the same construction, so it wouldn't make a difference.


    2021-02-05 - How come New Michelin Primacy 4 comes with only 6.5mm tread depth? Is that not a bit low and do some Primacy 4 come with 8mm? If so, how come and what ones do?

    I'm not sure if some sizes come with higher tread depth, potentially SUV sizes might, however the Primacy 4 starting around 7mm is normal, and should still out-wear almost any other tyre on the market.


    2020-11-08 - Can anyone say please, primacy 4 205/55/r16 in which country this model makes it? I've seen articles that it might be in germany/russia/poland. Can anyone help me please?

    It can also depend what market you are buying the Primacy 4 in, I would suggest checking with a local tyre seller to see w where their stock is from.


    2021-01-22 - Does the Primacy 4 offer good MPG and levels of comfort?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 is known for low fuel use, there is a new version, the e.Primacy due out soon which will improve that further.


    2021-07-13 - The weight in the label scores are not accurate.... 225/45/R18 ST 95W XL tyres came 11.2kg instead of 9.6 kg.... screwed up my wheels weight calculation. I thought I was getting a set of lighter wheels but now they ended up being 1.5kg heavier per weight.

    Thank you, I'll look into this.


    2021-07-25 - Looking for new tyres for an eco hybrid and see that there are several Primacy 4 options. What is the difference between a normal Primacy 4 and the S1 variant. Looking at tyre retailers they are rated better for fuel and noise

    I would be looking at the Michelin e.Primacy instead!


    2021-08-17 - Which is better primacy 3 , or, pilot sport 3 for Bmw 270/40/19and 245/45/19. Thanks

    Both tyres are quite old and I've not tested either, so I'm afraid I don't know!


    2021-09-09 - I see that there is 3 version of the same tire - primacy 4 , primacy 4 S1 and primacy 4 S2. Does anyone test the difference or know, what it is. On paper looks huge - fuel consumption is from rating C to A.

    I would email Michelin on this one as S1 is a little ambiguous, sorry.


    2022-02-21 - I do enjoy pushing my car a little bit while driving sometimes. Is it better to go for PS4 or Primacy4? Do PS4 offer much comfort compare to Primacy for touring? What is the pro & con of getting either tyres?

    The Pilot SPORT 4 is the sportier of the two tyres, which means there is slightly reduced comfort when compared to the primacy 4.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/55 R16 £88.99 - £160.20 (79 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/65 R15 £62.39 - £94.99 (55 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £69.69 - £135.30 (91 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/60 R17 £108.59 - £163.10 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £82.99 - £114.61 (74 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 62 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 65% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 average miles
    2016 BMW 320i 225/50/17
    2014 VW GOLF 205/55/16
    After the initial minutes of euphoria having the latest Michelin's on both of our cars I am now more doubtful about these tires.
    We have only driven ca 2200 km with the BMW and ca 1800 km with the VW, not much distance but on very various roads in just a few days and enough to have a good impression, it is similar impression with both cars.
    It's rather good tires on good roads, good grip in turns wet and dry, acceptable/good comfort on good roads, relatively low noise although there is an unusual, but modest, mechanical or metallic sound from these tires, it is not loud but a little unpleasant.
    The steering feel and handling is not quite as precis as I got used to with the other tire-brands, not at all a huge difference but I miss that little extra sense of road-feel and response.
    As soon as I left the tire dealer with the new Michelin's I noticed a little slippery unstable feeling basically at all the time at any speed and road surface, wet or dry on both cars.
    This little slippery feeling has not disappeared on any of the cars.
    It is difficult to explain, it must be experienced, it is as if there is a little wax or oil on these tires, it is very little and hardly noticeable, not a huge problem but it is always there and it's slightly annoying.
    Even on completely straight driving on highways there is this little sliding feeling, basically at any speed, it's very little but it's there, it's like the cars somehow are floating a little bit and never lands, the cars never really feel completely solid planted on the roads like with the other previous tire-brands.
    I never really drive the cars over the limits in turns but very near the limits, the grip is good with the Michelin's on good roads, it is possible to go fast in turns, but on both cars there is this for me an unusual little slippery unstable shaky or vibrating feeling near the limits, not much, but still, I never felt that with the other tire-brands near the limits and I felt that I had more control with those other brands, although the grip is good it makes me drive these Michelin's a little bit slower in turns even on good roads than with the other tire-brands.
    And on bad roads I have to slow down quite a bit with the Michelin's compared to my old tires, not so much a problem with the VW but still noticeable and unwanted, the BMW however is really bouncing around on bad roads with the Michelin's, it is uncomfortable and unstable, it does not feel safe at all.
    I can not explain this, if it had been a different tire dimension and bigger wheels then I could understand the bouncing but it is the same roads and the same cars with the same wheels and tire-sizes that I have driven with other tire-brands.
    The Michelin's are significantly more expensive than most other brands, I can not say anything about the wear because they are brand new, they do however in my opinion not excel at anything and their behavior on bad roads are not good.
    In general the Michelin's are good tires but they do not handle quite as good as my previous tires, very small differences but in favor of previous tires.
    My previous tires was Continental on BMW and Dunlop Sport BlueResponse on VW, good and stable tires with no particular fault except very high wear, I would still prefer any of them over the Michelin's.

    Helpful 537 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2018
    Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    I am michelin user since 1981. After each purchase of a new car I changed the tyres with michelin, if the original ones were not. Last year when I bought it, Golf came with Continental Eco Contact tyres that I used around 1000km, I mostly complained about noise. Comfort and handling were good enoughİ!
    Helpful 377 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    For normal, but fast driving in a normal car it is a great tyre. Don't be fooled by those who say it feels slippery, it lacks grip etc. It feels superb, it is suprisingly quiet and grips well. For all normal cars it is great and for those who want comfort and safety. Braking is also exeptional.Exeeded my expectations, recomend to everyone.
    Helpful 103 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2018
    Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Primacy 4 >

    Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Honda Accord (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Smoothens the ride as if the car was brand new but the only draw back is the lack of feed back which could be bothering if you are a spirited driver looking for a sportier ride . For touring tyres this is the best of the best in its class . Infact amazes me how well michelin has formulated the rubber compound to make these super smooth , comfy and noise free . Is truly an example of next level engineering
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
    I do believe they are one of the best options out there for premium touring tyres, i just do not like how unattached they make you feel to the road. Probably the confiest tyres i have ever had, and way better than my older pirelli p7, but just not worth the very extra price of the tyre. In my country, Spain, when i bought them the costed around 160€ per tyre, meanwhile the continental premiumcontact6 were only 130€ per tyre. All in all, very good, really made my vw passat as confy as my older mercedes benz, and the fuel consumption has been great this 16.000km.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2022
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 94% while driving a Toyota Innova (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 31,000 average miles
    Value for Money. Never had a problem in almost 3 years @ almost 50000km run.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 450 average miles
    Rented a car in Spain and saw these on this car so thought to gather some subjective data for myself. I remember hearing from people I know that these tires are the ultimate standard so I tried them out on multiple instances and luckily had a chance to encounter various climate changes. I know that Qashqai is not a sport oriented vehicle but it doesn't mean that I won't try the dynamics of the tire out, coupled with it having electric power steering it was a handful to analyze what the tire was up to. Dry and wet handling: from what I have gathered so far it felt like a nerfed version of PS4 more oriented towards comfort which was felt immediately. I have no issues with grip as there was barely any difference other than a slight slip in both conditions. It didn't like cool weather as they felt like they were waxed with grease unlike PS4 and PS4S tire which made driving a little sketchy. Immediately the real differences are in handling and behavior in both wet and dry. In the dry it felt like the front end is always waiting on and on for the inputs and it seemed like it pushes an ample amount of understeer. There was no neutral handling in any dry or wet scenario. It always waited for that corner in order to understeer however it had a soft progressive slip angle letting you know how much grip you have but for my tastes the tire waits for inputs way too long hence making the drive fairly lazy for my tastes but for people who want a lot more relaxed handling I'd highly recommend this tire as it has no drama. PS4 was far more neutral and understeer only came in play when at the limits and PS4S is a whole different story. I just feel like this tire rides too much on the sidewalls making the handling a lot more wooly but acceleration and braking are first class for sure. It just needs better handling characteristics so forget this tire if you want a touring tire with handling characteristics. It feels more often than not like the tire is slipping from the tarmac as if you are about to lose control which didn't inspire confidence. It's best to be driven in a non-aggressive manner. Feedback: it's not as bad as I thought but it's not great either. Felt somewhat like PS4 in terms of heft on the steering so it offered some force feedback to be felt letting you anticipate corners when hooning this car. Problem with this tire is that it neuters all of the feedback with its soft and pliant compound that it didn't matter. Might as well offer no heft to a tire that has lazy driving dynamics and at moments made Qashqai drive in an annoying manner. Another annoying part is this slippery feel on the road as if you are about to skid out of the road. It floated way too much and using manufacturer's 2.3 bar front and 2.1 bar rear felt like an accident waiting to happen. Just like I remember with PS4 tire around 2.5 and above bars is recommended to nullify float which did help but it was a more exacerbated tire in terms of vagueness than regular PS4 which had little to no float, only at the limits. I for certain felt like I could take a nap while waiting for the tire to respond to inputs and feedback as they were ghastly slow. Comfort: I see why this tire is venerated as the ultimate touring tire. Lots of comfort and give in them. Pretty quiet and has some serious low rolling resistance, the car feels effortless to drive with no hassle much like PS4. I didn't feel like the comfort differences are that vast between Primacy 4 and PS4 as the only difference felt in the stiffness of a carcass which only removed the laziness of the drive itself and comfort was not compromised on PS4. Primacy 4 really doesn't fear any road irregularities and potholes, moreover this major amp in comfort ultimately came with a tradeoff which is the feel that the tires are always slipping away from the road but there are people who want this in their daily commute. Without a doubt I rate this tire the best so far in terms of comfort the other being winter tire Continental WinterContact TS860. Almost equal with Primacy 4 having the edge so nothing much to say really. It's a completely isolating and plushy ride and for those seeking comfort look no further than Primacy 4. Wear: all I can give is based on reviews and the declared mileage which is perfect 10. Overall: If one is not seeking the ultimate handling and communication from the car this is most likely the best touring tire in its class and I definitely enjoyed it despite some issues subjectively. What really holds back the tire is handling, communication with the road and the price. At least where I live Primacy 4 and PS4 are only set apart in price by 5-7 euros which really hurts this tire. It's too expensive when compared what kind of performance you can gain from other tire models at similar price points which will offer similar levels of comfort without sacrificing driving dynamics. I would have given it a much higher score for what it is if it wasn't for the research I made of its price. The dynamics of the tire really hurt its score despite its great acceleration and braking capabilities combined with refined comfort. If PS4S is a 100%, PS4 is 92% this may get around 80%. Great all round tire if only it wasn't priced with some other high performance and ultra high performance tires. It has no place at that bracket of category even if its other aspects are sublime.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Ford (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
    Came with a 2020 Fiesta ST-Line. If you're just pootling around, these are comfy, quiet, roll well and behave themselves in most conditions. Bit squirmy when below 10celcius though. However, I bought this Fiesta to have fun in. These are not a good choice of tyre. When pushing on, there's so little feedback from the steering and they never settle down in a long corner (that word squirmy again). I've nearly lost the back end twice and there was no indication prior that this was happening, but at least it was progressive and gave me time to think, have a cup of tea and gather it up (or maybe the electronics did). In North of England I want a secure dynamic tyre for year round fun. For me, this isn't it. If this were my mum's car, sure I'd definitely fit them again. I will probably stick on Goodyear Asymmetric 6 shortly.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2022
    Given 66% while driving a Volvo C30 1.6 Drive (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    I only bought these because at the time of purchase there was a good deal on, making a set of 4 cheaper than budgets. I could have paid a few £ more and had Pilot Sports, but I was keen to try something which is aimed more at comfort than ultimate handling given that this was to be my commuting car for 100 miles a day. I think I can sum these up as good, if rather boring, and frankly rather average tyres. In the dry they perform perfectly fine, I've been able to throw the C30 around hard enough and without finding any ditches along the way. In the wet they are noticeably poorer in performance than Pilot Sports when new, with an alarming tendency to pull violently into standing water, not too bad when new but by the time the tyres have hit 3mm it's pretty hairy on a wet road at speed, although wet braking has remained good throughout. These are just about life expired now after around 8000 miles on what is supposed to be a super economical puny engined diesel. Admittedly I make it work harder than Volvo ever intended, but all the same really was expecting a lot more life out of these. These were supposed to be A rated for grip and A rated for fuel efficiency according to the label. I can't say as I noticed any change in fuel consumption since fitting them, and that wet rating must have scraped through. Can't personally recommend them, though I think if driving at 45 everywhere as Volvo wanted me too they'd probably have excelled, but as it is it's back to Rainsports for me.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2022
    Given 70% while driving a Lexus CT200h (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
    Heavy/rubbery steering feel. Noisy on certain road surfaces. Not the most comfortable tyre. Excellent dry and wet grip. I do many miles per year, so I can’t recommend them purely due to NVH and steering feel. Obviously this depends on your vehicle - some tyres don’t suit particular vehicles.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    I use these tyres in wet and dry. I bought them because they were considered as top. However they are not as great as they say. They are good, they are premium, they are comfortable, reliable, but they are not so amazing as they say.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2022
    Given 48% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    They are comfortable and quiet, and when pushed they grip well. But there is very little feedback from the road and feel disconnected to what’s happening. Have tried different pressures and checked alignment but no improvement. Fuel economy is also worse by a few mpg than previous tyres. Wouldn’t recommend or buy again and I’m considering replacing which will make this an expensive mistake.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Nissan Elgrand Rider 3.5L (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 14,330 spirited miles
    Far better than my previous Dunlop tyres: Lemans V . Better grip, better comfort, better traction. A bit expensive but it's great so no problems
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 25,000 easy going miles
    Excellent tires, 33k KH and it behaves excellent, very neutral on the road no understeer or oversteer. Very confident on all conditions but on wet seems is a bit slippery but nothing to worry. Wear is excellent, it started showing a bit of wear on the side but nothing on the main thread. I would keep it for another year (3rd) and most probably I will be around 55k KH and I am planning to change it. From the wear till now I do not expect any issue to reach this milestone. Would I buy it again ? Not sure depends, is an excellent tyre but pricy, I can find conti or Goodyear for less and I will get most probably same behaviour… if next year I find it in a similar price to the other two I will choose it again otherwise will be the cheaper of those 3 manufacturers.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
    I had a pair of these on a,n Alfa 147 with a pair of Michelin pilot sport 4 on the other axle. The grip is lacking slightly compared to the sports, I did have to swap the axles as I had the grippy pilots on the front originally, a couple of slides around a tight bend later I swapped the grippy tyres to the rear! Wear on the primacy 4is far superior however, quite spirited driving up and down twisty mountain roads has seen to the pilots after just 8500 miles whilst the primacy still showing around 3 mm with 14000 miles, both tyres are good in the wet although the pilots definitely excel more. Comfort on either tyre is good and road noise is less than engine noise so can’t complain. Handling is more than adequate earning me a chat with the rozzers one day, he was upset that I drove up the mountain faster than he could so informed me I was driving too fast for the conditions, how that was as I remained in my lane all the way up and he was using both lanes to try and keep up I’m not quite sure
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2022