Michelin X Ice Xi3

The Michelin X Ice Xi3 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 178,800 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 11th.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 60%
Wear 78%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 71%
Snow Grip 77%
Ice Grip 76%

First On MarketMay 2011
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width155 - 275mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - E
Wet GripE - E
Noise (dB)66 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The X Ice Xi3 is ranked 51st of 66 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin X Ice Snow.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

16th

Average Result

11th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Consumer Reports North America Winter Tyre Test
5th of 17 tyres
  • Strong winter performance, low rolling resistance, and a quiet ride are highlights of this tire. It gets a Very Good rating for resisting hydroplaning, and its Excellent rating for rolling resistance can help improve fuel economy.
View Full Test >>
2014 Test World Summer Tyre Test
16th of 16 tyres
  • The Michelin X Ice Xi3 is a full nordic winter tyre. While this tyre scores extremely well in extreme winter tests, it is no match for the summer tyres in the warmer conditions, stopping nearly 15 meters later than the best summer tyre, and 6.7 meters after the worst summer tyre. This shows northern Europe winter tyres should not be used year round, despite their noise and comfort advantages!
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/70R14 92 T XLDE71
175/65R14 86/0 T XLDE71
15 inch
195/55R15 89 H XLDE71
185/65R15 92 T XLDE71
16 inch
205/55R16 94 H XLCE71
205/55R16 91 HDE66
17 inch
225/50R17 98 H XLDE71
225/45R17 91 HEE66
18 inch
245/45R18 100 H XLCE71
225/40R18 92 H XLCE71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin X Ice Xi3 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin X Ice Xi3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Michelin X Ice Xi3 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Acura (245/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Let me begin by saying I drive like a maniac in the snow and icy conditions, I try to pass cars and avoid them spinning out on me so I pass most people. I have a very aggressive driving style once the snow hits the ground. I don't risk this style on turns with the michelin x ice 3 tires as cornering is a little risky for me. As far as driving surfaces that these tires do well with I would say dry pavement 9/10, wet 7/10 (caught some understeer going into a corner too quickly) and rugged ice 8/10, light slush/sleet 9/10. Deep snow over 4 inches I can't really say cause we don't get much deep snow in spokane WA, city cleans it up very quickly. For anything under 3 inches these tires do very well. Drove 10k miles on them and am down to 9/32 and 8/32s. I bought these tires in New condition but aged (made in 2017) they still do very well to drive in the conditions described prior. On polished ice or Deep snow I'm not sure how well they'll perform to a studded tire. On polished ice they don't do very well especially going down hill, caught me by surprise a few times. I get amazing traction very good bite on acceleration and they do well with braking, honestly I'm very impressed.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2023
Given 66% while driving a Renault (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,400 easy going miles
Used them for three winter seasons in Sweden. They feel secure and stable on dry pavement, especially on colder temperatures below 0 celcius. At milder temperatures they becomes sluggish. They resist aquaplaning perfectly Ok. Braking in wet is adequate for a nordic winter tyre but not class leading. Traction and braking on snow covered roads is very good, but they lack grip in cornering. Ice traction is very good, braking good on rugged ice. Less good on wet ice. Comfort is very good. Lot’s of thread left. So wear is good. Low rolling resistance. I won’t buy them again since they have been discontinued. Michelin is a good reliable brand, if a bit expensive.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I had these on in a warmer than average summer. We live up around 800~1000m and we would have mild snow and mild iced over asphalt or mountain roads, while down in the city it would be above freezing. Cornering the steep and curvy mountain roads you could definitely feel the difference with the Primacy 4's that I would have on the rest of the year. Slower, more deflection, not as direct in the corners. But where this tyre needed to perform it did perform. When there was hard ice, I felt completely secure (thought I'd adjust to appropriate speeds of course!). If I could get a tyre with this grip in ice, but slightly better just cold weather performance in town then I would go with that. But for my new car I will buy the updated X-Ice Snows.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2021
Have you driven on the Michelin X Ice Xi3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin X Ice Xi3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin X Ice Xi3 >

Latest Michelin X Ice Xi3 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a Kia Motors Soul 1.6 CDI (205/60 R16) on mostly town for 0 average miles
If you live on the coast where it's wet and temperate in the winters, it's great. Once you start driving in the mountains or places where it really snows, do not get it. On compacted snow or ice, it will just slide like summer tires would. We're on our third year with it and they were great on the coast in the first 2 years. Then we moved inland where there's more ice and snow, these tires were bad. DO NOT BUY FOR ICE AND SNOW DRIVING.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 48,000 average miles
These tires have been excellent. I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, and these were my first dedicated winter tire, having switched from what we call an all-season. Weather here is consistently below freezing from early November through mid-March so the tires deal with a lot of deep cold on dry pavement (approaching -40 for the coldest weeks in January) and a lot of hard packed snow. The fall and spring see a lot of ice. The X-Ice Xi3s performed really well in this blend of deep winter conditions, providing confidence-inspiring traction. They provide enough traction that I don't feel the need to look at studded tires (especially considering the amount of dry pavement and snow we see because of the consistency of the cold, not a lot of ice like more coastal climates), and I'll certainly not go back to running one set of tires all year. What I'm most impressed with is the longevity I've got out of these tires, easily 10 thousand miles more than I expected, 15 thousand more than warrantied, and they're still performing decently near the end of their life (I'll run them for the first couple months of next winter and hope to replace them on a sale nearing Christmas). Traction has only decreased a small amount, and no noticeable change to NVH.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Vauxhall (215/55 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
X-ice xi3 are very confortable and quiet. I drove it for two mild winters. Looks like I will drive them two more.The wear is very low. I did lot of motorway driving in temperature range betwin 0 and 20 celsius and they look good as new. I would recomed them and would by them again.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2020
Given 86% while driving a BMW (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Hello, my review come from Lithuania winter roads. I have bought these tyres in 2013 looking for best quality tyres and I chose Michelin X Ice Xi3 as premium brand and I used them for 5 winter seasons, now they are about 4-5mm still left(new was about 8mm). These were newest model and I wanted to invest to quality product, so I tried them on my BMW E61 530D.
These tyres work very good on icy roads from -0‎°C, at these temperature they become very stable and gives their best properties. Any accidents in 5 years of using, so I think they are pretty good. Grooves on these tyres are not very big, so deep snow would be a bit problem, but I driving BMW with rear driven and I never stuck in country snowy roads even. I recommend Michelin X Ice Xi3 for those who live in city, but sometimes have to drive country roads. They are soft rubber, but don't wear very fast even your car is more powerful than standart class cars.
I would buy different tyres next time just to try another brand
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2019
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
Used the X Ice Xi3's on a VW e-Golf; they are terrible winter tires. We continuously scratch our heads when we see these tires score well in tests as they are no better in snow and ice than a typical All Season tire. Ended up getting a different winter tire and running the x Ice as summer tires on the e-Golf. I actually tested the braking on the same icy section of road against cheap General snow tires and they took almost double the distance to stop. I then took my full size RAM pickup with Blizzak's on the same section and was able to stop slightly shorter than the VW with General tires. I'll never buy these again.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Honda Civic (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Very quiet, the quietest tire I've ever owned not just the quietest winter tire. Very good treadwear, driven at least 50000km and they're still around 7/32. Excellent in snow I've become a much more confident winter driver with these on my car. Also above average in regular wet and dry conditions
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2018
Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
On xi 3 I never rode, but on xi 2 I passed four winters. It excellent tires for snow, wet snow, moist asphalt. I live in Crimea, here a winter rarely is snow, in the day-time often temperature 0+12, at such temperatures she behaves as a summer tire in summer, but at speed a to 110-115 km\h.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2015
Given 91% while driving a BMW 328i (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,400 spirited miles
I have driven my car with these tyre 20.000km on my taxi, the tyre is good.
I like the way my car drive in dry grip, its a lot off grip in these winter tyres for the normal roads, the grips in the wet are very good from all other the winter tyre i have driven with, michelin is absolute a good tyre brand.
I have driven my car 20.000km with these tyres, its very good condition yet, like there were new, i will drive with these next year again.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2015