Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro.

Do you Drive a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A6 3.0 TDI Quattro better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (107) 95% 91% 87% 88% 71% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (59) 92% 93% 81% 81% 82% 84%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (22) 90% 84% 84% 84% 83% 85%
Fulda SportControl 2 (26) 85% 85% 84% 80% 79% 93%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 (7) 83% 84% 82% 71% 70% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Altenzo Sports Comforter (22) 89% 78% 76% 80% 84% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa Phenoma (19) 82% 79% 74% 63% 88% 79%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (89) 84% 78% 78% 78% 75% 80%
Maxxis Victra Sport 5 (25) 86% 80% 78% 82% 62% 78%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Davanti DX640 (94) 79% 71% 75% 73% 65% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Pace ALVENTI Pace (12) 70% 71% 69% 47% 59% 75%
Nokian Hakka Black (4) 80% 83% 58% 63% 70% 53%
Bridgestone Turanza QUIETTRACK (6) 78% 73% 63% 73% 36% 75%

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 given 100% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
So far, amazing tire. One of the best ever made. It grips and it handles so much better than the eagle f1 asymmetric6, the previously fitted on this car, and the wintercontact ts 850 p on another. And the comfort, its like the car is floating. Not cheap though.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-04 03:59:22
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 71% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I'm going to compare these tires to the ones i have on my other car, Sava Intensa UHP 2 on an E class coupe. The previous tires on the Audi were the Goodyear Eagle f1 Super Sport. I don't drive aggressively so i can't really speak about the grip, but i haven't broken traction yet (its the quattro though). They are virtually identical to the SS in terms on grip but in handling, the sidewall is softer on the 6 which makes it more comfortable, but more prone to understeer. The car is comfortable on its own but with these tires it makes really smooth. But, the wear, especially on the front left side - is terrible. It has already shown signs of degradation. On the other three tires, it is decent.

But, the Sava Intensa UHP 2 on the e class is probably the same tire in terms of performance and its 60% less expensive. Also, the Goodyear is made in Slovenia and the Sava is made in Germany, weird. The attributes I value the most is comfort (which the Sava also has) and handling but you can't have both with tires. I really can't recommend this tire since there are ones that do nearly the same for much less. Also, if it is some testament for the quality of Slovenian and German manufacturing, the sidewall of the Sava is much more resilient of dust and the rubber is in a much better condition whereas the Goodyear's sidewall is very dry and when there is no dressing it is brown in color.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-28 09:33:29
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 71% (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
The tyres were bought naturally after a TyreReviews review comparing the UUHP tyres and the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport having the best dry grip performance at the time. The PS4 was too lacking and the PS4s weren't available in the 18 inch size, the 19 inch size was a little too harsh for our roads, which is why the SSs were the best available tyre at the time.
The GY SSs are simply superb at dry grip, on longer corners they hold the grip all the way to the speeds and lateral forces I was comfortable with, on shorter corners they greatly mitigated the understeery corner entry of my heavy car, after the apex they transformed the amount of power that can be put out of the corner while still having steering angle to the state where 2nd gear corner exits didn't have enough power to slide the car at 240hp full throttle, which was a first after Potenza S001s, Nexens N8000s, Sava UHP+s and even the Conti SportContact 7s couldn't grip that much.
The wet grip was slightly above average, enough to be safe on the roads, but nowhere near fun. The wear was surprisingly good, 8000miles for a set of 4 with rotations, given the shitty and curvy roads the SSs were dailyed on, it was quite a lot.
Comfort wise they were loud, bumps were very audible, highway tyre noise was high, but all of that was countered by the amount of grip that was unbelievable for such a heavy car.
At the end of life, after 8000 hard miles, there was no tread left on 3-4cm of both inside and outside of each tyre, they were completely smooth. The center maybe had 2mm of tread depth left. But the grip at the end of life was even better than during the actually usable tread life, reaching absurd high speed corner grip levels compared to all the previous tyres I've used, including the SportContact7s.
Definitely the best dry grip tyre I've ever had, without a shadow of a doubt.
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-22 12:00:33
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 30% (255-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I’ve these on my 3.0 Audi A6 Quattro. They aren’t an uncomfortable tyre, so to speak, but they leave a lot to be desired if you’re even a modestly spirited driver. The traction control on my Audi is very aggressive, so much so that if I’m having a play, I disable it. I’ve lost traction several times in low speed but high sidewall force scenarios. These trees just don’t hold up to any lateral force at all. Unless you’re dithering about, they will throw your car all over the road in a wallow. I can’t speak to how long they last, nor how they are in the wet. I’ve done a thousand miles on mine and I’m ready to swap them out for just about anything. The biggest issue is the way they respond under braking. They just don’t. They slip and slide all over the place under intense braking. Are they okay for doing the weekly shop? Yes. Are they okay for dithering about, doing the school run, and doing 60mph in the outside lane? Probably. Are they any good if you like to use more than 30 percent of your available throttle sometimes? No. I didn’t choose to fit them. They were fitted merely to get through an MoT by the previous owner.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-22 13:24:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 80% (255-35-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Comparing to Pirelli PZero (it should be matched to 4S/5S I think but don`t have other expirience to share) I had, I can immediately notice the understeering with PS5 and increased noise, but still would prefer PS5 due to better dry grip and better performance/feeling during lower temperature.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-18 23:13:23
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 93% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Possibly the best summer tires I've ever had...great handling on dry and wet conditions, very good breaking and low noise. Expensive but worthy.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-28 18:48:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza QUIETTRACK given 57% (225-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 80 spirited miles
Would not recommend
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-13 12:47:19
Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 100% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
They are the best ! First tire that sends me on wet the same amount of control and safety as in dry conditions, I’ve tried them all, the new Sport Contact 7 exceeds all my expectations. Totally recommend to anyone who wants a solid sport tire. 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-17 17:11:38
Writing about the Fulda SportControl 2 given 80% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 easy going miles
Great tyre for a midsize or upper class sedan or similar - great grip both in the dry and in the wet, copes well with aquaplaning and is very comfortable. Smooth ride and very quiet and nice handling at the same time. Great balance between grip and comfort. All 4 tyres balanced very well - under 15 grams on any of the wheels. Three drawbacks: 1) New tyre thread was under 7 mm deep - to my mind, very little for a normal road going tyre. 2) Wear. Partly this is due to mentioned above. Tyres lasted for about 35000 kms of normal use. 3) With thread deepness under 5 mm the look of the tyre is very generic - 4 grooves and nothing else. The tyre still performed well. At around 3 mm wet performance decreased significantly.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 13:00:01
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Tyres are good first 10tkm. Side wall dissapeared very guicky and the grip with it.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-16 04:20:04
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 87% (255-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
I bought the Sport Maxx RT’s on my A6 to replace the P Zero’s that were OE fit. The Dunlop’s are far superior imho because they warm up much quicker than the P Zero’s and don’t understeer like the Pirelli’s. The are quieter, grippier in all weather especially the wet, but as far as longevity goes all I can say is so far I’ve put 13000 miles on them and they still look like new. I think the P Zeros were quite a hard tyre as I got nearly 40000 miles out of them and they used to understeer a tad in cooler weather or in the wet compared to the Dunlop’s.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-29 22:14:36
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 80% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
Have had the Sportmaxx RT2 fitted to my ‘06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro since early 2018. During nov- march I’ve got winter tyres fitted. The tyres have done 45.000 km / 28.000 mi and are down to 2 to 2.5 mm. Previously I’ve had Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 and Pirelli’s fitted. Wear and comfortwise the Sportmaxx RT2 are the best of all tyres I’ve had on the car. The Falken’s had slightly better grip on warm dry days but where down in all other conditions and only lasted 30.000 km / 18.750 mi. The Hankook’s were slightly better on wear compared to the Falken’s but wore unevenly and gave the car an unresponsive feel. The Pirelli’s had the least grip, the least comfort. Can’t comment on wear, they started showing cracks in the sidewall after 2 years. Switched to the Sportmaxx RT2 after the Pirelli’s and a new set will def. be fitted after winter. Tyres give excellent grip in dry and wet weather. The tyres give the car a comfortable ride and responsive steering feel. Plus the noise they produce, our should I say lack off, is less compared to the Falken’s and Pirelli’s. If I had to name a slight downside it would be cold (
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-21 04:58:35
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre