Davanti DX640

The Davanti DX640 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 73%
Wear 66%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 93 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 811,319 miles driven.

The DX640 is ranked 85th of 199 Summer High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Davanti DX640

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Davanti DX640

Questions and Answers for the Davanti DX640

2019-05-16 - I am considering changing my tyres to a set of Davanti DX 640 the designated size for the rear set for my BMW 7series is 275/35/20 can I fit 275/40/20??

Sorry I'm unable to comment on specific fitment changes. Check out an owners club or speak directly to BMW.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Davanti DX640 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
had 4 put on my vw golf and i have to say im well impressed stick like glue even in the wet top marks mileage yet to be confirmed how ever looking so far so good.
Helpful 425 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2016
Given 90% while driving a Audi S6 (255/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
When I purchased this car it had brand Davanti tyres fitted to to the front with partially worn Pirelli tyres on the rear. As I'm not a fan of mismatched tyres I purchased a pair of Davanti for the rear. In the past I have used many brands of tyres and found the Davanti comparable with most of the in their handling, wet and dry grip. They are quiet on the motorway, the road feedback is excellent and they are cheaper than most. I have been thoroughly impressed with them.
That said, the fronts are now down to just over 4mm of tread with just over 6mm at the rear. The fronts no longer inspire confidence and the wet handling has deteriorated. The front tyres possible have a bit more life in them but I will be changing them in the next week. Liked these tyres but less impressive when they get down to 4mm or so but would certainly purchase again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
First of all let's put this to bed about Davanti tyres, I work in the tyre trade and sell a lot of different brands, the tyre from my own experience and having used two sets so far has been nothing but a great experience, they do everything I want them to do and wet braking is fantastic, handling also amazing, if it's good enough to be used on track cars at autodromo its good enough for me, everyone i know who drives performance cars uses the brand and have nothing but good things to say, let's be honest, I see a lot of reviews by people using terms that people in the tyre trade use to slag off other brands, specially the new boys in town ie being davanti tyres, hope I am wrong and the reviews are all honest
Helpful 146 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2018
Have you driven on the Davanti DX640 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Davanti DX640? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Davanti DX640 >

Latest Davanti DX640 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Peugeot (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 20 spirited miles
I'd never heard of Davanti tyres before buying a set of DX640's on an alloy wheel and tyre package 3 years ago.
I've owned my peugeot 206 2 litre diesel for 15 years and over that time I've tried just about every make of tyre including Continentals, Michelins, Yokohamas, Firestones Bridgestones, Nankangs and even BCT's. As expected, they all had their good and bad points but to be honest the car is a nose heavy little lump that eats front tyres for laughs regardless of being continuously fed new wishbones and track rod ends with the tracking always checked and adjusted following any changes but I can quite honestly say these Davanti's are the only tyre that has not only lasted more than two years on the front but are also wearing evenly which is something none of the others ever managed. When they do eventually wear out,I will definitely buy another set as I've been pleasantly surprised with their performance.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2024
Given 50% while driving a Jaguar XJ8 (255/40 R19) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Dangerous! OK for wear and handling, had a pair of DX640 (255/40/R19) on the front of a Jaguar XJ V8 - first one started losing pressure as if it had a slow puncture - when I took it off to try and find the leak it was much worse - the entire sidewall had split away from the shoulder! The other side was fine and not losing pressure, but a few months on while working on the brakes I noticed the other tyre is goosed too - massive split between the shoulder and the tread revealing lots of sheared steel wires and cords from the belts! 15k miles and barely 3 years on the car, less on the first one, both with a good 4mm of tread left. Never again!
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 49% while driving a BMW M140i F20 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I bought my car with these tires. 225/40/18 front 245/35/18 rear. They were new, installed by the previous owner before selling the car. For shopping, commuting to work or short trips close to home, these tires are good. The problem begins when we want to go on a long trip on the motorway. After exceeding 60 miles per hour, the car jumps left and right on the road and a vibration can be felt in the steering wheel. It's impossible to balance these tires correctly. I am afraid to drive on the motorway because the car is completely unpredictable and drives as it wants. I can't imagine driving in heavy rain with these tires. The car is fast, it has 340 horsepower, and these poor tires make it no fun to drive. I do not recommend these tires.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2023
Given 39% while driving a BMW Z4 Coupe (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
These tyres would appear to be made from cheese and not cheddar, the soft kind like Feta. The merest hint of a curb and large chunks fall off the side wall. I will have to replace the two front tyres after 6 months and 700 miles to get the car through MOT. The previous tyres were on the car 8 years so it’s not the drive, my wife who’s not a brilliant driver to be honest, but the previous tyres stuck around for 8 years so I’m pretty sure I won’t be buying Devanti tyres any time soon. Appalling bad tyres.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2023
Given 30% while driving a Ford Transit Connect (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
Rubbish they have perished...big ridge around the tyre air coming out. And whoever thought of putting white rubber under the black? It rubs off and leaves them looking awful. I would never buy again
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2023
Given 41% while driving a Renault (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
So these tyres were on my car when I bought it ... unfortunately they were almost new. Why unfortunately ? Well my car is a Renault Laguna GT with 4-wheel steer and its the third one of this spec I've had .... it just 'fits' me and actually, with the right tyres, it's a really enjoyable drive, especially on the back roads round here. I've had a few different tyre types on these cars and ended-up on Michelin Pilot 4s so when I tried driving the same on these Davantis, I rapidly realised I was going to end-up in a ditch if I wasn't careful. Although they're perfectly acceptable in a straight line ... oh, no ... not round corners .... you can feel the sidewalls just giving way and the whole car just wanting to wander sideways - not a nice feeling at all ! Like I said .... unfortunately they were almost new and this stupidly influenced my decision to stick with them until they needed replacement. A few weeks was enough ... I mean ... I'd had enough of no longer enjoying driving a car I was very familiar with and wondering if I'd purchased an, admittedly low-mileage, lemon. To be honest the Michelins were never that great in the wet, but after a long dry spell, slippery roads from the first rain on these tyres had me driving like an old man with a hat. So I bit the bullet and decided to try some Goodyears for a change .... thank you God !!!! No, it wasn't the car ... it was the tyres. I'm sure that if all you're interested-in is getting the car through the MOT and driving to the shops or up-and-down a nice straight motorway, they're perfectly fine ... but if you actually want to DRIVE ... dont bother with this tyre ... it's just not up to it.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2023
Given 30% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I’ve these on my 3.0 Audi A6 Quattro. They aren’t an uncomfortable tyre, so to speak, but they leave a lot to be desired if you’re even a modestly spirited driver. The traction control on my Audi is very aggressive, so much so that if I’m having a play, I disable it. I’ve lost traction several times in low speed but high sidewall force scenarios. These trees just don’t hold up to any lateral force at all. Unless you’re dithering about, they will throw your car all over the road in a wallow. I can’t speak to how long they last, nor how they are in the wet. I’ve done a thousand miles on mine and I’m ready to swap them out for just about anything. The biggest issue is the way they respond under braking. They just don’t. They slip and slide all over the place under intense braking. Are they okay for doing the weekly shop? Yes. Are they okay for dithering about, doing the school run, and doing 60mph in the outside lane? Probably. Are they any good if you like to use more than 30 percent of your available throttle sometimes? No. I didn’t choose to fit them. They were fitted merely to get through an MoT by the previous owner.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Second set first set on my Ford Kuga for towing my caravan First class Changed my vehicle immediately took of half worn tyres and replaced with davanti winter tyres have also just fitted summer tyre winter tyres now on rack in garage ,all this budget being poor I’ve found nonsense But of course fit tyres to suit your life style and pocket.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2023
Given 35% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.0, 200hp RWD (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Awful. My partner panic bought two rears for my Alfa Guilia, after borrowing my car and getting a flat. Originally had run flats, yes they rode harshly, but these are like driving on marshmallows. The car bounces and wallows and doesn't hold a line like the previous premium run flats. I know I'm comparing totally different grade and structure of tyre, but they feel unsafe. Would never buy again and would not recommend. Can't wait for them to wear out and replace.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/45 R21) on a combination of roads for 38,000 easy going miles
Had a set on my car when I bought it. Replaced then as they were a bit worn and managed 38k miles on them before they needed replaced. Booked the car in for 4 more. Some people saying they wear quickly and no grip, etc. might be the case on their car but on mine they’ve been perfect. Quiet, comfortable and good grip in the wet. My car isn’t sporty so can’t comment on that sense as I just don’t know. I like to get my wheel alignment checked every 6 months or so. Not great in the snow but no summer tyres are. Definitely recommend.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Infiniti Q50 (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 5,000 easy going miles
DX640 245/40R19s all round on my Infiniti Q50. 5000 miles in, these are simply the best tyres I’ve ever bought. I’ll never buy another brand, whisper quiet and confidence inspiring. Recommended like fury.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I bought 2 x 245 40 R19 for the front & 2 x 275 35 R19 for the rear of my BMW 5 SERIES F10. I replaced the Pirelli P Zeros that were on my car with these Davanti DX640's, and what a surprise... It's so much more quieter and a more softer softer than the Pirelli's. And my BMW has a sport suspension as it is the MSport package. I'll definitely recommend them and will buy them again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2022