Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro.

Do you Drive a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A6 3.0 TDI Quattro better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental SportContact 7 (5) 98% 98% 96% 98% 85% 76%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (9) 93% 86% 89% 87% 86% 89%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (140) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Fulda SportControl 2 (19) 84% 85% 82% 76% 79% 94%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (270) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 80%
Altenzo Sports Comforter (20) 89% 80% 78% 82% 86% 84%
Maxxis Victra Sport 5 (16) 88% 83% 79% 86% 67% 79%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (281) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa Phenoma (18) 82% 79% 74% 67% 88% 79%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (78) 85% 79% 79% 80% 76% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (170) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nokian Hakka Black (3) 80% 87% 63% 67% 73% 57%
Pace ALVENTI Pace (10) 73% 73% 74% 58% 60% 76%
Pirelli PZero Nero (137) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 100% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
They are the best ! First tire that sends me on wet the same amount of control and safety as in dry conditions, I’ve tried them all, the new Sport Contact 7 exceeds all my expectations. Totally recommend to anyone who wants a solid sport tire. 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-17 23:11:38
Writing about the Fulda SportControl 2 given 80% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 easy going miles
Great tyre for a midsize or upper class sedan or similar - great grip both in the dry and in the wet, copes well with aquaplaning and is very comfortable. Smooth ride and very quiet and nice handling at the same time. Great balance between grip and comfort. All 4 tyres balanced very well - under 15 grams on any of the wheels. Three drawbacks: 1) New tyre thread was under 7 mm deep - to my mind, very little for a normal road going tyre. 2) Wear. Partly this is due to mentioned above. Tyres lasted for about 35000 kms of normal use. 3) With thread deepness under 5 mm the look of the tyre is very generic - 4 grooves and nothing else. The tyre still performed well. At around 3 mm wet performance decreased significantly.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 20:00:01
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Tyres are good first 10tkm. Side wall dissapeared very guicky and the grip with it.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-16 10:20:04
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 87% (255-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
I bought the Sport Maxx RT’s on my A6 to replace the P Zero’s that were OE fit. The Dunlop’s are far superior imho because they warm up much quicker than the P Zero’s and don’t understeer like the Pirelli’s. The are quieter, grippier in all weather especially the wet, but as far as longevity goes all I can say is so far I’ve put 13000 miles on them and they still look like new. I think the P Zeros were quite a hard tyre as I got nearly 40000 miles out of them and they used to understeer a tad in cooler weather or in the wet compared to the Dunlop’s.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-30 04:14:36
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 80% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
Have had the Sportmaxx RT2 fitted to my ‘06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro since early 2018. During nov- march I’ve got winter tyres fitted. The tyres have done 45.000 km / 28.000 mi and are down to 2 to 2.5 mm. Previously I’ve had Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 and Pirelli’s fitted. Wear and comfortwise the Sportmaxx RT2 are the best of all tyres I’ve had on the car. The Falken’s had slightly better grip on warm dry days but where down in all other conditions and only lasted 30.000 km / 18.750 mi. The Hankook’s were slightly better on wear compared to the Falken’s but wore unevenly and gave the car an unresponsive feel. The Pirelli’s had the least grip, the least comfort. Can’t comment on wear, they started showing cracks in the sidewall after 2 years. Switched to the Sportmaxx RT2 after the Pirelli’s and a new set will def. be fitted after winter. Tyres give excellent grip in dry and wet weather. The tyres give the car a comfortable ride and responsive steering feel. Plus the noise they produce, our should I say lack off, is less compared to the Falken’s and Pirelli’s. If I had to name a slight downside it would be cold (
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-21 11:58:35
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 94% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-22 17:38:37
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 83% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-19 11:16:42
Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 given 84% (245-45-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Many years ago whilst in the Isle of Man at the Manx Grande Prix (August) I spoke to a well know motorcycle racer regarding what tyres he was using. "Maxxis", he said. Never heard of them! Got home and had them put onto my road bikes. Jolly good tyres; good dry grip and pretty good wet grip too. Very impressed. They actually lasted well too being slightly harder compound. Getting to the point. I have just replaced the tyres on my Audi A6 twin turbo; lots of power if required but on soft grippy tyres that have lasted just 15000 miles. Now, tyres on the big Audi are not cheap and don't last long. The Maxxis tyres 'drive' well, no longer 'following' the poor road surfaces and have great adhesion in the wet as long as you don't allow the 'big second turbo' to take over. Most impressed. 8mm of tread as well, certainly as good as the Pirellis fitted as standard. Jolly good price as well compared to the over-priced popular tyres. Will I use Maxxis again? Yes I will. Most impressed with them.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-19 17:23:32
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 91% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 21000 average miles
Put these on in place of Pirelli as they didn't even last a year and the car was all of the show when there was even the site of a rain cloud. A friend had them on his A4 and rated them. I'm well impressed with them, had bridgestone and Pirelli on the car since I bought it and these are the best so far. Pirelli were a massive waste of money. For the price I'd recommend will get another set
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-08 16:40:18
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 82% (255-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought 4 of these Dunlops to replace the previous PZeros. The Dunlops are much quieter & smoother for sure as the pzeros were quite hard and noisy.
Dry handling is good with no issues, but don’t feel as grippy as the pzeros. They are much better than the pzeros in the wet and cold weather though with less understeer.
Feedback is good but being softer they feel a bit more squishy than the pzeros.
They took a couple hundred miles to feel really bedded in and I’ve only done a thousand miles total on them so far so can’t say about wear at the moment. My pzeros as a comparison I got 3 1/2 years out of them and 30,000 miles and they still had 2mm all round.. somehow I don’t think the Dunlops will last as long as they seem softer.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-07 09:09:03
Writing about the Nokian Hakka Black given 79% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Tires are soft. Very well keep the road at low temperatures. However, at an air temperature of more than +25 C, a rather rapid wear begins with an active ride. Sidewall holds the blows well. Four times wheels fell into pits up to 5 cm at a speed of 60-80 km / h - the hernia was not formed. Of the disadvantages - sensitive to rutting.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-18 03:17:40
Writing about the Pace ALVENTI Pace given 74% (255-45-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
These tyres have been punished for road driving. I do shifts and so catch the roads empty (before anyone questions my driving safety) Heavy braking, spirited cornering and done a few laps of a track I work on form time to time. The tyres are probably around 3mm left. I'll run them for the rest of the hot weather and likely replace at 20k miles. So not bad for a budget tyre. For the price to replace them more often I think it works out well. The recommended p-zeros I had were not as good in the wet as these. Came across a big highway puddle where a BMW had spun out. I caught it, felt a bit of lightening of the steering but could still brake the speed off to stop and check on the accident victim. I can't fault these tyres for the price. They brake and steer well.
A6 is a big heavy car with lots of power going through the wheels on quattro. I'm buying some more
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-24 02:03:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre