Michelin Alpin 6

The Michelin Alpin 6 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Alpin 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 84%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 91%
Snow Grip 89%
Ice Grip 82%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 58,110 miles driven.

The Alpin 6 is ranked 10th of 50 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 12th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 AMS Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Best in the dry with good dry handling and good cornering grip in the wet.
  • Negative - Average snow performance.
View Full Test >>

2021 ADAC 15 Inch Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, good on all surfaces, top marks in dry and ice, best wear on test.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/60 R15 88H   C B 69 7.62kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 69 7.96kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 69 7.62kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 69 8.16kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 69 8.24kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69 8.03kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   E B 69 7.69kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
215/45 R16 90H XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 69 7.69kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 69 8.30kgs
225/50 R16 96H XL   C B 69 9.08kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 69 8.12kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 69 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 69 8.28kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 69 9.08kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.68kgs
195/60 R16 89T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69 8.57kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 69 8.68kgs
215/60 R16 99T XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 69 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 69 9.88kgs
225/50 R17 94H   E B 69 9.88kgs
205/55 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94H   C B 69 9.29kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
225/55 R17 97H   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C B 69 10.18kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Alpin 6

2021-03-31 - I was wondering, what is the thread depth of a new Alpin 6 tire? I drive a 195/65 r15.

The starting tread depth of the Alpin 6 is 8.1mm


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Alpin 6 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £74.99 - £122.40 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £67.49 - £88.70 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £96.99 - £150.10 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £103.39 - £147.20 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £121.79 - £162.40 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane Sports Tourer (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had until now kleber krisalp hp2, Avon Ice touring, Pirelli Cinturato. The Alpin 6 have a good grip on wet and dry, they are silent to. I'm waiting the snow to test it. 1st impresion, verry good.
Helpful 164 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2018
Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I am very impressed. Before Alpin 6 I had Conti TS850 and TS860 fitted on my car, and I never conauseated any other tyres. Thinking on how many miles I tend to make during a year on my personal (Golf 7) and business car (Berlingo van) I came across Alpins. They are never no1 on the tests, but tests overall are BS, since only new tyres are tested. In practice, after first year and at least 20.000 km every tyre (premium&budget) tend to lose their performances, and then you start to think about Michelin’s philosophy- good when new, good when used. I like tyres which are maybe not best on tests, but keep their performances on every kilometer driven - from 0 till the end of their lifespan. I have them on my both cars in the same dimension 195/65 15, made in Italy. Performances so far were excellent, I mean I didn’t expect anything less. I tried them on the snow- perfect. Dry road - perfect. Rainy road - nothing I can complain on. Really one great tyre. Price is premium, but their expected mileage is not less than 45000 km which is great. With cheaper tyres (I considered Kleber Krisalp HP3) I would certainly get better price, but expected lifespan would be, by my opinion max 30-35 thousand km. So yes, I consider those are worth that price difference, although today it is hard to buy bad winter tyre in that price range.
I will keep you noticed with wear of those tyres.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2018
Given 78% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These were excellent tyres. The car handled beautifully on them, very secure and lots of grip. I didn't find them particularly heavy on fuel either but I was shocked that I only got one season out of them.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020
Have you driven on the Michelin Alpin 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Alpin 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Alpin 6 >

Latest Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have fitted the Alpin 6 to my SEAT Ibiza 1.0 Tsi Manual built in 2018. My ratings: Dry: It's pretty good, no problems, especially when it's colder- warmer temperatures are also okay, but I wouldn't use it above 15°C because of a potential higher wear Wet Grip: This is where the tyre really got going - phenomenal wet grip- even on these 195mm setup, which normally isn't that good in rainy conditions. Comfort: The tyre has great comfort - more than the Bridgestone Turanza Summer or the previously use Pirelli CInturato Winter tyres. Wear: I can't say anything on that - I haven't driven enough, but I think they will last a few years (at least with my mileage) Snow and Ice Grip: The Ibiza is a FWD car - which definetly is bad in snow and on ice - but the tyre is really good - i haven't had any problems so far - it feels like you are connected to the ground under the snow. I can't say anything about ice but I think it will perform quite good for a non Ice tyre. Verdict: So, the tyre is really great - it definetly feels better in Dry and Wet conditions in comparison to the Pirelli Cinturato Winter. In Snow however I think that the Pirelli was as good - but the Alpin is the better allrounder. So, if you're looking for an allround winter tyre with great performance on any surface (except Ice) go for the Alpin 6.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Great tire, I have it 3 months and I am very satisfied. I used before contiTS850, Mischelin is better in all conditions.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Have these on my O3 1.8 TSI. They are very comfortable tires with decent feedback (sure, a bit of a downgrade from a summer tyre, but still good enough). They have excellent wet and dry cold traction, but they lack when it comes to snow, ice and mushy roads. In my country there are still sometimes some heavy snowfalls and these are definitely worse than my previous Conti TS860 w/ VW Bora. They are not bad, I don't get stuck in the snow and I don't go like a sleigh in corners, but the back end does go sideways quite easily if I push it and the wheels are spinning all day long if I push the pedal a lil' bit more than granny style. If these were mid range tyres, there would be awesome tyres for that price, but given I paid a premium for them, they aren't worth the premium in terms of snow/ice performance. I have to insist on this, that only for snow and ice they are average, but this doesn't mean they won't do the job, but they won't feel like "yeah, these are strong tyres in snow". Anyways, I think the premium does have a merit when it comes to quality, wear and feedback that is constant during the many years of use.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Good grip in all situations but feels a bit under inflated comparing to the previous Michelin Alpine 5.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 68% while driving a Renault megane 4 hb (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Tyre is soft, drive is quite sluggish. on highway little correction are needed. On other car i have Continental WinterContact and those are much better on dry roads
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Very good dry grip, awesome on wet surface and one of The best on the snow surface!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Tires are designed for mild winters. Excellent performance on dry asphalt, highway, high speeds, road serpentine. High comfort level, low noise level. During operation in snowy weather - average qualities.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2021
Given 97% while driving a SEAT Leon ST TDI FR 184 (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Ok, I'm impressed with this tire! In snow/ice the grip is insane, the best winter tire I have tried for ages, so much grip and so much control. In this car, I went from Yokohama's winter tires, and the noise I measured in the car on the highway (120 km/t) was 73 dB, on a dry road, approximately 20 degrees Celsius with the old Yokohama. But with this new Michelin Alpin 6 (A6) I measured the noise to be 67-68 dB on the same road, at the same speed and same temperature! Incredible upgrade, it felt like a got a whole new car. I will say that I normally drive a bit more aggressively than others, and I love high speed. So I push the car and tires in the corners, and I have never lost it because of a bad grip. I feel totally comfortable with this tire, and it has never let me down. The only downside with this tire is when I'm holding still, and then accelerate and doing a left or a right turn on a wet road, and I press a little too much on the gas pedal, then my tires will spin a bit. But I guess that most tires will do that under wet conditions, so no deal-breaker for me here! after 5000 miles, I can't see any wear, so that's nice! I drive my tires in Denmark if that give any pieces of information for others :) For me, this is a very nice tire, and I will give it my highest recommendation, and I will buy it again.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021
Given 94% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have them for a few hounders of km now. Ss soon as I put them on the car, the mud appeared on the road and the tires did their job properly. Even if they are mounted on a BMW 5 Series 520d automatic gearbox, RWD, with only 163 hp, on dry asphalt I managed to make them squeak at hard starts. The road feadback is great, as is the grip on wet and cold asphalt. I tested them in about 15-20 cm of freshly fallen snow, they did their job brilliantly, without slipping and giving me the impression of maximum safety. On a slope with a slope of 15-17%, the snowy road, I climbed with 50-60 km / h while others barely climbed with 30-40 km / h, even with front-wheel drive cars. After 4-5 sets of Pirelli WinterSottoZero and SnowControl Serie 2, a set of Dunlop Sport4D on different tyres, I switched to Michelin and I don't think I will change the brand of winter tires too soon. With these tires I feel safer than ever. I will update my review after I will drive them even more.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2020
Given 76% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Tires are a bit noisy. Even though they are rated with speed index V I do feel very uncomfortable on speeds 130 km/h and above. Car is not keeping the line good with those tires. On snow an Ice it is just above average. I will by Continental next time.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Best winter tyres ever!! Both on dry roads and sonw/ice. I am driving 185/65-R15...Great handling and road-feedback on dry roads and motorways. I mostly drive on dry roads at 5degrees celsius. I used Alpin4 in the past, but these new Alpin6 are much better. Great improvement, great control in every situation. I definitely suggest them to everyone with any winter condition.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2020
Given 98% while driving a Opel astra h 1.6 (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Tires are great as performance. I will certainly buy them again.
Compared to my previous tires hankook, these last shorter but performance in real winter conditions is better and foresure you stop faster than any other commercial tires.
Good tires.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2019