Toyo Proxes CF2

The Toyo Proxes CF2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo Proxes CF1 and this tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes Comfort.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 83%
Wear 84%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 91 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 746,046 miles driven.

The Proxes CF2 is ranked 23rd of 135 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 8th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry.
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 27th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 27th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2017 Mid Range Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2015 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2014 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2014 AMS Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 12th: 2014 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 12th: 2013 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    175/60 R13 77H   C B 70  
    185/60 R13 80H   C B 70  
    185/55 R14 80H   C B 70  
    165/60 R14 75H   C B 70  
    175/60 R14 79H   C B 70  
    185/60 R14 82H   C B 70  
    175/65 R14 82H   C B 70  
    185/65 R14 86H   C B 70  
    195/65 R14 89H   C B 70  
    195/50 R15 82H   C B 70  
    195/50 R15 82H   C B 70  
    185/55 R15 82H   C B 70  
    195/55 R15 85H   C B 70  
    165/60 R15 77H   C B 70  
    165/60 R15 77H   E B 70  
    175/60 R15 81V   C B 70  
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 70  
    185/60 R15 84H   C B 70  
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 70  
    195/60 R15 88V   C B 70  
    195/60 R15 88H   C B 70  
    195/60 R15 88H   C B 70  
    195/60 R15 88V   C B 70  
    205/60 R15 91V   C B 70  
    205/60 R15 95H XL   C B 70  
    205/60 R15 91H   C B 70  
    205/64 R15 94H   C B 70  
    175/65 R15 84H   C B 70  
    185/65 R15 88H   C B 70  
    195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 70  
    195/65 R15 91V   C B 70  
    195/65 R15 91H   C B 70  
    195/65 R15 91H   C B 70  
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 70  
    205/65 R15 99H XL   C B 70  
    205/65 R15 99H XL   C B 70  
    205/65 R15 94V   C B 70  
    195/45 R16 84V XL   C B 70  
    215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 70  
    215/45 R16 86V   C B 70  
    185/50 R16 81H   C B 70  
    195/50 R16 88V XL   C B 70  
    205/50 R16 87V   C B 70  
    185/55 R16 87H XL   C B 70  
    195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
    195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
    195/55 R16 87H   C B 70  
    205/55 R16 91V   C B 70  
    205/55 R16 91V   C B 70  
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 70  
    205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 70  
    205/55 R16 91H   C B 70  
    215/55 R16 93V   C B 70  
    215/55 R16 93W   C B 70  
    215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 70  
    225/55 R16 95V   C B 70  
    185/60 R16 86H   C B 70  
    195/60 R16 89H   C B 70  
    205/60 R16 92H   C B 70  
    205/60 R16 92V   C B 70  
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 70  
    205/60 R16 92H   C B 70  
    215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 70  
    215/60 R16 99V XL   C B 70  
    225/60 R16 98W   C B 70  
    205/65 R16 95V   C B 70  
    215/65 R16 98H   C B 70  
    215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 70  
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 70  
    225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70  
    235/45 R17 94V   C B 70  
    205/50 R17 89V   C B 70  
    215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 70  
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70  
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 70  
    215/55 R17 94W XL   C B 70  
    225/55 R17 97V   C B 70  
    225/60 R18 100W   C B 70  

    Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes CF2

    2016-07-09 - Would these be suitable for a Mazda mx5 1.8 mark 3 and are the tyre walls soft. Many thanks.

    The CF2s have reasonable sidewalls, though depending on how sporty you want your drive there might be better choices. Check out our MX5 tyre review page for other suggestions.


    2016-11-04 - I'm looking to buy tires for my hybrid Honda Jazz (175/65/15 84H) and i'm considering buying these (Toyo Proxes CF2) or Falken ZE914. I don't know how to take in consideration all the ratings here (official tests & customers reviews) because most of the usage here is for sports cars and bigger tires that are not my case. I'm looking for a good tire for calm driving that would do well if i ever accidentally take a turn too fast on dry or wet road and has good fuel efficiency. Thanks ahead! p.s - please refer to the two tires i mentioned as they both cost the same and are available in my country in the size i need

    Of the two tyres mentioned, we would likely pick the Falken, only because it is a slightly newer pattern. Our experience with each tyre is low though, so we're also only going by what reviews and tests are telling us.


    2018-02-01 - Hello! If possible, could you please inform me about the weight of the tire Toyo Proxes CF2 215/55/16 97V. Thank you very much

    We don't have exact data for the Toyo CF2, however it should fall between 8 and 10 kgs.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Proxes CF2 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    185/55 R15 £52.70 - £82.34 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    185/60 R15 £45.19 - £89.99 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/45 R16 £57.69 - £84.16 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/55 R16 £58.69 - £93.99 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £47.49 - £84.96 (37 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £59.69 - £95.20 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 76 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
    Fitted those a year ago, standard size for the Alfa 147 1.6 TS, they are amazing and excellent price / quality ratio, paid 300 Euros for a full set.

    No shortcomings noticed yet, braking, grip (wet & dry), feedback, comfort, these are the ones to go for.
    Helpful 285 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2016
    Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
    I try lot of tyres, but never use tyre like this one! After 19000 miles on mine Megane mk3 I was buy another set of Toyo CF2. Even after listet mileage tyres still "behave" safe for use. I lost traction only once, but that was one week before I replace tyre with new one, so it very impressive. Big recommendation for a good quality tyre at great price. I paid 45Eur per tyre...
    Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2019
    Given 71% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101 (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    They do the job, i had rainsport 3s before these, i lost grip in corners with the proxies in the same wet weather conditions and speed as the rainsport3 other than that they both faired the same
    Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2019
    Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes CF2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes CF2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Toyo Proxes CF2 >

    Latest Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    These tyres are very good for road use, if someone likes to drive faster in corners these tyres are just perfect for that, the grip is good, but not phenomenal, they give quite good feedback, so you know how far you can go, even if you lose traction it is very easy to regain it. These tyres are very comfortable, they are quiet and take all of the potholes well. Moreover, the resistance/friction of these tyres is very low, so it has a positive outcome when it comes to the fuel economy. So those would be the advantages, now onto the disadvantages. The tyres are not really good for rainy conditions, especially if they went through one or two heat cycles then they are very bad in rain. You can feel that when you qo through a corner faster in the rain the tyres are desperately looking for grip, so you have to be careful. If there is a standing water on the road they take it pretty well, but when there is a heavy rainfall you cannot entirely feel where the tyres are, which is a little bit scatchy. I also used these tyres on the track days. I went for two track days and in total I did around 180 kilometers on the track with those tyres. Before I went on the first track day there was around 3 mm of rubber to the minimal wear point, after one track day these tyres were almost done, there was not much left on them, especially in critical points. Then I went on the second track day and the front tyres were completely shattered after 2 rounds, huge chunks of rubber were flying away from them and there was no grip at all, the braking was also very bad, but in all honesty those are road tyres so I think they handled it pretty well. In summary, I recommend these tyres for someone who likes to drive faster in corners on the road, but if you think about track days its better to buy tyres dedicated for that, becasue Toyos will die soon, its also worth mentioning that my car is pretty light as it weights around 1350kg, I think that these tyres will definitely not work as well on much heavier cars.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2022
    Given 16% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Reading the reviews for this tire, I expected a solid and balanced tire: I got a bad tire, bad on dry (slips at a faster start), bad on rain (does not instill even a minimum of confidence), poor sense of steering, cloud feeling, my winter tire uniroyal gives a better feeling): A rarity for a tire that is bad in all three of these segments.Absolutely too expensive a tire to get. The ratings on this site are not clear to me.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 84% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    I have made 30k miles and still the tyres are going!Man Toyo has done it again a well rounded tyre at an amazing price!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2022
    Given 74% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 17 average miles
    I live in Greece and i drive at tough roads. That's a very good tyre. I'm very impressed you with that. It's comfort, quiet and smooth. For the average drivers is the perfect tyre. I had never any problem with that. Also it's a Japan made tyre. I will buy it again
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2022
    Given 43% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 11,000 spirited miles
    After 15000 kilometers both front wear nearly out on the outside, both sides each tires. Order now 2 Michelin ps3 hoping the are better.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
    I bought as a pair for the rear, these toyo proxes CF2 since where mid range priced tyres. I'm always afraid of driving my mr2 in the rain, but these toyo, definatly changed my mind. In the wet they excel very good. In the dry can't complain, feels good, grips good, can abuse a bit in the corners. Wear can't say much, since I've driven them for around 2 to 3k miles with them fitted.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a Audi A4 2.5 TDI Sport (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 0 average miles
    Great quality for price
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2021
    Given 66% while driving a Suzuki SX4 1.6 LITRE PETROL (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    just had car MOT'd today - it was wearing four Proxes CF2s which I previously thought were good tyres. However the car failed on two of the tyres 'due to separation or failure of its structure' on two of them and an advisory on the others for perishing / cracking. Tyres were 2 years old, about half worn at around 20k miles. Fairly sedate usage Not going near Toyo again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a Renault RenaultSport Megane 175 dCi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
    Fitted the tyres 10 days ago and drove some 3500 km with them across Europe - country roads, motorways, Autobahn and city driving. Dry grip is really good, especially at higher speeds. Wet grip is excellent. Drove on the autobahn in the heaviest rain you can imagine - no problems at all even at 130kmp/h +. The tyre dissipated the water excellently.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2021
    Given 69% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (215/70 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
    External extreme wear on front wheels. Stiff suspension and correct wheel alignment. No bearings wear.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2021
    Given 83% while driving a Renault Twingo GT (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Well rounded, good tyres. I had some cheap offbrand tires on when I bought the car and after a snap understeer moment in the wet I changed to this. In the dry the tires are very planted and hard to reach the limit on public roads, when you get there they let go progressively and with safe understeer. In the wet the story is the same, very good! Not much feedback but that could be moreso the car. I've driven around 5000 miles in half a year and the tires still have plenty of life and are performing just like day 1. Noise/comfort is same as with the cheap tires before but the car is super noisy anyway so it's hard to tell a difference. Next time I will try a top-end brand (pilot sport 4) and see if there's a wow factor with those. If not, I will buy these tyres forever as I am happy.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    Well what can I say I've had these toyo tyres before on my pulsar and with regular tyre services Eg wheel alignments ,balances and preasure checks they are the best bang for your Hard earned dollars .Ive used other tyre brands but I keep coming back to toyo tyres.There are a premium touring tyre with great all round performance.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2021