Volkswagen e Golf Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen e Golf.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen e Golf? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a e Golf better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Defender (4) 88% 75% 85% 88% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (287) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (18) 91% 92% 77% 87% 80% 79%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (172) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen CP672 (12) 83% 70% 71% 66% 77% 75%
Michelin X Ice Xi3 (11) 81% 76% 70% 67% 75% 80%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (101) 80% 70% 69% 67% 63% 71%

Volkswagen e Golf Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Michelin "Total Performance" is right. This tire compliments the VW e-Golf perfectly. Using the 205/55R16 size with stock wheels, it strangely drives so neutral now that you could mistake it for a rear-wheel drive car. I've had a number of Miatas to compare it to. The control it gives at the limit in both a straight line and in the bends is absolutely confidence inspiring. In terms of mileage loss, it's negligible - somewhere between 2-5% range overall in my tests of frequent trips. I'm not surprised because Michelin lists it as low-rolling resistance tire for EVs. Any trade-offs over a purely eco-focused standard touring tire are overwhelming positive. If you can't tell, I'm thrilled with this tire. Does there exist anything better for its use case? Well, if this goes on a new Corvette from the factory, maybe you should consider it. Happy e-motoring!
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-29 18:41:13
Writing about the Michelin Defender given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
squealing on dry pavement at takeoff. grips good on dry and wet pavement
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-23 18:41:51
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 99% (205-45-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
My comments are for the ZR (XL) version, used on my 2018 e-golf. These are the first set of replacement tyres I've bought and a huge step up from the energy saver original tyres. The benefits have been huge, and the icing on the cake is the efficiency has not dropped on the "C' rated PS4. The lateral G on roundabouts feels very high and compatible to track day tyres on previous cars. Its still possible to break traction on damp roads with electric car power delivery, but in general the tyre limits are above what I'm going to get upto on the public road. can't comment on wear yet, but noise & comfort are what i expect from Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 17:44:59
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 12000 average miles
Fitted as std equipment to my eGolf, initially I was pleased with these tyres. Dry grip is good, noise is very low. However one rear punctured quite easily, the other rear developed a slow puncture which could not be located. Despite a new valve, rim clean and refit the air loss persisted. The fronts began to develop cracks in every tread and at 12000 miles were worn . I replaced the set with Michelin E primacy. I’m unlikely to purchase Dunlop again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-31 17:39:01
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 easy going miles
Tyres seem really soft rubber if you push them with your finger, compared to other tyres. I have only driven less than 6000 miles and already I have had two punctures. Either I’m really unlucky or it must be something about the softness of these tyres making them more prone to punctures.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-02 20:31:35
Writing about the Nexen CP672 given 23% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 800 average miles
Horrific in wet. Don’t buy them
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-01 13:22:00
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 43% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 easy going miles
In a total of 5,000 miles from new I have had 3 punctures on these tyres. I could just be unlucky, but they seem to me be quite puncture prone. I'm looking to replace all 4 now with something better
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-23 11:59:05
Writing about the Michelin X Ice Xi3 given 50% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 easy going miles
Used the X Ice Xi3's on a VW e-Golf; they are terrible winter tires. We continuously scratch our heads when we see these tires score well in tests as they are no better in snow and ice than a typical All Season tire. Ended up getting a different winter tire and running the x Ice as summer tires on the e-Golf. I actually tested the braking on the same icy section of road against cheap General snow tires and they took almost double the distance to stop. I then took my full size RAM pickup with Blizzak's on the same section and was able to stop slightly shorter than the VW with General tires. I'll never buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-17 03:18:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre