Michelin Alpin 6

The Michelin Alpin 6 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Alpin 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 86%
Wear 82%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 93%
Snow Grip 91%
Ice Grip 85%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 46,100 miles driven.

The Alpin 6 is ranked 6th of 39 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Premium tyres with stable handling qualities in all weather, excellent wet handling, precise steering with good feedback.
  • Negative - High price, increased pass-by noise.
  • Overall - Excellent.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Zeitung Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 14 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 2nd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, good on dry, wet and snow-covered roads, low wear.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/60 R15 88H   C B 69 7.62kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 69 7.96kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 69 7.62kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 69 8.16kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 69 8.24kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69 8.03kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   E B 69 7.69kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
215/45 R16 90H XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 69 7.69kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 69 8.30kgs
225/50 R16 96H XL   C B 69 9.08kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 69 8.12kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 69 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 69 8.28kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 69 9.08kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.68kgs
195/60 R16 89T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69 8.57kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 69 8.68kgs
215/60 R16 99T XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 69 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 69 9.88kgs
225/50 R17 94H   E B 69 9.88kgs
205/55 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94H   C B 69 9.29kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
225/55 R17 97H   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C B 69 10.18kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Alpin 6

2021-03-31 - I was wondering, what is the thread depth of a new Alpin 6 tire? I drive a 195/65 r15.

The starting tread depth of the Alpin 6 is 8.1mm


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Alpin 6 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £62.27 - £99.69 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £52.54 - £94.49 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £76.00 - £97.49 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £85.97 - £115.29 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £112.90 - £150.29 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane Sports Tourer (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had until now kleber krisalp hp2, Avon Ice touring, Pirelli Cinturato. The Alpin 6 have a good grip on wet and dry, they are silent to. I'm waiting the snow to test it. 1st impresion, verry good.
149 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2018   
Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I am very impressed. Before Alpin 6 I had Conti TS850 and TS860 fitted on my car, and I never conauseated any other tyres. Thinking on how many miles I tend to make during a year on my personal (Golf 7) and business car (Berlingo van) I came across Alpins. They are never no1 on the tests, but tests overall are BS, since only new tyres are tested. In practice, after first year and at least 20.000 km every tyre (premium&budget) tend to lose their performances, and then you start to think about Michelin’s philosophy- good when new, good when used. I like tyres which are maybe not best on tests, but keep their performances on every kilometer driven - from 0 till the end of their lifespan. I have them on my both cars in the same dimension 195/65 15, made in Italy. Performances so far were excellent, I mean I didn’t expect anything less. I tried them on the snow- perfect. Dry road - perfect. Rainy road - nothing I can complain on. Really one great tyre. Price is premium, but their expected mileage is not less than 45000 km which is great. With cheaper tyres (I considered Kleber Krisalp HP3) I would certainly get better price, but expected lifespan would be, by my opinion max 30-35 thousand km. So yes, I consider those are worth that price difference, although today it is hard to buy bad winter tyre in that price range.
I will keep you noticed with wear of those tyres.
44 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I'm impressed, I used Alpin 5 or Pirelli Snowcontrol 3 in the past. Now I switched to Michelin Alpin 6 despite of tendency to use Continental TS860 which has bigger level of noise on same specification. For summer I use Bridgestone Turanza T005 which are very good on handling and braking on all conditions, top tires, but a little bit rigid and noisier. Alpin 6 impressed me very much on all aspects. Very good steering, not to hard and not too soft, good feedback from the road. Very good braking on wet and good on dry on about 7 degrees Celsius, I think will be OK on less as well. I braked on about 4 degrees on wet and responsive was very good. I'm impressed about the comfort, very soft on bad roads on cold weather. Also are very silence, on my Golf 7 I hear only the wind on more than 100 km/hour. I will remain a Michelin fan, I'm happy I come back on them, they make very good tires on all aspects or criteria.
21 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2018   
Have you driven on the Michelin Alpin 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Alpin 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Alpin 6 >

Latest Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 82% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Tires are designed for mild winters. Excellent performance on dry asphalt, highway, high speeds, road serpentine. High comfort level, low noise level. During operation in snowy weather - average qualities.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a SEAT Leon ST TDI FR 184 (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Ok, I'm impressed with this tire! In snow/ice the grip is insane, the best winter tire I have tried for ages, so much grip and so much control. In this car, I went from Yokohama's winter tires, and the noise I measured in the car on the highway (120 km/t) was 73 dB, on a dry road, approximately 20 degrees Celsius with the old Yokohama. But with this new Michelin Alpin 6 (A6) I measured the noise to be 67-68 dB on the same road, at the same speed and same temperature! Incredible upgrade, it felt like a got a whole new car. I will say that I normally drive a bit more aggressively than others, and I love high speed. So I push the car and tires in the corners, and I have never lost it because of a bad grip. I feel totally comfortable with this tire, and it has never let me down. The only downside with this tire is when I'm holding still, and then accelerate and doing a left or a right turn on a wet road, and I press a little too much on the gas pedal, then my tires will spin a bit. But I guess that most tires will do that under wet conditions, so no deal-breaker for me here! after 5000 miles, I can't see any wear, so that's nice! I drive my tires in Denmark if that give any pieces of information for others :) For me, this is a very nice tire, and I will give it my highest recommendation, and I will buy it again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 94% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have them for a few hounders of km now. Ss soon as I put them on the car, the mud appeared on the road and the tires did their job properly. Even if they are mounted on a BMW 5 Series 520d automatic gearbox, RWD, with only 163 hp, on dry asphalt I managed to make them squeak at hard starts. The road feadback is great, as is the grip on wet and cold asphalt. I tested them in about 15-20 cm of freshly fallen snow, they did their job brilliantly, without slipping and giving me the impression of maximum safety. On a slope with a slope of 15-17%, the snowy road, I climbed with 50-60 km / h while others barely climbed with 30-40 km / h, even with front-wheel drive cars. After 4-5 sets of Pirelli WinterSottoZero and SnowControl Serie 2, a set of Dunlop Sport4D on different tyres, I switched to Michelin and I don't think I will change the brand of winter tires too soon. With these tires I feel safer than ever. I will update my review after I will drive them even more.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2020   
Given 78% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These were excellent tyres. The car handled beautifully on them, very secure and lots of grip. I didn't find them particularly heavy on fuel either but I was shocked that I only got one season out of them.
17 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Tires are a bit noisy. Even though they are rated with speed index V I do feel very uncomfortable on speeds 130 km/h and above. Car is not keeping the line good with those tires. On snow an Ice it is just above average. I will by Continental next time.
18 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Best winter tyres ever!! Both on dry roads and sonw/ice. I am driving 185/65-R15...Great handling and road-feedback on dry roads and motorways. I mostly drive on dry roads at 5degrees celsius. I used Alpin4 in the past, but these new Alpin6 are much better. Great improvement, great control in every situation. I definitely suggest them to everyone with any winter condition.
9 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2020   
Given 98% while driving a Opel astra h 1.6 (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Tires are great as performance. I will certainly buy them again.
Compared to my previous tires hankook, these last shorter but performance in real winter conditions is better and foresure you stop faster than any other commercial tires.
Good tires.
9 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2019