Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews - Page 2

Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz 2010 W204 C180 Kompressor (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 51 average miles
81,810-km on a single set of tyres. They're great in the wet and even better in the dry. Quiet, comfortable, yet precise, responsive, and amazing value for money. Changed the old set out just as the wear bars are level with the tread surface. Awesome tyres for use in Singapore and Malaysian highways and trunk roads. I'm wondering how Michelin is going to outdo Primacy 4 with e.Primacy.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Audi A3 1.8T sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
11/10 Tyre, I'm amazed by it, performs incredbily well, very nice feedback from the road, never slipped in heavy rain conditions, not noisy at all and they are also one of the longest lasting tyres in this class. Would always buy again.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 71,000 easy going miles
VW Passat 1.6 Estate '64 plate, changed front tyres at 35k miles, then changed all 4 at 71k, (so the rears had done 71k, amazing), hence the '10' rating for 'tyres lasting', mainly motorway (often with Daxara 198 trailer and getting 65mpg) & town commuting mileage
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2021
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 270 CDI (225/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Just very good grip in every condition, except in snow, where rhey dont work at all. Really linear and good grip, far from a pilot sport 4. Normal fuel consumption and really low noise levels, really confortablw over bumps. All in all the most confortable tyres i have used. They did not work good on dry track, but were very fun in wet track.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
It’s a good tire for normal driving, which we do 95% of our driving. Its grippy both dry and wet, it’s soft & comfortable , it’s quite, low rolling resistance and excellent feedback. Again, I’m saying this as I drive normally i.e. daily commuting and occasionally interstate. Don’t be fooled by negative reviews by some drivers who are used to PS4/Potenzas and other UHP tires. They drove at insane speeds and expect this touring tire to have same level of performance. They are just posers.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
Given 60% while driving a Honda Accord (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 8,700 average miles
Comfortable and quiet tire. Decent roadholding and grip on dry and wet. Even on wet tarmac and temperatures as low as 5 degrees Celsius, the grip is fine. Handling and steering response is not as good as some performance-oriented tires ( Bridgestone is much better here). The worst thing is excessive wear ! After only 8700 miles ( 14 000 km ) front tires were worn to the 4mm, and rear to the 5mm. That is terrible short life for a regular non-performance tire. Previous Energy Saver + had to be driven for 40.000 km to wear off to 4mm. How I see now this Primacy 4 will turn into slicks before they reach 30.000 km. They are definitely NOT that improvement in performance, and do not justify longevity ( shortevity, better say) with better acting on the road (comparing to Energy Saver, or Turanza ER300).
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 94% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres in May 2019. If I remember correctly, Michelin advertised them to last 20,000 miles. At the moment of writing, November 2021, I have driven 21,000 miles with them and have less than 2 mm tread left on all 4 tires. Right now, I can feel they are at the end of their life. :D The performance of the tires was really good on both dry and wet surfaces. I used them mostly on UK's roads, but also took a trip around Europe with them for around 5,000 miles.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2021
Given 70% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Pros: Wear - I have this tyres for 30,000km before having to replace them due to puncture. I reckon they can go at least another 10-20k km more. Driving style is 70% highway and 30% city. Comfort - Tyres soak up imperfections on the road well and are relatively quiet. It start to get noisier at around 20,000km Cons: Wished the aquaplaning resistance is better especially when there is water pooled at the side of the road. Anything faster than ~80km/hr and you will feel it. Struggle for traction especially when the road is wet and you need to exit a slip road slightly faster. Overall: Good comfortable tyres for those who drives leisurely. If you want some dynamic better to explore other tyres in the market
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 2008 (2021) (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Excellent tire for a compact SUV and other smaller vehicles. Exceptional handling on occasional wet roads in summer. Dry surface, absolutely no complaint there. Great looking tires, quiet as well. Awesome traction for braking. My go-to tire for replacement in the future.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 7,500 spirited miles
So I'm not comparing these to sports tyres, but to eco touring tyres. The Primacy 4's feel really sticky. Not slippery at all. The grip is great, also in the corner. Compared to regular touring tyres this feels almost like a performance tyre. It’s a premium touring three season tyre that has fantastic grip. The supposed side wall deflection I sometimes read about is really, really not an issue for me. The steering feels a bit heavier, but in a good way. It for sure feels very secure in curvy mountain roads and curvy asphalt down hills. Much more secure in faster turning. I feel like I'm glued to the road going up to our house over curvy steep mountain roads here in Japan. My car does have a relatively low centre of gravity with a (underpowered) boxer engine. I feel the Primacy 4's are good to use till 5C. You'll not be as secure as in spring, the rubber compound will get a bit harder, but still usable.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
OK, these tires are good, really. I had the Primacy 3, Dunlop blue response, these and the Primacy 4* (BMW motorsport edition OEM), on the same car. The primacy 4 are overall, the best, being comfortable, safe and quiet. They are not sports tires, but you can push them and they won't let you down, on dry or wet. They are good for highway as well as for cornering, this is what you can call a very well balanced tire. The wear is good also and you won't feel like it loses quality as it wears. Now to make a comparison with the primacy 4*(bmw motorsport edition)... i would say the normal Primacy 4 is more balanced, is good for long drives, especially. The 4*, otoh, has more grip, more control but for long rides is not so much fun, will get you tired, faster, being more noisy, less comfortable. The 4* is a true sprots tire, unlike Dunlop Blue Sport Response, which is sports just in name...so if you wanna have fun and commute, go for the 4*, if you wanna drive relaxed and safe, then get the normal primacy 4. The 4* is very precise, feels like glued to the ground, by comparison, you feel a bit like on a track with it. Also acceleration and braking is a lot more efficient and faster, while losing on comfort a little.... i love the the 4* in every situation, except on very long rides. It's basically a Primacy 4 on steroids with super glue on it.. awesome engineering there. The wear is just as good on 4 or 4*, they seem both to have good wear, about the same. Probably on a good sound insulated and heavier car, the 4* is the better choice even for long runs, so you gotta try that. Price is about the same, you have ask the dealer to bring you some as those you can't easily find in stock.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2021
Given 72% while driving a BMW 523I (225/55 R16) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Having switched from Continental Premium Contact 5, I could immediately feel a disconcerting vagueness in the steering and handling of the car. It instantly feels less connected to the road. Floaty and even that 'slippery' feel. It could well be due to that the specially-formulated compound that is to give Primacy 4 its low wear and rolling resistance properties. But it does not inspire as much confidence as the CPC tyres I have been using for the last 15 years or so. So much so I have made a mental note to exercise greater caution when driving in the torrential rain. However the Primacy 4 rewards abundantly in competently smoothing out the unevenness in the roads and offering a quiet cabin for a most comfortable drive.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2021