Michelin Primacy 4

The MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre offers a new a reference for safety. After three years of development, this tyre provides a high level of performance on wet roads, from the first use until worn to the legal wear indicator (1.6mm). This tyre, thus responds to the need to perform at a high level when worn; a long lasting performance.

Compared to its direct competitors, the new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 lasts an average of 18,000 kilometres more; confirming the long lasting performance of the new tyres designed by Michelin. The new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre is a concrete demonstration of the Michelin Group’s strategy: consumers must be able to drive safely, throughout the life of the tyre, right down to the legal wear indicator of 1.6 mm

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 78%
Wear 82%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 128 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 1,570,508 miles driven.

The Primacy 4 is ranked 45th of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Logical and easy to drive. Good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Side grip on wet road. Sound comfort.
  • Overall - Primacy 4 has a natural and nice driving feel with a linear steering response combined with good stability, it remains logical and easy to drive when balancing on the grip limit. In the evasive maneuver tests, it handles the change of load effect without issue.
    Now when the environmentally optimized e.Primacy has been launched, we note that Primacy 4 has a deeper pattern depth than previous tests and "P4" has the highest resistance to aquaplaning in this group. However, the wet grip of the rubber compound itself is not top notch. Maybe this is the compromise that comes with Michelin's pronounced focus on durability?
    Furthermore, the road noise is sensitive to the surface with higher noise on rough asphalt.
View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch - 3rd of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, particularly good in the dry, low wear.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - The Michelin Primacy 4 shines with good results both in the driving maneuvers on dry and wet roads and in the wear test, which is why it is classified as particularly recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Premium profile with balanced performance potential, short dry braking distances, fuel-saving rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning qualities, expensive.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R16)
  • 3rd: 2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 5th: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 1st: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2nd: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 5th: 2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2019 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test (235/50 R18)
  • 8th: 2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 69 7.34kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 7.17kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 6.80kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.24kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 7.03kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 6.20kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.42kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.62kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL E A B 70 6.70kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 69 8.12kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 68 8.16kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 68 8.03kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S2 A A 69 7.50kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 68 7.88kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   C A 68 7.82kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.55kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S2 B A 68 7.80kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL E A B 70 7.50kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S1 A A 68 7.60kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL   B A 68 7.81kgs
    195/55 R16 87W * A B 68 7.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 68 8.41kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S1 A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 68 8.49kgs
    205/55 R16 91W * A B 69 7.90kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S2 A A 69 8.27kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   C A 70 8.57kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL S1 A A 68 8.60kgs
    205/55 R16 91H E A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/55 R16 91V ST       9.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91V S1 A A 68 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   C A 68 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL VOL A B 68 8.20kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   B A 68 8.83kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 8.81kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 68 10.04kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.89kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 68 9.89kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E MO A B 68 8.50kgs
    205/60 R16 92V S1 B B 68 9.10kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 68 8.35kgs
    205/60 R16 92W   C A 68 12.13kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92H S1 A A 68 8.48kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   B A 69 9.05kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.06kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.02kgs
    215/60 R16 95H S1 A B 69 8.95kgs
    195/65 R16 92V   C A 69 8.53kgs
    195/65 R16 92V S1 B B 68 8.65kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
    205/45 R17 88H XL S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S2 A B 68 7.60kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S1 B B 68 8.10kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 87W   C A 69 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL S1 B B 68 8.50kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL S1 A A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.84kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.78kgs
    225/45 R17 91W VOL A B 69 8.40kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL * A A 68 8.61kgs
    225/45 R17 91W S1 B B 69 9.00kgs
    225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   B A 70 8.89kgs
    235/45 R17 94W   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   B A 70 9.24kgs
    245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    205/50 R17 93H XL S1 A B 68 8.70kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL S1       10.02kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 8.60kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S2 A B 69 8.90kgs
    215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.29kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S1 B A 69 9.40kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 68 9.10kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 94W AR. B A 69 9.58kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.48kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 9.52kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 68 9.55kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   B A 68 9.54kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 9.44kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOLDT A B 68 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOL A B 68 9.80kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 68 9.70kgs
    205/55 R17 95W XL * A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   B A 68 9.03kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL J A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL S1 A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO A B 68 8.80kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.40kgs
    215/55 R17 94V S1 A B 69 10.40kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL S1 A A 68 9.65kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL VOL A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.14kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   C A 69 10.76kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   B A 70 10.83kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   B A 70 10.80kgs
    215/60 R17 96H S1 A A 69 9.90kgs
    215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 9.78kgs
    215/60 R17 96V S1 A A 69 9.79kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B A 69 9.70kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   B A 69 10.47kgs
    235/60 R17 102V VOL A B 69 11.40kgs
    215/65 R17 99V MO B A 69 10.60kgs
    215/65 R17 103V XL S1 A A 68 10.80kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 68 9.60kgs
    235/40 R18 91W S1 B A 69 9.60kgs
    245/40 R18 93H AO B A 70 9.80kgs
    225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL S1 A A 72 9.60kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL VOL A B 70 9.70kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL S1 A B 70 10.40kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL   B A 70 10.42kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 70 10.30kgs
    245/45 R18 96W   B A 68 11.55kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   C A 70 10.69kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 68 10.62kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL   B A 68 10.09kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   C A 69 11.36kgs
    235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 70 11.36kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL S1 A B 68 10.50kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL VOL A B 68 10.80kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO1 B A 68 11.00kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO2 A A 68 10.50kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL S1 A A 68 10.55kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO S1 A B 69 11.30kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL A B 69 11.20kgs
    235/55 R18 100V AO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL A VOL A B 70 10.20kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4

    2017-09-27 - Can you mail the catalog of primacy 4 or all the tyres size for me?

    We will be attending the Michelin Primacy 4 launch in mid October 2017, so we will have a full list of Primacy 4 sizes on the website shortly after.


    2018-02-13 - When will 15'' sizes be availabe for this tire? Michelin said they would be availabe from january. Have they dropped 15''?

    The plan is a phased transition in some sizes from Energy Saver+ to Primacy 4. 2018 sizes are 185/65-15 and 195/65-15 in May/Sept, more to follow in 2019.


    2018-03-12 - Need your help . Can’t decide between Michelin Primacy 4 , Continental Premium 6 and Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. Car: Ford Focus 2008 1.6 Ti-VCT 115hp . 2009-2013 ContiSportContact5 (35000km) . 2013-2018 ContiSportContact5 (30000km). 225/4018 both of them

    A very hard question to answer! I would be between the Michelin and Continental Premium Contact 6, but I would probably end up choosing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!


    2018-06-04 - For a 205/55/R16/91V tyre size, which is better, Michelin Primacy 4 or Continental Premium contact 5?

    They are both comparable tyres. The Michelin will have better mileage, the Conti might have slightly better wet grip.


    2018-09-01 - Considering both these or Pilot Sport for Golf 1.4 in 205.55 R16. Both seem excellent tyres...but not really sure how they compare to each other. I am assuming PS is more sporty, ie stiffer sidewall? Can anyone clearly characterize the differences in "qualities" of these tyres in order to aid decision-making? (over and above all the excellent reviews). Thank you!

    Your assumption is correct in that the Primacy 4 should be slightly more comfortable, slightly quieter and slightly better mileage, where as the PS4 will feel slightly more sporty.


    2018-09-17 - I am thinking about buying this tyre, but I don't know which version to choose between: 225/45/R17 91W/Y or the 225/45/R17 94W XL. The XL has better fuel rating and one decibel lower noise level. Would there be any drawbacks if opting for this version? The car is an Audi A3 Sportback 2.0TDI 170HP.

    In theory the higher load rating could give you slightly less comfort, but in practice the differences can be very hard to notice so I would suggest that would be the tyre I would look at fitting.


    2018-10-15 - Following on from the question someone had relating to the XL version being better noise and efficiency ratings that xl version appears more preferable to the 91 rated version. Would the 94 xl version need a higher psi or is it OK to run at the car manufacturers recommended psi (assuming the only psi rating given is for a 91 rated tyre)?

    It's always best to start running at the manufacturers recommended pressures. Sometimes XL tyres with loads like to be around 2 psi higher, but again worth checking.


    2018-11-23 - What is your advice 're replacing 2 tyres? Front primacy 3 on my volvo are worn but rears have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the fronts as presumably they have similar characteristics to the primacy 3s. Do you think I should put the newer tyre on the rear?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 would be a good replacement for the Primacy 3, and the general advice is to put the newer / better tyre on the rear of the vehicle to avoid oversteer.


    2019-07-30 - Is Primacy 4 an upgrade to the Primacy 3? Reason I ask if because the Primacy 3 is more expensive than the Primacy 4. Making me think that Primacy 3 might actually be better as an overall tyre? As I currently got my 2 rear tyres changed and bought the Primacy 4 tyres. However the Formula One Autocentre fitted the Primacy 3 tyres saying that the order of the Primacy 4 is due in another 6 weeks so he suggested to keep the Primacy 3 for the same price? Wondering if I should just keep the Primacy 3 tyres now they are fitted.

    If you ordered the Primacy 4, I would want those tyres. They are a direct replacement for the Primacy 3, and improve on the Primacy 3 in most areas.


    2019-08-26 - Living in a small market country like Cyprus where the market is limited to options in "strange" sizes (Lexus IS220d with 225/45/17 & 245/45/17) I have the following decision to take. The Pilot Sport 4 I have on the car now are wearing down (will get roughly around 30K km on them) and I enquired about Evo 3, Conti Premium 6 and F1 A5 (had the A3 before the PS4) and I can only find the front tyres (!!!) at the moment. So I'm kinda left with the F1 A3 and the Primacy 4. I liked the F1 A3 a lot but knowing that the F1 A5 is out there I'm a bit bummed. I know one tyre is a performance tyre and the Primacy 4 is a touring tyre and I'm not really driving the car on sport mode so I'm leaning towards the Primacy 4. Price for the Goodyear should be a bit cheaper (around €530 compared to €580 for the Primacy 4). Any opinion to get me over the line? :) Thank you.

    Without knowing your market it is very difficult for me to recommend anything else, especially as you really seem to know your tyres! The extra purchase price of the Prim4 should be offset by the extra mileage, but the Asymmetric 3 will likely be the grippier tyre overall.


    2020-01-06 - Rear primacy 3 XL on my BMW 520D are worn (after 12k mileage) but Fronts have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the rear? How do primacy 4 perform on grip as compared with PS4? Usually I drive within speed limits. Sometime 80 to 90mph

    Primacy 4 is the obviously replacement for the 3, it's improved slightly in almost all categories. Dry and wet grip should be broadly similar to the Pilot Sport 4, but they won't handle as nicely.


    2020-08-18 - I have a VW Golf 1.4 Tsi 90kw (2015) came factory fitted with Dunlop Sport BluResponse 205/55 16 91V. Generally run Michelin tyres on my cars. I’m looking at the Primacy 4 as all round replacements, historical spinal injuries/surgery mean comfort is a priority nowadays, in your recent test the Primacy 4 rated highly on subjective comfort. However, in the video it was listed as a 91H, so my quandary is, would the 91H provide slightly improved subjective comfort over a 91V? Every little helps. . . Being a 90kw model, both VW and Michelin have recommended 91H or higher for 205/55 16 wheels.

    In that size, the 91H and 91V tyres are the same construction, so it wouldn't make a difference.


    2021-02-05 - How come New Michelin Primacy 4 comes with only 6.5mm tread depth? Is that not a bit low and do some Primacy 4 come with 8mm? If so, how come and what ones do?

    I'm not sure if some sizes come with higher tread depth, potentially SUV sizes might, however the Primacy 4 starting around 7mm is normal, and should still out-wear almost any other tyre on the market.


    2020-11-08 - Can anyone say please, primacy 4 205/55/r16 in which country this model makes it? I've seen articles that it might be in germany/russia/poland. Can anyone help me please?

    It can also depend what market you are buying the Primacy 4 in, I would suggest checking with a local tyre seller to see w where their stock is from.


    2021-01-22 - Does the Primacy 4 offer good MPG and levels of comfort?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 is known for low fuel use, there is a new version, the e.Primacy due out soon which will improve that further.


    2021-07-13 - The weight in the label scores are not accurate.... 225/45/R18 ST 95W XL tyres came 11.2kg instead of 9.6 kg.... screwed up my wheels weight calculation. I thought I was getting a set of lighter wheels but now they ended up being 1.5kg heavier per weight.

    Thank you, I'll look into this.


    2021-07-25 - Looking for new tyres for an eco hybrid and see that there are several Primacy 4 options. What is the difference between a normal Primacy 4 and the S1 variant. Looking at tyre retailers they are rated better for fuel and noise

    I would be looking at the Michelin e.Primacy instead!


    2021-08-17 - Which is better primacy 3 , or, pilot sport 3 for Bmw 270/40/19and 245/45/19. Thanks

    Both tyres are quite old and I've not tested either, so I'm afraid I don't know!


    2021-09-09 - I see that there is 3 version of the same tire - primacy 4 , primacy 4 S1 and primacy 4 S2. Does anyone test the difference or know, what it is. On paper looks huge - fuel consumption is from rating C to A.

    I would email Michelin on this one as S1 is a little ambiguous, sorry.


    2022-02-21 - I do enjoy pushing my car a little bit while driving sometimes. Is it better to go for PS4 or Primacy4? Do PS4 offer much comfort compare to Primacy for touring? What is the pro & con of getting either tyres?

    The Pilot SPORT 4 is the sportier of the two tyres, which means there is slightly reduced comfort when compared to the primacy 4.


    2022-09-21 - Please advise air pressure for Michelin Primacy 4+ 225/45R17. Driving a Lexus IS200t.

    The tyre pressure is governed by the vehicle, the data should be displayed in your owner's manual or in the door shut of the drivers door.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/65 R15 £62.39 - £101.60 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £69.69 - £132.30 (58 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/55 R16 £111.19 - £157.10 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £90.69 - £141.50 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £82.99 - £130.60 (48 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 66 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 65% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 average miles
    2016 BMW 320i 225/50/17
    2014 VW GOLF 205/55/16
    After the initial minutes of euphoria having the latest Michelin's on both of our cars I am now more doubtful about these tires.
    We have only driven ca 2200 km with the BMW and ca 1800 km with the VW, not much distance but on very various roads in just a few days and enough to have a good impression, it is similar impression with both cars.
    It's rather good tires on good roads, good grip in turns wet and dry, acceptable/good comfort on good roads, relatively low noise although there is an unusual, but modest, mechanical or metallic sound from these tires, it is not loud but a little unpleasant.
    The steering feel and handling is not quite as precis as I got used to with the other tire-brands, not at all a huge difference but I miss that little extra sense of road-feel and response.
    As soon as I left the tire dealer with the new Michelin's I noticed a little slippery unstable feeling basically at all the time at any speed and road surface, wet or dry on both cars.
    This little slippery feeling has not disappeared on any of the cars.
    It is difficult to explain, it must be experienced, it is as if there is a little wax or oil on these tires, it is very little and hardly noticeable, not a huge problem but it is always there and it's slightly annoying.
    Even on completely straight driving on highways there is this little sliding feeling, basically at any speed, it's very little but it's there, it's like the cars somehow are floating a little bit and never lands, the cars never really feel completely solid planted on the roads like with the other previous tire-brands.
    I never really drive the cars over the limits in turns but very near the limits, the grip is good with the Michelin's on good roads, it is possible to go fast in turns, but on both cars there is this for me an unusual little slippery unstable shaky or vibrating feeling near the limits, not much, but still, I never felt that with the other tire-brands near the limits and I felt that I had more control with those other brands, although the grip is good it makes me drive these Michelin's a little bit slower in turns even on good roads than with the other tire-brands.
    And on bad roads I have to slow down quite a bit with the Michelin's compared to my old tires, not so much a problem with the VW but still noticeable and unwanted, the BMW however is really bouncing around on bad roads with the Michelin's, it is uncomfortable and unstable, it does not feel safe at all.
    I can not explain this, if it had been a different tire dimension and bigger wheels then I could understand the bouncing but it is the same roads and the same cars with the same wheels and tire-sizes that I have driven with other tire-brands.
    The Michelin's are significantly more expensive than most other brands, I can not say anything about the wear because they are brand new, they do however in my opinion not excel at anything and their behavior on bad roads are not good.
    In general the Michelin's are good tires but they do not handle quite as good as my previous tires, very small differences but in favor of previous tires.
    My previous tires was Continental on BMW and Dunlop Sport BlueResponse on VW, good and stable tires with no particular fault except very high wear, I would still prefer any of them over the Michelin's.

    Helpful 545 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2018
    Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    I am michelin user since 1981. After each purchase of a new car I changed the tyres with michelin, if the original ones were not. Last year when I bought it, Golf came with Continental Eco Contact tyres that I used around 1000km, I mostly complained about noise. Comfort and handling were good enoughİ!
    Helpful 406 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    For normal, but fast driving in a normal car it is a great tyre. Don't be fooled by those who say it feels slippery, it lacks grip etc. It feels superb, it is suprisingly quiet and grips well. For all normal cars it is great and for those who want comfort and safety. Braking is also exeptional.Exeeded my expectations, recomend to everyone.
    Helpful 109 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2018
    Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Primacy 4 >

    Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 71% while driving a Hyundai Kona electric (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    A lot of wear especially on the shoulder with a sportier ride. High driving comfort, good predictability on both dry and wet surfaces. However grip and stopping times are significantly longer with a worn tyre.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2022
    Given 69% while driving a Peugeot e 2008 (215/55 R18) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
    A safe and comfortable tyre with predictable handling. Dry grip is good but does not have a sporty feel. Struggles for grip under full power when wet (instant torque from electric motor!). Tyre noise is fairly low. Good resistance to wear and seems to have low friction which helps electric range.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 59% while driving a Citroën DS7 4x4 E tense (245/55 R20) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
    These tyres came standard on both the Kia Proceed and my parents their DS7. Personally these tyres are not Michelins best work. They handle and grip very good in both dry and wet conditions with good levels of road feedback. But the comfort levels are way below acceptable for a premium tyre! They offer a harsh ride and make alot of noise in the cabin. This while the DS7 has special active scan suspension to even out every little bump in the road and has high levels of sound insulation and layered glass windows! Got rid of the Michelins on the Kia for the CC2. On the DS7 they were wore down after only 10000km! The dealership filed a complain with Michelin because alot of costumers have come in with the same problem.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Honda Civic FD1 1.8 i Vtec (205/55 R16) on for 12 miles
    Overall, Michelins do not disappoint. Have them installed on my 2009 Honda Civic 1,600CC in the above stated size. Dry grip and braking is decent, wouldn’t say they’re extremely good. However, have tried emergency braking in the wet and it disappoints. Wet grip is decent. As an overall touring tyre, this is not a set of tyres for you to fit on and go on spirited driving. Road noise is kept well at bay, tyre compound is soft. Would probably want to try Yokohama/Kumho/Hankook as my next tyre.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2022
    Given 71% while driving a Citroën (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
    For most aspects a great tyre: very good comfort, silent, great cornering, very good wearing. My problem with them is the vague steering on the motorway, which also makes them more sensitive for crosswinds. The primacy 3 doesn't have this problem. Because of this, i was very happy to change them last year november to my very good driving michelin winter tyres which because of that I drove the whole summer until now. I will try to sell the primacy 4's, pity because I only used them one season.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 FC (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Comfortable ride& quiet tyre. Good handling in both wet & dry
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Honda Mobilio (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 600 easy going miles
    Using almost 1 month and drive around 1000km, use in my daily Honda Mobilio 2017. After i change all 4 tyre, i fell this tyre superb quite and comfort. My wife already notice when i change the tyre, he immediately say woaaa this car feel difference. Almost zoro noise level when car run on good asphalt and feedback form suspension really good, my car feel like i drive Honda Oddesey.. lol But this tyre really expensive in Indonesia. 1 tyre cost $86. But for my daily car and safety for my family it's doesn't matter..
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2022
    Given 86% while driving a Honda Mobilio (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 31,000 spirited miles
    Michelin primacy 4 I used since nov 2020 for honda mobilio 2016..after more than 50.000 km it still far from TWI, comfort and give best performance in dry and wet condition..this is the longest tire that I ever use..usually I always change my tire every 50.000 km, because already touch TWI.. But if I have to buy again, I need to hard thinking due to high pricing in Indonesia market..hopefully they can give a big discount when I need to change my tire
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2022
    Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 11,000 easy going miles
    I can't really comment on most factors as I don't have enough to experience to compare them; however, on wear - the performance has been poor. They are nearly at the end of their life after 11,000 miles over 11 months. I have opened a case with Michelin. They were all made in the 27th week of 2021.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a Volvo V70 T5 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    dry grip of the tyre is good but not spectacular. wet grip is very good and still gives some feedback. Braking grip is good in dry and wet. with 35 000km the tyres lost about 3mm, that is mostly highway driving but also about 5000 to 7500 km of harddriving twisting roads and long topspeed runs of 240 km/h. For relaxed driving on the nordschleife they overheated quite fast but are still useable.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Honda Accord (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Smoothens the ride as if the car was brand new but the only draw back is the lack of feed back which could be bothering if you are a spirited driver looking for a sportier ride . For touring tyres this is the best of the best in its class . Infact amazes me how well michelin has formulated the rubber compound to make these super smooth , comfy and noise free . Is truly an example of next level engineering
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
    I do believe they are one of the best options out there for premium touring tyres, i just do not like how unattached they make you feel to the road. Probably the confiest tyres i have ever had, and way better than my older pirelli p7, but just not worth the very extra price of the tyre. In my country, Spain, when i bought them the costed around 160€ per tyre, meanwhile the continental premiumcontact6 were only 130€ per tyre. All in all, very good, really made my vw passat as confy as my older mercedes benz, and the fuel consumption has been great this 16.000km.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2022