Toyo Proxes CF2

The Toyo Proxes CF2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo Proxes CF1 and this tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes Comfort.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 84%
Wear 86%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 90%

Tyre review data from 78 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 568,029 miles driven.

The Proxes CF2 is ranked 10th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 8th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry.
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 27th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/60 R13 77H   C B 70  
185/60 R13 80H   C B 70  
185/55 R14 80H   C B 70  
165/60 R14 75H   C B 70  
175/60 R14 79H   C B 70  
185/60 R14 82H   C B 70  
175/65 R14 82H   C B 70  
185/65 R14 86H   C B 70  
195/65 R14 89H   C B 70  
195/50 R15 82H   C B 70  
195/50 R15 82H   C B 70  
185/55 R15 82H   C B 70  
195/55 R15 85H   C B 70  
165/60 R15 77H   C B 70  
165/60 R15 77H   E B 70  
175/60 R15 81V   C B 70  
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 70  
185/60 R15 84H   C B 70  
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 70  
195/60 R15 88V   C B 70  
195/60 R15 88H   C B 70  
195/60 R15 88H   C B 70  
195/60 R15 88V   C B 70  
205/60 R15 91V   C B 70  
205/60 R15 95H XL   C B 70  
205/60 R15 91H   C B 70  
205/64 R15 94H   C B 70  
175/65 R15 84H   C B 70  
185/65 R15 88H   C B 70  
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 70  
195/65 R15 91V   C B 70  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 70  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 70  
195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 70  
205/65 R15 99H XL   C B 70  
205/65 R15 99H XL   C B 70  
205/65 R15 94V   C B 70  
195/45 R16 84V XL   C B 70  
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 70  
215/45 R16 86V   C B 70  
185/50 R16 81H   C B 70  
195/50 R16 88V XL   C B 70  
205/50 R16 87V   C B 70  
185/55 R16 87H XL   C B 70  
195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
195/55 R16 87H   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 70  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 70  
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 70  
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70  
215/55 R16 93W   C B 70  
215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 70  
225/55 R16 95V   C B 70  
185/60 R16 86H   C B 70  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 70  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 70  
205/60 R16 92V   C B 70  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 70  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 70  
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 70  
215/60 R16 99V XL   C B 70  
225/60 R16 98W   C B 70  
205/65 R16 95V   C B 70  
215/65 R16 98H   C B 70  
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 70  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70  
235/45 R17 94V   C B 70  
205/50 R17 89V   C B 70  
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 70  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70  
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 70  
215/55 R17 94W XL   C B 70  
225/55 R17 97V   C B 70  
225/60 R18 100W   C B 70  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes CF2

2016-07-09 - Would these be suitable for a Mazda mx5 1.8 mark 3 and are the tyre walls soft. Many thanks.

The CF2s have reasonable sidewalls, though depending on how sporty you want your drive there might be better choices. Check out our MX5 tyre review page for other suggestions.


2016-11-04 - I'm looking to buy tires for my hybrid Honda Jazz (175/65/15 84H) and i'm considering buying these (Toyo Proxes CF2) or Falken ZE914. I don't know how to take in consideration all the ratings here (official tests & customers reviews) because most of the usage here is for sports cars and bigger tires that are not my case. I'm looking for a good tire for calm driving that would do well if i ever accidentally take a turn too fast on dry or wet road and has good fuel efficiency. Thanks ahead! p.s - please refer to the two tires i mentioned as they both cost the same and are available in my country in the size i need

Of the two tyres mentioned, we would likely pick the Falken, only because it is a slightly newer pattern. Our experience with each tyre is low though, so we're also only going by what reviews and tests are telling us.


2018-02-01 - Hello! If possible, could you please inform me about the weight of the tire Toyo Proxes CF2 215/55/16 97V. Thank you very much

We don't have exact data for the Toyo CF2, however it should fall between 8 and 10 kgs.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Proxes CF2 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/55 R15 £53.00 - £68.81 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R15 £44.85 - £59.29 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/45 R16 £77.88 - £77.88 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £38.45 - £51.08 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £59.00 - £84.07 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £44.00 - £60.12 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £55.41 - £71.05 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
Fitted those a year ago, standard size for the Alfa 147 1.6 TS, they are amazing and excellent price / quality ratio, paid 300 Euros for a full set.

No shortcomings noticed yet, braking, grip (wet & dry), feedback, comfort, these are the ones to go for.
270 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
I try lot of tyres, but never use tyre like this one! After 19000 miles on mine Megane mk3 I was buy another set of Toyo CF2. Even after listet mileage tyres still "behave" safe for use. I lost traction only once, but that was one week before I replace tyre with new one, so it very impressive. Big recommendation for a good quality tyre at great price. I paid 45Eur per tyre...
34 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2019   
Given 71% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101 (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
They do the job, i had rainsport 3s before these, i lost grip in corners with the proxies in the same wet weather conditions and speed as the rainsport3 other than that they both faired the same
29 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2019   
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes CF2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes CF2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes CF2 >

Latest Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I decided to buy a full set of Proxes CF2's after a flat. When I bought the car it had 3 different tyres on it and really just for peace of mind wanted a decent matching set. Once I rolled out of the garage on this new set the difference was immediate and incredible. Driving has been a mix of daily commuting but also very aggressive driving as a live near a world renowned mountain road which is used for rally stages. Dry grip: car has zero issues with dry grip. I've gone into moderate bends at 160kmph, 120kmph in tighter bends with poor road surface and tyres feel perfect. No lose of grip whatsoever. When taking hairpins quite fast the rear tyres tend to feel light, with the slightest touch of oversteer. I could put this down to the FWD platform though. Wet grip: The car responds the same as it does in dry grip but with a few things to note. The rear (Could be FWD problem) sometimes will aquaplane or lose grip a bit easy in those tight bends when taking them at speed. Not in a dangerous manner but still notable. Road Feedback: A bit numb to be honest. But these aren't designed as a UHP tyre. They are a touring tyre. Designed for covering long miles without fatiguing the driver. You can feel the road beneath you, and in bends you can feel the resistance build up but it's a dull tyre in terms of being dynamic in that regard. Handling: Covered this in GRIP sections but it's a solid and dependable when being pushed, I have pushed my car to the limit with them and they haven't lost grip completely, caused my car to dangerously aquaplane or anything. I don't think my car is fast enough or dynamic enough to push these to their limits, so for everyday driving they are very dependable. Wear: Tyres look as good as when i first put them on and feel the same too. I've only done 2500 miles so I'm only at the first 10% of their life really. Comfort: Well compared to the pick n'mix set that were on my car when I first got it they are leap years ahead in terms of comfort. Road noise, road feel, softening of lumps and bumps. The FN2 civics are known to have a harsh ride and generally poor comfort, these tyres really lessen that reputation. Do these tyres iron out ever single bump and rumble in the road so you feel like you are driving on silk? no! Are the tyres completely silent especially when driving on poor quality roads? no! But before when you felt the harshness of the road in your ass and in your hands through the steering wheel. Now it is numbed. You can still hear the bumps, but you don't feel them. Buy Again: Yes I would 100% buy again and I have recommended them to several people as the price/quality ratio has to be one of the best. However I am changing the wheels on the car soon and am looking to try out some of the premium brands that I haven't personal experience with (Goodyear, Michelin, Advan). I have experience with other brands such as Cooper, Avon and Continental. But they are on other vehicles. Bang for buck these Toyo CF2's are super and they really suit the Honda Civic FN2 platform.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
An outstanding tyre, been driving Yokohamas previously and they dont even come closer to CF2s Outstanding grip in dry and wet, great control and increased ride quality, soft and silent tyres. Would definitely buy them again.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 91% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16 V) on mostly town for 9,320 average miles
I live in western Greece and for first time I fitted Toyo tyres on a car of mine as I had just two more options for a good tyre for the specific size, the Michelin Primacy 3 and the Continental Premium Contact 2. Bought the car brand new with the Continental on (you can read my corresponding review) and changed after 2,5 years to Toyo Proxes CF2 at 19.374 miles (31.180km). I am very pleased with their Dry grip both on sharp turns and long turns, even at high speeds. On Wet roads I am always 100 times more suspicious so I never test the full potentials of any tyre but also never had any problem at all especially on braking. As for the Road Feedback, I could mention that I still haven't get used to a "soapy" or "loose" feeling when turning fast and sharp, but without loosing grip at all. Just it doesn't let me trust to push more. But safety first, so drive normal. As for the Handling I never had any issues either on normal or hot tyre temperatures. After 1,5 year and 9.320 miles (15.000km) they last extremely good. In front the Wear is at 80% and at the back at 90%. Never seen something like this before especially for a car that combines a lot of countryside and city roads too. They are also quiet, never head noise from tyres. I used to wear Michelin Pilot Sport 2 & 3 which is my top tyre but a bit noisy at high speeds. Now with Toyo I noticed the same features with Michelin, the same good experience and also they are more value for money. I am very interested of using these tyres from now on on my cars. I fully recommend them for sure!
12 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa D (195/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I had Yokohama tyres before toyo proxes cf2 and these are every bit as good, The handling wet or dry I’ve personally found to be excellent,
9 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (195/55 R15 R) on mostly country roads for 1,200 average miles
I've only driven 1200 miles since fitting the Proxes to all four wheels and so far I'm really happy with their performance. Prior to fitting the car was running on three different makes (!) due to having had a rear puncture at one point. The main difference I found from the outset was their relative softness compared to the old set which makes for a comfortable ride. And they're quieter. The car, in all weather conditions experienced so far, goes where it's pointed without fuss and copes with bends and corners very well. I normally will avoid driving in snow if possible but we'll see what they can do when it arises. Experience a rather choppy ride on undulating surfaces such as cobbles or rutted roads but that was pretty much the case with the last tyres even from new and seems to be a characteristic of the suspension. Bought from a local tyre specialist despite a special offer elsewhere.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2020   
Given 73% while driving a Peugeot 106 gti (185/55 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Ideal for average driving of a family car but surely not the one that will keep grip and handling on such a level to enjoy driving a small sport gti, feeling safe and ready to full power at any time. Good on wet. To cut a long story sort, it was a totally wrong proposal for my 106 gti, since production of the perfect for my needs,Yokohama Sdrive, has stopped.
14 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2020   
Given 60% while driving a Mazda 2 2008 86hp (185/55 R15) on mostly town for 28,000 easy going miles
I live in Athens Greece and i drive mostly in the city's roads that have horrible traction. Furtermore the greek summer sun makes the tyres stiff quite quickly. Having said that, these tyres that i have had for almost 4 years have proven inadequate in what has to do with dry and wet grip. My drivind style is very easy going so i havent had any problem when taking turns.However in several occasions when the road was slippery and i tried to start moving in a green light, the front wheels were spinning a lot especially when the road was wet. Their advantages are that they don't tear easily, they don't wear easily and that their (average as i said) grip didn't get signifficantly worse through time. Sorry for my English.
16 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Prius (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
I just a changed 4 Toyo tires on my Prius C car. The tires are fantastic. Good Grip on Dry and wet surface. I previously had toyo tires on my car and even when they were worn out they had excellent grip. Would definitely buy Toyo tires for my next replacement. Instead of buying pricey tires you get the same grip and comfort with toyo tires.
5 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2020   
Renault (175/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I bought a 1998 Renault twingo back in 2008 and it has toyo proxes cf1. Now i have cf2 which are softer and they wear faster but they are gripier. Offcourse i cant push to the limit with this car but i can turn near my home in the hairpin with 40 plus kmh having good control and conrolable sliding front and rear where with cf1 couldn't go over 30 kmh. I definitely shall buy again. The engine is not too strong so i don't have to slow down much for the road turns thus i have significant wear the outer tyre thread, i changed tyres front rear and ok. I got em 20 months and 18000 km and now have half depth but still good and soft. A week ago a truck on a blind turn on a traffic light with slippery road lost control in hard brakes, i saw it in rear mirror i put the foot in the gas near rev limiter and popped the clutch it was a very fast take off, overtook 3 cars and truck has extra room to brake again with safety.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v (195/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Very good tyres. Very controlable at the limit, exellent dry/wet grip. Never had any problems with controling in wet. They perform very good in all conditions. Overall a very good allround tyre that I would defenitly buy again but I sold the car (hence why I don't know the exact milage). Very little wear, dispite my spirited driving on mountain roads. The noise was very low and fuel economy was the best for what the tyre was, excellent comfort. After 20 minutes of hard spirited driving on mountain roads in the middle of the summer (30°C), I could feel the heat of the tyres rising high - steering feel became less accurate and handling dropped. But these are not UHP tyres so they do get hot a bit faster, but still do the job of putting a massive grin on my face when driving hard.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTi 140 (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
The cheaper quality tyre found with these dimensions (205 50 16). I am generally satisfied with the consistency of the tires over the lifetime. They understear towards the end but this is not so much due to the rubber as to the wear on the outside of the tread. (when I say that I ride "cool", I have already taken (occasional) oversteared turns at 140km / h ...). Good traction efficiency... I am rather satisfied with the value for money.
9 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Honda Insight Hybrid Gen 2 (185/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Just fitted those on my Honda. Very good dry grip, but not that great on wet. To be honest I am a bit dissapointed for the wet grip. I had fitted before Nexen Nfera SU1 and they were better in wet conditions that this Toyo Model.
11 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2020