Michelin Alpin 5

The Michelin Alpin 5 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Alpin A4 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Alpin 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 79%
Wear 89%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 91%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 80%

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 119,238 miles driven.

The Alpin 5 is ranked 11th of 45 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 11th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Even as one of the most expensive tyres on test it finished as the best value tyre due to extremely low wear. Good in the wet and dry.
  • Negative - Average snow performance, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 5th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Best tyre in the dry and lowest wear
  • Negative - Slightly weak in the snow and fuel consumption tests compared to the best
View Full Test >>

2018 51 Winter Tyre Shootout - 17th of 52 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/60 R15 91H   E B 68 7.92kgs
205/60 R15 91T   E B 68 8.00kgs
185/65 R15 88T   E B 68 7.35kgs
195/65 R15 91T   E B 68 7.97kgs
195/65 R15 91H   E B 68 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   E B 68 7.92kgs
195/65 R15 91H G1 E B 68 7.80kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   E B 68 7.95kgs
205/65 R15 94H   E B 68 8.93kgs
205/65 R15 94T   E B 68 8.93kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   E B 68 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   F B 68 7.83kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71 8.00kgs
215/45 R16 90H XL   E B 71 8.01kgs
185/50 R16 81H   F B 68 7.80kgs
195/50 R16 88H XL   E B 68 8.01kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 68 8.21kgs
225/50 R16 96H XL   E B 71 9.09kgs
225/50 R16 96H XL N0 E B 71 9.09kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   E B 68 8.21kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   E B 68 8.19kgs
205/55 R16 91H   F B 68 11.49kgs
205/55 R16 91H N0 E B 68 8.28kgs
205/55 R16 91H AO E B 68 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   E B 68 8.31kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   E B 68 8.31kgs
205/55 R16 91H   E B 68 8.23kgs
205/55 R16 91T   E B 68 8.28kgs
225/55 R16 95V   E B 68 13.44kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL   C B 71 9.24kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 71 9.24kgs
195/60 R16 89T   E B 68 8.56kgs
195/60 R16 89H   E B 68 8.59kgs
205/60 R16 92H AO E B 68 8.80kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   E B 68 8.60kgs
205/60 R16 92T   E B 68 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92V   E B 68 12.27kgs
205/60 R16 92H MO C B 68 8.70kgs
215/60 R16 99T XL   C B 71 9.24kgs
215/60 R16 95H   C B 71 11.26kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 71 9.24kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 71 9.78kgs
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 71 9.78kgs
205/65 R16 95H MO E B 68 9.14kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL   E B 68 8.69kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   E B 71 8.69kgs
215/45 R17 91H XL   E B 71 8.69kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   E B 71 9.55kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   E B 71 9.54kgs
225/45 R17 91H   E B 71 9.48kgs
225/45 R17 91V   F B 68 12.05kgs
205/50 R17 89V   F B 68 11.30kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL AO E B 68 9.05kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   E B 68 9.01kgs
215/50 R17 95H XL   E B 71 9.38kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   E B 71 9.38kgs
225/50 R17 94H   E B 71 9.91kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   E B 71 10.02kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 71 9.97kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   E B 68 9.42kgs
215/55 R17 94H G1 E B 71 11.20kgs
215/55 R17 94V AO E B 71 9.90kgs
215/55 R17 94H   E B 71 9.94kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   E B 71 10.02kgs
225/55 R17 97H   E B 71 10.02kgs
225/55 R17 97H AO E B 71 10.50kgs
225/55 R17 97H *MOE E B 68 14.10kgs
225/55 R17 97H * MO C B 68 10.14kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   C B 71 9.83kgs
205/55 R19 97H XL   C B 68 10.50kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C B 68 10.10kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Alpin 5

2017-02-17 - What is the recommended max.outside working temperature?

The Michelin Alpin 5 has no maximum outside temperature as such and could be run year round, however it's good practice to change your winter tyres back to summer tyres when the temperature is starting to be consistently above 7c.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Alpin 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £53.73 - £53.73 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £91.74 - £156.70 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £111.84 - £148.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £136.00 - £164.60 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 19 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre, never let me down, awesome on rain, good handling, very soft under -0.

Compared with Continental TS830 almost equal tyres.
119 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2015   
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
since buying these winter tyres, i don't use anything else between October and April, the wet performance is outstanding,
And in the snow is unbelievable, i dont need a 4x4 in snow anymore, they really are that good.
if you drive sensibly, i dont see why they wouldnt last through the summer either, but i suspect if you push them when the roads are too hot and dry they wouldnt be able to handle it. i think they are best under 7 - 8 degrees celcius.
21 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I have bought these tyres 3 years ago (end 2015 - DOT mid 2015) and they behaved well for the first three winter seasons. The previous winter tyres were Alpin 3 and in the fourth year they were not reliable at all, ice grip was zero.
My personal opinion is that there is a big catch with these tyres and Michelin tyres in general (summer ones are Michellin also and have the same problem). They are pretty good for the first 3 years but no more; after 3 years, regardless of mileage (I have only done 37k KM with both sets, minimal wear) rubber compound degrades beyond safety driving (with the summer set I had a few occasions where I could barely stop the car, and the winter set got me into a total car crash).
So, if you do enough mileage to replace them in 3 years, I would say they are fine, otherwise no; even Michellin says you could keep your tyres longer than 3 years.
19 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2018   
Have you driven on the Michelin Alpin 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Alpin 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Alpin 5 >

Latest Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (195/50 R16) on mostly town for 15 average miles
delivery driver These winter tyres are amazing! The performance in the British winter is unmatched They're a great reliable road tyre that lasted me 15,000 miles driving around my local area I never got stuck in the snow and believe me I tried! they're so reliable and handy to have in the winter for any conditions I highly recommend them
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
top grip, i went into circle part of road when going out of highway, and there is sign with allowed speed of 40km/h and i decide to try them,it was 3 celsius outside so it was cold and road was not 100 percent dry because there was a slightly fog,more like air was quite humid,and i went 70km/h through it like i was glued to it.Top performance tyre,and you won t regret of buying it,i have nexen su1 summer tyre and they have nice grip and all but above 200km/h you can feel car is kinda swingy,idk how to explain correctly(i have them for 25000km and they are great in their price range,but michelin is michelin),and with these tyres you feel you are on the railway even though they are winter tyre.Price is there but with it you will buy great product that will last double amount of some other high middle tyre.Buy it and enjoy in top quality tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Volvo (195/65 R15 R) on a combination of roads for 23 average miles
I've bought my 2nd set my last set lasted over 3 years about 20 000 miles I've had Dunlop Toyo Goodyear good grip on snow not bad on dry tarmac and great in the wet can't find better
2 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2020   
Hyundai (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I had these on my Hyundai Tucson 2.0 petrol 2WD,and boy did they do a great job in the snow.Had to go down to airport ,BURGAS when living in BG,it was around a 60 ml trip,snow was at a constant depth of at least 6
inches in most places.Got me there and back without getting stuck,and the car was only 2 wheel FWD ....Very good in wet too..great choice just for harsh winter driving
13 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
So much grip and feel in snow, wet roads and dry roads. No vibrations. Perfect winter tyre and well worth the money.
13 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
When new the traction in the snow was phenomenal, almost felt like I had a 4x4. Obviously as the tyres wore down the edge was lost but I really recommend these as a great winter tyre. Lived for a winter in Norway so I do understand what it's like to drive on ice and snow.
17 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2017   
BMW 318D (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Greate tire. I had it on a 3 serier 2010 BMW and in snow are greate, never let me down. I would buy them again for sure
11 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Volvo V70 D5 AWD (225/45 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Just got them fitted as an all year alternative. Aqua planing is very good, so is the low noise level. Have not tried them in winter conditions yet, but here where I live, its typically 12 degrees celsus and rain all year round. So tarmac and specially wet tarmac skills are what counts the most. Here them are safe in the wet, very steady in the grooves, and no drama. The only bad thing is brake grim on dry tarmac. I belive theese tyres are very good in snow... on ice... not so much, studded tires are of course better on ice, but you have to choose to what surface you drive the most.

Feedback from the tyres are not easy to tell, because the light steering and wobbly set ut of my volvo v70 takes away all feedback (I am spoiled with bmw feedback, chassis and steering, so theese tyres on a bmw would be great to try out)

This tyre is one of the best all year tyres I have ever tested. Works as a summer tyre in cold countryes. In warm countryes they will be too soft! Also its not the most hardcore wintertyre, but good enough, specially if you have 4x4.

8 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo V40 1.5 T3 Geartronic (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
except the price and handling these are good tyres.Also wheel is absurdly get heavy in little turns.
7 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2016   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
The perfect tyres!
16 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a Skoda Yeti (215/65 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Cool tyres for my 1.2 skoda yeti. So far I'm using them 1 year mainly country roads, some highway. They are certainly not made for summer above 30C, but below that point I have nothing to complain. In winter they have better grip compare to Conti. Not very progressive, quite soft to drive even below -10C
10 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2015   
Given 95% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Got them for a skiing trip to the Austrian alps. On the way there I drove them at high speed on the German Autobahn (limited to 210 kph due to H index). None of the usual noise and other discomforts. Very good in the rain and on wet roads. Even on the dry they grip much better than the fatter Nokian summer tyres I currently run. On snow and ice they are superb.

Had Vredestein tyres (used ones that came with the car) before and never felt comfortable with them. Drove on snow covered mountain roads at night and had tons of fun without the usual panic attacks. On ice I was fine too. Only when I had to get out of the car (e.g. Hotel park site) I realize how dangerously slippery it was.

Kept them on for a while after where they had to cope mostly with wet roads and mild snowfall. There the high level of comfort and great road feedback came into play. When taking them off I didn't detect much wear at all (despite some "fun" driving in the dry).

All in all Michelin produced yet another great Alpin Tyre. It's so good, I wish winter would last a bit longer.
11 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2015