Michelin Alpin 5

The Michelin Alpin 5 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 165,238 miles driven, and 25 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 77%
Wear 91%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 92%
Ice Grip 84%

First On MarketMay 2014
Wheel Size15 - 20"
Width185 - 225mm
Profile45 - 65
Rolling ResistanceC - E
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)68 - 71
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Alpin 5 is ranked 11th of 66 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Alpin A4 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Alpin 6.

Tests Included

25

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

17th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16
5th of 16 tyres
  • Best tyre in the dry and lowest wear
  • Slightly weak in the snow and fuel consumption tests compared to the best
View Full Test >>
2018 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test
11th of 22 tyres
  • Even as one of the most expensive tyres on test it finished as the best value tyre due to extremely low wear. Good in the wet and dry.
  • Average snow performance, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65R15 91 TDB68
185/65R15 88 TDB68
16 inch
205/60R16 96 H XLDB68
205/55R16 91 HEB68
205/60R16 92 VDB68
205/55R16 91/0 TDB68
215/60R16 99 H XLCB71
205/55R16 91 HDB68
215/60R16 95 HCB71
17 inch
225/50R17 98 V XLDB71
225/45R17 91 VEB68
215/55R17 98 V XLDB71
225/45R17 94 V XLDB71
225/45R17 91 HDB71
205/50R17 89 VEB68
205/50R17 93 H XLDB68
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Alpin 5 >>

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Alpin 5

2017-02-17 - What is the recommended max.outside working temperature?

The Michelin Alpin 5 has no maximum outside temperature as such and could be run year round, however it's good practice to change your winter tyres back to summer tyres when the temperature is starting to be consistently above 7c.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre, never let me down, awesome on rain, good handling, very soft under -0.

Compared with Continental TS830 almost equal tyres.
Helpful 141 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2015
Given 84% while driving a Fiat croma (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
This tyre can be driven in all weather types, rubber lasts a lot more than other brands.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2023
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I have bought these tyres 3 years ago (end 2015 - DOT mid 2015) and they behaved well for the first three winter seasons. The previous winter tyres were Alpin 3 and in the fourth year they were not reliable at all, ice grip was zero.
My personal opinion is that there is a big catch with these tyres and Michelin tyres in general (summer ones are Michellin also and have the same problem). They are pretty good for the first 3 years but no more; after 3 years, regardless of mileage (I have only done 37k KM with both sets, minimal wear) rubber compound degrades beyond safety driving (with the summer set I had a few occasions where I could barely stop the car, and the winter set got me into a total car crash).
So, if you do enough mileage to replace them in 3 years, I would say they are fine, otherwise no; even Michellin says you could keep your tyres longer than 3 years.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2018
Have you driven on the Michelin Alpin 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Alpin 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Alpin 5 >

Latest Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (195/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
This is a winter tyre and it works incredibly well in the wet at cold temperatures. There was not a lot snow here, the tyre worked well well during the few days of snowy conditions no problem there.

The two main issues where the very soft rubber compound that really starts to struggle above 20C, it starts to smear in corners at 25C. Then there are these soft sidewalls. They are good for comfort, but not good for cornering and handling. It did not help that there is no rim protection either. So be gentle when use these rubbers when its warm.

This is an almost end of life review since the tyres are 9 years old now, but they have still lots of profile left after about 20.000km, I just don't drive that much during winter.

The tyres do what they are supposed to do, but my next winter tyres will have stronger sidewalls.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (195/50 R16) on mostly town for 15 average miles
delivery driver These winter tyres are amazing! The performance in the British winter is unmatched They're a great reliable road tyre that lasted me 15,000 miles driving around my local area I never got stuck in the snow and believe me I tried! they're so reliable and handy to have in the winter for any conditions I highly recommend them
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
top grip, i went into circle part of road when going out of highway, and there is sign with allowed speed of 40km/h and i decide to try them,it was 3 celsius outside so it was cold and road was not 100 percent dry because there was a slightly fog,more like air was quite humid,and i went 70km/h through it like i was glued to it.Top performance tyre,and you won t regret of buying it,i have nexen su1 summer tyre and they have nice grip and all but above 200km/h you can feel car is kinda swingy,idk how to explain correctly(i have them for 25000km and they are great in their price range,but michelin is michelin),and with these tyres you feel you are on the railway even though they are winter tyre.Price is there but with it you will buy great product that will last double amount of some other high middle tyre.Buy it and enjoy in top quality tyre.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2020
Given 93% while driving a Volvo (195/65 R15 R) on a combination of roads for 23 average miles
I've bought my 2nd set my last set lasted over 3 years about 20 000 miles I've had Dunlop Toyo Goodyear good grip on snow not bad on dry tarmac and great in the wet can't find better
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2020
Hyundai (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I had these on my Hyundai Tucson 2.0 petrol 2WD,and boy did they do a great job in the snow.Had to go down to airport ,BURGAS when living in BG,it was around a 60 ml trip,snow was at a constant depth of at least 6
inches in most places.Got me there and back without getting stuck,and the car was only 2 wheel FWD ....Very good in wet too..great choice just for harsh winter driving
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2019
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
since buying these winter tyres, i don't use anything else between October and April, the wet performance is outstanding,
And in the snow is unbelievable, i dont need a 4x4 in snow anymore, they really are that good.
if you drive sensibly, i dont see why they wouldnt last through the summer either, but i suspect if you push them when the roads are too hot and dry they wouldnt be able to handle it. i think they are best under 7 - 8 degrees celcius.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2018
Given 91% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
So much grip and feel in snow, wet roads and dry roads. No vibrations. Perfect winter tyre and well worth the money.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
When new the traction in the snow was phenomenal, almost felt like I had a 4x4. Obviously as the tyres wore down the edge was lost but I really recommend these as a great winter tyre. Lived for a winter in Norway so I do understand what it's like to drive on ice and snow.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2017
BMW 318D (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Greate tire. I had it on a 3 serier 2010 BMW and in snow are greate, never let me down. I would buy them again for sure
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2017
Given 77% while driving a Volvo V70 D5 AWD (225/45 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Just got them fitted as an all year alternative. Aqua planing is very good, so is the low noise level. Have not tried them in winter conditions yet, but here where I live, its typically 12 degrees celsus and rain all year round. So tarmac and specially wet tarmac skills are what counts the most. Here them are safe in the wet, very steady in the grooves, and no drama. The only bad thing is brake grim on dry tarmac. I belive theese tyres are very good in snow... on ice... not so much, studded tires are of course better on ice, but you have to choose to what surface you drive the most.

Feedback from the tyres are not easy to tell, because the light steering and wobbly set ut of my volvo v70 takes away all feedback (I am spoiled with bmw feedback, chassis and steering, so theese tyres on a bmw would be great to try out)

This tyre is one of the best all year tyres I have ever tested. Works as a summer tyre in cold countryes. In warm countryes they will be too soft! Also its not the most hardcore wintertyre, but good enough, specially if you have 4x4.

Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Volvo V40 1.5 T3 Geartronic (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
except the price and handling these are good tyres.Also wheel is absurdly get heavy in little turns.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2016
Given 99% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
The perfect tyres!
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2016