Ford Focus mk2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus mk2.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus mk2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus mk2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Road 3 (21) 92% 92% 87% 85% 90% 89%
Semperit SpeedLife 2 (3) 87% 97% 83% 93% 93% 83%
Michelin Alpin 5 (19) 86% 95% 87% 79% 88% 91%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Michelin Primacy Alpin (5) 84% 96% 80% 84% 80% 88%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (80) 89% 86% 83% 84% 87% 87%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (17) 88% 92% 86% 74% 85% 83%
Apollo Acelere Winter (4) 85% 88% 83% 83% 90% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (397) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Platin RP 410 Diamant (3) 90% 87% 83% 73% 93% 93%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (89) 89% 87% 84% 85% 86% 84%
Autogrip Ecosnow (2) 85% 90% 80% 80% 75% 80%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (86) 87% 89% 84% 76% 89% 87%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Falken ZE914 (96) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (219) 91% 89% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Bridgestone Turanza GR90 (21) 81% 86% 83% 81% 74% 92%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (46) 86% 83% 80% 81% 79% 83%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Michelin Primacy 4 (87) 86% 83% 76% 78% 85% 85%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (220) 87% 86% 77% 79% 74% 86%
Sava Intensa HP2 (1) 80% 70% 60% 90% 0% 100%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (25) 84% 77% 77% 73% 82% 86%
Nexen Arrowspeed CP661 (10) 79% 74% 72% 76% 80% 77%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (165) 89% 85% 83% 82% 59% 83%
(3) 87% 77% 80% 77% 77% 73%
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (32) 85% 74% 74% 80% 77% 76%
Kormoran Road Performance (13) 91% 69% 69% 76% 82% 83%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (50) 84% 83% 82% 84% 86% 85%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (166) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Michelin Primacy 3 (164) 86% 81% 78% 78% 68% 81%
Firestone TZ300A (24) 80% 79% 70% 78% 78% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (64) 85% 79% 76% 80% 67% 77%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73%
Michelin Primacy HP (196) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 (27) 81% 73% 76% 74% 72% 78%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (183) 83% 77% 77% 72% 77% 71%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (51) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (193) 84% 77% 76% 73% 62% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (193) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Goodyear Excellence (119) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 74%
Jinyu YU63 (49) 79% 65% 69% 67% 75% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (29) 72% 83% 64% 69% 71% 73%
Rovelo RPX 998 (25) 80% 65% 70% 65% 64% 73%
Pirelli P 7 (81) 79% 69% 71% 68% 74% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (49) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM32 (17) 84% 69% 69% 68% 83% 72%
Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons (4) 68% 60% 73% 63% 70% 70%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (14) 75% 61% 64% 61% 84% 71%
Debica Frigo 2 (18) 65% 58% 66% 62% 81% 69%
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70%
Aptany RA301 (16) 75% 70% 70% 69% 53% 68%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (87) 80% 70% 68% 65% 62% 72%
Dunlop SP2000 (14) 78% 70% 73% 62% 59% 62%
Aptany RP203 (6) 77% 63% 73% 72% 47% 67%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (127) 77% 67% 61% 58% 70% 70%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (42) 78% 61% 66% 61% 71% 56%
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Sava Adapto HP (2) 55% 50% 55% 55% 45% 55%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (67) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45%
Wanli S1088 (84) 57% 35% 41% 38% 58% 38%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Ford Focus mk2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Sava Intensa HP2 given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 average miles
Very quiet/comfortable, decent grip both dry and wet excellent braking in both. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-08 20:37:24
Writing about the Rovelo RPX 998 given 63% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 spirited miles
These came with decent tread on used but mint-looking alloys I swapped onto the Focus. I drove on them through this Spring and summer. I meant to swap back to steels and M+S in autumn but left it too late and had them on for a few days in the ~0C cold snap. I down-scored them on comfort even though they absorb bumps fine because of their noise. After the first day, I noticed this "whooh" drone. Not hugely loud, but constant from 30mph up and, once I heard it, I couldn't stop hearing it. Not wheel bearings; my garage reckoned it's the tread pattern. Noise gone now I'm on my M+S tyres. Dry grip and braking perfectly adequate for budget tyres, no dramas, not a lot of rain this year but similarly capable. When it got to
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-07 11:43:09
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I was a fan of the previous Rainsport 3, so naturally I decided to give these a go on my car. After a few thousand miles, I have come to the conclusion that they are not as good as the previous version in any area except for wear. They are not a terrible tyre by any means, but they just don't seem to grip as well or inspire as much confidence as the Rainsport 3. I will probably look elsewhere next time.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-12 11:57:15
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 91% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Everything is great, but one weak point is really weak. Gravel. On the same car, I have used very old Alpin 3 Michelin, they could go through forest and gravel paths without any problems. Same goes for Primacy 3 with very high mileage (cca 90.000 KM). But these tyres, completely new, they just drift and slide when there is a steep hill with gravel, not to mention driving across a grass, they are very very poor performers in those conditions. In past two months, it caused me to slide off the gravel road (luckilly without any damage), and yesterday, I just could not climb the steep part of the hill I always managed without problems, using very old Alpin and heavily used Primacy. They are just that bad for gravel and rocky roads. Wish I knew that earlier, now I am having a hard time getting to the places I need to go, if they dont have concrete roads, and lot of them dont...
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-07 06:18:06
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 77% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 27000 average miles
Having bought several sets of these, since they were released in the UK (back in around 2013, I believe), and now having switched the Michelin Cross Climates, I felt it was time I gave these a decent send off. Firstly, in terms of rolling resistance, these tyres are superb. The comfort levels are also good, owing to the soft sidewalls. Wet grip was good, too. Dry weather grip is okay, however, owing to the softer compound it does suffer in hotter conditions and does start to understeer and not providing much feedback (they are safe and progressive, though). My main criticism I have is poor end of life performance. Aquaplaning performance was quite poor when the tyre was below 3 mm of tread. Also, owing to the softer compound, the wear was quite poor. Okay, 27,000 miles isn't bad, but if you are a higher mileage driver, I would find myself changing them every 10 months (although I understand that Goodyear have resolved their wear issues with their recent EG Performance 2). I would buy again (as the pricing was very good), but if doing a lower mileage and not needing the extra insurance/performance of an all-season tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-01 21:20:58
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 81% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Admittedly, yes, they are expensive. Also, I would not recommend taking these around a track, as their dry performance isn't as good as a summer tyre (but you don't buy them for that, do you?), that being said, they are by no means bad. However, as an all-round tyre with good performance in the wet English winters, with excellent wear properties, I have yet to drive on a tyre better than it. The fuel economy isn't quite as good as the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance previously fitted, however, after 30,000 miles there is still 4 mm of tread on the front, whereas the Goodyear would be on the wear bars. Also, there has been very little deterioration in performance, unsurprisingly dry weather performance has improved as the tread blocks have worn, but there seems to be very little in the wet. I have only driven these for about 20 minutes in barely settled snow, and they seemed significantly better than any summer tyre I have driven on in the snow (I cannot comment on ice performance, unfortunately). I do not think I would buy these out of choice if winter performance was my main priority, but in the South of England it is more of a 'get yourself out of trouble tyre' if there is a freak snow storm (even though you will probably be stuck because no one else in front can move). Would I buy these again? Probably not. As Jon highlighted in his recent video, the game has moved on, but I would seriously consider the Cross Climate 2 when it is released. Also, I would probably only recommend these to higher mileage drivers now; with the competition now having caught up, lower mileage drivers may be better served looking to one of the cheaper competitors when looking for an all season tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-30 22:25:04
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P1 given 77% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
So my Mk2 Focus came with Good Years stock, then after it worn out I changed to Falken, Dunlop, and finally this Pirelli. Every single one of them was touring tyres. I was looking for the Michelin PS4 but the tyre shop put this one on clearance sale for half the price of the Michelin, so of course I chose this one. I'd say for what I wanted it to do (daily driving around town and long drives in motorways) it does the job pretty well. Comfortable, low noise, and low rolling resistance. Grips well in both wet and dry conditions (as long as it's has >50% of tread life). Low levels of wear as well. Mind you, where I live the road quality isn't that great. However, don't expect it to perform well in intense driving sessions. (i.e. track days) Grip in late life could be better as well, but I think this is the problem with many Pirellis. I hope I can get it to last 30k kms or so. I'm on the second half of these tyres' life and I'm thinking on getting Contis next time. However, if I can snag another set of reasonably priced Pirellis I'll do it in a heartbeat.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-28 04:29:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 80% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Had these on the car for just under 10k miles, replacing the Dunlop sport maxx rt2 on all four corners. Initially I was very disappointed with the noise, but things now seem to have calmed down, but still quite a bit noisier than the Dunlops at 70mph. I also find the comfort to be worse than the Dunlops, the tyres crash over bumps and I get a lot more suspension noise than before. I have also had two punctures (one complete failure) and a slow puncture in the first two months of ownership, perhaps it was bad luck, but I cant help but feel they are good at picking up screws lol. Wear seems average, I'd say I'm more than half way through on the fronts at 10k. The Dunlops lasted 35k, with life still left on the rear. Handling etc fantastic and overall better than the Dunlops. They are very progressive so you feel safe when chucking the car around. Grip off the line is phenomenal and way better than the Dunlops (this includes the wet). For aquaplaning, I'd say they are very good, but definitely fall short compared to the Dunlop, which felt incredibly secure. If you want a quieter and more comfortable drive, I'd go for the Dunlop. If performance is high on your list (or you have a performance car) go for the Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-25 18:06:08
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 73% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-14 14:43:34
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P1 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 12427 easy going miles
Good value!
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-09 03:11:23
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
Have just had these fitted to my car.my car has a good reputation for road holding.these make it even better.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-25 20:38:42
Writing about the Aptany RA301 given 60% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 average miles
Cheap tyres do the job for a year about 9000milies
On a mk2 ford focus 2.0i
Work well just bad wear rate
Will not buy again.
Ok on the back of car.

tyre reviewed on 2019-12-06 19:52:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre