Fiat 500 Abarth Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Fiat 500 Abarth.

Do you Drive a Fiat 500 Abarth? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 500 Abarth better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin (8) 87% 95% 87% 74% 93% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (23) 93% 95% 79% 81% 93% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (203) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (94) 88% 83% 81% 83% 84% 86%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Federal Evoluzion ST 1 (27) 85% 70% 75% 81% 79% 85%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (21) 84% 80% 73% 76% 77% 72%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (120) 84% 77% 76% 78% 75% 82%
Nokian WeatherProof (30) 79% 85% 79% 79% 73% 86%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Davanti DX640 (79) 80% 71% 77% 76% 66% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (144) 84% 71% 77% 76% 69% 63%
GT Radial SportActive (16) 78% 61% 66% 71% 82% 71%
Pirelli PZero Nero (138) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Continental Eco Contact 5 (86) 79% 67% 68% 68% 74% 68%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (35) 81% 63% 62% 67% 69% 64%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%

Fiat 500 Abarth Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 88% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3200 spirited miles
I use Nokian Weatherproof tyres at late autumn and early spring in southern Finland. I have them going on for second year now. In summer I use 215/40 ZR 17 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and in winter 205/45R17 Nokian Hakkapelitta 8. I have had PS4's about 3 years now and Hakkapelitta 8's are 7 years old now. In my opinion those Weatherproof's are not so far off in dry as PS4's at under 5 C and wet grip is also quite good in them. Also those are not far off in grip with those old studded tyres at ice and snow. I think my driving style is a bit sporty and I drive mostly in country roads and motorways.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-16 17:32:00
Writing about the GT Radial SportActive given 37% (225-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 spirited miles
Hi,so had these tyres put on my Abarth595 and in the wet they 'let go',over large drain covers at town speeds.The road was damp/wet and i use the road often it was a little worrying.Cornering was OK but if you push them you can feel there about to steer you into a hedge.In the dry i think there ok but wet conditions make the car nervous.Wouldn't recommend for any sporty car,there cheap and should last a while but i want to replace them as just not good in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-14 08:03:57
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 83% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
It works well. 9k kms at bad roads with 195/45 and I don't have any problem.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-05 23:34:11
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 100 spirited miles
I had Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tires mounted on my Abarth 180HP. This car is a toy, used for sharp driving at 140-200 km/h only on dry roads. Never on wet or icy roads. So this review is not from a conventional point of view. I swapped my PS3 for a Pirelli Zero Nero and nearly crashed a few times. The Pirelli's were constantly squealing, making the car very unstable with a tendency to oversteer. The Pirelli does have less loss, so the car is faster, but it has poor grip. Immediately changed to Pilot Sport 5, all driving habits returned as they should be. Now corners can be taken safely at 40kmh faster without any squealing or loss of stability. Also, the emergency braking follows the track, not making snake-like movements. I can't say the PS5 is much better than the PS3, I can barely tell the difference on dry grip. The PS is a very good tyre, it's harder compared to the Pirelli, but when it warms up it behaves very well even at temperatures just above 0°C. Even if the car is a bit understeering now, it feels very confident.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-04 11:35:42
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 21% (205-40-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
For light weight Fiat Abarth 500, 180HP, I found these bit crap. During hard braking and cornering tyres are squealing. I feel more like floating, during hard driving its unstable. I found these very dangerous for my style of driving. Although for legal road driving it will be pretty fine, but not suitable for track. Michelin Pilot Exalto were much better.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-10 22:14:26
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 77% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
First off this is for a lightweight, hard-driven track car. I don't really concern myself with road noise or cushy sidewall as my car is on coilovers and driven very spiritedly on mountain roads and track as well as daily driven to work and back. My car came with Pirelli PZero Neros and those were absolute garbage(horrible understeer, absolutely no sidewall flex, and zero feedback). I then tried some Falken Ziex ZX960s and they were miles better than the Pirellis. After I wore those out I tried the Federal 595s and while loads better than the Pirellis still for a quarter the price, they are not quite as good as the Falkens. But they are half the price. Wet traction is pretty bad but not deadly by any means as long as you don't drive like it is dry. That being said I have driven them on a slightly damp track and still managed decent lap times with only slight hydroplaning in standing water. I have about 5 track sessions on this set as well as daily driving for about 13000 miles and am now looking for replacements. For a heavier, more powerful car I can totally see these being overwhelmed, but my experience in a sub-3K Lb car is excellent. I'm thinking Federal 595RS-Rs for track-only use and a set of Federal Evoluzions for daily to see if I can get better all weather capabilities but if I was to do one set for every use again it would be these 595s.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-18 00:04:49
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 87% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-18 00:16:15
Writing about the Federal Evoluzion ST 1 given 40% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I just pulled off a set of work and very hard Yokohama AD0R Neova 215/40 as it rains alot here and i was nearly falling off the freeway above 100kph in a straight line. My car is an Abarth 595 Competizione with fully adjustable coil-over suspension and a specialist alignment for track day use. Driving out of the tyre shop and around town the new tyres felt good and steering was light and smooth. A bit more speed and they were nice and quiet, i headed for the motorway to give them a proper run in and on my first lane change i was shocked and horrified!!! It honestly felt like they were all flat or something wrong with the steering. There's a massive delay in reaction from steering inputs and once straight the car wobbles back to centre again like on a playstation game. Hard braking and acceleration on both wet and drive tarmac proved that they do have some grip to offer but the way it steers is frightening now, cant wait to get them off!
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-20 00:15:00
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 81% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres after acquiring some larger OEM wheels with no tyres. I’d shopped around and looked at alternatives from Pirelli, hankook and Michelin but decided on Avon’s due to reviews and price (cost me £277 fitted)

These tyres grip very well in the dry even when pushing the car, they seem to gradually lose grip and push into underdetermined but I have to really push the car to get that to happen.

In the wet they also have a good amount of grip. Not as good the uniroyal rainsport 3 tyres I was running previously. Although they still grip at 50 mph during corners in the cold wet weather.

After 4,500 miles they seem to be wearing well with a good amount of tread remaining, that’s being fitted to my 165bhp Abarth. They’re a bit noisy and uncomfortable but then again the car isn’t so it could just be the car and not the tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-07 21:50:36
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 56% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Had the tyres on my car for 10.000 miles, have to say that I am not pleased with these tires. Although dry grip is okay, wet grip is unacceptable. On partial throttle in my Abarth (160 hp), the tires just cannot cope with the torque. Same goes for braking on wet surfaces. Fitting Michelin PS4 now, hopefully they will give a better feel, combined with safer handling and braking performances.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-03 14:28:16
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 87% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Much better than Pirelli P-Zero Nero's in every respect. Haven't had much wet use but on the couple of occasions it rained they offered good grip and confidence with little wheel spin - again so much better than Pirelli's. In the dry cornering grip is excellent even with softer sidewalls compared to other brands. Looks good on wear rate but its too early to know how long these will last me.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-16 14:37:25
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 56% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
While I drive my car quite vigorously, new tyres only lasted about 8000 miles before I was down to about 2mm. My car is quite the lightweight, but even so I was expecting more. Can be a bit squirrely under hard braking, which is a quite worrying. Sorry Davanti, you're *okay* as a budget brand, but not much more.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-01 15:42:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre