Toyo Proxes CF2

The Toyo Proxes CF2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 103 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 892,074 miles driven, and 10 tests with an average result of 10th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 83%
Wear 84%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 86%

First On MarketSeptember 2013
Wheel Size13 - 18"
Width165 - 235mm
Profile40 - 65
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)70 - 70
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Proxes CF2 is ranked 20th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Toyo Proxes CF1 and this tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes Comfort.

Tests Included

10

Best Result

4th

Worst Result

27th

Average Result

10th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15
8th of 16 tyres
  • Good in the dry.
  • A little weak in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65 R14 82 HCB70
185/60 R14 82 HCB70
15 inch
195/55 R15 85 HCB70
185/65 R15 88 HDB70
185/65 R15 88 HCB70
195/65 R15 91 HCB70
195/65 R15 91 VCB70
195/65 R15 91 HCB70
195/65 R15 91 VCB70
195/65 R15 95 H XLCB70
16 inch
205/60 R16 92 HCB70
205/60 R16 96 V XLCB70
205/60 R16 92 VCB70
205/60 R16 92 VCB70
205/60 R16 92 HCB70
215/60 R16 99 H XLCB70
215/60 R16 99 V XLCB70
215/60 R16 95 HCB70
205/55 R16 91 HCB70
205/55 R16 91 VCB70
205/55 R16 94 H XLCB70
205/55 R16 94 V XLCB70
205/55 R16 91 VCB70
17 inch
225/50 R17 98 V XLCB70
205/50 R17 89 VCB70
225/45 R17 91 WCB70
225/45 R17 94 V XLCB70
215/55 R17 94 WCB70
205/50 R17 93 W XLCB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Toyo Proxes CF2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes CF2

2016-07-09 - Would these be suitable for a Mazda mx5 1.8 mark 3 and are the tyre walls soft. Many thanks.

The CF2s have reasonable sidewalls, though depending on how sporty you want your drive there might be better choices. Check out our MX5 tyre review page for other suggestions.


2016-11-04 - I'm looking to buy tires for my hybrid Honda Jazz (175/65/15 84H) and i'm considering buying these (Toyo Proxes CF2) or Falken ZE914. I don't know how to take in consideration all the ratings here (official tests & customers reviews) because most of the usage here is for sports cars and bigger tires that are not my case. I'm looking for a good tire for calm driving that would do well if i ever accidentally take a turn too fast on dry or wet road and has good fuel efficiency. Thanks ahead! p.s - please refer to the two tires i mentioned as they both cost the same and are available in my country in the size i need

Of the two tyres mentioned, we would likely pick the Falken, only because it is a slightly newer pattern. Our experience with each tyre is low though, so we're also only going by what reviews and tests are telling us.


2018-02-01 - Hello! If possible, could you please inform me about the weight of the tire Toyo Proxes CF2 215/55/16 97V. Thank you very much

We don't have exact data for the Toyo CF2, however it should fall between 8 and 10 kgs.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
185/60 R15 £89.99 - £89.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £69.99 - £69.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 15 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
Fitted those a year ago, standard size for the Alfa 147 1.6 TS, they are amazing and excellent price / quality ratio, paid 300 Euros for a full set.

No shortcomings noticed yet, braking, grip (wet & dry), feedback, comfort, these are the ones to go for.
Helpful 328 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2016
Given 93% while driving a Citroën AX GTI (185/60 R13) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I have mounted a complete set of 4 new tires on a Citroen AX GTI 185/60/13 and on my Peugeot 106 1.4 XSI 175/60/14. They are good tires with a lot of grip and very quiet, no rolling noises. I use them for daily commuting and with a sporty driving style. The road feedback is good, you feel exactly what is happening and where the limit is when you turn hard into a bend. The only thing what is negativy about them is during a heavy rain shower, aquaplaning is coming up with the 175/60/14 on the Peugeot 106. The tires clearly have difficulty with this, but it is not dangerous. Every band has its pros and cons. But I can say with confidence that the price/quality ratio is at a high level. Would definitely buy them again.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Stable at dry and wet conditions.
long wear (more than 50k kms.)
Good braking at moderate rain conditions.
Comfortable.
Not expensive.
A tire with not surprises but not recommended in aquaplaning and cold condition too. Drive with careful in this condition, remmember this is a summer tire.
Buy again?, yes!.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2023
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes CF2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes CF2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes CF2 >

Latest Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I have used dunlop, maxxis and continental tyres on my Toyota Camry 2010 LE model. Now for 7000miles over past 5 months. Has a great grip on off-roads terrain and dry conditions. Handling in wet conditions not as great as maxxis and can be uncomfortable but does well at corners. A bit noisy on rough roads but premium quietness on smooth tarred roads. Has the best wear rate in all tyres I've used in the past. Could pass for new tyres even after 7000miles. Tyre resistance feels excessive when speeding on highway making it not suitable for fast cars. Braking is superb
Overall good tyre for off road, durability and braking
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (205/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Toyo did a great job here .. best price for a very good tires very comfort and there isn't any noise while driving the car ..
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (215/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 35,000 average miles
Having them for about 50.000 kms , i had no complains from them. Very quiet tires , with good behavior no matter the weather , low wear and average fuel consumption. I changed them only due to mileage . There was 5 mm left on them despite the fact that mondeo is a heavy car. Unfortunately Toyo comfort were not available on the new size that i fitted so i got Hankook ventus prime 4.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
put a pair on the front roughtly 18 months/12000 miles ago and about to have the rears changed to the same. compared to the other tyres we've had on our Fiesta (Pirelli, Kumho, Arrowspeed) these Toyo CF2s are by far the best. they are lighter on the steering and very positive when pushed through corners, comfortable and less noisy plus the wear rate looks good too. the only negative I found is that they need quite a long time to scrub-in and come up to full grip, roughly 1500-2000 miles.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Toyota Prius (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
I had toyo tries fitted in mat Totoyta Aqua (Prius C). I used them for 3 years. Excellent tires, really worth every penny. Brakes were good on dry and wet surfaces. the lower control arm bushing of my car got damaged but still the front tires did not wear a lot. Will definitely buy a new set. great tires.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Skoda (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Really surprised by these tyres. I usually fit Goodyear or Michelin tyres but these came in at half the price right when money was tight for a full set so gave them a try. 9/10ths of the dry and wet grip of the big boys, just as quiet but slightly more crashy on rough surfaces. But the big bonus is that they're seemingly not wearing out! I usually get through a set of fronts at 20-25k, these are only half worn. The rears still look new. I've also had to submit them to one or two emergency stops (suicidal sheep here in rural Wales!) and they always pull up straight and are very good at not triggering the ABS. Thought they would be a stop-gap tyre but I'll happily buy them again if the prices are still good.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101 (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
my third pair already (also for my second corolla e11 which is very similar but mainly drive ae101). i had hankook kinergy tires before because they where advertised as quiet.. which they werent. handling and cornering was very bad. on this site proxes cf2 was recommended for my car so i gave it a try. it was like im driving a whole different car. the cornering and grip is just amazing. noise is also really not bad at all. the car finally behaves predictable and im having more fun. automatically i am driving harder through corners because it feels normal! i will buy this tire for life. on the tire it said 'made in japan' and i pay about €50 per tire. good quality and good price i reccomend!!!
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (195/45 R16) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
It works well. 9k kms at bad roads with 195/45 and I don't have any problem.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
These tyres are very good for road use, if someone likes to drive faster in corners these tyres are just perfect for that, the grip is good, but not phenomenal, they give quite good feedback, so you know how far you can go, even if you lose traction it is very easy to regain it. These tyres are very comfortable, they are quiet and take all of the potholes well. Moreover, the resistance/friction of these tyres is very low, so it has a positive outcome when it comes to the fuel economy. So those would be the advantages, now onto the disadvantages. The tyres are not really good for rainy conditions, especially if they went through one or two heat cycles then they are very bad in rain. You can feel that when you qo through a corner faster in the rain the tyres are desperately looking for grip, so you have to be careful. If there is a standing water on the road they take it pretty well, but when there is a heavy rainfall you cannot entirely feel where the tyres are, which is a little bit scatchy. I also used these tyres on the track days. I went for two track days and in total I did around 180 kilometers on the track with those tyres. Before I went on the first track day there was around 3 mm of rubber to the minimal wear point, after one track day these tyres were almost done, there was not much left on them, especially in critical points. Then I went on the second track day and the front tyres were completely shattered after 2 rounds, huge chunks of rubber were flying away from them and there was no grip at all, the braking was also very bad, but in all honesty those are road tyres so I think they handled it pretty well. In summary, I recommend these tyres for someone who likes to drive faster in corners on the road, but if you think about track days its better to buy tyres dedicated for that, becasue Toyos will die soon, its also worth mentioning that my car is pretty light as it weights around 1350kg, I think that these tyres will definitely not work as well on much heavier cars.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2022
Given 16% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Reading the reviews for this tire, I expected a solid and balanced tire: I got a bad tire, bad on dry (slips at a faster start), bad on rain (does not instill even a minimum of confidence), poor sense of steering, cloud feeling, my winter tire uniroyal gives a better feeling): A rarity for a tire that is bad in all three of these segments.Absolutely too expensive a tire to get. The ratings on this site are not clear to me.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I have made 30k miles and still the tyres are going!Man Toyo has done it again a well rounded tyre at an amazing price!
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 17 average miles
I live in Greece and i drive at tough roads. That's a very good tyre. I'm very impressed you with that. It's comfort, quiet and smooth. For the average drivers is the perfect tyre. I had never any problem with that. Also it's a Japan made tyre. I will buy it again
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2022